BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2010

Horn-Barlow Companies

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 748-1119Fax: (214) 748-11568333 Douglas Ave Ste 1150, DallasTX 75225-6094 Send email to Horn-Barlow Companies

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2010

BBB has determined that Horn-Barlow Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Horn-Barlow Companies' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Horn-Barlow Companies

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My air conditioner has been leaking water since I moved in 6 months ago, along with windows that won't open, broken stove, and damaged cabinets.
The air conditioner continues to leak after the maintenance man has "repaired" it 3 times. My guest bathroom is almost constantly covered in water. I have requested service both verbally and in writing, as well as responding to a request from the management to report any leaks.

My stove does not work properly and has not since I moved in.

Several windows in the apartment either do not open or will not stay open. This is a fire hazard for both me and my young children.

I have been told several times the issues have been "fixed" yet, they are not actually fixed.
I have contacted the apartment management several times about all of these issues, both verbally and in writing.

Desired Settlement
I would like to hire a competent HVAC technician to repair my unit, a replacement Stove as promised, as well as a handyman to repair the other issues with the apartment and deduct the expense from my rent as I am allowed by Texas Tenant Rights.

Business Response
*******, we apologize for the any inconvenience caused from our misunderstanding of your maintenance concerns.

In reviewing your maintenance requests, it was determined that we did not have enough information to properly diagnose and repair your requested items. For example, you reported that your "stove was broken" but never specified that one element was cooking too hot for you. When our maintenance man went to repair, he found all burners working, as well as your oven. Additionally, when your a/c was check as leaking, the maintenance men responding never found it leaking when entering your apartment; however, when putting the thermostat down as low as it would go, we did find that it created a drip that now has been remedied. Therefore, without specifying fully what your problems were, they were not addressed properly to begin with and we apologize.

After telephoning you today as a followup, I understand that everything you have requested has been repaired to your satisfaction. Please let us know if there is anything else that we can do.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you so much to the office staff and maintenence workers for ensuring these issues were resolved. Yes, issues in getting these issues, I discovered was a communication issue that has been resolved. This community is a wonderful place to live and I hope to remain here for many years.

08/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I left my apartment clean but yes I did break the lease.
I spoke with the manager of the apartment complex, and told her that we had to move. We were under a 6 month lease, and had called in several different repairs to the apartment including the carpet that was messed up from the time we moved in over a year before that. When I left my apartment I agreed that I would owe a month of rent plus the re-letting fee that is required per the lease. I never received anything from them after I moved even though I called the office several times to request the bill. I gave them my new address and never received anything. I pulled my credit and see that they say I owe over $6000. I disputed this with the credit company and requested an itemized bill, but nothing was done. I left that house ready to be moved into except for the fact of the carpet that I myself tried to repair because they never came in and fixed it. The carpet was pulling up by the dining room from the day I moved in because it was put in poorly. I dropped my keys in the night slot along with my parking sticker (which they charge $50 for if you don't return). I agree to the fact of owing around $1000 to them for the month rent and the re-letting fee but not the rest. The house was cleaned before I left. I vacuumed and cleaned the bathroom and kitchen before we left the house. My daughter and I spent the entire afternoon cleaning to make sure it was done correctly so that I wouldn't have any other charges. This apartment company is trying to get over on me and this is not fair. I have never had an apartment complex on my credit, and have always gotten my deposit back. This needs to be corrected, and I will pay the $1000 I owe them.

Desired Settlement
I will pay the $1000 that I owe for the rent and re-letting fee, but I did not do any damage to that apartment in the excess of $6000. That is like I signed the lease and never moved in plus $2000. This is outrageous. I called several times about things that needed to be repaired in that apartment from the time I moved in. The carpet was the main issue along with the leakage from the A/C in the bathroom.

