BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2001

Berrett Pest Control Services Inc (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 242-4800Fax: (214) 853-5473708 Easy St, GarlandTX 75042-6813 Send email to Berrett Pest Control Services Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2001

BBB has determined that Berrett Pest Control Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Berrett Pest Control Services Inc's rating include:

  • 24 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Berrett Pest Control Services Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Berrett Pest Control Services Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
04/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They broke our contract by not coming out after calling 3 times from May-Aug 2013. Then sent me to collections after multiple attempts to resolve.
I purchased a 1 year pest control contract in 2012 that included treatments in between the quarterlies at no charge. They did fine the first 9 months, but then did not come out after 3 phone calls over a month's time. I called again to cancel service. I was told by ****** in the office that I would have to still pay the last $75 to finish my contract, even though they were not providing the agreed upon service. They finally agreed to discount the fee as a "courtesy." After leaving a detailed review on Angie's List I received a call from *******, the district manager. She offered me 6 months of free service to make up the multiple lapses on their end. I only agreed because she assured me that I was making zero commitment. She said she would personally call me at the end of 6 months to make sure we were happy and I would not be charged again unless I agreed to continue service after the 6 free months. In Mar 2014, at the end of the 6 months, they came by and did outside service without being requested and left a bill. I was out of state receiving medical treatment. When I refused to pay, they sent me to collections. I was then called by a man from Berrett in Feb 2015. I explained the past issues. He looked into it and said that ******* was no longer with the company. He would escalate to management and call me back with a resolution. He never did. Now this is showing up on my credit report as a collection.

This was the company's response on the angieslist.com website after my initial review: Company Response:
We have gone into the (member name removed) account to figure out exactly what has happened. When we checked the phone records, we did see that they had called, and it had not gotten notated on our end. We have found multiple mistakes that we have made, and have dealt with them internally. We have spoken with Mrs (member name removed), and have offered our apologies as well as taken care of the situation for them. We are doing our best to make up for our mistakes, and hope to restore our reputation as the top pest control company in the metroplex.

Desired Settlement
I want a letter from this company confirming that they broke the contract and I do not owe them for service that I never requested. I want the charges removed from collections and removed from my credit report.

Business Response
I wanted to respond to Mrs ********'s complaint online. I remember the situation, but not specifically what occurred. The manager that was with us at the time is no longer with us to confirm the details. I do remember there being an issue, and that we had made a mistake. Our manager felt that the proper solution was to give Mrs ******** 6 months of free service to make up for our mistakes. I agreed to that since it would save a customer, and it helped her feel that we were trying to keep her as a customer under the circumstances. The issue arose in the fact that there was already a previous balance on the account. The 6 months free took care of 2 free services, but not the past due balance. Mrs should have been responsible for that also. We had our manager call her to discuss the situation, and we have agreed to remove the balance on that previous service also, giving her a total of 9 months of free service. We did not charge her for service not rendered. In fact, when we found that we had made mistakes, we did our best to correct them to the satisfaction of the customer. We have removed the balance from the credit report also. I want to express all of that because we sure try hard to make every customer satisfied. It doesn't always work, but we will do our best to fix our mistakes if we feel we have made a mistake.

03/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unhappy with service, their products did nothing and they refused to cancel. After I paid remaining balance, they are still trying to charge me.

I used ******* about 4 years ago and after agreeing to 4 treatments, I realized their products don't work. I tried to cancel but they refused to let me out of contract, ok understandable. I paid the remai*ning balance. About 4 years later, I just recently realized they turned it over to collections as unpaid and $134 has been sitting as unpaid on my credit. Darren from the Dallas office actually just called me to set up service again and "take care" of my collections. I tried to explain that I had paid but he had no interest in looking for my payment or trying to figure out what had happened, he just wanted me to pay again and start service again. Absolutely not.

Desired Settlement
I want the $134 off of my credit as unpaid. I would like to say I want the amount I already paid back but I know they wouldn't dare admit wrongdoing on their part.

Business Response
This customer is in Houston, not Dallas. It does not apply to the Dallas BBB. This account is also not in collections, the customer was misinformed by our office staff. The account is paid in full.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Then why is this showing up on my credit report as unpaid and in collections? And why is someone calling me from ******* asking me to pay it and start service again?

Final Business Response
We don't have it on your credit report any more. If it is, then please contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX, and we will help you get it removed. You can ask for ****. some one is calling you from our company because they are making an effort to reclaim cancelled customers. They looked at the account wrong and assumed there was still a balance, which there isn't. Please call our office, and we can go through the whole process with you. It sounds like you have more questions, and we are happy to clear it all up for you.

