BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2001

Premier Pest Control

Phone: (214) 340-2700Fax: (214) 575-7000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/26/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After their flea control, there are still some fleas in my house.
I ordered the flea control from Premier Pest Control Company in Aug 8, 2015. The order number is TPCL9816A. The payment amount is about $180. We pay them by cash. They did the first flea control in the same day, the technician did poor work and the second day we complaint to their company that there are still a lot of fleas in my house because we were bitten as before. As they said they should follow up two weeks later. But they postponed the second flea control one week. In Aug 29, they did the second flea control. But several days later, my son and my wife were bitten again. In Sep 12 and Sep 22, 2015, the technicians of their company left some glue traps in my house try to find out what bit us, but they never told us the results. From last week, the fleas were more and more, and I found flea's feces on all the beds in my house and my son was diagnosed by fleabite. I complaint to the company that they didn't kill the fleas and asked how to do next, they only apologized and said that we must give a full pay to retreat the fleas. I am not satisfied with their solution. I have paid for the flea control to them and they should guarantee to kill all the fleas. Why should I pay for this because of their poor work? I hope to get the refund or they can retreat the flea for free.
In addition, fleas exit in my house because the pre-owner has a dog. I moved in Jul 26, 2015 and I don't have any pets. So the only reason for the fleas come out again is the poor work of the premier pest control.

Desired Settlement
Just redo the job until fully pest control were well done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Lawton ****** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@msn.com
July 30 our technician went to Mr *****'s house. He was concerned that his son was being bitten by fleas and wanted a quote. We quoted the price at 149.95+tax, collected payment and treated, then set up a treatment followup from 3-5 pm on Saturday 8/15. On 8/15 we completed his treatment at 3:57pm with Alpine Flea,tick, and bedbug spray and scheduled an additional free follow up for 8/29. (2 weeks later.) On 8/29 the *****'s called in to our office at 12:06pm and cancelled the follow up. We reset him for 9/12 at 2-4pm and completed this treatment as scheduled. We were not seeing fleas at the time but he complained that his son was getting bitten so we left some glue boards to see where the pest 'hotspots' were and scheduled an additional free followup for 9/15 from 2-4pm to re-evaluate the situation. We picked up the glueboards as scheduled for 9/15 and took them back to the office to inspect under a microscope and see what pests were active. We went back out on 9/22 from 2-4 to pick up additional samples before performing any additional treatments. There were small gnats on the traps but did not identify any biting insects that would require any additional need for an insecticide treatment. As professional exterminators We will not randomly apply pesticides without identifying the pest. This may frustrate a customer who just wants us to 'spray everything double dose', but customers rely on professionals to apply pesticides in a manner that is safe for them. On 9/24 from 9-11 we again returned to Mr *****'s home and discussed that his son may be getting bitten by a pest away from the home or perhaps mosquito's in the yard. We left a quote for mosquito treatment with him. Overall We inspected/treated Mr *****'s home 6 times with 1 additional appointment being cancelled by the customer. After receiving this complaint we contacted Mr ***** and as per company policy refunded his treatment cost. We made every effort to work with Mr Zhongwie ***** to solve his problem and tried to communicate the situation with Mr ******** throughout the process.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nobody contacted us and we have never get refund from this company after we summitted the complaint. In addition, we payed them by cash.

Final Business Response
On 11-9-15 Mr. ***** was contacted by Lawton Rader, manager, to resolve the complaint filed. The desired resolution could not be done because ***** had moved out of state in October 2015 and the house could not be treated again. All funds paid to Premier Pest Control by ***** was reimbursed in full, $162.32, and expedited to his new mailing address on 11-10-15.

