BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/14/2009

Associa

Phone: (800) 808-4882

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

433 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 149 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues169
Problems with Product / Service258
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints433

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints regarding numerous service issues. Specifically, tenants complain that the company poorly manages the properties they live on and are difficult to reach.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (433)BBB Closure Definitions
04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have not been able to get any kind of action or much help at all out of the management team handling our property
We have had ongoing problems with this company who handles our property management in the association that we reside in. Over the last couple months there has been numerous attempts to communicate with the management team to resolve an outstanding refund we are due for the deposit placed on the rental of our community common area. We submitted a check as required well in advance to give them plenty of time to get this all set up since they have been nutorious for dropping the ball on other important issues we have had in the past. We did not even use the facility and understand that we forfeit 100$ of the 300$ deposit. We have received several notices stating that our account is delinquent and we owe $300 which they are threatening to take further action for collections in the notices. We are current with our association dues which are on auto pay and have come out consistently over the last year without a hitch. We brought this to the attention of the management and they have seemed to have lost all record of the transaction and requested copies of the check which we have provided several different times now for them and have been assured that they are following up on this matter. They cashed the check at the beginning of February and we are still on the back burner at this point and have heard nothing back from anybody. We have given them plenty of time to take care of this issue and we want our $$ back now. Also we want our account to be adjusted to show that we are current with all of our payments and I personally would like an explanation of why it consistently takes them 30-60 days to do anything other then sending out a complaint or a bill to us. If it took us 30-60 days to respond to any of their requests for information we would be fined since they require a 10 day response time. Why should we have to abide by that when they cant even give us courtesy communication on the status of our outstanding issues. I am a service provider for a number of large corporate accounts and if I treated my customers that way we would be out of business. It is no wonder they have only 1 star rating on yelp with numerous other very similar stories from dissatisfied customers!

Desired Settlement
We are requesting the entire $300 deposit back as a good faith gesture for stringing us out for this long and being so unprofessional with loosing all the information and delinquent account notices. Wouldn't mind some sort of explanation of what is going on over there that simple tasks such as this one are not getting handled in a timely manor.

Business Response
This is not our customer. The is an HOA issue in a community that IS NOT managed by Associa. Please remove this claim from our records.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********* President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@nnj.com
Dear Mr. ********,

Your complaint has been received. Attached is your account history that shows the you currently have a zero balance (i.e. you are paid in full through April 30).

What caused the problem was that when our staff started the refund process of your security deposit on 2/20/15 they did not book the corresponding transaction properly. This was not done until 3/17/15. Thus, it made your account appear to have a balance due when in fact it was paid in full. I apologize for the error and any difficulty that you had getting the matter corrected. However, the matter was fully corrected when I did my research earlier today. We do have some newer team members that clearly need some additional training to prevent this in the future.

Once again, my apologies for the inconvenience to you, but the matter is fully resolved as far as I can tell. If I am incorrect please let me know.

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Associa billed me for weed violation. AZ law ARS XX-XXXX.D requires as minimum provision of the community documents that has allegedly been violated.
Associa (Lewis Management) sent me a bill of 25.00 for weed violation. I have contacted them (by email) and said:
Arizona law (ARS XX-XXXX.D) requires that each violation notice shall provide at least the following information:

1. The provision of the community documents that has allegedly been violated. (not received).
2. The date of the violation or the date the violation was observed. (received)
3. The first and last name of the person or persons who observed the violation (not received).
4. The process the member must follow to contest the notice (not received).

I also gave them a link (http://goo.gl/ua6Eep) of the CC&R document which is our governing document.

They have not been able or willing to respond to my request.

I made the 25.00 violation fee payment with my credit card, but I feel it is an illegal violation fee. All of this had happened in the past few weeks.

Desired Settlement
per Arizona law (ARS XX-XXXX.D), I request at least the following information:

1. The provision of the community documents that has allegedly been violated. (not received).
2. The date of the violation or the date the violation was observed. (received)
3. The first and last name of the person or persons who observed the violation (not received).
4. The process the member must follow to contest the notice (not received).

If Associa can not provide such information, I request a charge back to my credit card of $25 plus the credit card company's processing fee.

