BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2001

Riddell Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (972) 682-4860Fax: (972) 682-4866

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* was to fix 3 issues: 2 slow drains and 1 leaky faucet. They never fixed the issues, they stole a faucet part, and they billed incomplete work.
In October 2014 called ******* to fix 3 issues: 2 slow drains and 1 leaky faucet. Two men came out to fix the slow drain in the bathtub first, although at all times only one man worked and the other stood around the entire time talking to him. One man attempted to snake the tub and during the process broke our overflow plate. The two men left to get new parts. I never received a written or verbal estimate for the work, despite asking for one at the time. After several calls, in January 2015 the two men came back and replaced the overflow plate, although the slow drain was not fixed. Then they proceeded to fix the slow drain in the sink of the master bath. They fixed that, although I never received a written or verbal estimate for the work, despite asking for one again. Then the two men started to fix the leaky faucet on the other sink, although at all times only one man worked and the other stood around the entire time talking to him. The one man took apart the faucet and took the handle to get new replacement parts. The two never came back, and given the lengthy amount of time, poor service, and lack of an estimate I chose not to pursue the matter at the time. The next thing that happened is that I received a bill (Invoice # XXXXXX) for $510 for "replaced two stems at master lavatory and replaced overflow plate and spout on back bathroom tub." As stated, given the poor performance I chose not to have them back in my house to do any work, nor did I respond to the bill or several calls. ******* is now aggressively pursuing payment for work that was not completed. In addition, they stole parts from our sink, which is still not functional. I am filing a complaint with ******* for multiple reasons: 1) ******* did not complete work; 2) ******* stole parts from our sink; 3) ******* did not supply a written or verbal estimate for work prior to or during work, despite multiple requests; 4) ******* billed for work that was not completed; 5) ******* has aggressively pursued payment for work not completed.

Desired Settlement
I would like the parts for my sink returned. I will be happy to pay industry standard for the cost to fix the one sink that was fixed for a slow drain, as well as the cost for the replacement parts for the back tub (although it was ******* that broke the overflow plate). I would like all other charges dismissed, as the other work was never done. And, I would like for ******* to cease and desist from ever contacting me again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@riddellplumbing.com
I've sent a supervisor to inspect the problems Ms. ****** claims. Ms. ****** stated in her complaint that there were three issues to be repaired by *******; two slow drains and one leaky faucet. The two slow drains were corrected by our plumber. The leaky faucet required a replacement part to be ordered. We took the part in need of replacement so it could be matched. It was not a theft issue!

There were two men sent out on the service call. One was a plumber and the other an apprentice. The apprentice's job is to stand near the plumber and help the plumber when in need, to go to the truck for tools and materials, to turn the main water on and off, etc., very similar to a trainee in any profession. The man standing there was doing his job.

Regarding the complaint of not receiving an estimate when she called for service, on 11/27/13 at 12:05 pm she was quoted our hourly rates of $135 for the first hour and $95 every hour after. She was asked what form of payment she would using to pay for the service and her reply was by credit card. ******* never sends out any service without quoting our hourly rates.

We did have a problem getting Ms. ****** to return our calls. After we received the special order parts, we called her on 12/27/13 at 12:10 pm and no return call. We called again on 1/31/14 at 11:20 am and she did call back to schedule us to come to install the parts on 2/7/14. When we returned, Ms. ****** had a nut that was in need of replacement on a faucet and we told her we would get a new nut and call her to schedule an appointment to install it. Note that this was on 2/17/14. We called Ms. ****** seven times and left her a voice mail on 2/19/XX XX:XX pm, 5/7/XX X:XX pm, 6/3/XX XX:XX pm, 6/10/XX X:XX pm, 6/27/XX X:XX pm, 7/14/XX X:XX pm and 8/28/XX X:XX pm. After all these attempts to reach Ms. ******* she never returned a call. This is when I told my dispatcher to bill for the work that was completed. We then had to make several calls to Ms. ****** to pay the bill and still never a return call. After six months we turned her over to our collection company. This is when she finally called to say she was unhappy with us. I feel if she was unhappy why not call us back after all these attempts we made to contact her? ******* is out four hours labor and $90.31 for parts.

I have been the owner of ******* Plumbing for 28 years and have survived off honesty and great service to all customers. We are working hard to communicate with Ms. Bonner to resolve any issues and make her a happy customer!

Thanks,
***** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

******* has agreed to dismiss charges and will install a new replacement faucet to replace the lost part. We are satisfied with this response.

11/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3 of the 4 tanks they installed failed due to their neglect in recognizing the need for different anodes due to the home having a water softener.
******* installed 4 Rinnai tankless units in our home in 2009. By July 2012, 3 of the 4 units had failed. They neglected to make sure the correct anodes were in the units during installation knowing our home had a water softener system. The anodes that existed in the tanks are not recommended with a softener system. Not until the 3rd unit failed did ******* realize why these tanks were failing. The last unit that failed caused $2400 worth of water damage to our home. Had ******* made sure the proper anodes were installed from the beginning none of the tanks would have failed. After hiring ******* to install a costly state of the art tankless system, we would expect them to stand behind their work. It was *******'s negligence that caused the 3 tanks to fail. We have paid $2400 out of pocket to repair our home of the water damage due to their negligence. We spoke to ******* about how we do not feel its our responsibility to pay this invoice. They have since sent me to collections which has damaged my perfect credit score that I have always maintained.

Desired Settlement
I am asking ******* to cover the invoice as the only reason there was a call for repair was because of lack of expertise on installation from the beginning on their end. I am asking ******* to withdraw the collection pursuit and to make sure that my credit score is regained. If this is not satisfactory, then I would be happy to consult my attorney on the matter and file a case against *******. I have never asked ******* to cover the cost of the repairs to my home due to their neglect but would be happy to include that in a case if we continue the fight.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:**************, President
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *****@riddellplumbing.com
Yes, the system the customer is referring to is included in a remodel we did on his home through a builder. There was a remaining balance on this job of $19,378.14 that we were not paid because the builder stated that he had not been paid by said customer.

We sent the customer a registered letter on August 14, 2010 (attached with invoices). The letter was signed for, but we never received a response. I was not aware of a water softener in his home. The Rinnai tankless water heaters do not have anode rods. I think the customer may possibly be referring to the AO Smith storage tanks? And, yes, if the customer's home had a water softener then these five storage tanks should have special anode rods and if this water softener system was installed prior to our install, then yes this could mean we made a mistake on the initial install.

The problem could have possibly been resolved with better communication. It is also difficult to warranty work that we've not been fully paid for.

If the customer still feels that we should not be paid and he feels we have been treated fairly then I will honor all of his wishes.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Water Heater - Tankless, Garbage Disposals - Household, Water Leak Detection, Garbage Disposal Equipment - Industrial & Commercial, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbing Plan Services, Plumbers - Commercial, Drainage Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.