BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Atmos Energy

Phone: (972) 934-9227Fax: (972) 855-9910

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

71 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 35 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues37
Problems with Product / Service32
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints71

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (71)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Failed to correct billing errors from my last bill a year ago.
Each month my bill was paid on auto paid. The last month they didn't charge it. Now they refuse to work with me to get the account paid and removed from collections. They say they don't have the information. Then how can they bill me?

Initial Business Response
Please have customer provide address or account number of account in question so we can investigate.

Final Business Response
Customer established account at **** ******** Ln in Dallas, TX on 01/24/2013. We provided him service at this location until 05/27/2013. During this period of time he made one payment of $129.00 on 04/01/2013 using his Visa Credit Card. Please find below his consumption and billing history where it shows that he left an unpaid balance of $133.65. The charges are accurate and he was never setup on recurring credit card, bank draft or any other form of auto pay. There are no records that customer ever contacted us until now to pay his balance or to inquire about any charge. After customer contacts our call center or collection agency and make the payment of $133.65, upon request we can send him a letter stating that his balance is paid in full; however, by law, it will remain on his records for 7 years.
From To DOS Prev. Bal. Payments Charges Balance Due date
1/24/2013 2/1/2013 8 $0.00 $49.93 $49.93 2/19/2013
2/1/2013 3/1/2013 28 $49.93 $78.27 $128.20 3/19/2013
3/1/2013 3/27/2013 26 $128.20 $57.09 $185.29 4/12/2013
3/28/2013 5/1/2013 34 $185.29 ($129.00) $26.38 $82.67 5/20/2013
5/2/2013 5/27/2013 25 $82.67 $50.98 $133.65 6/17/2013
($129.00) $262.65

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Moved into residence in November 2013. The first 4 billing statements were less than $52.00. The 5th bill was $555.59. The 6th bill was $36.25.
Atmos Energy indicated they used estimated billing on the 1st four billing statements. They did not read the meter until the 5th billing statement after initial delivery of service. I feel they were negligent in not reading the meter for four billing periods after initial delivery. If there had been a leak, they placed a residential customer in danger by not reading the meter for accuracy.

Additionally, the 6th reading was $36.25, indicating the possibility that there was an inaccurate set up/reading on the initial delivery. Atmos energy is the only entity with access to the initial reading (not verified by homeowner) which means the reading they record at delivery is up to their discretion.

In addition, the negligence they exhibited by not reading the meter until 5 billing periods after delivery speaks of organizational ambivalence. They indicated they were utilizing estimated billing, but we had no billing history at the residence. They had no historical perspective on which to draw.

Please investigate this matter immediately and provide me with the results of your investigation.

Regards,

******* ********

Initial Business Response
Atmos Agent has contacted the customer and resolved his concern to his satisfaction. No furture action is necessary.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do not have a gas meter but I have been charged for gas for the last 7 months. I investigated myself because they said that I gave the wrong address. So I went and found the correct address where the bill readings came from and they have been charging me and the other household. I am still trying to get my monies back that they owe me but they are trying to settle for a payment and giving me the run around and the "we will call you back" excuse.

Initial Business Response
Atmos records reveal that a refund check for the total amount billed has been released to the customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sometime between 2008 and 2010 atmos came out to replace a leaking gas line. in doing so they used heavy equipment. when digging they broke my water line. they repaired my water pipe with plastic, my pipe was metal. my husband was not well at that time so he cold not go outside to see what they were doing. later it started to leak at one time but the ground was dry at the time they came out. last month my water bill went up about$8.00 dollars. this month it went up about $15.00. I went out to look and it is wet where they repaired the line. they said it has been over four years, so it is not their problem. they broke the line and did not repair it right in the first time. I am a widow on set income and feel it is their place to repair it right. if my husband had been able he would have helped the boy repair it when they broke it. he was not able to get out there. he passed away shortly after this happened. all I want is my line repaired the right way. I would like metal on metal so this will not happen again. thankfully they did not hit the gas line with that big equipment they used.

Initial Business Response
Atmos has contacted the customer to advise them that a plumber will go out to make repairs on 04/23/2014.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Keeping credit card information without permission
I noticed that ATMOS energy has kept my credit card information
for the past seven years. I have always used single bill payment
and I never had automatic bill payment with ATMOS energy.

