BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

CertaPro Painters of Plano

(972) 208-8500View Additional Phone Numbers2708 King Arthur Blvd, LewisvilleTX 75056-5768 Send email to CertaPro Painters of Plano

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

BBB has determined that CertaPro Painters of Plano meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CertaPro Painters of Plano's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters of Plano

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CertaPro damaged our front door, both on the surface and structurally. They also sent a door repairman who caused additional damage.
We hired CertaPro to repaint our home exterior in September 2010. Since then, we've had many issues with them, most of which have been resolved after much back and forth. CertaPro does not stand behind their warranties until threatened with legal action and even then they try to charge customers for this work.

For 9 months or so, we suffered through an awful looking front door. CertaPro did not prep prior to painting and the paint bubbled all over. Initially CertaPro tried to get us to pay extra to remove their paint, properly prep it and repaint it. When we refused to pay, they spent several months trying different solutions to avoid removing their paint, leaving our door looking constantly under repair.

Then CertaPro removed our 8' tall front door from the hinges, placed it on only 2 sawhorses with no support in the middle in the hot summer sun, had 3-4 guys pushing down on it with enough force to cause deep grooves, and soaked the wood in paint remover.

Immediately after the door was rehung, our locks did not line up, and we had airflow in the middle of the door. For some reason, the middle of the door was sticking out more into our house than a few hours earlier. The door was fine prior to removal and problems occurred immediately after. Maybe it was only two saw horses; the hot sun; the chemicals; three guys leaning and pushing down
on it. The fact is it was damaged under CertaPro's care!

**** acknowledged the door was damaged because he returned, put it back on two saw horses with the exterior facing down this time, and placed a couple of cinder blocks in the middle to try and reshape it. Unfortunately this did not work.

Finally, on September 27, 2013 CertaPro sent a door contractor to our house to look at the door. The contractor made some adjustments to bring the door and weather-stripping closer together. Unfortunately this did not fix the door and created some additional problems. There is still gap in the door, and he adjusted a latch which is causing our handle to be under intense and constant pressure. The door handle latch was in place from the original door installation. He also removed caulk which was not replaced leaving the door looking unprofessional. CertaPro is responsible for this work.

We had a door expert out to the house who examined the door and said it could not be repaired. When CertaPro sent their door expert to try and repair it, he failed. They simply could not adjust the locks and weather-stripping to our pre-CertaPro condition. These seem like fairly simple things to address, if fixable. The only resolution is to now replace the door and we provided a like-for-like 6-panel wood door estimate to CertaPro.

Additionally, ***** ***** said he would send guys to fill in, sand and repaint all the grooves they left on my front door. However, a week later he reversed course and stated he was through with our door.

This is typical of our experience with CertaPro: **** stood us up for nine months on the door and other warranty work (3 times we took off work to meet him and he failed to show) and then tried to extract money from us to replace perfectly good wood. **** stated that some boards were damaged from water, and our only option was to pay money to replace them. But CertaPro's other crew scraped off the paint and repainted, so the boards were not rotted. The one warranty **** "completed" was our garage door: he only put caulk and left it looking like a mess without paint.

We've suffered through so much with CertaPro over the last few years. All we wanted was to work with honest people to do a good job painting our house. But instead, we've been ignored, lied to, and left with a mess of a front door, gable vent, gables, and garage door.

We're really just perplexed that CertaPro, after acknowledging its guys caused damage to our door (by sending not only their guys but also a door installer to try and fix it), won't do the right thing to replace our door.

Desired Settlement
$2,011.03 per the estimate to replace the door. We tried to let them fix it, and they were unable to do so.

