BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2014

Fantastic Moves

Phone: (214) 349-6683Fax: (214) 349-669110610 Metric Dr STE 175, DallasTX 75243-5594 Send email to Fantastic Moves

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a residential and commercial moving company based in Dallas Texas. We have been in business since 1995 with same ownership. We have our own trucks and use full time employees. We care about your moving needs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/2014

BBB has determined that Fantastic Moves meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fantastic Moves' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Fantastic Moves

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/12/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My estimate was 1,370.50 total, i signed a contract that stated I could not be charged more then $1,714 total for this service. was charged $1851.88
I went over what I had in detail with leah, i told her every large and small furniture piece, approximate amount of boxes and what floor I was on and going to, i even asked for some help packing and was assured that the people who they would send would be expert packers. I also told her about making a second pick up at my roommates place and picking up her things as well. The estimate i got was apparently grossly underbid, your moving "supervisor" even asked me if i really thought it would have only taken 5 hours to move, as if i should have known, like he claimed to, that it was obviously going to take much longer then that. The team arrived 15 min late, when they did get there i was presented with my contract and estimate and was told that the maximum i could be charged for the service was $1,714.00 i agreed and signed the contract. part of my job was to help pack the closet and the kitchen up. The guy was doing a terrible job! the supervisor had to commoner to hime and undo a whole box to show him how to properly pack china, which wouldn't have bothered me if it didn't mean that he was going incredibly slow and the supervisor was having to stop and help him to. after an hour he had only packed two cabinets of 6 and none of the small appliances. i ended up doing the rest my self in 30 min, while all three men tried to figure out how to get my TV off the wall. Next they went to my roommates and spent about an hour there packing her belongings, they finished and she locked her door at 2:10pm and they informed her that they would be going to lunch at that time. they arrived at the final destination at 3:15pm, the drive from her apartment to the new one was 11 min, according to your supervisor, he claims that he and his men took a 15 min lunch however he was actually gone for 54 when you subtract the travel time that i am expected to pay for. when they eventually got to the final location they spent a good 30 min trying to figure out how best to unload the truck, all three of them! there where boxes in sight that could have been moved as the supervisor considered it but they did nothing. once they did get started they moved incredibly slowly, and from 4:55 to 6 we saw only one guy do all the work, when we asked him what the others were doing he said they were "cleaning the truck" later when i went to check on them they were just chatting, with everything put away including a second dolly/hand truck, as the only guy working came back to get another stack of boxes and take them all the way to the apartment by himself, he moved four large pieces of furniture and at least three stacks of boxes by himself and was the only one to help us position our furniture or even enter the apartment from 4-6 when the other guy who was not the supervisors said that "his supervisor sent him to see if we needed anything else" when we said no he said then they would be back up in a few minutes with the bill, 15 min later we go down to look for our bill and find them waiting as the supervisor does something in the cab of the truck. when he finally presents our bill he claims they took only a 15 min lunch despite being gone for over an hour. he also was extremely rude and condescending calling saying suggesting that we were trying to "get out of paying" because we disputed his time keeping. we have evidence when they left and when they arrived for the disputed hour. my final total was then said to be $1,898.26, not only $500 over my estimate but also nearly $200 dollars more then the maximum amount i agreed to pay. considering what transpired i believe $1,343.23 to be what ought to have be charged, this number was calculated by adding the 187.50 "travel charge"( which makes no sense as i am paying them for travel time also), plus the 70.63 for the packing materials i used minus the $136.40 i paid on April 14th plus the 6 hours and 11 min that all three men worked at 187.50/hour plus one hour at 62.50(1/3 of 187.50) when only one worked.

Desired Settlement
i want a fair and honest bill, i beleive 1,343.23 is a fair number.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@fantasticmoves.com
Our customer called 04/08/16, spoke with **** and arranged her move for Friday April 29th. She said she would need some packing and **** suggested 3 people on the job. The job (moving 1 apt directly to another apt ) was estimated to cost $ 1371.00 with a cap of $ 1714.00.

The day before the scheduled move, our customer called at 3:09pm - spoke with *** and added the second address to pick up items from another apartment. She told *** there were a couple of items to be moved. With just a few items to be moved we did not alert the customer that the possible hours for the move could change drastically and assumed the state required "maximum payment" of $ 1714.00 would most likely not be reached.
Our crew did arrive at 9:15am. We packed and loaded our customer's belongings. According to our Driver - our customer told him that the 2nd pick-up location had only a mattress / box spring / table.
When we arrived at the 2nd pick up location - our crew was told the entire apartment needed to be moved ( 4 rooms and lots of boxes ) . Our crew leader immediately grabbed the paperwork to instruct our customer that the Contract needed to be amended to reflect a longer move. Our customer refused to amend the contract (the contract does show the signature of our driver and not our customer). Our crew alerted our office that the move would take longer but they could handle it. Our office staff remained until 6pm on Friday. At no point did our customer call with any issues.
Our crew loaded the 2nd apartment. Our crew had to re-arrange our truck to squeeze in the contents of another complete apartment. Our truck was full. The crew then proceeded to the final unload location.
The final location had an extremely long walk from where our truck could park to where the customer's apartment was. The additional items belonging to the 2nd individual added time to the original estimate.
When the job was complete Friday evening, the crew leader called his manager to alert him the customer was refusing to pay the invoice. He was instructed to let the office contact the customer on Monday.