By accident I noticed that ATMOS energy has kept 3 credit cards
information without my permission since 2007.

Initial Business Response
Atmos Energy cannot review phone calls from the time when such information was provided. As part of company business procedures, our agents must ask the customers if they want to have their credit cards information stored for future use. If the customer chooses not to have the card number on file we do not keep the information.
Thank you,

***** *******

Customer Care Specialist, Corporate Office in Dallas, TX.

Direct ( ************ - Fax X XXX-XXX-XXXX

*************@atmosenergy.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 9
05/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: A bill for an amount I owed due to an online system error was sent to collections without any attempt to contact me via my physical address.
Upon moving to Terrell, TX I signed up for service online with Atmos on Jan 21, 2014. Even though service was initiated, when I had not yet received a bill in late February I again went online and signed up for service, thinking that if service in my name and address was already existent, the system would ignore the request. Apparently, the system closed my original account and started a new one, for which I received a bill in March 2014. I called and inquired about the lack of a bill for January and was told that the system didn't show me as signed on until February. I asked about the amount owed for January and the tech told me that the system would eventually "catch up" and I would be billed for that at a future date. As it turns out, the email associated with the first account was incorrect by one character and since I had never verified the account by email response, the bill for the month of January was sent to collections. I did not find out about this until I received a call from the collection agency. I called ATMOS and got the bill paid, but was told that the could not send me a copy of the paid bill because the email for that account was never verified, even though they now have my correct email and have ALWAYS had a correct physical address. No attempt was made to contact me at my physical address about any amount owed. Since the amount owed on the first account seemed high, I would like to get a physical bill to analyze the usage. Also, I am highly offended that no attempt to contact me via snail mail or phone was made before turning the account over to collections.

Initial Business Response
A duplicate billing copy has been sent to the cusotmer's email address on file.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
An incorrect email address on file is what led to the problem in the first place. I wish to receive a hard copy of my bill via old fashioned "snail mail".

05/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I am unable to pay my bill and have not received any call back from "corporate" to resolve the issue after multiple calls to the call center.
My gas was turned off 04/07/14. Not knowing it was turned off I called a plumber to check my water heater and that is when I was advised that the water heater was working but that the gas was turned off. I called Atmos to find out why and I was notified that I had outstanding charges around $900. The representative notified me that I had not paid my bill over the last 10 months. That is when I notifed the representative that I had automated bill pay so there is something wrong with my billing arrangement. I also advised the representative that I have not gotten notifications. After reviewing my acct the representative corrected the spelling of my name on the account which is also my email address. I was also advised that all of my draft requests were being returned by the bank. I made an authorization for a $500 payment over the phone to get the gas turned back on so my 18 month old would not have to sleep in the cold again. At this point I guessed it was a banking error because the payments stopped when my bank was in the process of merging. So the next day I called my bank and had the bank representative review my account. The bank advised me that both routing numbers are still valid for both the old bank and the new bank and even verified that other vendors were still drafting payments using the old routing number. I called Atmos back with my bank on the phone as well to get this payment issue resolved. I was advised that the Atmos representative was unable to assist with this and that "corporate" would call me back within 72 business hours. This conversation was on Wednesday 04/10/14 and I still have not heard back from corporate and it is now 04/16/14. My payment for $500 still has not cleared my bank so I am expecting to get my gas turned off any day again. I have done all I can to get this resolved but Atmos is not providing any help.

Initial Business Response
Customer **** ******* (CA: XXXXXXXXXX) since last 06/11/2013 has been notified (hard copy to his mailing address) that his bank information is incorrect. On 03/19/2014, he also received the disconnection letter (hard copy to his mailing address) and he still did not make contact with us until 04/08/2014 when his gas service was turned off for non-pay.
The $65.00 connection fee shall remain on the account since it was disconnected for non-pay, 4 (Non Sufficient Funds) times $20.00 each (total $80.00) was already adjusted off as one time courtesy on his account. The request for $140.00 plumber bill was denied.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response. My issue is still not resolved. My payment is still not being accepted! This whole issue is with Atmos. My gas will eventually be turned off again and since corporate is not contacting me I have no means to get this resolved. The agent I worked with when I contacted Atmos did not have the access to resolve this. All these fees and penalties I am paying are due to Atmos billing database error!! And now Atmos policy is to continue to charge me returned check fees and connection fees when I have sufficient funds and an active account to withdraw funds from instead of working with my bank to find the problem???? There is no way I can accept this response.

