BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/05/2011

Custom Painting and Remodeling Premium Handyman Service

(214) 466-99431234 Candise Ct, MesquiteTX 75149-5507 Send email to Custom Painting and Remodeling Premium Handyman Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/05/2011

BBB has determined that Custom Painting and Remodeling Premium Handyman Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Custom Painting and Remodeling Premium Handyman Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Improper installation A/C, wood floor, door, and general remodeling
In July and August of 2013 I started looking for somebody to do some remodeling work for me. I found Custom Painting and Remodeling on BBB site after since he had a A+ rating, I figured he must know what he is doing. He came to my house and I explained to him what needed to be done and he charged me for the estimate.

I contracted Custom Painting and Remodeling on 10/21/2013 to build a room addition for me, install a mini-split A/C unit in the room, and install wood flooring in the room and the connecting room. I was assured by the contractor that he can perform everything that I requested. He framed, sheetrocked, textured, and painted the room. Although the tape & bed and the painting was bad, I have learned to live with those because they were not the major issues.

One of the major issues is the installation of the A/C. Even though he assured me that he can install the A/C, he then brought in another person, that is supposed certified, to install the A/C. On my first test of the A/C, about 2 weeks after the installation, I noticed that the A/C was pouring water inside the room instead of draining to the outside. I texted him but he asked me to contact the A/C installer because it is warrantied. I contacted the installer who told me that he will be out on the Saturday, 11/23/13, to fix it. He however did not show up. I tried to get a hold of him and but he said he was going out of town for Christmas and will not be available the whole month. I contacted Custom Painting and Remodeling to get his guy out to fix the A/C but to no avail. I contracted Hutchinson A/C in March of 2014 to come out and fix the problem after Custom Painting and Remodeling ignored my texts (I have a record of our text communications).

The second problem is the wood floor that he he installed. I asked him during the installation to make sure that the wood floor, which is floated, is nailed down all around the edges so that it will not move. He did not do that and the result is that flooring has shifted and buckled in places. He has not responded to any of my requests to come and fix these problems.

In addition, he installed the french door that I ordered improperly.

At this point, I have other people fixing the problems that he created. I have not been able to use this space because of all these issues.

Desired Settlement
I want him to refund the money I paid to fix the A/C and the money and material it will cost to repair the flooring.

Business Response
We did not work on nor install this a/c unit. I told him we were not licensed to do that , So I said we can look in the phone book or check around for some one that could do the job for him, I would try to help him out. The a/c guy I know was unavailable so we found this mexican guy that came by while we were painting the Garage trim and said he was a lic a/c man so I told him this guy has a job for you if you guys agree on a price he will probably hire you, So I went inside and met with the homeowner and told him this guy says he can install your a/c for you and he has his license, I don't know him and I've never seen his work, he says he wants 600.00 to install it ,Its up to you if you want to hire him.Then ****** to that mexican guy to go ahead and do the job and pay him when he is finished. We were painting the shoe molding inside and taking final pics of our work and have pictures of the a/c guy installing his unit as well. He called me and started threatening to turn me into the BBB and sew me because he said there was a couple of paint spots needed to be touched up and his a/c was leaking and We better fix it, I sent my helper out there it took him 30 minutes to touch up a couple of spots with paint brush and and had him walk the job and sign off on the work order agreement that he was satisfied with the job and he signed it and dated it that it was completed to his satisfaction., I told him to call that mexican guy he hired and asked him if he got a receipt from him, he replied no I didn't, I told him maybe its a loose clamp or something and he needed to call the one he hired to do the job, He insisted that this spanish guy was my sub and I told him HE WAS NOT My sub, if he was I would know him and I would have a W-9 on file and his social/and drivers lic Etc I am so proprietorship ,just me and a helper and as far as the flooring below the unit, He new the next day that it was leaking condensation and complained that it needed to be fixed and that He Cant use it because of the moister so theres no way that floor is damaged if it is, He intentionally ran the a/c knowing that it needed repair and is trying to extort money out of me for something I had nothing to do with, Also he asked us to do all this extra work and insisted it was included at this point I just want out He is in me for a lot of money I fixed big holes in his garage for him for free to help him out we were almost finished its 10:00 at night and we are finished and he wont pay us , he said everything looks great now its 10:45 and he tells my helper to load his old carpet and a bunch of trash in my van and I told him I have to charge a 100.00 disposal fee, NO thats included he yells so ok I said fine Ill do that for you I need my check were finished he still wont pay us ,Now its like I have to crawl around on the ground and beg for my money. He insulted us Called me a Liar The next day when he called about the leak, Finally he wrote me a check and we left. He shorted me on my money and Also took 600.00 for the a/c work off my check ! this guy ripped us off and Never Paid A Dime for that a/c work, He paid the a/c man a check But then Deducted the 600.00 he paid him from my check and Im not responsible for his mistake in hiring that guy, it was His Decision to hire him, I have been doing business for many years and have thousands of pictures of our work and have hundreds of happy clients with no complaints at all ,everybody likes me and our work I love my job and the satisfaction of making people happy I have several references and can get testimony of my character,excellent customer service and the quality of our work . In this case Its confusing kindness for weakness He has Insulted me Personally, My helper and the Integrity of my Company Custom ! We Are Not Paying For Anything and Not Going To Work For Free Ever Again!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Our contract and the price for the work included installing the A/C. If he had told me that he cannot install the A/C I will not have hired him. When he found out that he could not install the A/C, he told me that he will bring his friend to install it. I did not have any hand in who he hired. He hired his sub-contractor, who showed up at my house to install the A/C. My address is not one of those that people roam around looking to do A/C work. I never met this guy and I never talked to him about installing the A/C. *** brought him and told me that this is the person that will install the A/C and he is certified. *** also told me that the A/C guy (*****) wanted to be paid cash and that he did not have any cash to pay him and wanted to know if I could get some cash to give the A/C guy. I told him I do not have cash but will see what I can do. I had to go to the ATM machine to get cash to pay the A/C guy.

The extra work that *** is talking about was an agreement that we had. We agreed for me to pay him an extra $1,000 for him to do the extra work which included installing the wood floor in the rooms. The wood floor is separating in a different room and not in the room with the A/C. I asked him to nail down the edges of the floor but he did not and so the wood is separating because he did not properly install it.

I do not know what *** is saying about not paying him because he was paid at the beginning of the contract and also paid the night he said that he completed the work. These are recorded in my account and if need be, I can produce the day he cashed them. I am not going to go into he-said-she-said situation. Our contract was for him to install complete a room addition, install A/C in the room, and install wood floor. The contract, which he wrote, also included job site cleanup, which he barely did. He failed in performing his work and now he wants to tell stories. I am the one that paid him the money and I am the one that paid the money to repair his incompetent work. He needs to refund me my repair money and I want this conversation to be listed so that he cannot go around doing less than par work for people and taking their hard earned money. Because he had an A+ rating from BBB, I thought that he must be good in what he did. I now know better.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Doors, Handyman Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Paint Removing, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/07/2011Business started: 01/01/1992
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Shirley (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Doors, Handyman Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Paint Removing, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Carpenters

Hours of Operation

Mon -Fri 8:00-5:00 Sat. 8:00-12:00

Service Area

Dallas,Rockwall,Plano,Richardson,Garland,East Dallas

Alternate Business Names
CPR/Premium Handyman Services

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

13 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Custom Painting and Remodeling Premium Handyman Service

1234 Candise Ct

Mesquite, TX 75149-5507

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1234 Candise Ct 

    Mesquite, TX 75149-5507(214) 466-9943

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Custom Painting and Remodeling Premium Handyman Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.