BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

HSC - Hopson Services Company, Inc.

Phone: (214) 219-4813Fax: (214) 219-0464

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Plumbers over charged me for labor hours and did not satisfactorily complete the job. Another plumbing company had to complete the job.
Hopson Services sent two men out to my office for a clogged toilet on Wednesday, July 23rd. The workers unclogged the toilet and then stated it was leaking so they went to Home Depot to buy a supply line to stop the leak. They returned after an hour or more and installed the supply line. They left my office around 3:20pm. I remember the time because I signed the service order at my front desk and I remember looking at the clock and the 4 hours on the report. They arrived a little after 12 noon. They wrote down their time for 4 hours each, even though they only worked 3 hours and 20 minutes. When I asked about the hourly rate, I was told I would have to call the boss, they just do the work. While cleaning the bathroom that evening, I noticed the toilet was still leaking. I contacted ****** on Thursday morning and spoke to ******* and she stated someone would come back out and take a look at it. No one came back out by lunch time. So I called ******* again. She assured me someone would be out that afternoon to fix the leak. I was in the office all day on Thursday and no one came out or called. The plumbers only had my cell phone number and there were no calls from them. According to the owner, ******, his men came out on Friday and no one was at the office. Again, I did not receive any phone calls from the company or the men stating someone was coming out on Friday or that they were at my office. I explained to ****** our office is normally closed on Fridays, but if his men had contacted me on Thursday I could have made arrangements to meet them at the office. I did not hear from the plumbing company again, so I contacted another plumber on Monday who came out and fixed the leak. Once I received the bill from ******, I contacted the company and to discuss what happened and my dissatisfaction with their work. I spoke with Tamara and she stated she could only give me 2 hour labor credit, per ******. Although I appreciate the credit, it was not satisfactory since the workers only worked 6 hours and 40 minutes. I asked to speak with the owner, but I was told he was not in the office. I left a message for him to return my call. I did not hear from the owner or the company for 3 months and then I received a delinquent statement requesting payment of $600.16. I wrote a letter explaining my concerns and asking for a further discount of two labor hours or a credit of $145.60 which was paid to the second plumber who had to fix the leaking toilet. ******* called my office and left a message regarding payment. I contacted ******* to discuss my request and she referred me to ******. He stated that he was not going to do either option and threatened to put a lien on my building if I do not pay. He went on to change his story stating his men came out to my office and waited for 1 hour and half. He stated he has tracking devices on his trucks and can prove his men came out to my office. He went on to state his men called me several times and I told them I was not in the office that day. All of this new information is completely not true. I did not receive any phone calls from this company after Thursday. I don't have an issue paying for my bill, but I will not pay for unsatisfactory work that had to be fixed correctly by another company and I will not pay for extra labor time. I am asking for a credit of two labor hours or $145.60.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking additional labor hour credit on the bill or a credit of what I paid the second plumber to come out and fix the toilet ($145.60).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@yahoo.com
Regarding Non-Payment
******** ****** of ******** ****** Dentistry does not want to pay for services rendered. We were called out on 07/23/2014 because the main sewer line was backed up. Our guys removed lots of paper towels and other debris from the line. The issue we came to solve was not to repair a toilet but to unclog a drain. After unclogging the drain and testing the line our guys noticed that the supply line needed to be replaced due to the rubber seal being worn out. We notified Ms. ****** of the discoveries and went to home depot to pick up the parts and came back and replaced it. Ms. ****** called us on 07/24/2014 and informed us she had a leak. We asked if the leak was bad or in an emergency state and she told us no. I told ******* inform her we would try to come back out that day (07/24/2014) if our schedule permits or first thing Friday Morning (07/25/2014). Our guys arrived on 07/25/2014 at 8:30am as scheduled only to find the office was closed. We contacted Ms. ****** to let her know we couldn't get in and she informed us that she would meet us there to let us in. We told her we were on a schedule and would have to come back once we completed other scheduled jobs since she