Business Response
CertaPro painters painted the exterior of **** ******'s house at **** ****** ***** ***** in Plano, TX in early November of 2010. Approximately 10 months later a problem was reported by Mr. ****** in regard to his front door; the paint had blistered and was peeling.
It seemed unusual that the upgraded coating used on the door, which was also used on Mr. ******'s house and trim, had blistered so we called in the local area Sherwin Williams district representative, ***** ******, an expert in product applications to assess the problem. Mr. ****** determined the door had previously been painted with a latex paint over oil-base paint prior to the top application of 'Duration' that we used. This previous existing condition caused the new coating to not adhere and to peel. This finding voids the warranty because there was no way to know what product had been applied under the top coating of the door. This was discovered when the paint peeled and we would see the paint used on the under coatings. However, in an effort to please the customer, we agreed to repaint the door. In order to prevent the paint from peeling again, the exterior side of the door had to be completely stripped to the bare wood before the new coating could be applied.
The customer told our job foreman, **** Rivera, that he wanted the interior side of the door stripped and painted as well. The paint on the inside of the door was also peeling - most likely due to the same reasons the exterior was peeling. According to Mr. Rivera, when he advised Mr. ****** there would be a charge associated with doing this work for the interior side of the door, Mr. ****** said to not include the interior side of the door because he planned to get a new door at some point and did not want to invest more into this door. The door (a solid wood door) was removed and placed on saw horses; a normal and proper procedure for stripping a door. This process was completed and the door was primed, re-hung, and painted again with no additional cost to Mr. ******.
In approximately August of 2011, Mr. ****** advised that his door seems to have bowed because the latch was not lining up properly. He thought this was because the door was placed on saw horses on a warm day. I advised him that it is highly improbable that a solid wood door would warp, especially an exterior door during dry weather. I suggested we have **** ****** return to examine the door to see if there was anything obvious that he could handle. Mr. Rivera acknowledged that the door had to be nudged in order for the bolt to latch but could not see any bowing or warping of the door. Mr. ****** insisted the door had bowed and at his request, **** removed the door and placed a counterweight on the interior side in an attempt to 'unbow' the door. The door was re-hung but the situation was the same.
I offered to send a door expert (Mr. ******** to examine the door and to see what was causing the problem and what could be done to address the issues. I paid an assessment fee of $65.00 to Mr. Heckman which would have been applied to his proposed repair (of $180.00) to make the necessary adjustments. Mr. ****** decided he would make the attempt to add weather stripping and adjust the latch on his own and so I reimbursed him for the materials again as a courtesy.
There was no communication on this issue for several months and then Mr. ****** sent me an email on October 1 of 2012 saying that his warranty was about to expire and he felt he had some paint issues that needed to be addressed. I arranged with Mr. ****** to contact Mr. ****** to assess the issues. Mr. ****** and **** Rivera exchanged a number of text messages to arrange a schedule but there were a couple of missed appointments or miscommunications. I assured Mr. ****** that if he had issues that are covered by our Warranty that because he let us know, he did not need to be concerned about the expiration date. Because Mr. ****** indicated to me that Mr. ****** had missed a previous appointment with him, I sent Mr. ****** a note asking him to let me know if Mr. Rivera did not show.
When Mr. ****** arrived at the house the morning of the appointment, he rang the doorbell and knocked on the door, but no one answered. He assumed the plans had changed and expected that Mr. ****** would text him, as he had before, to arrange for another appointment time.
In June of 2013, Mr. ****** advised me that **** ****** had no-showed his November appointment. I requested Mr. ****** to meet with Mr. ******, which he did. Mr. ****** expressed concerned about the ends of rake board (angled fascia on a gable) against the roof shingles where paint had worn off. Mr. Rivera advised Mr. ****** that the paint had worn off of the ends of the rake board because the boards were flush against the composition roof shingles where water collects against the wood. Mr. Rivera advised Mr. ****** this was not a warranty issue and that to fix this issue properly, the rake boards should be replaced and positioned off of the roof. Mr. ****** did not wish to pay for this solution and expressed to me that he felt **** Rivera was trying to have him pay for issues he felt should be covered by our Warranty.
I met with Mr. ****** to review the problems with the rake boards and an issue with the garage door frame that was showing stress lines near the base. I advised him that although these were not warranty issues, that I would send crew over to handle repainting the ends of the rake boards and to repaint the garage frame planks as a goodwill gesture.
He insisted that I not send **** ******* who he believed was trying to get more money from him unfairly Because he did not show me the door, I did not understand at the time that he expected any action regarding the door at that time. There was no extra paint from the original job so I paid for anything my crew needed for the work they did at his house. The crew handled the issues with the rake boards and garage frame planks and Mr. ****** appeared to be content with this work.
A few weeks later, Mr. ****** advised via email that he had door experts confirm that his front door was bowed, and could not be unbowed and he expected me to pay for a $2200.00 door replacement because not only did the latch not line up, there were gaps around the door that let in light and air. I advised that I would not take any action until I had an opportunity to have a door expert examine the door to make a determination. I had sent a door expert to Mr. ******'s house to look at this door in 2011 (two years earlier) who believed he could address the issues with the latch and the "gap" that let in light and air so I did not understand why anyone would claim the door could not be repaired. Mr. ****** resisted having me bring a door expert to examine the door and threatened to take me to court to get me to pay for a new door.
At the end of September when he realized I would not take any action until I could examine the door, Mr. ****** offered with two days notice that I could bring someone over to examine the door on Friday, September 27th. I made the arrangement scheduling with JR Remodeling, a company recommended to me by BEE Builders (a company Mr. ****** had earlier mentioned as experts). I met the owner (Juan ********* and his assistant) for the first time at Mr. ******'s house.
Mr. ********* advised Mr. ****** that the door did not appear to be bowed or warped and then he placed a five foot long level against all sides of the door to demonstrate this. Mr. ********* spent a few minutes opening and closing the door to assess the problems and then asked who had installed the weather stripping. Mr. ****** said that he did. Mr. ********* advised that the weather stripping was improperly installed and causing the gaps around the door and adding tension to closing the deadbolt.
I suggested that we let Mr. ********* and his assistant make the adjustments they believed would help the situation and that I would pay for their time and we would see if this would address the problem. Mr. ****** agreed to let them try. Within less than 10 minutes the adjustments were made and the door easily closed and latched. The assistant made adjustments to the weather stripping outside until all light was blocked on the inside. The assistant used his 5-in1 tool to make an adjustment to the latch which allowed the bolt to close without needing to press on the door. Both Mr. Rodriguez and Mr. ****** opened and closed the door repeatedly, turning the bolt over and over to ensure this was working.
After this meeting on the 27th, I followed up with a note on September 29th to advise Mr. ****** that because I paid the door expert to make the adjustments/repair to problems stemming from the weather stripping he installed, and that because there was no bowing of the door and any problem associated with work that we did, that we would consider this issue closed and I

