BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Contacts 2 See

Phone: (940) 383-3074Fax: (940) 591-83683111 Unicorn Lake Blvd Ste 100, DentonTX 76210-0118View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Contacts 2 See is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Contacts 2 See include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Contacts 2 See

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Fraudulently charged medical insurance for a routine vision exam that was covered by vision insurance in order to get a higher payment.
On February 25, 2015 I went in for a routine eye exam. I had visited them the previous year for the exact same exam and had no issue. This year I was asked for my medical insurance information upon arrival for the visit. I questioned why they would need this since I was not experiencing an infection or other medical eye trouble. They advised it was in case I had an eye emergency so they could have it on file. That was a sufficient answer, so I gave them my medical card. The eye exam was very brief, it covered everything I had experienced in previous eye exams (i've worn glasses since I was a child). The dr asked all the usual questions, tested my eyes, provided a new prescription and said my eyes were otherwise healthy. When I went to pay my bill for the exam (vision insurance charges a $20 copay) they advised my fee was $35 (medical insurance fee). I told her it shoulnd't be charged under my medical insurance, it was a routine exam and I should only pay the $20 fee. She agreed and took my $20. Fast forward to this week (05/04/15) when I received a bill in the mail from Total Eyecare requesting a $35 additional payment and a summary of the charges that were sent to my medical insurance. I was shocked and immediately called Total Eyecare to find out why it had been charged to medical. I spoke to a girl in the billing department who advised she didn't know why, just that the dr had coded it as a medical exam. I asked her to please find out more details. She placed me on hold and when she returned she said the dr had advised it was coded as medical because he had diagnosed me with "floaters" in my vision. I told the girl that this was inaccurate because I had been diagnosed with floaters my several other eye dr's and they had never charged my medical insurance for that. I told her that I was going to contact my medical insurance provider to contest the claim since it was not a medical exam and she should refile it under my vision insurance. She gave no indication that anything would be changed. When I got off the phone with her I immediately contacted Aetna and filed a fraud claim with them. Total Eyecare billed my medical insurance $390 for a routine eye exam. Aetna ended up paying $154.

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop charging medical insurance for non medical related exams. I have vision insurance, there was no reason to charge Aetna. This is a scam to get more money out of the insurance companies because they know the vision insurance only pays a set amount.

Business Response
I apologize for the tardiness of this response. I no longer used the *********** email and rarely look at it to see if I have missed something. Please change my email to ***********
I will give the patient a call first thing in the morning to see what I can do to work this out. I see on her fee slip that the staff actually did not collect any co-pay. It is showing a balance on her fee slip. Thank you
***** ****** Total Eyecare & Eyewear Gallery

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not called back by them and they did charge my flex spe ding account $20 at my insistence when I first had the visit because I knew that was the copay due. I signed the credit card receipt for it. My issue is that they are charging this as a medical eye visit instead of a regular vision checkup.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Optometrists - O.D., Optometrists, Eyeglass Suppliers, Sunglasses, Optical Goods - Service & Repair, Contact Lenses

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/10/1999Business started: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St
Austin, TX 78756-3101
(512) 834-6600

Texas Optometry Board
333 Guadalupe Street, Tower II STE 420
Austin, TX 78701-3942
(512) 305-8500

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1991, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Kelby Trusty (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Shari Trusty (VP)
Business Category

Optometrists - O.D., Optometrists, Eyeglass Suppliers, Sunglasses, Optical Goods - Service & Repair, Contact Lenses

Products & Services

Total EyeCare & Eyewear Gallery is an optometric clinic & retail eyewear business in Denton, Texas. Also offers a complete contact lense service and the practicing speciality: Therapeutic Optometrist

Alternate Business Names
Total Eyecare Eyewear Gallery, Eyecare and Eyewear, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Contacts 2 See

3111 Unicorn Lake Blvd Ste 100

Denton, TX 76210-0118

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3111 Unicorn Lake Blvd Ste 100 

    Denton, TX 76210-0118(940) 383-3074

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Contacts 2 See is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Optometrists - O.D.


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.