Our Saturday office hours are 8am - 12:00pm. Our customer did leave two messages on Saturday morning that immediately went to voicemail. We apologize there was not an opportunity to call back until the next business day. When the original booking agent, ****, arrived on Monday - she called the customer to discuss the move. The customer stated she had already posted a review on BBB - before speaking with our office. **** consulted with the crew and Lia from our office to re-construct what had occurred.
We feel the 2nd pick-up location added more to the cost of our customers move. Our crew leader has worked for us 15 years and probably was frustrated that he felt our company was being taken advantage of.
Our company owner spoke with the customer Monday afternoon and the two parties agreed that the customer would pay the original Maximum Amount of $ 1714.00. After reading the customers BBB review - Our owner, **** is still willing to speak further with our customer if she can call at her convenience.

09/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was grossly over charged for the type of service I received. 5+ hrs it took them to move only half of my home. Stuff was damaged, and want a refund!
On July 23, 2015 @ 9 am I had hired Fantastic Moves to assist me with moving specific items that I could not move myself i.e.(Bed, Washer/Dryer, Sofa, Table, and a few other large pieces of furniture). I had asked for 3 movers. I assumed with 3 it would be a quick move. I was given a "quote" price for 6 hrs$1,155.00. I was completely taken back and informed the movers I was not looking for them to stay 6 hrs. I told them I was comfortable with 1hr.- 2hr at the most. They told me sure no problem. I already had the items ready to be moved and was still packing the rest of my belongings while they moved the items to their truck. I noticed right away the 3 movers were not to pleased to be working. I only saw 1 mover actually moving my things, the other 2 i could hear constantly arguing and not doing anything. I never would have hired movers if I had known i'd get the 3 I had. Very unprofessional, careless with my things, and expensive. I had to pay a total of $990.00 for absolutely nothing. I could not afford to move into my new home because I had to pay them everything I had saved. I would like them to refund all, or at the very least, partial of my payment back to me.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking Full or Partial refund for non-services and services I was tricked into paying for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@fantasticmoves.com
We just received the BBB notice of Mr. ****** statement in regards to a move July 23, 2015 for Mr. **** ******* This is the first mention we have regarding damages / displeasure from his move.
The move was from 9am - 2:30pm during our office hours on a Thursday.

According to our records and conversation I had with our employees:
Mr ****** called us on Wednesday July 22, 2015- referred to us by another moving company. He needed to move from a 14th floor Hi-rise to Storage.
Mr Grubbs was told over the phone our estimate of 6 hours for a 3 person move. We are familiar with the long walk to the loading dock at this hi-rise. If Mr. Grubbs had indicated he only wanted 1-2 hours of moving we would have advised this was not feasible.

Mr. ****** scheduled for us to come do the move the next morning.

For a 3 person crew we charge $ 165.00 for a travel fee. Our hourly rate is $ 165.00. The move took 5 hours @ $ 165 = $ 825. 00. Plus travel fee $ 165.00 . Total Due $ 990.00 One hour less than the phone quote.

As a professional moving company we pad and stretch wrap all furniture. I questioned our movers about "not getting along on the job site". Mr. ****** instructed our crew in the apartment not to pad wrap any furniture...."just get it on the truck". When the mover loading the truck saw the furniture coming to the truck not properly padded....he questioned his crew.

Our movers told me that both men were present at the start of the job. Mr Grubbs left soon thereafter. Mr. ****** went with the movers to storage. He indicated he did not have money to pay for the move. He offered $400 cash. And then another $400 cash. Mr. Grubbs arrived at storage and offered a credit card to pay the balance.

Our records indicate the move has not been paid for in full. 80% of the move was paid in cash on move day.
The remaining $ 198 was to be charged to Mr. Grubbs credit card. Only $ 141.29 was approved by the card company on 07/23/15. Mr. ****** gave us a credit card number and $ .29 was approved on 07/23/15. Our office manager made several calls to Mr. Grubbs to collect payment. He never called back. We attempted Mr. ****** credit card again and was approved for $ .57 on 08/07/15. There is a balance due of $ 55.85.

Our office manager made several calls to Mr. Grubbs to discuss the move and got no reply. ***** ******' signature is on the paperwork for the move; however, we did not have any contact information for him.

We welcome the opportunity to discuss the move with Mr. Grubbs or Mr. ******. We have been in business 20 years and our goal is to have happy customers.

Additionally, either can give us a call at their convenience to discuss.
Sincerely - **** ******
Office XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/14/1995Business started: 01/01/1995Business started locally: 12/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
Dewitt C. Greer Bldg. 125 E. 11th St.
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-8588
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

U.S. Department of Transportation (Vehicles)
1200 New Jersey S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-4000
http://www.dot.gov

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1994, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Totzke (Partner)Ms. Francey Beall (Partner)Mr. Parrish Hudson (Partner)
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Movers, Relocation Service

Products & Services

This company offers packing or moving services for apartments, businesses and homes and also loads and unload trucks for interstate moves.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 02:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We stand behind our service promise.

Service Area

Locally in Dallas area, Intrastate and Interstate Moving.

Alternate Business Names
Fantastic Moves, Lone Star Loaders, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fantastic Moves

10610 Metric Dr STE 175

Dallas, TX 75243-5594

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10610 Metric Dr STE 175 

    Dallas, TX 75243-5594

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fantastic Moves is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Moving & Storage Company

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.