BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2002

Southern Painting

Phone: (972) 867-5452Fax: (972) 517-9999View Additional Phone Numbers2011 W Spring Creek Pkwy Ste 200, PlanoTX 75023-4281 Send email to Southern Painting

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Steve MacMeeken is the owner of the Southern Painting regional office that has served Collin, Grayson, Fannin and Hunt counties for more than 23 years. We are the largest residential re-paint company in Texas and are lead-safe certified.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2002

BBB has determined that Southern Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southern Painting's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
02/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Unlawful solicitation on personal property.
On, 1/13/14, a company representative placed product solicitation on my property when the yard is clearly marked with a No Trespassing sign as well as DO Not Solicit. When I tried to call the company, I was transferred to voice mail. I am not sure why the person representing this company could not follow instructions or the owner/manager can not tell his personnel to stay away from properties marked with these notices.

Initial Business Response
Since this claim was filed we have contacted the owner to investigate and make right any accidental intrusion to privacy. The owner listened to and accepted our response to his concerns and experience. We greatly appreciate being able to work with this owner directly and it is our understanding that this regrettable incident has been resolved to the satisfaction of both parties.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: We have a problem with paint peeling from the upper walls which the painter applied. The paint company is refusing to correct the problem.
Southern Painting painted three rooms of our house including the ceilings. Later the popcorn ceiling began to fall. We had to file a complaint with the BBB #XXXXXXXX before they agreed to fix the ceiling. We contend that the work to correct the ceiling caused peeling of paint on the upper walls adjacent to where the popcorn was replaced. Southern Painting painted the wall as part of the original job. They are now refusing to correct this peeling, hence the reason for this complain.

Initial Business Response
The issues addressed have already been correctly attributed to shifting foundation and the lack of proper temperature control in the home which is causing the texture to delaminate (or pull away) from the drywall. This was also uncovered with the investigation of the original complaint (BBB#XXXXXXXX) when no liability was found on the part of Southern Painting. Yet, Southern Painting worked to resolve the issue beyond the customer's expectation at no additional expense to the customer.

Now, a new complaint filed (BBB#XXXXXXXX) comes nearly six years after the original work was performed in 2007; well outside the company's three year limited labor warranty carried by Southern Painting. The lack of watermark stains behind the peeling texture rules out any issues with the original popcorn ceiling removal replacement with new texture. Additionally, with the separation of the ceiling from the wall areas by crown moulding, it is highly unlikely that the work performed on the ceiling plays any factor in the issue discussed in this current complaint.

While accepting no liability regarding this issue, Southern Painting wishes to remove any area of doubt that could be considered and has, along with a representative from Sherwin Williams met with the homeowners, taken photos and samples to run appropriate tests to rule out anything that could be attributed to product and/or labor issues. Southern Painting will update our response pending the official results of these lab tests.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Southern Painting's arguments of shifting foundation and lack of proper temperature control is false in that they are inconsistent with the fact that there is no evidence of these problems in adjoining rooms of the house. We contend that the pulling away of the texture is due to poor workmanship of Southern Painting in that the walls were not primed or caulked and there was no supervision of the workers. Furthermore the workers did not understand or speak English. The areas in question are 25' high and the workers did not use proper scaffolding support to do the work. The original work was done on 7/17/2007. It is important to note that we had the exact same problem with separation on 2/7/2008 which they corrected. Another case of poor workmanship is that the popcorn which they painted on 7/12/2007 fell down on 8/18/2008. On 10/4/2008 they had to correct ceiling again. On 4/28/2009 popcorn was falling from the ceiling again. Our current problems is just another example of poor workmanship. We are confident that the lab tests referenced in their response will show inadequate workmanship and/or poor materials. We feel Southern Painting should reimburse us $3,000.00 for us to correct the same problems we are having now.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Wallpaper Removing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing, Paint Removing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/21/1993Business started: 01/01/1998Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Steve MacMeeken (President)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Wallpaper Removing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing, Paint Removing

Products & Services

Residential and commercial painting services, interior and exterior painting, wallpaper removal, cabinet staining and repainting, drywall repairs and special textures. We also offer interior and exterior carpentry services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Our offices serve the following areas: Addison, Allen, Altoga, Anna, Blue Ridge, Cannon, Celina, Copeville, Culleoka, Elmont, Fairview, Fannin County, Farmersville, Frisco, Grayson County, Gunter, Hunt County, Josephine, Little Elm, Lowry Crossing, Lucas, McKinney, Melissa, Murphy, New Hope, Parker, Pike, Pilot Grove, Plano, Princeton, Prosper, Richardson, Sachse, Van Alstyne, Westminster, Wylie, and Weston.

Alternate Business Names
Southern Painting - N Dallas/Richardson, Southern Painting - Collin County, MacMeeken Enterprises, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southern Painting

2011 W Spring Creek Pkwy Ste 200

Plano, TX 75023-4281

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2011 W Spring Creek Pkwy Ste 200 

    Plano, TX 75023-4281(972) 867-5452

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southern Painting is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 387-2468
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.