Consumer Response
Our first reaction to CertaPro's response is "wow." It is filled with so many misstatements that it must be an attempt to confuse the entire issue. We'll clearly state the relevant facts (List A), and then we will list out each of the false statements with our response (List B).

A-1. CertaPro painted our front door which experienced bubble issues immediately. We were forced to live with a door under constant repair for 10 months because CertaPro did not want to repaint it or bring the Sherwin expert out. We have pictures confirming the timing of this.

A-2. Our door did not have any issues prior to CertaPro removing it and placing it on only 2 sawhorses in the hot sun and had 3-4 guys pushing down on it hard enough to leave deep grooves and soaking it with paint remover.

A-3. Immediately after the door was rehung, the locks did not line up and there was a gap in between the door and jamb. CertaPro admits this fact in its response "Mr. ****** acknowledged that the door had to be nudged in order for the bolt to latch." CertaPro was notified immediately and Mr. ****** removed the door and placed it upside down on two sawhorses with cinderblocks in the middle in an attempt to bring our door back to its original condition. CertaPro also did not repair the deep grooves in our door (we have pictures to prove).

A-4. We attempted to install weatherstripping to remove the gaps but it did not work. We had a door expert come look at the door who concluded that the weatherstripping was not the problem (and it couldn't have been since the problem occurred prior) and that when the solid wood door bent its shape, it's impossible to go back.

A-5. CertaPro sent its own door expert who made some adjustments. However, the adjustments were to move the weatherstripping even closer to the door and the door latch even closer to the door jamb (door ï''ï'' weatherstripping). So the weatherstripping was not causing any problems, it was just too far away to correct the gap which CertaPro caused.

A-6. CertaPro's door expert also removed caulk from our doorjamb and did not replace it because they did not have any. But ***** said he would send his guys out anyway to repair all the grooves on the face of our door. This damage caused by CertaPro's door guy has not been fixed, and we can provide pictures.

A-7. We agreed to try the door for a couple of days and specifically said we needed to see it in the morning when the sun shines on it to know if the gap had been fixed. Over the next fews days, we noticed that light (and air) still penetrated between the door and jamb.

A-8. We also noticed the door latch had been adjusted so much that our door handle was under constant tension and required extra force to close it all the way. It was also so tight that the weatherstripping was being pushed out at the bottom of our door. So the door was not fixed and now there are additional problems. We have pictures of all of this.

A-9. CertaPro then sent an email saying they would not repair the grooves in our door, nor replace the caulk which their door expert removed. They also did not want to hear about the new problems caused by their door expert.
Our door remains in bad condition not only from the locks/weatherstripping fiasco, but also the deep grooves admittedly caused by CertaPro painters. We have a door expert who's looked at the door plus many pictures showing the damaged caused.

