BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/21/2003

Homecraft Co.

Find a Location

(469) 879-8742View Additional Phone Numbers3014 Harbinger Ln, DallasTX 75287-5909 Send email to Homecraft Co.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/21/2003

BBB has determined that Homecraft Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Homecraft Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Homecraft Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We agreed on $4000 for ****'s company to replace the existing siding on my house. Once the work was completed I was sent a bill for $4490.
The owner, ****, met with me to re side my house and we agreed on $3920 which he wrote in the original quote. The time frame to complete the work was 3 days, this took 4 weeks instead. Once the work was completed **** billed me an additional $490 for doing exactly the work that he agreed in before starting the job. When we argued **** threatened to send the workers back here to deal with me and that he would put a lean on my house. Today one of my neighbors told me that the mailman had a certified letter for me from want appeared to be an attorney for Homecrafters and they would not sign for the letter on my behalf. This is nothing short of extortion. This has been a horrible experience. In the last email from **** he said that I "got free work done". I thought that this would be the last of this nasty little man harassing me but yet this still continues. I have a copy of the original quote and it states exactly what work was to be performed and that's all that was done. I took **** next door to show him the back of my neighbors house and told **** that I wanted mine to look exactly like that. **** wrote it in his quote to replace the soffit and fascia over the back door. Now **** claims that that was additional work and is demanding the extra money.


Here is ***** quote:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
**** ******** cir.
Replace all siding except hot-tub section with 8 inch Hardy board. Take out bad existing siding and fur-out with osb plywood. Replace soffitt & fascia over back door and fascia over hot-tub. Replace all window & door trim.
Caulk and paint entire home one color including doors, gutters and downspouts. Trim out siding in hot-tub area.
-0- down
on completion $3920.00
Please call with any questions or comments, ****
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I just want this little man to go away and stop harassing/threatening me. I even paid more than the quote because **** verbally agreed on a side note to lower his quote and help me install a door and we agreed that I would pay $4000. I didn't agree to any other work because no other work was performed outside of what was stated in the original quote.

Desired Settlement
I just want this little man to go away and stop harassing/threatening me. If any legal action has begun then it needs to be halted immediately. I would never recommend this company to anyone. Absolutely horrible experience.

Business' Initial Response
I don't understand what this guy is complaining about . His job is beautiful anyone can drive by and look at it. He asked for extra work and agreed to pay for it and their are three witnesses to verify this. No one has contacted him since he slammed the door in our face. Not by phone, P.C. or mail since completion.
It was a very difficult job because we had to hold him in our arms, baby him while trying to work with only
one hand. I assure you that no one has contacted him and we do not even have an attorney. He knows that he owes us and he complains because of his own guilt. Who's harassing who here? He needs to do a title search on his property. ****











--
www.HomeCraftCo.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Painting - Faux Finishing, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/04/2003Business started: 01/01/1978Business started locally: 04/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Luke Ligotino (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Painting - Faux Finishing, Gutters & Downspouts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Homecraft Co.

3014 Harbinger Ln

Dallas, TX 75287-5909

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3014 Harbinger Ln 

    Dallas, TX 75287-5909(469) 879-8742

  • PO Box 796774 

    Dallas, TX 75379-6774

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Homecraft Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (281) 748-5665
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.