07/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customers are telling telemarketers they are on the do not call list and instead of removing them per matey they are being put back in the dialer.
No regard for request from people being called or employees that are calling them

Desired Settlement
They have function keys to remove the caller from the dialer. DO IT STOP DISREGARDING THE REQUEST. BUY SOME NEW PHONE NUMBERS.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@msn.com
We delete and maintain a do not call file for customers that do not wish to be contacted. Ms. ***** did not include her phone with the complaint so I cannot check to make sure she is in the dnc file, but if she requested not to be called it should be marked. We are having a staff meeting this morning to make sure everyone is following the P&P regarding this.

04/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales person gave me false information in order to sell me $3500 worth of services.
On Saturday, April 18, 2015, a salesperson from Premier Pest Control came to my home to give me a quote for pest control services. He climbed halfway up my ladder to the attic and pretended to look at the attic from that position (without any lighting into the dark attic). He then told me he had very bad news: my attic was "absolutely covered with rat feces to the extent that he could not even see the flooring of the attic, and they had burrowed large holes in the insulation of my attic. Also, I did not have nearly enough insulation in the attic to be doing any good at all. The insulation I have is also cellulose, which would be a cause for respiratory illness along with all the rat feces." He said I needed to have the entire attic cleaned out, decontaminated, sterilized, and new insulation installed for $3500. He also stated his pest control company also did insulation work, so they would take care of all of it. I was in total shock. I had just bought my home, and it had passed inspection with great reports. There was no evidence of rodents or insect infestation found upon inspection the month prior to this. This sales person said, "your inspector really did a very poor job on inspection and did you wrong!" Luckily, as soon as he left my home, I called and got 2nd and 3rd opinions, and I also got in the attic myself. There were very few signs of any rat droppings in the entire attic. And, the insulation was plenty sufficient! This salesperson had fed me a whole lot of **** to make $3500!

Desired Settlement
No settlement requested. I would just like other pest control-seeking clients to know what they do and not use them! They are crooks!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@msn.com
Premier has been in the pest control business since 1987 and began doing insulation in 1993. Like many pest control companies we recommend removal of insulation that has fecal matter, urine or other signs of rodent (rats, mice, possum, raccoon, etc) activity. Often signs include trails, fecal matter, nesting etc..

We came out for a free inspection of her home and quote for pest treatment. An inspection of the attic revealed fecal matter in the attic and 5-7 inches of cellulose insulation. Cellulose insulation has an R Rating of 3.1 per inch of insulation - rating the current attic insulation of the home at R15-R22 . Although the home was recently purchased and inspected by the homeowner the insulation of 5-7 inches of insulation was not up to DOE recommendations found below.

The Dept of Energy http://energy.gov/energysaver/articles/tips-insulation, as well as Energy Star https://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=home sealing.hm improvement insulation table)
recommends an R Value of R30-R60 for this area of the country. Premier usually installs R-38+ which would be 12.25 inches of cellulose or 14.5 inches of Owen Corning Insulsafe III fiberglass insulation ( page 2 open attic installation). http://www.certainteed.com/resources/30-24-294%20InsulsafeSP.pdf

Due to the fecal matter and the small amount of insulation in the attic we recommended removing the old infested insulation, decontaminating the attic with a bactericide and re-blowing R-38 which would be 12.5 inches of cellulose or 14.5" of fiberglass insulation to her attic space. The quote also included a pest treatment, rodent treatment and a 1 year warranty.
Our attic service includes:
Removal of all contaminated insulation for 1900sf -
Vacuum of all remaining rodent droppings and disposing of removal bags
(http://www.nikro.com/insulation-removal-vacuums.aspx)
Sanitizing of attic with bactericide
(http://www.jondon.com/microban-disinfectant-spray-plus.html)
Exclusion (closing attic entry points with steel wool, metal flashing, screen)
Re-install R-38 insulation (we prefer Fiberglass) - 14.5"
Rodent and pest control with 1 year warranty

We feel that our quote of $3500.00 for the above services was well within reason and would provide our client with the proper level of insulation per DOE recommendation, as well as sanitizing the attic, and a 1 year warranty for Pest and Rodent control. T
Below is a description of the pest and Insulating service we offered in greater detail than our tech would have explained on Saturday.