Thank you

Business Response
Desert Vista Estates is a homeowner association comprising of 157 single family homes/lots. The governing documents (CC&Rs section 4.2) states that "each lot owner and resident is responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of the exterior... and for the maintenance and landscaping of all portions of the lot..." The board of director on December 19, 2012, adopted the violation enforcement policy and each homeowner was mailed a copy for reference. The policy outlines the procedure for imposing fines for violations. The owner received letters dated October 14, 2014, November 25, 2014, February 23, 2015 stating the home was in non-compliance for excessive weeds in the front yard, side yard and curb strip of the home. Pictures have been taken to document this condition. On March 25, 2015, a Final Non-Compliance Notice was sent which contains information on how to request a hearing. In correspondence dated March 27, 2015 a response to a request for hearing invites you to meet with the board of directors on April 14, 2015 to discuss the matter. In reviewing the numerous email responses from the association manager on March 2, 2014 the owner was provided the name of the association manager and board president that conducted the inspection. The owner's request to waive the $25.00 fine is scheduled to be heard by the board on April 14, 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are two issues with Associa (Lewis Management) response:

1.- The governing documents (CC&Rs section 4.2) does not state that weeds shall not exceed 3 inches wide or high. Why have Associa imposed that restriction than?

2. Associa Arizona (Lewis Management) does not meet requirements of Arizona Law (ARS XX-XXXX) which requires the first and last name of the person or persons who observed the violation. When I requested Lewis Management (Associa Arizona) and asked for the first and last name of the observers, their response was:"The dates that the violation was witnessed were as follows: October 13, 2014, November 19, 2014, January 5, 2015, February 6, 2015, February 20, 2015, these were noted by an inspector employed by Associa, the Board President and myself." I know the name of the Board President and the name of the person who wrote the response, but I want to know the name of the inspector employed by Associa as required by Arizona law.

I am planning to attend the hearing.

Final Business Response
It is our understanding that this owner has received the information requested and is satisfied with the last response from Associa Arizona. Please contact us at 520.742.5674 if this information is not correct.

04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Been asking for repairs on my home for 6 months but no results yet.
When I first purchased my home their were problems with the roof and inside my home as well with leaking problems. When we found out that Associa took over management here at Pine Village North my wife and I decided to call them and see about repairs on the house, we came upon other neighbors with the same problems ,but no one knew who to get in contact with. Well my wife talked to someone who told her the name of the person who owned this community his name is ***** *** , well several calls were made and emails sent about the situation at hand and well we were assured that the problems were going to be taken care of soon , we were contacted by the person who is the maintenance manager who said they were taking care of everyone's complaints , which were several other people in this community . We were told that things were going to be repaired soon and we'll one month passed *** nothing the second month and nothing and so on , well we have waited so long that we still have no furniture or floors in the home due to water leaks in the house and do not want our personal things damaged. Well now they say they are having money issues or not enough funds to repair the roofs. So over the last 6 months we have patiently waited for something to be done , I, being a carpenter can do the job but have no time because I have a full time job , they told me to give them an estimate on how much I would charge , but I believe this is something they should be taking care of. All we want is for these repairs to be taken care of soon so that we can feel like we actually have a nice home to live in and not worry about more water damage or the ceiling possibly coming down on us . We want results as do some other neighbors , so we ask for something to be done please.

Desired Settlement
We are not asking for a settlement , we just want to be heard about our roof repairs so that we can lay the floor down and bring our furniture in the house for the first time after a year of living here . We want them to come in and finally take care of these issues . We want to be given a date or some kind of reassurance that these issues are going to be taken care of as soon as possible .

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** Orr-EVP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@pmghouston.com
I spoke to ***** ****** (Mr. ********' wife) who I have spoken to before about the work on their home. There was a conversation with them about ******* doing the work, so we held off doing anything except we still went ahead to get an estimate just in case something changed on their consideration of doing the work on the home themselves, which was discussed. We did not know that the decision was made for them not doing the work and in planning that this may be the case, we received the bid for the work on their home 2 days ago and now knowing the direction they want to go in, the work for their home has been approved. I let ***** know this and she understands completely and knows if there are any questions further that she can call myself directly, or our Maintenance Director, who she knows well. She thanked me for the call and I let her know that she will be getting a call from the roofer over the next week or so when he finishes the other job he is presently on. I also explained that we are attending to jobs in the order of urgency and what the association can afford monthly, which she also understood.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would say that we do accept this as a response but I AM NOT happy with the way things are as of now which is why I say No I do not accept the response , We were suppose to get a call from the roofer this week to determine what day he would come and take a look at the roof and give us a SPECIFIC date as a courtesy to us and when they could start , but we were left waiting and the week is over , I am very angry at this point , and it's very disappointing to know that I can't get someone to simply give me a call and let me know something . My wife has spoken with Mr. *** and he explained the issues which she told me about , but I am the one who needs this resolved .

