BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1999

North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc.

Phone: (972) 241-1562Fax: (972) 241-2329View Additional Phone Numbers1804 Trinity Valley Dr, CarrolltonTX 75006-6509 Send email to North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1999

BBB has determined that North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Need ample reimbursement for damaged goods
I filed a claim regarding inventory #'s ******** cyrstal curtain rod, TV stand (no number) and mardi gras mask (no number) for replacement.
For the TV stand, the item was damaged during the packing process. An employee - George **************** came by during the packing process and said that I should try to get a replacement from ikea, save the receipt for reimbursement so the damaged stand could be moved and include the receipt in the claim as he witnessed the damage in person during the packing. There was no way i could get the item replaced within hours before the moving truck left the premises OR I left Dallas for my move to NYC. Therefore, I was able to go to Ikea and have them price out a replacement , included IN my claim. The claims manager for North Dallas- Keysha ********* , does not want to reimburse me. I followed the instructed options provided to me at the time of my move by ******. Granted he is no longer employed by North Dallas, I followed the option he provided given the lack of time for the move. Additionally, the umbrella that is broken needs to be given a full price replacement. I asked the claims manager to have a different manager contact me. I refused her offer of $300 as I want was is and should be covered based on information provided by one of their employees AND b/c of what was damaged and broken during the move as I have filed a claim. Keysha(Keyshala)? ********* ignored my request, as she sent a check in the amount of $300 that I have refused as I want to speak with someone other than Keysha ********* . I will send the check back during this week of June 7th to North Dallas Storage as I expect the $ amount I have requested as reflected on my Claim form to be provided to me.

Desired Settlement
Simple- fulfill the full claim amount.
I've provided pictures
claim forms.
And inventory control forms
Simply provide the $505 filed and problem solved.

Business Response
North Dallas Moving and Storage has made every effort to settle her claim fairly and in a professional manner. On April 9, 2015, our claims manager, Keyshala ********* contacted Ms. ******* to request pictures of the items that were claimed as damaged. When Ms. ******* sent the pictures, Keyshala ********* inquired more information on the items as far as the extent of the damage. Based on the conversation between Keyshala and Ms. *******; she did not include the television stand within the pictures because she had discarded the stand at origin.

Keyshala informed her that it was important to have the stand available so we could have the item properly inspected for repairs. Ms. ******* stated that she had the television stand discarded because it had sustained scratches and was allegedly advised to get rid of it. We do not know what conversation Ms. ******* had with our former employee, but we do know that per the United Van Line Guidelines and the training that our claims personnel are given; we as well as any of the United van Line agencies always advise the shipper who wishes to submit a claim on damaged household goods must not discard any items so they can be properly inspected. If the item is unavailable for inspection than per United Van Lines guidelines; it is grounds for denial.

To be fair and reasonable with Ms. *******, we compensated her as follows:

Custom Indian Umbrella- ****

Customer claimed $200.00; piece on top hanging off- Based on the claim, as an appearance allowance we offered her $100.00.

Mirror- #226

Customer Claimed $30.00; we paid as claimed, $30.00.



Crystal end on Curtain Rod-

Customer did not claim an amount; we offer a replacement amount of $30.00.



Mardi Gras Porcelain Mask-

Customer claimed $75.00 for broken mask. After research, we found many comparable masks are an average of $25.00 to $30.00. As a goodwill gesture, we offered $60.00.



Television Stand- #223

Customer claimed $160.00 for scratches. While we have confirmed that this item incurred new transit related damage at origin due to exceptions noted on the inventory control form; this item was discarded and was unavailable for inspection to determine if the item should be replaced or repaired; therefore we allowed a goodwill gesture of half of the cost of the item in the amount of $80.00.



Her total settlement was $300.00.



We deeply value our customer's patronage with North Dallas Moving & Storage and are committed to providing them with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to reply back or discuss it with us.

02/24/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dishonest Employees: Theft of personal property
On December 12, 2013 the moving crew pack up the contects of my home. A crew member were informed not to remove contents of my hall closet. Upon return home I discovered that two items were removed from the closet. I notified the company immediately and I filed a police report as requested. The company denies responsibility in the matter because I did not withness the theft.

Items Stolen:
Georgio Armani Shoes: $980.00
Louis Vuitton Purse: $730.00

Desired Settlement
I would like my items back or the equivalent in cost.

Business Response
North Dallas Moving & Storage is committed to resolution of this complaint. All employees are long term employees that have collectively over 17 years of service & all have been background checked. The Ft Worth PD is investigating this incident & we have & will continue to cooperate with them.

Other people were in the residence during the time the allegation occurred.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The other person within my home at the time of the move was my mother, ****** ********.

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Changed verbally agreed upon contract in written contract.
*** ******* came to our house and estimated the moving weight of our belongings from Dallas Texas to Seattle Washington at 6,850 lbs on 4/25/13. We were told it was better to over estimate the weight than to under estimate the weight, so that we wouldn't be surprised when we received the bill from moving. We were reassured we would be refunded the difference in the amount if the weight of the estimate was over. He answered all our questions. We asked him several times concerning the weight amount and receiving a refund. He assured us we would be refunded any difference. He sent us the contract that night, we asked many questions and signed the contract. We trusted him to have filled out the contract as we had discussed and it looked ok. We have since found out that he pulled a switcharoo and the term binding weight is the amount he set the move at, not by the actual weight. We trusted him with what he told us was true, asked questions, and signed the contract. We thought he would have filled it out as agreed upon since we do not know exactly what the wording terms mean. The estimated weight was at 6850 pounds and the actual weight was 5620 pounds. That is a 1230 pound difference. I am upset that he misrepresented himself and the company. If I did this in my profession, I would no longer be employed, since people need to trust the people they are hiring to perform a service.













Desired Settlement
I want him to apologize and honor our agreed upon contract as we had discussed at our home and over the phone,

Business Response
There was an internal glitch in the computer system that didn't show a refund do. We have spoken w/the ********'s & mailed them a check for their balance due. They seemed satisfied once we apologized & told them their check was mailed out.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree that there was an internal glitch in the computer system. It took filing a complaint with the BBB and talking with the president of this company to finally have their mistake in the contract and with billing fixed. I was mailed an agreed upon refund. The repairs that they did to our major pieces of newer furniture: sofa, recliner, sleigh bed, and 50 inch plasma t.v. remain disappointing.

11/16/2012Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service, Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Transportation Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/28/1994Business started: 01/01/1966
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd.
Austin, TX 78752
(512) 424-2000
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us

Texas Department of Transportation
Dewitt C. Greer Bldg. 125 E. 11th St.
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-8588
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

U.S. Department of Transportation (Vehicles)
1200 New Jersey S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-4000
http://www.dot.gov

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Brandon Morris (President) Sam Shovel (Vice President)
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service, Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Transportation Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc.

1804 Trinity Valley Dr

Carrollton, TX 75006-6509

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1804 Trinity Valley Dr 

    Carrollton, TX 75006-6509(972) 241-2549
    (214) 418-0027

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*North Dallas Moving & Storage Company Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 637-6022
  • (972) 241-2549
  • (214) 418-0027
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Moving & Storage Company

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.