What does it take to get a BBB accredited business to stand behind its work? Regarding the false statements below, does the BBB tolerate misstatements of facts to the BBB by a BBB accredited business in an attempt to harm a customer? We will gladly provide all the emails and photos referenced below if the BBB wishes to open its own investigation into these false statements provided by CertaPro.

Even though most of these are unrelated to the actual issue at hand, we feel like we should at least respond to them and alert the BBB.

B-1. "Approximately 10 months later a problem was reported by Mr. ******"
a. Our response: We lived for a mispainted door for 10 months. However, the problem was reported immediately. We have pictures from that Halloween with our infant daughter as well as phone records.

B-2. "The customer told our job foreman, **** ******* that he wanted the interior side of the door stripped and painted as well"
a. Our response: Never requested as this was not in our contract. The paint on the inside had been peeling long before so we would've requested this with the original bid if we wanted this work.

B-3. "he planned to get a new door at some point and did not want to invest more into this door"
a. Our response: We had absolutely no need for a new door at that point. Why would we replace a perfectly good door? Why would we care about the paint issue and make the supposed request in B-2 above if we were going to get a new door anyway?

B-4. "at his request, **** removed the door and placed a counterweight on the interior side in an attempt to 'unbow' the door"
a. Our response: The idea of cinderblocks was **** ********* idea. He did this right then, and how would we have any idea he carried cinderblocks in his van?

B-5. "issues that are covered by our Warranty that because he let us know, he did not need to be concerned about the expiration date"
a. Our response: We have and can provide ***** *****'s email. It says nothing about not needing to worry about the timing.

B-6. "When Mr. ****** arrived at the house the morning of the appointment, he rang the doorbell and knocked on the door, but no one answered"
a. Our response: We were stood up 3 separate times by Mr. ****** and were home all day. ***** ***** was made aware of this fact back in July, and never disputed it until now. Also, wouldn't Mr. ****** most likely call if no one answered the door and we were supposed to meet, especially after the first supposedly no-show? We have phone records, texts and emails which all support the truth and not what was said above by CertaPro.

B-7. "In June of 2013, Mr. ****** advised me that **** ****** had no-showed his November appointment"
a. Our response: Similar to #6, We have the email which states CertaPro was notified of 3 separate times where we were stood up, not one.

B-8. "I advised him that although these were not warranty issues"
a. Our response: ***** ***** merely took pictures and said he would send out a crew to make repairs. He never stated they weren't warranty repairs. We have emails where CertaPro never mentioned that these were not warranty repairs.

B-9. "repaint the garage frame planks as a goodwill gesture"
a. Our response: Not true and even Mr. ****** did not dispute the paint failures near the garage. Mr. ****** slapped some caulk on them and never bothered to return and repaint. Additionally, the paint was peeling here and not just cracked. ***** ***** had to get CertaPro to return and paint the caulk left by Mr. Rivera. We have pictures as well as emails proving this.

B-10. "Because he did not show me the door, I did not understand at the time that he expected any action regarding the door at that time"
a. Our response: We spent a good minute or two discussing the door with ***** ***** and he stood in complete silence. We also have an email specifically mentioning the door prior to site visit by ***** *****.

B-11. "a $2200.00 door replacement"
a. Our response: The estimate was for $2,011.03. We have the email which proves this.

B-12. "Mr. ********* advised that the weather stripping was improperly installed and causing the gaps around the door and adding tension to closing the deadbolt"
a. Our response: Already addressed above, and it does not make sense logically. The weatherstripping could not be causing the gap as the gap appeared immediately after CertaPro's damage. Also, CertaPro's door guy moved the weatherstripping closer to the door and moved the door latch (which had never been adjusted) closer to the weatherstripping. The weatherstripping was not causing tension, and if it was, the solution would be to move the weatherstripping away from the door to reduce the tension. However, the repair guys moved it in the opposite direction.

Finally, we have an email from ***** ***** this past July stating that "he made the mistake of taking some personal time off and he's paying for it now." This statement actually makes sense.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Commercial Painting Contractor

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/23/2009Business started: 01/01/1992Business started locally: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2009, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Baker (Owner)Mrs. Debra Baker (Executive V.P. Marketing)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Commercial Painting Contractor

Alternate Business Names
J & D Baker, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CertaPro Painters of Plano

2708 King Arthur Blvd

Lewisville, TX 75056-5768

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2708 King Arthur Blvd 

    Lewisville, TX 75056-5768(972) 208-8500
    (800) 462-3782

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CertaPro Painters of Plano is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 462-3782
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.