Final Consumer Response
I would like to know what I need to do now about my roof repair, what Associa plans to do about the repairs they had them come fix but had the new problems emerge in the bedroom and closet with the Sheetrock being damaged. The roofer left quite a mess the first time since they left the roof unfinished and the roof leaked, they left some things unfinished and they left their trash from the roof in my patio for 2 days which I thought they were going to come in and clean but they never did I had to clean it up myself after the rain. I rally need to know what we need to do next to get all of this problem really fixed the right way and be content with it once and for all.

Final Business Response
I have spoken to this client on many occasions (*****) and they know they are welcome to call me if there are still issues or water penetration taking place. If there is, I will have a different roofer go to the home to inspect and repair. I will specifically request that when this does happen that the home owner does not interfere with the workers and if there is a problem, I am contacted directly, not the homeowner take matters into their own hands. I will request that the homeowner contact me directly, describe the area of concern we will dispatch someone to inspect and go from there.

04/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** states that they did not receive payment for Nov '14. I sent them proof, but would not honor confirmation of payment. Add'nl money sent to avoid
penalties. I have notified them twice that I do not owe them for Nov and should not have any late fees or notification charges assessed. They have not responded. I have given them ample time to respond and rectify their error.

Desired Settlement
$140.00

Business Response
Ms. **** -

We no longer manage your community, so we are unable to assist in your request. Please contact Premier Community Mgmt XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Your account ledger is included for your records.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Jomar Associa was the HOA until the end of Dec 2014. The dispute regards November 2014. At that time they were the HOA for our development and they have received $140.00 above any HOA fees they were due.

Final Business Response
If we still managed the community, we would be happy to assist. Your account, as well as as any funds in question are still with your association and managed your new management company and we do not have access or ability to research and perform any changes to your account. If you provide the backup, I'm confident they will assist you. We are very sorry we are unable to do more for you.

04/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Assessed a fee for their error and didn't stop auto debits as requested. Didn't respond to letter or email.
I gave Associa all necessary documents to debit my account monthly for HOA fees. They incorrectly input my info which caused the transaction to fail. They assessed a $20 fee, but didn't contact me. I e-mailed and wrote to two different people, but without response. I wrote again today as I saw yet another auto debit to my account. ******* called and said I asked too late to have the auto debit stopped and could not guarantee me she could refund my money before April. At this date, I am not guaranteed any type of refund.

Desired Settlement
Proof that Associa has stopped the auto debits of my account, a refund for the $162.29 dues for April, and a refund of the $20 fee that was assessed incorrectly.

Business Response
After an in depth review of the account history and information from Associa employees we found this homeowner provided authorization for her Association to draft her monthly association dues payments.
Following this complaint, we found our staff made a data entry error relative to the bank account information. The owner's account could not be validated in order to draft the funds based on this error, resulting in the owner receiving a late letter plus a NSFs Fees being added to her account. I have verified all NSF and late fees have all been reversed from this owners account.
The homeowner had contacted our employees about the issue and subsequently withdrew her authorization for the auto draft of her dues and indicated she would pay the outstanding amounts by check, which she has done.
Our employees have been advised of the actual circumstances and proper customer service processes reviewed with them. We will continue to train our employees so this type of error does not occur in the future.
A letter of apology has also be written to Ms. ****** as she made sincere efforts to resolve this matter on several occasions and our team failed to understand the process in which to research and resolve the matter.

