BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2005

Wrightway Moving Company

Find a Location

(972) 861-298014241 Dallas Parkway, Suite 650, DallasTX 75254 Send email to Wrightway Moving CompanyView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2005

BBB has determined that Wrightway Moving Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wrightway Moving Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wrightway Moving Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
09/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were double billed for services rendered.
Wrightway Moving company helped us with moving our household possessions on 7-4-15. At the end of the move when it was time to pay for the services they changed the rate we agreed to pay from $125/hr to $250/hr. We have the $125/hr rate in writing from Wrightway that we agreed to.

We paid the agreed amount of $587 in cash right after the services were rendered. We paid the overcharge of $627 via credit card.

On 7-4-15 Wrightway Moving company was getting hostile and threatening to the point we needed to call the Dallas police dept to our home to help us settle the dispute.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund for the overcharge of $627. This is the amount above and beyond what we had agreed to pay in writing.

Business Response
Please see attached documentation pertaining to case # 91340526
Sincerely,
Eric W*****
W*****way Moving Company, LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
There is obviously a difference of opinion on what transpired and we'll have to agree to disagree on most points. This all could have been avoided if the work to be done was clearly put in writing beforehand so both parties could agree to the work and the pricing. We never saw an itemized contract, bill or receipt.

They presented us with two contracts which can be deceiving. We thought we both signing the same contract; we didn't know until the work was done that it was two different contracts. Putting all the work and pricing on one contract would greatly help the buyer know exactly what they are paying for.

To clarify some discrepancies:

It isn't a 40 minute drive one way from our old house to the new house. The houses are only 6 miles apart; the drive takes about 10 minutes.

We weren't home bickering and looking at the operations manager through the blinds when he came to our house. We both were at our old house packing up more of the smaller stuff.

Tanya M***** was very hostile towards my wife. I was 15 feet away from my wife when she was on the phone with Tanya and I could still hear Tanya screaming at my wife. Then my wife started yelling back at Tanya.

We paid the balance of the bill because of the stress the whole situation was causing for my wife. We didn't pay it because we believed the bill was fair or just.

We do appreciate W*****way Moving Company offering $150 to us as a peace offering and to put this matter behind us. We'll accept this $150 offer to close this dispute. W*****way can send the check to :

Jeff & Tracie B******
3627 ************.
Dallas, TX *****

This would close the matter for us. If W*****way chooses not to fulfill their offer we'll continue the fight for justice, honesty and what we believe is *****.

Thank you,
Jeff B******

09/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not complete contracted services in appropriate timeframe, poor customer service and response to concerns.
Company was contracted to move a large office into a storage unit. Initial estimate of 2260 was with ****** after extensive review of the load involved, estimated four trucks and 18 hours of work as can be shown from estimate paperwork provided. Team arrived late the first day, our staff could hear phone conversations from moving staff that included extremely foul language. Items were damaged in the move, storage facility door was damaged during first day as well. Two tables were missing after the first day of work, company made aware, denied allegation and refused to reimburse for cost and/or refund portion of cost due to damage of furniture and storage facility. After second day and no where near completion, paid $4500 to Wrightway and completed move with another company, less $350 for damage to desk and storage facility. Wrightway subsequently deducted the $350 from one of the sub-contractors involved in the move and has declined to discuss this issue. $1620 for another moving company raised the final cost of this move to approximately $6600 after an initial estimate of $2260.00, a 200% mark-up. I consider this misleading and unethical work practices on the part of Wrightway Moving.

