BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/13/2010

Excel Association Management, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 881-7488Fax: (972) 578-28011916 Avenue K, PlanoTX 75074 Send email to Excel Association Management, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/13/2010

BBB has determined that Excel Association Management, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Excel Association Management, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Excel Association Management, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcorrected HOA Dues and will not reflect all payments even though provided with proof of payment.
I am the previous owner located in a complex now managed by Excel Association Management. The complex changed ownership to Excel from Select Management Company around February or March of this year. During the transition, my account did not reflect all of the payments that had been made by myself. I called sometime in April and they said they would fix my account because they recognized that I had made all of my payments up to that point. They did post a credit to my account for one missing payment, but they should have posted for two. I didn't realize there was an error until a few days before I was closing for the sale of my condo. I contacted the office a few different times and each person said they were looking into it. They eventually claimed they did not have that I made the February payment, even though that was during the transition period and they had already acknowledge that I had made all of my HOA payments during that same period. I printed off my bank records and sent them showing that I had sent the payment to Select Management that month and there are no credits showing the payment was not accepted. I also sent them the copy of my bank statement showing that I had sent my HOA payment to Select Management as well. The last email that I received from someone at the office, they said they were checking with the bank. I have sent follow-up emails for updates and now they are completely non-responsive. I had to pay extra money at closing to cover the payment they would not recognize.

Desired Settlement
A refund of my $215.00 payment.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Patrick *****
Contact Phone: 972/881-7488
Contact Email: pclark@excelam.com
Here is the email I sent her this morning. You may want to get with Jeremy this was an issue because we did not get payment made to Select. Aaron


Aaron Becherer,
Administrative Assistant P.O. Box XXXXXX
Plano, TX XXXXX

Tel: 972.881.7488
Fax: 972.578.2801
Toll Free: 888.675.7488
www.excelam.com
Email: abecherer@excelam.com



From: Aaron Becherer
Sent: Wednesday, December 02, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: 'E ********'
Cc: Erika Aroca
Subject: RE: Account Information Not Up To Date

Ms. ********, After further research we were able to locate the payments made to Select and we also received the title check. We will be issuing you a refund check in the amount of $430.00. I will mail it to *** ****** ******* Desoto, XXXXX. thank you *****

This issue has alresdy been resolved.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They have agreed to issue a refund. I will close the case for now, but reserve the right to reopen if the check is not received.

04/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint was emailed regarding guest of a guest of another owner filling up large tanks of water at HOA community members expense
A general violation letter was sent however management company has no proof that 3205 received such violation notice. Currently next meeting is not until April 21, 2016 to which next step is said to be send yet another letter which is planned to be certified. In the meantime, the expense to others has occurred for quite a while and continues to happen. This constructive notice of two times is inappropriate for a theft that is happening of the water. Photos have been provided. Management association is not proactive in calling a special meeting to protect the financial interest of the community due to the theft of the water previously taken and which will continue in the future to be taken. By laws require HOA members to abide by the law. This is not lawful and is not being addressed efficiently to the degree that the damage is happening

Desired Settlement
Owners be repaid for raised HOA dues

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jeremy *****, COO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@excelam.com
Excel Association Management, Inc. ("Excel") manages Oakbrook Community Services Association, Inc. ("Oakbrook"), which is a Homeowners Association in Farmers Branch and which ***** and Kathy **** reside in.

Oakbrook is a non-profit corporation governed by a volunteer Board of Directors elected by the homeowners of Oakbrook. Oakbrook is subject to a set of Governing Documents, Texas State Laws, and internal operating procedures to ensure due process, compliance with the laws, and fair application of rules and regulations. Excel executes these procedures according to the Board of Director's directives.

In this case reported by Kathy and ***** ****, emails were first sent to Excel on the evening of Saturday, April 2, 2016, with pictures of a truck with a water tank and a report from Kathy and ***** **** that Oakbrook water was being used to fill the tank. The pictures only show evidence of the truck being parked at Oakbrook... not being filled with water.

Excel reviewed the information and sent violation letter to the Owner of the unit where the truck was parked on Monday, April 4, via 1st class mail according to Oakbrook's procedures. The letter indicates the nature of the problem, asks them stop the activity immediately and outlines their options to respond to the claim and/or request a hearing with the Oakbrook Board of Directors. At the time of this response (10:30 am on Tuesday, April 12) no response has been received from the Owner.