Business Response
Ms. ******* moved out without giving a written notice or fulfilling her lease term; consequently, breaking her lease. The manager does not recall speaking with Ms. *******, nor does she have any records indicating any such conversation with her. The amount billed Ms. ******* are amounts she agreed to by signing her lease agreement with us and include accelerated rent through the end of her lease term, a re-letting fee, cleaning fees, a pet treatment for the carpet, and fees for not returning the apartment keys and parking sticker. These items could not have been returned as stated by Ms. ******* as there is not a night drop or a mail slot for the apartment office.

To settle the account, however, we are willing to accept the offer of one month's rent, which was $745., and the re-letting fee of $633.25; making the total settlement $1,378.25.

We can send you a revised statement reflecting these amounts, if you agree to the settlement.

10/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trinity Crossing Apt is charging me for rental fees from Oct 1-3 because they did not receive the keys to the apt.
Trinity Crossing Apt is charging me for rental fees from Oct 1-3 because they did not receive the keys to the apt. I contacted Trinity Mills Apt via email on the 9/30/2013 to give them the forwarding address for my deposits. They contacted me the next day via email asking me if the keys were going to be dropped off or mailed. I replied that they would be dropped off which they were left inside the apt because there is no dropbox to leave keys after hours. I wasn't informed until the 10/2 that I was being charged rent per day until the keys were returned. Trinity Mills has dragged this issue out in an attempt to exploited money out of me. The management staff is fully aware that I live in another state. The management team has been given my forwarding information including my work number so that we can work together and remedy any issues that may come up. Usually they are prompt about their correspondence with me but in this case, they clearly prolonged their correspondence so they could widdle away at my deposit.

Desired Settlement
I wish to receive my full deposit.

Business Response
***** ********* called on October 3rd after Trinity Crossing had sent two emails to find out if she had truly vacated her apartment as no keys were turned in. We always tell our moving out residents that when they have turned in their keys, we know they have vacated the apartment. There were unusual circumstances with ***** ********* as SHE personally moved out of her apartment in June and her occupant remained there. ***** actually gave us a move-out notice in June for September 30th. We typically have all of our residents sign an official TAA Notice to Move-out, but did not with *****.
Upon the occupant moving out, we'd never received the keys and two emails were sent.
***** called and talked to the manager who did tell ***** she would be charged for rent for October 1-3...which is what we would typically do (as her keys weren't turned into the office until the 4th). There was no "attempt to try to drag this issue out in an attempt to exploit money out of her"....having the keys dropped off is our standard policy of knowing that the apartment has been vacated. Our office sent her an email asking about the keys on the lst! Then again on the 2nd.
The manager told ***** that she would contact her supervisor about these 3 days rent and ***** said she would wait until she received that information.
After the phone call between the manager and ***** on the 3rd, the manager called me (the property supervisor) and we agreed that since we received her notice to vaate in June and the manager had not followed up with the TAA notice of Intent to Vacate form that would clarify that the keys needed to be turned in before we would officially know the apartment was vacated, we would rely on the September 30th date and NOT charge her for the three days of rent in October. This information will be reflected on the final account statement...which has not been sent yet.

07/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Assistant Manager is very rude and entering my apartment without me knowing. Cynthia entered my apartment on June the 9th.
Cynitha the Assistant Manager of the apartment entered my apartment without me knowing. I went to the office and ask why did she enter my apartment. I went to say that I've noticed that all other notices where outside of others doors but not mine. She never answered and slammed the door in my face. At that time the Manager explained to me why she entered. I understood then but what was the point in slamming the door. I went on to say I will contact there corporate office and the assistant said do what you have to do. The notice reads I owe $740 in rent with I only pay $730. Also I keep getting water bills from them and I don't pay water I've never paid and on my lease it reads I don't have to pay water. When I called there corporate office I left a message and never heard from them.

Desired Settlement
I want my amount of rent to read what my lease reads. What I signed as well as them. And stop sending me a bill I don't owe.Want to speak to somsomeone about how there Assistant Manager treats the residents here.