04/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved and disconnected my atmos energy service and paid my total balance of 73.93 from **** **** ******* ***** on July 10 2013!!!!Atmos Energy is continuing to bill me for a home someone else lives in and sent me a bill today for $402.65I gave my home in court to my ex husband ***** ******* Wagner Jr in July of 2013 and have never been there again his address is *** ******** *** in Lewisville TX XXXXXI have given this information to Atmos MANY timesPlease Help me thank you
Product_Or_Service: Natural Gas for my home for 15 yrs
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
To Whom it May Concern:

After extensive research of the customer's account activity Atmos' records show no contact via phone call or web request from the customer to close the account out of her name until 02/11/2014. Therefore no adjustment is warranted.

Regards,

Atmos Energy Corporation


Consumer Response
The family that lives in that house should be billed for their own GAS
or ***** ****** JR
*** ******** ***
Lewisville TX XXXXX
who I gave my home to in Court last JULY!!!!!!!!
and moved out!!!
I live in Bentonville Arksansas now
I will not be held responsible
for these trashy losers bills
and placed an ad in the newspapers saying so!


On , ***** ************ <****************@yahoo.com> wrote:
This is a false response!!!
I had a meter reader at my home on my final day and paid my final bill and told them to take my name off the gas account!!!!!!!!!!!
MY EX HUSBAND HAS HAD RENTERS in there since last JULY
I will not pay their bills!!!!
I will file in small claims court or whatever it takes
but ATMOS
needs to take care of their own business
ask my neighbors on every side when I left JULY 28th!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: request for stop of service of one address and continuation/start of service at another address -- resulted in yet another account being connected
I called Atmos Energy on what I believe to be July 3rd (may have been a few days after, but it was within this week time period.) The reason for my call was simple-- to begin service at a new address in the same jurisdiction and to disconnect service at the old address -- both ~2 wks out. The CS rep was nice and chatty and personal. Seemed knowledgeable about her position - ended call with no disatisfaction.

3 weeks later received an erroneous bill in the amount of $106.00 from old address' account -- not possible, it was during the summer and the only gas service was for that of heat. The account should have already been disconnected anyways and thermostat had been turned down to 50 for the past 2 months. Spoke with a CS rep named ***** - she seemed to know right off while I was calling and said there were "some bills" sent out in error and that I would receive an email showing it had been corrected in the next few moments. In reality, it took a week to receive that email.
I then received my first bill at the new address. It was correct. I then received another bill with my previous address on it but a new account number I'd never seen before with yet another charge.

This caused yet another call in to your co., using daytime minutes on my cell. I unfortunately do not remember her name, but she was less than adequate at her job. She stated that she "didn't really know what was going on" -- had to put me on hold numerous times. She said she "was just out of it--do you ever have those days?" She chatted also about going back to school while she attempted to assist me and answer WHY I had a new account at an old address in which the account should have been closed. In the end, she told me it would be fixed, but it had to be routed to the billing department. I paid my bill in what was the correct amount to the current address and ended the call. that was over 3 weeks ago. Yesterday, I received yet another bill from my old address (forwarded by USPS service.) Not only was the address STILL showing an overdue amount, I was billed yet AGAIN another "customer service fee."
Once again, I spent yet another 10 minutes waiting to speak with a rep. Ironically, the only address associated by way of the automated system was the correct and current account, not the other billed in error. Aka, I kept having to hit "0" to push myself out of the system and into the live queue.

This time, I spoke with *****.He was very nice and patient, but again could give me no rhyme or reason as to why the so called "billing department" had not yet fixed the error on my account. The only resolution he suggested was that I could update my billing address so that I would still receive the erroneous bills to my current address (usps forwarding srvc is ending)so that I would be aware. Due to no fault of his, I asked to escalate to his supervisor. I was transferred to *****. She was both rude and unhelpful. Her apathy level was one for the books. I stated at the very least, I requested a date as to when this would be corrected, any negative credit report to be rescinded; and due for the continual headache,I requested a credit be attached to my correct account in the amount of $20 (which would offset less than 3 months of the internally applied "monthly customer charge".) She acted like she could have cared less, refused to give me any information regarding the correct department to contact in the matter & simply took my phone number -stating that someone would be in contact in 48-72 business hours. It has been over 48 and guess what-no one has contacted me.