10/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Berrett Pest Control promised a 12 month guarantee when I gave them $1200 for bedbug treatment yet they refused to honor it.
Berrett promised a 12 month guarantee for bedbug treatments when I paid them $1200 September 25th 2013 ($300 cash I believe and $900 on my discover card). They began treatments and things improved. (BTW: Excellent technician, very well informed and pleasant) We got to the point that the only place we were still having bedbug activity was in our couch and love seat. My wife explained to the technician that we were willing to get rid of the old ones and bring in new ones. The technician said that would be fine and that we could remove the "climb ups" from around our beds and that we merely needed to contact them when we brought in new furniture so they could treat the new furniture as to not have further problems. We removed the climb ups and contacted Berrett about the new furniture. They never came to treat the new furniture or do a final bedbug inspection. After some time we started experiencing activity again on the new love seat and couch. "Thankfully" we had a 12 month guarantee. I called the company and they sent out a different technician to treat the couch and love seat (which they later sent a bill for). After the treatment on the couch and love seat there was no decrease in activity, in fact there seemed to be an increase. I immediately called them to come treat again. The technician inspected the furniture and agreed that it needed treatment. However he called management to get permission to proceed with "warranty" treatment. Management refused and the technician was told to pass on the refusal of warranty treatment because "the warranty had been voided by our removal of the climb ups" that the technician said were ok to remove. However if "I wanted to pay another $1200 they would gladly begin retreating". He was told to pass on the information and that if I wanted to speak to management about it further that I should call and speak to Kobi (Koe-bee). I immediately called Kobi (who was surprisingly not available since I was under the impression that he had just been on the phone with technician) but was given the option to leave him a message. I left him a message to call me which was never returned. It is now Sept 19th 2014 and I feel as though the longer I wait the more reasonable it is to expect a refusal of treatment. These treatments and phone calls have been over a span of months. I feel am in a position that I have ultimately paid $1200 for absolutely nothing to a company whose management has no interest in honoring their "guarantee" when it's not in the interest of their bottom line while putting their poor employees in a position to do their "dirty work" of delivering bad news to consumers when they don't have the guts to do it themselves and a guarantee that is worthless except as a marketing gimmick to give consumers a false sense of security. I am completely understanding of a company needing to make a profit after doing a hard days honest work and I feel that the technicians working for Berrett fall into that category however I am left to believe that the management however has much to learn about customer service and honest business practices.

Desired Settlement
I am merely seeking for the guarantee to be honored and to be bedbug free in my own home. Otherwise I wouldn't have paid $1200. I would be happy with the company retreating and renewing the guarantee (on the condition that I could actually trust the guarantee). However I would also be happy with a refund so as to pay a more reputable to do the same thing.

Business Response
We have looked through the paperwork and we don't see a 12 month guarantee anywhere in the paperwork. We are here to help, and we have been trying to contact Mr ******. It seems we have been playing phone tag with him. We have never given a one year guarantee for bed bugs because they can be reintroduced at any time. I am not sure where the mis-communication was with the furniture, but we wouldn't have had any idea when the new furniture was purchased unless he had called in. I do see that we have treated his home for bed bugs, and we are happy to work out a treatment to help him with the bed bugs he is seeing. It just needs to be within a reasonable amount of time, and according to the terms specified. I am not sure why Kobi didn't call back, I will have his direct supervisor Darren talk with him about that. Darren is the one attempting to get back in contact with Mr ****** so that we can help him with his bed bug issues. This is the unfortunate part with bed bugs, just because we come and get rid of the current infestation, there is nothing stopping them from being reintroduced. Just like a plumber can take care of a current issue, but it doesn't mean other issues won't come along later. I am not saying whether we have or haven't resolved the bed bug issue from the beginning, I am just saying that we could have resolved it from the beginning, and then they were reintroduced later. If someone does a lot of international travel, or even travel within the U.S. and stays in a lot of hotels, there is a dramatic increase in the probability of bringing bed bugs home with them, even if the home has been treated to eradicate them.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told I could cancel contract if I did not want further service.After reading other complaints, this companies MO is same poor buisness practice.
A year ago I had rats.Panicked,I called several companies and Barrett could come the fastest.I was very specific that i wanted one time service for rats and NO further pesticides.The man that came out was very rude and would not treat unless I agreed to a contract which he said I could CANCEL anytime.He was very condescending when I said I do not want pesticides around my flowers or pets.He never checked for rats around the premises,just dropped off rat boxes.I paid for the rat boxes and the intial visit.i called the company and said how rude he was and I do not want further service.They did nothing.Their records say i never complained and oddly enough they only have their attempts to contact me to come spray.I told them that is incorrect.One time I called to complain and cancel and they told me the man that came the first to my house was fired.Despite my dissatisfaction they continued to say the same thing,"you signed a contract".It has been a year of back and forth.Barrett advertises 100% quality gaurentee.But as one of many completely dissatisfied costumers, I find it unacceptable business practice to treat a consumer in this manner. I felt taken advantage of in my situation with a fear of rodents,pressured into a contract,treated poorly by your employee,my complaints disregarded,preferential documentation of conversations with Barrett,and total disregard for customer satisfaction but instead the pursuit of money for services NOT rendered! I paid for what was done intially and what he promised to do.
Cade Cooper and other owners should be made aware of Barretts poor buisness practices, "B" rating on BBB, and too many dissatisfied costumers to ignore.