Page 1 of 54
04/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Funds removed twice, requested refund, got a refund only to have it reversed, owing over $600 to the HOA with no communication about what they did.
I noticed double billing done by Jomar thru my Chase checking account, I contacted Chase to do an investigation, one was an ACH Debit and one was a direct bill thru Chase pay of which I completed my self. Chase deemed the charge as incorrect and suggested I go after Jomar of which I did, Jomar reimbursed me for the funds only to re-instate the funds to my 2015 statement. I just discovered this by chance as I have had no communication with the company via letter, email, phone call telling me what they had elected to do, if, they had I would have sent the check back to them instead of depositing the check, now, I owe all this money and am stressed out they'll put a lien on my property. I would like an investigation into unfair practices conducted by JOMAR against Sr.'s.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to reverse the charges once again and make my balance clear of this transaction.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Ruth Ingoldsby, Admin Dir
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@associa.us
We are sorry you are having trouble with on-line payments for your homeowner's association assessments. We have attempted to reach you by phone regarding your account but you seem to not be accepting any phone calls.

We have reviewed your account history and it appears that an on-line payment was initiated by you on 10/07/2014. We also show that this amount was refunded to you on 12/29/2014. Another on-line payment was initiated by you on 11/05/2014. This payment was returned for non sufficient funds. Associa mistakenly posted an additional credit on 12/29/2014 but when it was determined that a refund for the overpayment was already processed, the credit was reversed on 01/31/2015.

You requested a refund for an overpayment, which was honored, but we cannot refund overdraft fees and the bank processing fee for your self initiated on-line payment.

Attached is the account history and emails from you along with the screen shots that highlight your on-line payments.

We are happy to speak with you live. You can reach us at 480.892.5222 during regular business hours.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This implies that I rec'd two refunds of which I didn't. Chase Bank did a fraud research on this vendor and deemed that did indeed take two payments out of my chase account of which I only authorized one transaction. this left me with a credit balance with this vendor for which I was given a refund for at the suggestion of my bank, now, the charges have been reversed and put back on my account with additional charges, now I owe two years worth of HOA fees because of this gaff done by the above vendor, I am again requesting a reversal of the charges and all fees associated with this transaction,if, not I will escalate this complaint to our local Attorney Generals office in the state of Arizona. The vendor located in Arizona has my work email and my personal email so as far as attempting to contact me is very easy considering you have two modes of communication. I would be more than happy to send screen shots to the BBB and the Attorney Generals office for review.
thanks
******* ******

Final Business Response
We did not mean to imply there were two refunds. There was one refund and one additional incorrectly applied refund that was reversed from the account. The transactions that were initiated by you were the cause of your bank charges and we cannot accept responsibility for those.

Associa acts as the agent for your community and funds are collected and deposited to your homeowners association account not our company's account. If you believe that payments have not been credited to your account, we will be happy to work with you to provide the transactions we show to your account and correct any payments that you believe were paid and we do not show in your account.

We have attempted to reach you by phone several times but you have either blocked calls from our number or are not taking calls. We are located in Arizona and are standing ready to assist you during normal business hours.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Kindly do an audit on my account and show me the error that I made as a consumer. I paid too much which gave me a credit, you sent me the credit and then added it back to my account which makes no sense, as far as reaching out to me I've given you my email for correspondence and haven't heard from you all. I will pursue this with the Attorney Generals Office in Arizona.
Thanks
******* ******

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Associa was our management company for Sunland Village East Garden Condos 1 & 2. I am the president of that HOA. Associa failed to file our income taxes for 2013 until January of 2015. They failed to pay contractors in a timely manner. We received complaints from those contractors. They failed to pay our water bills for the common areas to the city of Mesa for over 3 months. We requested 3 bids for rusted out risers & painting bids. We requested the riser bids in March of 2014. We finally got one bid that we(2 board members) requested and one from Associa in February of 2015. We got the painting bids in December 2014 after numerous requests. We received no financial reports for the months of April through September 2014. They now are refusing to release operating funds to our new management company in a timely manner. They were notified on January 23rd that their services were being terminated effective February 28th. To this date they have only released $1000 from our operating fund to the new management company. We can not even pay our delinquent water bill to the city because they will not give us more of our operating fund.
Product_Or_Service: Management company

Desired Settlement
We would like a refund of at least 1 years fees we paid Associa. We also want all penalties assessed to us due to their negligence to be paid by Associa. We want at least $50,000 from our operating fund released to Heywood Realty and Investment, our new management company, immediately. We have over $120,000 in our operating cash account.