Oakbrook's procedures would have a Certified Letter sent no more than 30 days later (May 4) if no response was received AND the action continues (a verified report of continued action would be required).

Oakbrook's volunteer Board of Directors typically meets monthly on the third Thursday of the month. The next scheduled Board Meeting is Thursday, April 21. Excel has notified the Board President of this situation and the President has been monitoring the situation as well, but has not witnessed the truck on property nor the truck being filled with water.

Excel will present the information collected to the Board for the Board to determine additional action, which may or may not include filing a police report. This is the procedure that has been in place at Oakbrook for as long as Excel's Management Agreement has been in effect.

Excel does not have the authority to file a police report without Board authorization (the Board is the only entity that has the authority in this case). Excel's Management Agreement with Oakbrook does not authorize nor require Excel to file police reports, stop alleged illegal activity, or be financially responsible in any way for alleged illegal or inappropriate actions conducted by anyone.

While Excel understands the frustrations ***** and Kathy **** are experiencing; however, the complaint filed by them against Excel are not valid and, as a result, will not fulfill their desired resolution.

06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am tired of being told I have a balance due. Fix the problem-there is no outstanding bill.No one can explain where they come up with this figure.
The accounting practices are not professional. They claim I owe HOA dues from 2013-I have paid evey bill and pay monthly. They cannot tell me where this additional $76 is coming from. They continue to send hand written notes. When I call ******* is very nice but cannot give me a legitamite explaination why there is a balance due.

Desired Settlement
Waive the $76 bill if you cannot show me where this amount comes from. After talking to ******* I do not feel confident that she even knows. Do these people have account degrees?????

Business Response
May 21, 2014

RE: Coronado Village HOA
Monthly Homeowners' Association Dues
Balance Due: $76.00

Dear Ms.______:

As per our telephone conversation on Tuesday, 05/19/14 I explained that there still remains a balance due in the amount of $76.00 for the Coronado Village HOA monthly dues.

During our telephone conversation I explained that the account history I had sent you 03/28/14, 04/17/14, and 05/16/14 detailed the charges from 02/2013 through 05/2014 and totaled 16 months and the association had only been paid for 15 months as per the account history which shows the monthly charges and the payments.

I explained that I had mailed the account history with a hand written note versus a formal demand letter for unpaid dues in order to proceed in an informal method given that your title company had not notified the association about your purchase for 6+ months and this situation must be frustrating for you not receiving an invoice for 6+ months.

As you know, you purchased the home on 02/07/13 and we did not receive any information from your title company until 08/06/13 and therefore, we had no knowledge that you had purchased the home. The Coronado Village HOA Board of Directors (BOD) has contracted with us to provide their accounting and book keeping service. However, the BOD did not grant us authorization to begin to work with homeowners to collect unpaid dues until March, 2014 because they were working directly with the homeowners and completing their late fee collection policy.

I will attach your account history from 02/2013 through today, 05/22/14 so that you can review your account history and see that there still remains an unpaid balance. You will see that the dues for 02/2013 through 08/2013 were charged on 08/06/13 which is when we received the Warranty Deed from your title company. The rest of the charges are detailed monthly and the payments you made are also listed by date along with your check #.

I apologize that this had been frustrating for you and I'm sorry that your title company did not send the Warranty Deed to us however, I have tried to work with you and provide everything that you need so that as you said, you won't spend another minute reviewing and going back to do a reconciliation.

Please remit the balance due in the amount of $76.00 for the unpaid Coronado Village HOA dues and then continue as you have paying the $76.00/month. (June, 2014 will be due on 06/01/14 as you know).

I appreciate your patience. Please let me know if there is anything else that I can provide to assist you with understanding the balance due for the Coronado Village HOA monthly dues.

******* *****, PCAM
Accounting Manager for xxxHOA
Encl. Account History 02/2013 through 05/22/14

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Management Consultants, Association Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/06/2006Business started: 11/01/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1991, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Clark (President)
Business Category

Property Management, Management Consultants, Association Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Excel Association Management, Inc

1916 Avenue K

Plano, TX 75074

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1916 Avenue K 

    Plano, TX 75074(972) 881-7488

  • PO Box 941169 

    Plano, TX 75094-1169

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Excel Association Management, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.