Desired Settlement
Requesting refund from Wrightway Moving company to compensate for cost of hiring a second company to complete move after initial estimate of $2260.00 and compensation of cost of replacing two tables identified as missing on day one at a cost of $500.00 each - total refund of $4600.00 and completion of job as large conference table remains in the office unit, part of the initial estimate. An additional cost of $2000.00 to remove this table is pending and included as part of this refund request.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@wrightwaymovingco.com
March 13th: Quote Estimate Provided based on no changes
o Original Move Date March 17th
o Quote was hourly
o $105 per hour (3 man crew) per truck
o Estimated 4 trucks at 4 to 5 hours per load/unload
o Commercial space requiring a lot of disassembles and heavy office furniture
o Original quote was based on moving from Plano to a storage in McKinney

March 16th
o Client called and requested changes
Move to be rescheduled to the 18th
Change in destination address
Changing destination address increased total drive time from approximately 45 minutes round trip to 2 hours round trip

March 18th Day 1- started at 10:05am finished at 5:25
o Total 3 Crews and Trucks
2 Crews arrived as directed between 9-10am and began working at 10:05
Later that morning client requested a 3rd truck. 3rd truck arrived at 1:20 to assist
o Hourly contract signed by client for each move
o Completed 2.5 loads and 2.5 unloads including disassembling of numerous pieces
Client requested we stop at 5:25pm due to the destination location not being in the best part of town
o Client had someone at both sites directing Wrightway crews
o Client's signed off on contracts that trucks were empty and clear to leave
o Day 1 Total: $1997 (labor, fuel and shrink wrap)
o No complaints were received on Day 1

March 19th Day 2- started at 10am last crew finished at 10pm
o 4 Total Crews and Trucks
2 crews scheduled to arrive between 12-2, crew 1 arrived early to begin at 10am, crew 2 arrived and began at 1pm, crew 3 arrived at 2:30, crew 4 arrived at 5:30
o Client did not have someone at both sites directing crews
This caused some unfortunate time delays due to no one being at the destination for the 1st crew to unload
This was discussed with the client and we agreed it was poor communication on both parts
o Completed 4.5 loads and 4.5 unloads including disassembling numerous items
o The last crew to complete moving services notified Wrightway Moving that the client did not want or need our services the next day to finish move, he decided to hire another moving company to finish the move the following day.
o Client's signed off on contracts that trucks were empty and clear to leave
o Day 2 total was $3582 (labor, fuel and shrink wrap)


Total Cost and Credits
o Day 1 Client PIF $1997 (labor, fuel and shrink wrap)
o Day 2 Client
Client stated that he was not happy with the delays. These delays were not the fault of Wrightway moving as they included (loading and driving delays due to rain and communication issues with client having some at destination address on day 2 for unloading)
Wrightway Moving provided the client an opportunity to provide other reputable moving quotes in which Wrightway would be willing to match their rate and in addition provide a 10% discount. Client stated he could not provide any written quotes.
As a sign of Good Faith Wrightway Moving agreed to help our client by reducing the bill $732 for any delays that took place and the cost of the 4th crew
Credit for minor damages was given for 1 scratched desk and scratched Garage Door side panel
Estimate Repair Cost- $75
Wrighway agreed to provide a $350 Repair Discount until it could be repaired (client agreed see contract)
o Total Credits provided to the Client (732+350) =$1082
o Total Cost to Client after credits
Day 1 $1997
Day 2 $3582 - $1082(credits) =$2500
Total $4,497

March 25th Notification received of 2 missing desk
o Wrightway had no knowledge of missing desk until notification received on the 25th, client signed off on all contracts stating he accepts delivery of the shipments and acknowledges that all personal property is off the moving vehicles. (see contracts attached)
o Wrightway does not take responsibility for missing desk as our job was completed on the 19th and client hired additional moving services from another company to complete additional task

Additional Factors and Notes:
Initial estimated was null and void after date and destination address changes made by the client on March 16th
Per the contract the client agrees to accept this proposal/contract for moving services on an hourly rate quote and does not require the estimated number of hours to complete this proposal/contract (see contracts attached)
Client was given the opportunity to shop around and provide additional moving quotes at a lower cost. In return, Wrightway would match and provide an additional 10% discount. Client was unable to provide additional quotes.
Numerous attempts have been made to repair the two scratched items with no response from the client. Regardless a credit was given for $350 (see contract)
Large Conference Room Desk must be disassembled by a specialty company. This massive desk (50 ft. long) requires cutting by a stone company. Neither Wrightway Moving nor the client have any prior knowledge that this desk was actually a permanent fixture to the conference room floor and all of its module pieces were glued together until it was ready to be moved


Resolution:
Wrightway Moving is not in agreement with customer's desired resolution. To date, Wrightway Moving has provided a total of $1082 in credits to the client and believes that all services rendered are justifiable. As stated in writing on the contract, Wrightway is willing to repair the two scratched items in return for the $350 repair deposit.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Starting at the beginning of the comments from **** ******.