Business Response
On behalf of Associa we are very sorry you've had a less than satisfactory experience with us. Responses to your concerns are below:

We were told by the board in mid November that you received the financials sporadically and had indicated at that time that we were surprised that a phone call was not placed to the manager's supervisor. Financials were always available to you online.

We were made aware of bids requested by the Board and had not been received in mid November and immediately began the process of obtaining bids for these projects.

We are unaware of any vendors not being timely paid. We did convert to an automated payment system during the time that is described but we had no vendor or payee's that submitted a billing to us go without payment.

Your new management company requested start up funds of $1,000.00. We complied with the request. If additional funds would have been requested, we would have gladly complied. We are not withholding funds. When a community leaves a management company there is typically outstanding checks that will need to be paid. We want to ensure that there are funds available to pay the community's obligations. We requested that your bank account be closed on March 26th and will have the entire balance of your operating account available to you or your management company next week.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are still very upset with Associa's total incompetence.

In November we went to the office of Associa to complain that we had verbally and electronically requested financial reports through our managing agent to no avail. We were never instructed on how to get our financials online until this November meeting.

The bids we requested were never all filled. On April 9, 2014 our managing agent was asked to get 3 bids for repairing a sagging soffit and facia on the golf cart storage shed. On October 2, 2014 we once again requested bids. These bids were never gotten by Associa as well as the bids for rusted out risers that were requested in March 2014. The only bids that were gotten by Associa were for the painting and only after we made a demand that they be gotten immediately.

Associa, in addition to filing our taxes a YEAE late, they failed to have an audit done for 2013 and 2014 which was required by our CC & Rs. They told us the audit reports were coming but we are still waiting for them. When our new management company took over March 1st our 2014 taxes had not been filed, were due in 15 days, and Associa failed to give the new company any reports so that taxes could be figured. Not a good way to start business with the new company. Total incompetence on Associa's part.

Their bookkeeping system is horrible. They would put money in the wrong accounts, would not collect special assessments but charge us for collecting them, some months we would get only the reports that they had done and tell us the rest were not ready for our meeting which was held the 3rd Monday of each month, etc. We still do not have all of our reports from them.

We were always apologizing to contractors because they were not paid in a timely manner. This happened with the painters that just started in February of this year. They were to be paid a portion up front but did not receive that. When the painters completed the work in March 2015 our new management company did not have enough money to pay them and Associa would not advance any more money to them to pay our bills. The inspector who performed the mandatory back flow inspection in September 2014 was still not paid in December 2014. The city of Mesa was very patient in not forcing the issue with the 3 month delay in paying our water bill no thanks to Associa.

All of these problems and yet they charged us and made sure they got their money each month for basically doing nothing or doing it wrong.

I can not accept their feeble response for being so incompetent. They are a very poor excuse for a management company.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Saddle Creek Subdivision in Lyon Township, MI is not being managed appropriately nor are bylaws enforced by Kramer Triad.
Ongoing issues have been reported to Kramer Triad since 2012. Subdivision is not managed appropriately and bylaws are not enforced. Customer service at all levels attempted is poor, community manager to VP, either e-mails or phone calls are not returned or if you do get ahold of someone, its excuses and further delay. It does not matter how high up the chain of command you go, ****** ****** *** ************ ******* ******* **** ******* such poor customer service, excuses and lack of follow-through is experienced at every level.

Desired Settlement
Provision of services for which dues are collected.

