BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2002

Southern Painting of Dallas

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 368-4412Fax: (972) 624-1621660 Preston Forest Center Ste 308, DallasTX 75230-2718 Send email to Southern Painting of Dallas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2002

BBB has determined that Southern Painting of Dallas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southern Painting of Dallas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Southern Painting of Dallas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/03/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The team providing paint services were not professionals as advertised. As a result, 3 days into the project, many problems were encountered.
The team assisting in painting consisted of a husband and wife who complained that this wasn't their type of work and that they were doing a favor for a family member. Due to bringing unqualified employees, the following issues arose.

1) Everything was done in an improper order: ceiling cut-ins were not completed first (not completed at all by day 3) so brush marks would show; drywall patching was done AFTER the walls were painted (I was repeatedly told this would be the first thing done since it needs to dry); nail holes and dents were not filled prior to painting as promised; water based paint was used on top of oil-based enamel and is already flaking off from the doors and door trim; many bits of roller shag embedded into painted walls. The upstairs cabinet paint job is shoddy with rough surfaces and bad coverage (entirely unpainted areas inside the cabinets).

2) Since the work was going extremely slow, the service "professionals" added enormous amounts of paint thinner to paint which is advertised as VOC free. This was done to prolong the life of paint sitting in open containers. The instructions on the paint can is to use water NOT PAINT THINNER. The air in my home was un-breathable for several days and burned the eyes and hurt to breathe. My home was an unhealthy place to be on Christmas eve so I had to find a place to stay with my daughter for 2 nights (see below for other health hazards including razor blades left around).

3) Ceiling over-spray turned my white crown molding beige. Crown molding wasn't part of the contract, and I'll now have to have it painted.

4) On day 3 of a 3-day job, it was clear that the work was extremely far behind. The supervisor left abruptly on Christmas eve (day three of the job when I was promised the work would be completed), leaving me with a wrecked home.

Wrecked home details:
- Razor blades, nails, and screws left laying around (the floor underneath is wood) - this resulted in a large amount of scratches and dents in my flooring and made my home hazardous to my three year old daughter.
- Bags of drywall joint compound and piles of trash including large droppings of wet drywall mix and crushed drywall littering the main hallway, tracking it everywhere. The amount of drywall trash that was being walked over has resulted in drywall compound (a very fine dust) penetrating deeply into my furniture and the air is extremely dusty. After several days of cleaning I'm still unable to contain the dust.
- Furniture blocking hallways and haphazardly dragged across unprotected wood floor leaving many scratches.
- Paint splashes on newly painted cabinets (work done by another company prior).
- Wet drywall mix dropped onto pristine wood floors.

When I called the owner Christmas day, he said he would come and look 3 days later - leaving my home in a wreck for 7 days. When he arrived on day 7 since the work started, he demanded 75% of the money to be paid up front in order to continue to job. This was on day 7 since the work started. The contract is clear that money isn't to be paid until work is complete so I refused and he refused to continue. The owner also stated that he doesn't clean up on any jobs so my job isn't different. If that's true, this man needs to lose his accreditation as the lack of cleanup has caused major dust issues. I'll be cleaning this very fine dust for months. He also didn't see an issue about razor blades left in easy reach of my child.

I've since obtained estimates from painting companies who have all informed me that everything must be repainted to hide the problems. There isn't a single item which his crew completed which won't need to be repainted.

Desired Settlement
Joint compound has penetrated deeply into my velvet sofa. Me and my child cannot use this sofa and it is likely ruined.

Joint compound is everywhere in my home after an attempted cleaning. My home needs to be professionally cleaned. Sweeping kicks up dust and I cannot afford to breathe more of this into my lungs since there's too much in the air already. I only hope that breathing this fine dust doesn't cause lung problems later.

The scratches and damage from wet drywall mud on my wood floors need to be fixed.

I need reimbursement to the paint damage on my cabinets (kitchen cabinets were professionally painted a week prior by another company so they were in pristine condition). I paid $100 to have the issues fixed and a receipt can be provided.

Business Response
"Mr. ****** is allowing Southern Painting back into his home to bring it to the Standards that Southern Painting has been providing to their customers for the past 25 years."

Until we can get back in there next week, this is all that can be done at this point. Once we see that he is happy with the job and is satisfied, we will approach him to remove the BBB complaint with our office and Southern Painting.

Consumer Response
A resolution was provided by a different Southern painting franchise. The franchise in question - Southern Painting of Dallas - should not have an A+ rating as they did not provide a resolution. Continuing their rating as if they have not had any complaints will give a false sense to consumers.

Final Business Response
As Southern Painting has different offices, Southern Painting is 1 company as a whole. Whenever an office has a dispute, our company as a whole will get together to do whatever we can to make their job and their service to their satisfaction. Southern Painting of Dallas did provide a resolution by having another member of our company to provide the service that the customer was expecting.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Painting - Faux Finishing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/06/2002Business started: 01/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1997, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Box (President)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Painting - Faux Finishing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southern Painting of Dallas

660 Preston Forest Center Ste 308

Dallas, TX 75230-2718

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 11700 Preston Rd Ste 660-308 

    Dallas, TX 75230-2739(214) 368-4412
    (972) 485-1600

  • 660 Preston Forest Center Ste 308 

    Dallas, TX 75230-2718

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southern Painting of Dallas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.