I also work customer service in a corporation of comparable size. The incompetency that I have encountered the past two months is unacceptable. I can understand a mistake; but not correcting the mistake nor acting like you care --especially in a supervisory position does nothing but poison the confidence of your customer base.

Please contact me asap.
atmos energy erroneous acct #XXXXXXXXXX

Business' Initial Response
The customer's gas account has been adjusted for the $38.00 charge. Also account XXXXXXXXXX has been adjusted by $20.00 as a courtesy due to the inconvenience to customer.

Consumer's Final Response
Upon checking my online account this morning, it appears that Atoms has removed the erroneous bullied amount from the erroneous account. No one from Atmos has tried to get in contact with me to speak to me about my issue (still) after I was promised to hear from someone before the end of last week nor have I received any of the requested credit on the correct account. I have also not received any type of written or verbal acknowledgment that my not paying the erroneous was not reflected on my credit score. This issue has yet to be resolved and the lack of care for the customer base from this company is absolutely ridiculous. I have also been advised to contact my state's SCC regarding this situation as it is beyond bad business practice.

Consumer Response
Thinking that this issue was corrected, I did not reply to Atmos Energy's remove of the erroneous charges as requested. Today I received a letter from a debt collector, Contract Callers, Inc. showing that the same amount of $38.00 (erroneous bill) had been sent to collections and referenced the same account that Atmos began without my knowledge or permission. I have disputed the debt now with the collection agency with supervisor ****** and the representatives ****** and ****

I am now being told once again that there is no direct line to the department I need to speak with and that my information can be taken for someone to contact me. This occurred before and at no point did anyone from this department nor Atmos contact me back. I also requested a letter from Atmos confirming that the erroneous account and charges had been retracted and that my credit would not be affected for these errors. I was never sent anything.

I am contacting the SCC in the morning and also contacting my attorney as well. I expect not only written correspondence from Atmos confirming that all debts have been removed, that my current account be paid in full for the additional inconvenience and stress this has caused and also a letter stating that this incorrect billing/collection has been removed from my credit score.

11/15/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I have received may 3 bills from Atmos energy in the result of this my bill was up to $800.00 so I was disconnected and had to pay $500.00.
In the result of being disconnected they did set me up on a payment arrangement. I called and told Atmos again im not receiving bills and now I am disconnected again Atmos Wil not work with we have confirmed the address but there is a street name similar to mine who os probably getting my bills. I need my services restored and to actually be billed out for my services.

Initial Business Response
The billing types available to residential customers are Electronic billing sent via email, or paper billing issued to the billing address of the customers choosing.

The following is a breakdown of the charges that must be paid before we are able to restore service.

Account Balance $ 680.32
Security Deposit $ 133.00
Reconnection Fee $ 65.00
Total $ 878.32


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
ATMOS NEEDS TO DO 2ND CHANCES PAYMENT PLANS
SERVICE THE CUSTOMERS
I'm not disputing the billing, or what I owe
I applied for gas I was receiving bills & then no bills from Atmos. I didn't contact Atmos, I was paying my rent, electric & water bills. I've had gas in 1 home I think the house was on Hatcher in Lewisville. Atmos didn't call to collect, Atmos didn't send cut off notices, Atmos didnt notify me until bill was over 1000.00 IT WAS FREEZING COLD WHEN ATMOS TURNED GAS OFF Febuary 2014 income tax I paid $500 I setup payment plan I paid bill 4/09 I was to start payments a supervisor set up after date I called & said I havent been receiving bills. The Sup didnt return calls. I didnt receive bill May today 6/3 no bills I was turned off ALMOST A MONTH AGO ATMOS wants over 600.00 to turn on ATMOS wont setup payment plan AGAIN THEY WANT IT ALL .Atmos does not have GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE! ATMOS is UNFAIR to CUSTOMERS. IF THE ELECTRIC CO CAN DO PAYMENT PLANS WHY CANT ATMOS? WE CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY LARGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY TO ATMOS I received calls from Atmos in 2013 when payments were late No calls or Bills after payment plan ATMOS knows they are the only GAS COMPANY IN OUR AREA THAT IS WHY THEY DO THEIR CUSTOMERS THE WAY THEY DO BECAUSE WE CANT CHOOSE PROVIDERS ATMOS DOES WHATEVER THEY WANT TO DO I MAKE LESS THAN 2000. A MONTH ATMOS SHOULD CHANGE THEIR POLICY WE CANT AFFORD TO PAY LARGE AMOUNT ON GAS BILL WE NEED A PAYMENT PLAN ATMOS KNOWS & I KNOW I HAVE TO PAY MY BILL