Business Response
Ms. ****, I understand that our property manager, Jacque ********* has written and emailed you a formal apology on behalf of her staff and the technical glitches they were experiencing causing them to generate water billing and listing your rental amount incorrectly on your delinquency notice. I, too, offer my sincerest apologies for this. As Jacque stated in her letter, we believe we have all the bugs worked out with the billing situations. She also informed you in the letter that the perceived rudeness on behalf of the assistant manager has been addressed.
To address why you did not receive a phone call from corporate, I, personally had a message to call you stating you were upset about a notice put on the inside of your front door, and that you were treated rudely by the assistant manager. As a matter of procedure when I receive a message, I call the property manager first to discuss the nature of a resident's call. Jacque assured me that she had spoken to you and explained that the property will put delinquent rental notices inside the front door as your lease states. If you noticed other notices that were placed outside on doors, it is because these particular apartments had their keyless deadbolts enabled, not allowing the assistant manager entry to post inside as required. I hope you understand this now. Since I was out of pocket and Jacque assured me she had taken care of your concerns, I did not feel I needed to follow up with a call. I apologize I did not. This morning, however, I have tried to call numerous times to both numbers listed on the complaint: At the XXX-XXX-XXXX number I just get someone answering, not saying anything and hanging up. At the XXX-XXX-XXXX number I get just ringing with no answer. I will continue to try calling, but will be out again until late next week.
As Jacque stated in her letter to you, your rental payment is $730; and you should not be receiving water billing. Again, we all apologize for these events and hope you enjoy the Starbucks gift card as a token of our gratitude of your residency with us. Please let me know if you have any additional concerns. Again, I will try to contact you.

12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have water leakage inside the ceiling of the master bedroom in my apt and the did not check for mold. My infant now has health related issues.
I called code compliance on March 13, 2013 to report the leakage I hear in my ceiling everytime the tenant above me takes a shower. He did not follow protocol and showed up at my apartment with both managers and the maintenance during the initial and only visit. He look at the ceiling and said he didn't see any mold and I will have to pay out of pocket to have the apartment checked for mold. I took his word and continued living in the apartment. I gave birth to my son on March 20, 2013. I had surgery that prevented me from returning home until May 7, 2013. Upon returning home I observed brown water stains on the ceiling in my bedroom. I contacted patty at the dallas corporate office and she told me that does not sound like water stains. Again my concern was ignored. August 14,2013 I had to take my infant to his pediatrician because of raspy breathing and a unknown rash on his forehead. After ruling out communicable illnesses, the doctor was informed that there is possible mold growth in my apartment. She confirmed my fears my stating the symptoms my infant is experiencing can be related to mold inhalation. I informed **** and **** in the front office and released my rental agreement due to their failure to thoroughly investigate my concern. Today August 19, 2013 I received notice that an eviction will be filed on me by 5:00 pm today. Something needs to be done about their crooked business practice. My baby would not have the current issues had they done their job.

Desired Settlement
I would like all the money I have paid in rent and fees since March 13, 2013 refunded to me so that I can find a healthier home for myself and my children. Had they done an investigation in March 2013 I would have moved out and never exposed myself or my child to those conditions.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Dir. of Op.
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@hornbarlow.com
In response to Ms. ******'s complaint, yes, she did submit a work request about the possibility of mold in her apartment. Falcon Ridge Apartments promptly investigated and found no evidence of mold on Ms. ******'s ceiling. Yes, Ms. ****** contacted the Ft. Worth Code Compliance division about a bad smell in her apartment that she believed to be mold. Code Compliance inspected the apartment on March 13, 2013. The code compliance inspector reported no findings of mold or any odor. The inspector asked Falcon Ridge management to check the unit upstairs, since Ms. ****** could hear a dripping sound when the neighbor showered. Code compliance returned on March 15th and found no leaks and closed their case.

Ms. ****** again complained about mold in her apartment; and again Falcon Ridge inspected her ceiling, finding that none existed.

