BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2005

Sovereign Pest Control

Phone: (817) 503-8243Fax: (817) 503-8251View Additional Phone Numbers5782 Park Vista Cir STE 404, Fort WorthTX 76244-5643 Send email to Sovereign Pest Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2005

BBB has determined that Sovereign Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sovereign Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sovereign Pest Control

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceiving and Misleading Sales tactics.
Sovereign Pest Control in Texas also known as Southern Pest Control in VA has deceiving sales tactics. They offer attractive low monthly payments for a 2 yr contract. I told the sales representative that I do not like contracts and she proceeded to state that I can cancel anytime without any penalties or repayment of remaining contract. I was very dissatisfied with their services after the second time. Since they said that they guarantee their work, I decided to call them again. This time I had called them to come back because I was seeing a lot of spiders and roach inside my house. Also I had ask them about a wasp issue inside and outside. Over the phone stated to me that they can help but when the technician came he stated that he cannot help with wasps. I've tried 2-3 times to plead my case and eventually I decided to call another pest control company to help. I proceeded with the other company because I was told by Sovereign that I can cancel anytime. It turned out that now each person I speak with states only the Vice President can authorize the cancellation. The VP Stephanie Rowe stated that she cannot authorize the cancellation because the VP of Sales is the one I should talk to because it is one of her employees. Stephanie claims she is only the VP of Customer Service. The employee only advised me that she is the VP of the company. This company does not want to take responsibility of their deceiving and misleading sales tactics. Nobody wants to take ownership of the issue. I demanded to speak to the owner/president of the company since they keep giving me the run around. The fact that the company has 2 different names also tells me that they must not have a good reputation. I think this company should be reviewed on their unethical practices.

Desired Settlement
Immediately cancel my contract with NO penalties or repayment of the remaining contract.

Business Response
As I have discussed with Mr. *******, he initially went under warranty in October of 2015 for a 2 year termite and pest control contract. Our contracts specifically state the pests that are included for service in the contract. We serviced Mr. *******'s home again on 12-14-15. He then called regarding a wasp problem which is not covered under the contract. We do provide a service for them, at an additional cost. Our contracts also specifically state that we do not cover flying insects...This is for obvious reasons. I explained repeatedly to Mr. ******* that I cannot cancel the contract based on something that is not even covered under the contract. Our contracts carry a 3 business day cancellation period. After a customer has reviewed the contract, if it is not what they were seeking in a service, they have 3 days in which to cancel with a full refund. This was not done and I am very reluctant to cancel the contact based on his complaint. He stated that the sales representative told him verbally he could cancel at anytime. I will state that Sovereign/Southern Pest control does not encourage nor tolerate misleading information by it's employee's. To address the issue with our company name, we under the Federal Trade name acquired Southern Pest Control in Virginia and Maryland. When we opened in Georgia we were not able to acquire that name, so we chose Sovereign Pest Control of GA, Inc. This is also true for Texas and Tennessee...
I hope I have once again addressed Mr. *******'s issues and hope that he will understand that this is not different than any other service that offers specific services and then allows you to add others as necessary. That is how our service plans work and we again, offer additional services that are not covered under the contract.
If Mr. ******* is still insists on cancelling the contract, we do impose a $150.00 early termination fee. Once that is paid, I will cancel the contract.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Rowe
Vice President, Customer Service
*********@southernpestcontrol.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was not offered to me at all during my communication with Stephanie. I will agree to pay a $150 termination fee if and only absolutely be my final payment. She kept insisting that I have to pay for the full remaining contract for no longer using their services. If I was offered the termination fee only this would have been resolved already. I would like a letter of cancellation and final bill of $150 if this is what is being proposed.

Final Business Response
I will agree to cancel the account once the payment of $150.00 is received. Mr. ******* will not owe anything else other than that.
Also, I believe there is some confusion over this complaint with the BBB office in Richmond, Va. as they contacted me and told me that they were handling the complaint. So, I am also requesting that this be taken care of so that I do not have any future outstanding correspondence regarding this matter... Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/26/2005Business started: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress Fl 11
Austin, TX 78701-1436
(800) 835-5832
http://www.agr.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Clayborn (Regional Manager)Mrs. Penny Clayborn (Office Manager)
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Sovereign Pest Control of Texas, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sovereign Pest Control

5782 Park Vista Cir STE 404

Fort Worth, TX 76244-5643

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5782 Park Vista Cir STE 404 

    Fort Worth, TX 76244-5643(817) 503-8243
    (866) 430-9801

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sovereign Pest Control is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 430-9801
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.