SET CUSTOMERS UP ON PAYMENT PLANS
DEPENDING ON THE CIRCUMSTANCES 2ND CHANCES

04/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: canceled my account. thought the account was good. got zero invoices saying otherwise. collections called me two months later. unfair practices
I had Atmos for 2 years and never had any problems. When it was time for me to move and wouldnt be needing the services anymore I called and canceled. I asked what I owed and paid the 83.09. 2 months later I receive a call from a collections company stating that I owe 127.98. I never received anything in the mail... not one bill. If I had then I would of just paid it. So I got sent to collections and never knew I owed a balance.

Initial Business Response
Upon review of account activity, no record was found where the customer called in to close out the account. The account was closed on 01/15/2014 at which time a new applicant applied for service at this address. No adjustment warranted.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If that were the case then check how you knew my new address?? I called in December to cancel account. I know you record those calls so look it up! When I called after the collections called me your rep said they had been sending invoices to my new address. This is bad business!!!!

04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Since February 25th I have been trying to get service installed in a residential location and to date have had no luck.
Since February 25th I have been trying to get service installed in a residential location and to date have had no luck. First I was told the address had no gas, now that we established that it indeed exists the previous tenants left an outstanding bill and I am suffering for that. You are refusing install in my name because of someone else???? It has been almost a week for you all to investigate t...he property,(still no answer) meanwhile Myself and 3 kids moved in with no heat/gas and no resonable explanation from you. This was a cross country move and I have no recourse. Someone tell me how Utility service isnt a monopoly? Had it been anything else, phone, internet or other service I have choices, here I am stuck to freeze and have no way to cook or bath my family because someone else was delinquent. Worse the employeess can do nothing!

Initial Business Response
To whom it may concern:

RE: Case # ********* ******* ****

The customer has been contacted, and this issue has been resolved.



******* *****
Customer Care Specialist
Atmos Energy Corporation-Dallas Lincoln Center


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were contacted and asked if service had been installed. We said yes than we were chastised because we didn't call the local office. We called all the numbers we had.
The extra out of pocket costs for a hotel were never discussed I was just told I should have called the local office. That is not a resolution. I would like a credit on future bills for what I am out for lack of service. A resolution is not calling me telling me I didn't call the local office. I called every number I could find.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DISBALE RETIREE ATMOS NOTIFIED ME DISCONNECT ORDER SAME DAY THEY INTENDED TO DISCONNECT. HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO CONTACT THEM VIA XXX-XXX-XXXX NOR ONLINE.DISABILITY CHECK OMES IN NEXT WEDNESDAY BUT ATMOS WONT WAIT FOR PYMNT AND DISCONNECTING SERVICE FROM DISABLED RETIREE AND COLD WEATHER SEVERLEY AFFECTS DISABILITY.

Initial Business Response
Good morning:
We received your letter in regards to Mr. ******* complaint.
Please know that his service has not been disconnected; however it is subject to be terminated any day due to $ 190.98 past due balance.
Also, customer never contact us to make any kind of installment plan or seek for assistance with help agency or 2-1-1.
Thank you,

***** *******

Customer Care Specialist, Corporate Office in Dallas, TX.