wasn't there as agreed and offered to come back later that day to repair the leak. She became upset and said she'd call someone else. The plumber that she called after us replaced parts that were wore out on the inside of the tank and wax ring on a toilet, not a supply line. And according to a copy of Ms. ******* invoice from that plumbing company the work wasn't performed until 07/30/2014, but she told me she they came out 07/26/2014 when I contacted her to resolve her plumbing issue (the leak). Ms. ****** spoke with ******* when she requested the initial service call, when I informed ******* to tell her when we would be available to come back out, and about the past due invoice that hasn't been paid. ******* does not schedule any work that's to be done. She only records the information that's given by the customer. Once she received the bill, she contacted us and told us she felt she was overcharged because our guys were only there according to her 3 hours and 20 minutes and that she could not afford to pay the full amount. Our pricing is based on our policy of a 2 guy 2 hour minimum at a rate of $85.00 plus tax per hour for each guy during regular business hours and $130.00 plus tax per hour after hours for each guy for the first 2 hours. A $35.00 sewer charge will also be applied (for sewer calls) which covers the wear and tear on equipment. We then bill for 30 minute increments after first 2 hours for each guy if necessary. Materials are not included in that rate. Our guys were there for a total of 4 hours each which is what she was initially billed for. Ms. ****** spoke with Tamara after receipt of the invoice, and I approved for a 2 hour deduction from the original amount billed. The deduction wasn't satisfactory to her, she also wanted credit for the work she paid the other plumbing company to do. I then spoke with her about her issue and informed her I would only be reducing the invoice by 2 hours and would not credit her for the work she paid the other company to perform. Ms. ****** became irate and stated she would not pay the invoice and hung up in my face. After 30 days of non-payment, our accounting department contacts all delinquent accounts in attempt to collect the past due amounts. Ms. ****** would contact us back in a very rude manner expressing her disregard to our collection letters about her unpaid invoice. The calls would then be transferred to myself and the conversation would be similar to the first when Ms. ****** stated she would not pay the invoice for the amount billed. I spoke with Ms. ****** on 3 occasions about this invoice and on the last I told her if she didn't pay it we would file a lien on her building. Ms. ****** became very upset and advised me to do what I needed and that she would file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. We've been in service for 15 years and have never had a problem with any of our customers we've worked for. All we want is for her to pay her discounted bill of $600.16 to resolve this issue at hand.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because ******, the owner is not being truthful about several things in his response. On the day of service, I was not notified of an additional leak. I came to the front of the office and noticed they were gone. I contacted them and that's when they told me they were at Home Depot picking up a new supply line. On 7/24/2014, they did not ask if the leak was bad or an emergency. I was only told by ******* that they would come out that day to fix it. There was no mention of Friday during that conversation, because we would have told them we are closed on Friday and I would have made arrangements to meet them on Friday. I did not speak with them on Friday at all. I never told them I was contacting another company and that I could not afford the service. Actually I did not hear from the company again after contacting them on Thursday morning requesting for someone to come back out. There was no follow up call on Monday. Pricing was never discussed prior to service. When I asked about pricing. I was told by the men I would have to contact the owner. I was not aware of their billing policy of sending two men out on a job.
I did not make it a habit of not paying my bills, but in this case I did not agree with the charges. I attempted to discuss this with the owner, but he would not return my phone calls and this seemed to be the only way to get him to speak with me regarding this matter. I am willing to pay for the services the plumbers completed, but I'm do not want to pay this company for something they did not resolve. His men came to my office, unclogged my toilet, attempted to fix a leak and left me with a leak that they did not return to fix. I had to contact someone else to fix the problem and I feel I should not have to pay for services that were not completed satisfactorily by this company. Again, all I'm asking for is an additional credit of $145.60 which was paid to another plumber to resolve the issue.

Final Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Pumps - Service & Repair, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.