BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hardscape Concepts, LLC.

(972) 740-88531854 E Belt Line Rd, CoppellTX 75019-9607http://www.hardscape-concepts.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 08/12/2013 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Hardscape Concepts, LLC.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
02/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: REPLACED PATIO AND SUPPORT COLUMN WITH PAVERS WTH 10 YR WARRANTY PAVERS SHIFTED OF BASE AND COLUMN FALLING OVER AND NOT SUPPORING ROOF
***** CAME TO FIX PROBLEM DID PART OF IT SAID HE WOULD RETURN I HAVE TRIED MULTIPLE TIMES TO CONACT HIM, AFTER ABOUT 3 WEEKS OF UNRETURNED CALLS I FINALLY REACHED HIM. HE CAME OUT WITH ONE OF HIS WORKERS AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD BE BACK WITH AN ENGINEER TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THAT WAS 8 WEEKS AGO AND CAN NO LONGER REACH HIM AND HAS NOT RETURNED ANY MESSAGES LEFT FOR HIM

Initial Business Response
We installed a paver patio for the ******'s in sep of 2012. We came back in the summer of 2013 when we received a call from Mr ****** concerning some settling of the patio area. At that time mr ****** informed us he had some drainage issues in the backyard yard/patio area that he had to address because of improper run off of water. Normally settling due to improper drainage and saturation of water due to natural occurrences wouldn't be covered under the warranty but we corrected the patio issues anyway. At that time mr ****** showed us his patio cover/structure which was tied into his home and installed by another contractor was having some issues with a post installed. He asked if we thought a larger beam might help the issue and we informed him it might help but were unsure due to the fact that we didn't install the structure or post and because of issues with his soil. The customer decided to go ahead and have us install a larger post with a footer. In the fall we received another call that he was still having issues with the structure and soil and we returned back out to the job. At the time I let mr ****** know it would be in his best interest to find an engineer either structural or civil if not both to look at the structure that was installed by the other contractor or look at slope/drainage issues with his yard. I also let him know I would try and make some calls but was unsure who I could get to come out. We always stand behind our work and warranty any issues due to improper installation or materials. I am willing to take care of any patio issues to to those circumstances but we were simply trying to help the customer resolve issues of craftsmanship that we didn't install in the first place. We are more than willing to help anyway we can but the issues the customer is having we're do to circumstances and elements out of our control.We still stand behind work done on the patio and any issues that arise will and can be corrected. Please help and let us know how we can get this problem resolved. We stand behind our word and look forward to getting this settled ASAP.

Thank you,
***** ******
Hardscape Concepts

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After our conversation in which this contractor told me he would need to consult a civil engineer to evaluate the site, I repeatedly call and had to leave voice message for him. He only replied once after several weeks and said he hadn't found anyone to come out I left and additional 5 text messages with no response from as of the end of November At that time I contracted with a reputable company to complete the work before my roof became damaged from lack of support. After the fact of course I saw the F (deserved in my opinion ) of Hardscape concepts. I know that I will never see a refund or any type of satisfaction from this company but hope my experiences will save some other homeowner from using them and loosing their hard earned money. Additional, if he responded to the BBB complaint and wants to make right, why has not tried to contact me. Guess that says it all, doesn't it!

05/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues
08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: A permit was said to be unnecessary but, actually was needed. The structure is in violation of city code. Very slow response. Two months, no action.
The covered patio and fireplace were completed in November 2012. Unknown to us, a permit was opened. Shane Parker and Frank Cuccurullo told us originally that they did not obtain a permit and that none was needed. Structure was built without inspections. March 16, 2013, the city of Plano came to follow up and check on the structure because of the open permit.We found out we had been lied to regarding the need for a permit. The city said that a permit is needed 100% of the time for plumbing and eloectric. Shane and Frank were notified and let the permit languish for a month without any action. They let it expire and are no longer allowed to obtain permits in the city of Plano. Now they are dragging their feet obtaining a new permit and correcting the work that needs to be done. It has been 2 months. No work has been done on the structure.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: Repair of faulty aggregate driveway installation yet to be completed.
Contracted Hardscape Concepts to replace an aggregate driveway in August 2012. This past spring 2013 noticed that the integrity of the driveway was poor and stones in the aggregate mixture were easily dislodged. Asked Shane Parker (Owner) to come out and look at the driveway. Mr Parker agreed the aggregate mixture/concrete was faulty and would require replacement. Area in question was subsequently removed and re-poured (6/4/13). Following installation Mr Parker committed (text message dated 6/5/13) to have his crew return to both seal the driveway and attempt to better match the color. Additionally, I have reported to Mr Parker that the newly repaired area appears to also be coming apart - similar to the initial driveway installed by Hardscape.
For the last 3 weeks I have been unable to get a return call or any communication regarding the completion of the repair, my concern that the 2nd repair appears to be as faulty as the initial repair, and that the sealing or color matching has yet to be completed. Finally, the wood forms have not been removed.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Outdoor Kitchens, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Stone - Natural, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Fireplaces, Concrete Products, Paving Contractors, Walkway Design, Patio & Deck Builders, Landscape Designers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/27/2011Business started: 06/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Parker (Owner)
Business Category

Outdoor Kitchens, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Stone - Natural, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Fireplaces, Concrete Products, Paving Contractors, Walkway Design, Patio & Deck Builders, Landscape Designers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hardscape Concepts, LLC.

1854 E Belt Line Rd

Coppell, TX 75019-9607

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1854 E Belt Line Rd 

    Coppell, TX 75019-9607(972) 740-8853

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hardscape Concepts, LLC. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Outdoor Kitchens

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.