Cleaning and Sanitizing a space with Rodents
Mice, Racoons, Rats, Possums, etc..
We take precautions before and during clean-up of rodent-infested areas. This is a step by step process that assures the safety of our technicians and provides a thorough cleaning of the infested area. This process may take several hours up to a few days.
A. Before cleaning the areas we trap the rodents and seal up any entryways to ensure that no rodents can get in. We continue baiting and trapping until rodents are eliminated.
B. After the active infestation has been eliminated we perform an initial fog and spray of the attic space with a disinfectant/insecticide. This must be done before our technician crew begins the removal process. This includes spraying any fecal matter or urine soaked material. We soak it and continue to the next step. We then ventilate the space and air it out.
C. Next we hand pick any visible fecal matter/droppings, place in a sealed bag and remove from the property.
D. With the use of our powerful Insul-vac vacuum we focus on removing any insulation that is stained by urine or is mixed with rodent fecal matter, or has been trampled by the nesting or movement of the rodents. This may be a few inches deep in a small area or the entire attic.
E. Next our technician will spray the attic/crawl space with disinfectant/insecticide that effectively kills Bacteria, mold and mildew working as a deodorant and a fungicide. The spray effectively controls roaches, bedbugs, ants, silverfish, lice, louse eggs, and odor causing organisms. It also kills fleas, ticks, sowbugs, cetipedes, firebrats and mites that may be in the attic space.
F. Next we blow class A Fiberglass insulation (Owens Corning or Insulsafe SP) to areas that insulation was removed. Cellulose can be added if the customer wishes. The Dept of Energy recommends a minimum of R-38 or 14.5+ inches of fiberglass insulation.
G. Finally a deodorizer is applied to the attic space.
Handling of Boxes or items stored in the attic:
We move the storage vessels/boxes outside and place them in an area that is well-ventilated and exposed to direct sunlight. The outside of the storage vessels/boxes are disinfected using a disinfectant solution.
We then remove the potentially contaminated materials from the containers and place in the sunlit, ventilated area. We remain upwind so that any dust or debris is not blown toward the face.
We recommend disposing of any cardboard boxes contaminated with urine or droppings.
Plastic, glass, or metal containers are disinfected by spraying with disinfectant. Then, using a rag or paper towel, we wipe up the urine or droppings and dispose of the waste.
Our workers who do cleanup for rodent infestations always wear the protective equipment, and we ask that you do not enter the area being cleaned up without wearing the same protective equipment. This includes:
coveralls (disposable)
Shoe covers;
rubber, latex, or vinyl gloves;
protective goggles;
An appropriate respiratory protection device.
Personal protective gear is decontaminated upon removal at the end of the day. All potentially infective waste material (including respirator filters) from clean-up operations is double-bagged in appropriate plastic bags. The bagged material is then disposed.

After each process remove gloves and equipment, and thoroughly wash hands with soap and water or waterless alcohol-based hand.

Removing infested insulation, sanitizing, and re-blowing the insulation is performed by many pest control and insulation companies. Premier has been blowing insulation since 1993, this is not something we just started doing.
For reference - below is a link to the CDC which outlines cleaning up for rodents as well as diseases that can be transmitted by rodents, this is not something we just made up.
I also included links to other pest control companies that offer the same service. We are usually very low on the price range for this type of service.
From the CDC regarding cleaning up after rodents as well as diseases they may transmit
http://www.cdc.gov/rodents/cleaning/
http://www.cdc.gov/rodents/diseases/direct.html
Similar Companies offering this service:
http://omegainsulationservices.com/dallas/attic-restoration
http://pinnaclepest.com/attic-decontamination/
http://www.attic-rat.com/decontamination.html
http://www.abolishpestcontrol.com/insulationremoval.html

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.