Business Response
I have spoken with the complainant and explained that we are acting at the direction of the Board of Directors and in accordance with the management agreement. She is unhappy that the Association is not addressing noise complaints she made against a neighbor. We have explained that we have brought this to the Board of Directors and they have responded to her, through the Communnity Association Manager, that they did not feel the case she has made is strong enough for them to proceed. Since she disagrees with this, I advised that she write a letter to the Board of Directors making her points, and we would ensure it is addressed at their next meeting. She indicated she would not be writing a letter. She was also unhappy about sidewalk snow removal not being enforced. I explained that the Board of Directors does not take a strict approach to this. I further explained that she might also include that point in her letter. She indicated she did not plan to write such a letter, feeling that emails she has sent to the manager to date should suffice. I explained that the Boards decision to take no action at this time was based on her communications to date, and that if she wanted it readdressed she would need to do the letter. She again indicated she had no plans to write a letter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a response from **** ****** of Kramer Triad conveniently after a complaint was filed with the Better Business Bureau, well past the time initially promised. The bylaws state to go through the Community Manager who then takes the complaints anonymously to the Board on the residents behalf. That is the job of the Community Manager (but again the community manager does not do her job and management does not even follow directions sent forth, and so much for protecting anonymity). I explained the rules to **** but they do not want to follow the rules set forth and continue to advise me to write a letter to the Board, thus wasting even more of my time. The Board of Directors nor Kramer Triad enforce bylaws nor manage subdivision appropriately. Proof upon proof has been provided, but the issue is not wanting to do their job, sit back do nothing approach. Complaint will stay active until issues are addressed and resolved. Three plus years is long enough for resolution. We are looking for resolution, actual enforcement of bylaws, not lip service and passing the buck. What is the point of bylaws if they are not enforced? Responsibility and accountability must exist somewhere.

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Kramer Triad's/****'s new response is repetitive of their previous response. The bylaws state that the homeowner takes concerns to the community manager who then takes the concerns to the Board on the resident's behalf. ****/Kramer Triad indicating that I am to write a letter to the Board is not according to the bylaws which I am the only following. Kramer Triad and the Board do not even follow their own directions as outlined in their bylaws. This is unacceptable. I have already provided detailed information in the e-mailed letters (including names, addresses, license plate numbers, pictures, names/numbers of violated bylaws, etc.). They have enough information on which to act; they just want me to write a letter to the Board, doing their job for them, wasting more of my time, and ultimately delaying action and resolution to these concerns. ****** ***** and the Board have plenty of information and details on which to act. They instead choose to deny responsibility and accountability. However, it is the Management Company being paid. For the $550/per year paid to Kramer Triad by each residential household of the Saddle Creek subdivision, it is expected they will provide the services for which they are being paid including enforcement of bylaws which further includes enforcement of homes as single family homes not multi family homes, noise disturbances, sidewalk snow removal, maintenance of common areas including trash removal and grass cutting, pets and electric fencing, residential landscaping requirements, etc. It is clear that Kramer Triad plans to continue to do nothing and not provide services for the fees collected and for that, this business should be reported. In looking through previous complaints, poor management of subdivisions, poor customer service and lack of follow-through, etc. are clearly ongoing issues with this company.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They charged me twice for my final HOA fee in July 2014 and despite being contacted multiple times, they have not refunded me and won't return calls.
On July 1st 2014 I paid my HOA fee to Associa. My condo was at **** ****** **** **** ** Fort Collins, CO XXXXX in the Hill Pond Condo Association. The check cleared on July 3rd, 2014. On July 10th Associa Services gave their final information for the closing of my condo and included the approximately $280.00 HOA fee that I had already paid. On July 15th, 2014 the house close, and I noticed the HOA fee discrepancy on July 14th, 2014 while signing the final documents. I was informed by my real estate agent and mortgage company that it would be easier to get a refund from the Associa then redraft all the documents, so I signed the documents anyway. On July 15th, 2014 I first called Associa Services in Fort Collins to alert them to the mistake. They admitted the mistake and said I should get a refund in about 6 weeks. I updated my new address with them and waited 6 weeks. I did not receive a check, so I called and inquired about the check. It took multiple calls to get my call return, but I was eventually told that it would take another 4 weeks. Four weeks later I called again, because I still had not received a check in the mail. No one returned my calls, and finally after I e-mailed I got a manager who responded. By this time I had purchased another home, and my address was changing soon, so I left them with my new address. The manager said she made a special note in the file so the check would be sent to my new home. Four weeks later I still had no check, so when I was in Colorado visiting I stopped by the office. I was told that they had sent the check to the wrong address and it would take 4 weeks to cancel it and send a new check. I once again verified my new address with them. I then called again 6 weeks later and they said that accounting was still working on it. I have been calling them about every 4 weeks since, and no one returns my calls now. It has been almost 8 months and I have no refund, and I don't know what to do. They owe me the money. They admit they owe me the money, but in 8 months they have not be able to send me a check and don't have the courtesy to return calls.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to pay me the money they owe me. I believe it is a little over $280.00.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@associa.us
Thank you for reaching out to our team in order to resolve this matter. Upon review and research, I found where we did have to void and reissue the original check mailed to your old home address in late 2014. It is our internal policy to void and reissue any checks that do not clear within 90 days of issuance. This was done when the original check did not clear the bank account.