Direct ( ************ - Fax 7 214-550-9370

*************@atmosenergy.com


Final Consumer Response
No news yet from ATMOS but at least they didn't cut me off. Ive been In the hospital for the past 7 days and going back Monday so I am not physically able to handle matters of thi sort. to busy ttrying to stay alive. Thanks and God bless.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: Atmos Energy claims our business connection was a residential connection. They charged us $350 deposit when we had a previous account in good standing
Tortuga Flowers LLC ordered business gas services for our store. They stated the line was faulty and needed to repair it before we could have service. They fixed it, then turned the gas on. On their first bill, they charged us $350 for a deposit. We had a previous account in good standing which waives the deposit fee. They stated on our account that we were a residence. They did not say that we had a deposit nor that it would be $350. If that were the gas, I would have used electric heaters and paid a cheaper electric bill. We sent them a letter informing them that they were incorrectly billing us, we called the company to have the account changed (which they did not fix) and they continued to bill us for a deposit. We paid our usage fee every month on time -$350 deposit which was again accompanied with a letter. When we called to talk about the fee and the services, they continued to state we had no previous credit, we had to pay $350 deposit and we were not paying our usage charge, we were suddenly paying toward our deposit. If that was the case, why do the bills say that we owe 350 each month if we are paying toward a deposit and not on usage. Their customer service representatives would not transfer us to a manager. They argued with us on the phone about the bill and then said they weren't looking at the screen that our bills and invoices were on. Lastly, they sent us a notice dated 09 Jan 14, that our services were being disconnected for failure to pay our bill. We received the notice on 17 Jan in the evening and the service was disconnected on 20 Jan. This was the only notice of termination of service.

Initial Business Response
Good Afternoon:
We received your letter in regards to Mr. ******* *** on behalf of Tortuga Flowers LLC.

Mr. *** called in on 8/30/2013 at 2:49 PM to establish a new service for his Tortuga Flowers LLC store. We listened the phone conversation and he was advised that since it was commercial we need federal ID and required a $350.00 initial security deposit. We presented the amount on his very first bill as showed below. Unfortunately he never paid; Tortuga Flowers LLC always carried a past due balance until the account became inactive.

Account has been active since 1/21/2014; Mr. *** called to restore the service we were willing to reduce his initial security deposit to $200.00 as One Time Courtesy.

From To Previous Current Usage Beg. Bal. Payment Adj. Charges Cur. Bal. DOS DUE DATE PMT
9/4/2013 9/19/2013 0 3 3 $0.00 $0.00 $463.12 $463.12 15 10/4/2013
9/20/2013 10/17/2013 3 13 10 $463.12 ($113.12) $48.17 $398.17 27 11/15/2013 10/9/2013
10/18/2013 11/18/2013 13 24 11 $398.17 ($48.17) $49.65 $399.65 31 12/3/2013 10/31/2013
11/19/2013 12/18/2013 24 63 39 $399.65 ($49.65) $68.96 $418.96 29 1/2/2014 12/2/2013
12/19/2013 1/20/2014 63 101 38 $418.96 ($68.96) $68.79 $418.79 32 2/4/2014 1/3/2014
1/21/2014 1/21/2014 101 101 0 $418.79 $0.00 ($350.00) $41.69 $110.48 - 1/2/2014


Sonia Vazquez

Customer Care Specialist, Corporate Office in Dallas, TX.

Direct ( 972-855-9770 - Fax X XXX-XXX-XXXX

*************@atmosenergy.com


Final Consumer Response
Here are my points against their response.

1) The $350 deposit is outlandish. The business only uses gas for heat. The usage you see described is on average $45-$50. Which at the most in 3 months of winter comes to $150. As the only source of gas in Abilene (monopoly, and I don't care if the Railroad Commission says it legal) $350 deposit is more than 1 years worth of gas for the business.

2) Their offer to reduce the deposit to $200 comes after I call 7 times to get the deposit lowered or waived. And as far as their recording that suggests I knew of a $350 deposit...I did not, nor do I recollect that. I would now like a copy of the recording as well.

3) We previously had an Atmos account for residential usage. We have always paid on time and had years worth of good credit. The owner's credit score is 795. Why is the credit history of the owner not considered in the waiver of deposit when opening another account? According to Atmos CSR, it doesn't matter because it's a business, not a residence. That to is fine, if that's the policy. But it is discriminatory and negotiable position that could be resolved by simply validating whether or not the business owner has good credit, existing credit or a history with their company.

4) Holding a deposit of $350 in an account for the monopolizing business (and it's a utility) garners a percentage of interest in their bank account. My business still has to pay them for use with the deposit being returned when I close up shop or whenever they feel necessary to release the deposit. Only, I get $350 back and they keep the interest earned on my money. Since they are a utility, they get a break in taxes, I am sure they don't put the deposit in a savings account, and with the business of natural gas with the current market value at it's current level, I am certain they gain a tax free profit on the utilization of my deposit without having to render me a dividend.

In conclusion, I think this is an illegal practice. I believe the waiver should exist for existing or well documented credit history customers. I feel they discriminate against small businesses and this should be reviewed for further consideration. Or maybe their should be some questions asked to members of federal review officials as to the current laws in existence made by decree of a biased commission such as that of the railroad.


Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Page 1 of 4
05/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Meter reading incorrect/meter malfunction causing high gas bills from 11/13/13 to 3/12/14, $472
I was billed for 342 CCF in March bill. It's more than the total usage of the whole 2012 year. I called the customer service 6 times to understand the high bill. They told me it must have been because the meter was under-read for Jan and Feb bills (12/12/13-2/12/14 billing periods). Finally a high billing investigation technician was arranged to re-read the meter on 4/17/14. The technician said the reading matched, the house had no leaks and the bill is correct. He also replaced the meter during the visit.
My contention is there was something wrong with the meter. My life style hasn't changed - I was not home every day for at least 10 hours and the heater was always turned way down. There was no one in the house from Christmas Eve to New Year for 10 days. There is no way I can use 342 CCF from 12/12/13 to 3/12/14. My average usage is 20.75 CCF/month in 2013 and 20.83 CCF/month in 2012. It's obvious incorrect that they billed me 131 CCF/month from 12/12/13 to 3/12/14.
I started looking into more details on my bills - I was billed for 101 CCF in Nov 2013 (11/13/13-12/11/13 billing period). I was in Asia from 11/14/13 to 12/1/13. Gas was turned off for 18 days of the whole billing period. There is no way I used 101 CCF in this billing period.
I've called Atmos Energy 6 times to resolve the billing issues and they insisted the bills are correct. They were going to cut off my gas if I don't agree and pay the bills. Atmos Energy has a MONOPOLY in Dallas and there is no other utility company I can use. Finally I was forced to agree to pay the wrong bills so I can keep my gas on. This is a wrong business practice.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Poor customer service, very long wait times, bogus service date estimates, no idea of when service will happen, emergency line a joke
Everytime I have had to call Atmos Energy over the last month, wait times are at least 15 minutes. If this is a busy time of the year, then hire more people to support your customers. I had first called about a month ago to request a service person to come out to change our meter. The glass on the meter was broken and thus could be tampered with. I was told someone would show up by the following Monday (this was a Thursday). Nobody came for 2 weeks and left a notice on the door that gates would not allow them to come in and fix the meter (in fact, the gate was unlocked). Had to call again about 2 weeks ago, they said someone would be there by that following Monday (called on a Thursday again) and nobody showed up until about 2 weeks later. Today they came (with no indication to me that they would be there), fixed the meter, but had to shut off the gas. They left a notice on the door to call their emergency line to have the gas turned back on. I called this evening and they scheduled it, but no ETA can be provided (mind you, this is an emergency considering we have no heat and no hot water until they turn it back on). Called about 10 minutes ago and the women on the emergency line said I would have to call Customer Service (and wait 25 min this evening on hold) to check on the status, but ultimately they will not be able to provide an ETA. She then said, "sorry, I will need to release this line" and hung up on me.

This is absolutely unbelieveable to me. The customer service has been awful, rude people on the other line, no ETAs are ever given, and they give no indication that they are coming to fix this and then just shut it off and cannot turn it back on until their team can get to it. I have an infant and wife home alone (I'm traveling) and they have no heat right now and yet Atmos cannot provide any ETA.

I am irrate and demand that someone from Atmos, who is in a supervisor or higher role, contact me immediately.

Thank you.

***** *****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

02/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We just received a bill from Professional Finance Company on January 6, 2014 for a bill dated May, 2012. We find this very disturbing. Our service from Atmos Energy was discontinued in July, 2012. When I called to discontinue service, there was no mention of any past due bill. There was also no threat being made to disconnect service. I find this particularly interesting since the bill would have been over 2 months old. When I called to discontinue service due to the sale of our home, I provided a forwarding address in addition to forwarding our mail with the USPS. I have had no other issue with any other utility that we used at our home in Paducah, KY. Additionally, the only service provided to us by Atmos Energy was gas used for heat only. This would lead one to pose the question, why are we receiving a bill for $95.28 in the middle of May. We feel that this bill is a mistake on the part of Atmos Energy. We will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. It is completely unacceptable that we were not given the opportunity to dispute this bill prior to it being nearly 2 years old and now reflects badly on our credit.
Product_Or_Service: Natural Gas
Account_Number: *** ****************

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

06/01/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Natural Gas Companies

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.