To date, no mold has been found in Ms. ******'s apartment. The allegations of mold on the behalf of Ms. ****** coincide with periods when she has been grossly delinquent on her rental payments. She refuses to pay her rent, late fees, and water utility billing; therefore, an eviction for nonpayment of rent was filed. The eviction judgement was granted yesterday, September 5, although Ms. ****** employed an attorney to represent her. Falcon Ridge has abided by the conditions in the Texas Apartment Association lease contract that is held with Ms. ******. Unfortunately, Ms. ****** has not met her obligations under this legal binding contract. Therefore, eviction proceedings were enacted. Ms. ****** failed to prove findings of mold in her apartment, and has failed to prove that Falcon Ridge filed an "illegal" eviction. Ms. ****** has failed to meet the obligations of her lease contract with Falcon Ridge and not vice versa, as Ms. ****** claims.

Falcon Ridge Apartments expects full remittance of all sums due from Ms. ******.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, the complaints have been made since March 2013. I was not delinquent on my rent. I have paid my rent in full up until August, when I refused to pay due to your refusal of repairs.
Secondly, the apartment above me does have water leakage. ****** ***********, the tenant in apartment 932, made several complaints for 2 months before the soft spot in her ceiling was fixed on August 16, 2013. That issue is connected to my issue because the water in my apartment was running black the night of August 16, 2013. The eviction filed on me was illegal and I will be filing a civil lawsuit against Horn-****** for health issues caused
by your negligence. I have taken my children to be tested for mold since the court date and now have concrete evidence.

03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horn ****** company conspires with Black Bull towing comnspires in a towing scheme to extort outrageous fees from the public.
I have a friend who moved to Falcon Ridge Apartments located in Fort Worth, Texas. These apartments are owned by Horn ****** Company. I visted my friend on Saturday, January 26,2013. I came outside and found my car missing. I discovered that my car had been towed by Black Bull Towing. The fee to retrive my car was $293.30. This is incredible. I watched as a steady flow of individuals arrived from the area to reclaim their car. I feel that there is collusion betwen these companies to extort exorbidant fees from those least able to afford this. The signage near ny car read " Do not back in" i did not see anything directing me to a special parking area. I think that this constitues an unfair business practice.

Desired Settlement
I think The ***** ****** owes me a refund of the $293.30 I paid for a twenty minute vist.

Business' Initial Response
Horn-****** Companies does not conspire with Black Bull Towing Company to extort money in any way. That is illegal. Mr. ******, if you parked at Falcon Ridge Apartments not following the posted signs that state "TOWING ENFORCED AT ALL TIMES: RESIDENT PARKING ONLY" "GUEST MUST PARK IN SPACES MARKED "VISITORS" ON THE GROUND," then yes, Black Bull Towing has our permission to tow. We do not make anything from Black Bull Towing, their fees are standard for the area and between you and them.

Falcon Ridge parking is limited and maintains a towing policy to facilitate that the residents that live there have a parking place when they arrive home. As a courtesy, we offer marked visitor parking spaces, and have all residents sign an addedum notifying them of our parking policies.

You mentioned your friend had just moved in; therefore, since he had just signed the policy should have disclosed it to you.

At any rate, signs are posted, residents sign parking addedums; therefore, we do not feel we are at fault if you chose to ignore them.

Business' Final Response
We were unaware of this complaint until BBB sent the letter dated February 26, 2013. According to your BBB processing area, it indicates that we were sent an acknowledgement and notification of dispute via email; however, we did not receive the email sent. Perhaps it went to spam?? Or, maybe it was deleted, thinking it had malware attached. If I am not mistaken, this has happened before with our company. So there is so breakdown in communication with email. Can you always mail a hard copy the old conventional way? We would always like to respond promptly, but can not if we are not aware of a dispute. Please help! What are our options with BBB?

11/21/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1994Business started: 01/01/1973
Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. C. Jay Barlow (Partner)
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Autumn Glen, Falcon Ridge, Holly Park, Indian Creek, Plaza, Sun Colony, Tanglewood Place, Towne Oaks, Trinity Crossing, Waterford Green, Woodlake

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Horn-Barlow Companies

8333 Douglas Ave Ste 1150

Dallas, TX 75225-6094

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Horn-Barlow Companies is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.