Upon receipt of your report, our team re-voided and issued another check per your directive, with your updated mailing address. Please watch for this as I understand that we have the correct, updated mailing information for you at this time.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was in your office November 18th, 2014. Your people said you issued the check in early October and would void it for me because of YOUR error with my address. Now, if you do the math it is WAY WAY past the 90 day period you need for this to happen. Even if I add another month or two on for you to issue the check and send it. Since July 2014 when you made and error causing this issue, your people have told me no less than 8 times that I had to wait 30 days for this, or 90 days for that, or the check is in the mail. I have been told the check was in the mail 3 times, and this response makes it the fourth. Your response indicates by your own policies that check should already been sent and in my hands. You said you have my correct address now, but your people said that twice before and you sent it to the wrong place. Now, I have no check, and based on your timeline it may be lost again. Or you are just lying to me, realized you messed up and just issued the check last minute? If it is the latter, just admit is so maybe I can have a glimmer of hope that the check is in the mail. If not, then the check you issued has likely been sent to the wrong address again, lost, or possibly launched to the moon at this point. By your admitted policies and procedures in the worst case scenario the check should have been at my house late February. It is late March. So, it would a great courtesy to me for you to tell me when the check you said you issued was actually issued, so I can know when to expect it. If it was supposed to be to me in February, it is lost again and can you please initiate the 90 day voiding process plus another month or two to issue and send the check? But before cutting a check, wait until I call your local office at least 5 times without receiving a response and get fed up and contact the BBB.

04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our association is Sundown Ridge.Associa has not been able to accurately process HOA bills for the last 18 months since they went to a new billing system. We do not get clean financials and can not get responses back when leaving messages or emails. Paperwork provided to the new management company is not clean nor complete. We did not get bills paid or know what bills they have paid. They are still holding monies from our banking accounts. We left ASSOCIA after some 7 year relationship.I would not recommend them to any association.

Desired Settlement
Clean financials that are owed to our HOA and clear billing records and reimbursement of late fees for bills not paid on time.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Heather Kerwin, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@associa.us
2/19/2014
Sundown Ridge historically has had two different types of homes with different assessment responsibilities as part of their legal homeowner association. The Board wanted to manage and account for revenue and expenses as if one Association was actually two associations. This request always resulted in additional accounting staff time to split different expenses, such as the common area water bills, the landscaping contract, and irrigation repairs between both unit categories. Although we had recommended separate financials for each category on numerous occasions, the Board was not willing to move to this solution due to the cost of accounting services. Throughout our relationship with Sundown Ridge, these issues were manually adjusted by our General Ledger staff, with no additional charges to the Association for the time involved.
In June 2013, Associa moved to an electronic accounts payable process for all of our Associations. This process has provided increased security for Association funds for all Associations and provides for more expedient payment of vendor invoices. All vendor invoices are available for Board Member review. Board approval and signature on all payments are still completed by Association Board Members. In addition, each Association continues to receive full monthly financial statements, including cash disbursements reports.
The Strongroom Accounts Payable Process was modified in the summer of 2014 to provide easier allocation of payments between the Sundown Ridge owner categories. While we felt these changes would have resolved any prior issues, the Board gave us notice in October 2014, canceling our management contract effective 12/31/2014.
Additional year end adjustments have been provided to us by the Finance Committee Chairman. Those adjustments are in process now and should be complete by February 20, 2015, with final 2014 Financial Statements available to the Association at that time. Post Audit adjustments will appropriately be made by the new managing agent, following the 2014 Audit. Copies of all invoices for 2014 were provided to the Association's new managing agent with the transition documents. On October 13, 2014, Colorado Association Services reimbursed late fees that were charged the Association by Denver Water in the amount of $632.01. Subsequently, water payments were paid by phone by our accounting staff to prevent future late fees. CAS confirmed there were no late fees assessed by the Denver Water for the months of October, November and December per below:


From: Customer Care mailto:************@denverwater.org
Sent: Thursday, February 19, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ******* *********
Subject: RE: Sundown Ridge Homeowners Association

Dear *******,

Thank you for contacting Denver Water regarding the accounts for Sundown Ridge HOA. I found 24 accounts under that name. I checked each one and found that there were no late fees assessed during the months of October, November & December 2014 on any of those accounts.