Desired Settlement
I do not want any money or even an apology. Nor do I want to pay Barrett any more money. I paid for services rendered and I want a zero balance and my association with Barrett Pest Control to be terminated.

Business Response
I am sorry to hear that **** has an issue with our service. I have looked over the account, and I can't see where we have done anything wrong. It appears that there is a discrepancy in what was said, and that can happen. It was over a year ago, so I am sure that both of our memories are lacking. The reason this has resurfaced is because they wouldn't allow us to treat over and over again, so we finally sent them a bill for the remainder of services not rendered. This has upset them I am sure. I am happy to come to a compromise on that end, but this appears to me to be a case of a customer signing up for service, and then regretting it afterwards. We gave them a discount to begin regular service, and as such, had them sign a one year agreement, agreeing to an additional 3 services for that year. No one forced them to sign it. We explained it on the phone before we came out, and then the employee that showed up to her home is instructed to not begin service until the agreement is signed. All companies work that way, and we are required to work that way by law because the customer needs to know what they are agreeing to before we charge them. We put everything in writing so that there would be no disputes about it, either from them, or from us.

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business is using Groupon to trap you into a contract
They have an offer on Groupon for $49 regularly 190.00. I called and left a message and the following week I got a call back from Zee. She basically convinced me that what they would do for the Groupon price would do nothing for me. I do not have an infestation but see a bug every now and then. She says the only way to get rid of them is to sign a contract with them. The Groupon offer is just to get you on the phone so they can UP sale you
The Groupon add says "
Professional pest control services banish unwanted guests such as ants, wasps, termites, and cockroaches from businesses and residences" but the sales rep told me in order to "banish the ants and cockroaches" I would need to up grade and sign a contract to pay $129.00 every 3 months.

Desired Settlement
I want to receive the services offered for the price offered on Groupon with some type of guarantee that the service will do what it says in the advertisement "Banish Unwanted guest"

Business Response
This sounds like a misunderstanding with Mr ***. We do offer a one time treatment on Groupon, and it does take care of insects. The only issue is that the products do wear down with time as they are regulated by the government. They will definitely take care of any insects there now, but it will not be a long term fix. It is like mowing your grass, it will look good for a time, but it is necessary to mow again once it has grown out again. That is all she was trying to explain.

What we offer is a regular service that is designed to keep pests out of the home long term. As we treat the home regularly, we are breaking the life cycle of the ones that are already there (the pesticides do not penetrate the eggs, so those that hatch will reinfest the home after the products have worn off), and we are protecting against others that might be migrating in from other areas, as pests are always on the move looking for food.

We will contact the *** family, and set up his service. He isn't required to sign up for regular service, this is just recommended long term.

Thanks

******

Page 1 of 4
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Exterminating company did the work inadeequately. As a result, the problem of bed bugs was not eliminated.
I paid $450.00 to have bed bugs eliminated from my master bedroom. The very day, after the extermination the bed bugs reappeared! My wife, my son and I were bitten many times throughout the same night of the treatment being applied. The problem was supposed to have been taken care of. Oviously, it was not!

The company refuses to do anything about the problem for at least the next two weeks. The problem is our problem and they will do nothing... Except taking our $450 for doing absolutely nothingï I expected a complete refund of my $450+tax paid as the company in affect, did nothing that eliminated the problematic situation. They are ignoring the problem and the issue. Just my tough luck! I will probably take them into claims court to have my money returned to me. This outfit is fraudulent and deceptive! It is my intent to expose them publically through the media and court exposure.