If we may be of any further assistance, please contact us either by e-mail or by calling us at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We are available weekdays from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and we will be happy to assist you. You may also go to our website at www.denverwater.org for more information.

Best Regards,

Tara Causby
****** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX
INTEGRITY VISION PASSION ********** RESPECT


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is false.

"The Sundown Ridge Homeowners Association is a small community of 74 Town and Single Family homes that has been in existence since 1984. The management of this association is not difficult and we had employed Associa Management for eight years ending after December 2014. During that time and prior to June 2013 the management services from Associa were acceptable based upon the annual contract we signed with Associa each year including the financial services provided. These financial services were managed from the Denver Lakewood offices of Associa before they implemented their Strongroom Software system in their Dallas headquarters. Associa, Denver were always aware of our HOA environment that required financial management and control that split some invoices across two different account entities, the Town Homes and the Single Family Homes. Associa never complained previously of having trouble with this situational requirement because it was an easy control issue that was managed locally. It was only when their new Strongroom software system was introduced that much of the financial services was transferred to the Dallas center and was unable to service their local Denver requirements accurately. The introduction of this financial software system was troublesome to both our HOA and the local financial staff at Associa in Denver. Sundown Ridge was fortunate to have retained the same Associa Manager allocated to our HOA site for the first seven years of our relationship. But following the financial software introduction in mid 2013 and the subsequent inability of the system to provide good financial results, this Manager from Associa resigned from Associa at the end of 2013 and we at Sundown Ridge were left with a variety of managers over the next year of 2014. In addition we now saw very unprofessional financial reporting including monthly requirements to adjust incorrect postings and corrections to over-payments to more than two major suppliers. These overpayments were direct errors from Associa Accounts Payable in Dallas and certainly gave significant problems to the local financial staff at Associa in Denver. Subsequently we also saw late fees incurred by Associa in their inability to pay invoices on time. As they responded to the BBB, these late fees were paid by Associa and correctly so, as they were the cause of these late charges in the first place. Monitoring the financial performance of Associa each month of 2014 was always a challenge and despite often good efforts by the local financial manager, the resulting financial reports became a series of adjustments from one month to the next without significant improvements throughout the year. We watched the local financial team at Associa in Denver move through different General Ledger Clerks as their staffing capabilities lessened. The level of frustration caused by this Management Company was born from the middle of 2013 and all the way through 2014 with the consideration that, in hindsight, we should have terminated their contract at the end of 2013. If the BBB is serious about auditing Associa in Denver, they only have to look at the employment records of the financial department and the site managers since mid 2013 to gain an understanding of the turnover impact. The natural question would then be why the turnover and what was the impact to Associa's customers like Sundown Ridge. We can advise that the impact was significant and all bad, even our independent auditor was concerned that we stay with Associa. As an Association we at Sundown Ridge are still looking to have the final financial reports from 2014, as Associa mentioned in their response, completed and given to us. In fairness we would advise that Associa provided a good service to our association when they were a locally managed organization, but since mid 2013 they have been a terrible management organization from whom we are very pleased to be no longer associated."

Most importantly, even though our contract ended on Dec. 31, as of Feb. 28 we are owed in excess of $50K from our bank accounts. We have not received bank statements for January and February from the accounts where they hold our money. As previously noted the financials we have received for most of 2014 are incomplete with numerous errors. The new management company has tried their best to make sense of the financials with limited success. We fully expect our required annual audit to result in higher charges due to the mess we were handed.

1)We expect our money to be turned over to us along with the required bank account statements for these accounts.

2) Due to the expected additional audit costs and the failure of ASSOCIA to meet their obligations of clean statements and the failure to respond to homeowner request for the last 90 days of 2014 we expect half of the management costs for this period to be returned to us.

Page 1 of 34
12/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Association Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.