Desired Settlement
I expected a complete refund of my $450+tax paid as the company in affect, did nothing that eliminated the problematic situation.

Business Response
We appreciate Mr ******** bringing this issue to our attention. We understand his concerns about still seeing bedbugs the same day that he had us come out there to treat. What he is seeing is a typical outcome within the period right after treatment. Our responsibility as a company is to take care of pests for him, but we need to do it within the limits that we are given by laws of the land. Pesticides are regulated by the Environmental Protection Agency, and as such, they make laws regarding re-treatment levels that are specified within the labels of the pesticides. We are not allowed to return and treat an area if the label says that we are required to wait a specific amount of time. As well, the pesticides are to be used with caution so that we do not overuse them, or overapply them. There are pesticides that have been removed from our country because they were overapplied, and they didn't break down fast enough.

That being said, we are happy to continue to return and help solve the bed bug issue that we have agreed upon. We had already set up a service call, and when we received this complaint, we moved it up for him. We are here to stand behind our work, and we will do exactly what we have agreed to do. Maybe we weren't clear enough on the expectation for results, or on how fast we expect the pesticides to work in the treatment. They are designed to be in the path of the bed bugs, and most pesticides do not work immediately. They work over time because insects are social, meaning that they will infect each other if one gets into the pesticides, and take care of a greater amount of the population, rather than just that one that has been infected.

We do our best to make sure every customer is satisfied, and to set up realistic results. I believe our issue here is not with the treatment method, but with communicating to the customer clear expectations and results. We will make sure to clear up any misconceptions about what kind of results to expect as we communicate back with him. This process takes weeks, and could take months to clear up. Insects have eggs, and as such, can re-infest an area once the pesticides have worn off. We cannot control this. All we can do is offer services that are in accordance with the law, and offer a warranty for the services we offer. I can assure you that he is not being ignored, we are just following proper procedure.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will wait to see what happens in the near future insofar as to the containment/control of the infestation. IF there is a noted improvement, we will be satisfied. If not, we
will STILL have a concern in the matter and respond accordingly.

Dr. ******* G. ********

02/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Provided a service without informing me details
Dear sir / Madam,
I had annual pest control plan with ******* and as part of the plan, a technician would come and do the pest control.
However, a technician came on Dec 14, asked us if he can work on the pest control and he did not mention that our annual plan has expired and this will be an additional payment. After work was completed, he told us that it would be 136 USD. We were shocked to hear that because no one had informed us that our annual plan had expired. We thought it was a free treatment as per our annual contract. If the technicial would have informed us in advance, we would have definitely said NO to the service.
I spoke to the supervisor on following monday and they believe they did the right thing. I sincerely disagree with this approach and am not going to pay for the service for which our authorisation was not taken for payment.

Desired Settlement
I sincerely believe that we should not be paying for this service as no one had informed us about the charges in advance.

Business Response
I am truly sorry about the miscommunication with the ***** family. They did sign up for our pest control service, and pay for the year in advance. Our manager ****** has tried a couple of times to contact them. Our goal is complete customer satisfaction. We would have been happy to notify them that what they had paid for was already completed, but they didn't tell us that they wanted it that way. Our standard protocol is to continue servicing a customer until they tell us that they want to cancel. Had they told us they wanted to be notified, we could have put it in the system to let them know.

We would be happy to offer them the same discount and deal as last year. We truly value them as a customer, and if they call us, we will work out arrangements suitable for them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with them because I signed annual contract and if this plan had expired, technician should have told us before starting the service and not after completing the service. Technician knew this and so why not bring this upfront? Why only tell this after service? I dont agree with this approach as it will always create these type of issues.

Also, Mr ****** tried to call me 2 times and both times I called back on extension 224 which he gave me. It went to someone named Heather and I left voicemails both times but no one called me back. I also left voicemail for Heather advising her to pass ******* to ****** in case he is not there.

07/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
12/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/11/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/08/2001Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress Fl 11
Austin, TX78701-1436
(800) 835-5832
http://www.agr.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nathan Berrett (President)Mr. Stephen Cisneros (President of Operations)
Business Category

Pest Control Services, Termite Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Berrett Pest Control Services Inc

708 Easy St

Garland, TX 75042-6813

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 708 Easy St 

    Garland, TX 75042-6813

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14173 Northwest Frwy # 111 

    Houston, TX 77040

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Berrett Pest Control Services Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.