There was only one change to the original quote and it was informed to ***** before she priced out the move, and it was the drop off location of the items to be moved from McKinney to Dallas.

The commercial space requiring a lot of dissembling and heavy office furniture moving was why I required Tonya to come and see the move, so that the quote would be accurate.

The change of the date of the move was from Wrightway not having enough people to do the move the day that I wanted it done.

As far as the amount of loads that it took to do the move, that was based on the estimate from Tonya that explained that she had been doing this for a long time and knew what she was doing.

The 3rd truck was after Wrightway figured out that they were not going to get done in the time that they quoted.

The hourly contracts that **** speaks of were only signed after the move and after being told that they would not unload without payment and signatures.Talk about awesome ethics !!!

********* seems to think that working until late at night is a good thing. I as the customer do not want that and that IS what happened for the 2 days that they moved things.

As I was told, and I expected from the quote, was that I was given 4 loads one day...turned into 3 FULL days with another company and then going back another day to get the conference table.

No complaint on day one about the pricing....only that based on that. day 2 should only be an additional $260.00 as quoted.

As for the 2nd day...here we go...they sent out 1 crew to start then had another crew and another crew then for some reason a 4th crew at 530 pm to carry 4 items that could have fit on the other trucks. This is what I call running up the clock !!! They already at this point have shown that the written quote means nothing

It still amazes me how such a experienced person ********** not do an estimate correctly and be off by 200% and expect the customer to be ok with it.
Then the first truck left to unload without telling anybody that they were going to the location where their would be nobody to let them in. So they sat there waiting "on the clock". When the other crews stated that thy should have stayed and helped load the other trucks so that it would move faster.

The $732.00 was for the time that the 1st truck was sitting and waiting for somebody to let them in. So I was told

The damage that was caused to a desk and to the door trim on the building was to be fixed and I would hold $350.00 until that was done.
**** ****** took that money away from one of the contractors that didn't even do the damage and told him to deal with getting paid.
This person has contacted me in regards to getting the items fixed so that he can get money due to him from Wrightway. I have told him that this is something that Wrightway has to take care of.
**** ****** never tried to call or make any of this right.
He did however tell me that it was not his problem, and that I should file a claim against the crews insurance.
I thought I had hired Wrightway Moving to do the move not a bunch of sub-contractors that **** could throw the blame on. I have no problem with sub-contractors...however the company needs to stand behind there work, any damages cause or items that come up missing.
That's what a real company should do !!!!

The 2 tables that came up missing were loaded on the first day by one of the original crews but never made it off the truck. One of my people witnessed them being loaded. These were tables that were suppose to go into a persons house that I was moving things for.

As far as showing a second bid. I had none. I spoke with Tonya and she came to inspect the move and gave a quote and I went with it based on the price and the fact that she said this would be no problem.

The conference table was looked at by Tonya and I was told it would be hard but could be moved within the guidelines of the quote.

I am checking with the TX DMV as to the way that changes were made to the contracts and the way Wrightway does business.

I have never seen a company that thinks they can do what ever they want....charge more, rack up more hours, change items on the proposals, refuse to unload if not paid. It just goes on and on.

I never wanted to have a bad experience. I could have done the move myself, but I knew it was a large job and I don't have the time, so I hired what I thought would have been a good company. And then I spent numerous hours there anyway.

I was told over and over that "I" Tonya have been doing this along time and this is what it is going to take. I questioned her many times and she stood firm on her quote.

The cost of the move also included that all items were to be packed in pads and wrapped. That didn't happen either. Items were wrapped but not padded. Pads were thrown on the items in the truck somewhat. That was also part of the price.

Bottom line of proposal said.... Total moving estimate 18 hours and supplies $2260.00
And they charged $4497.00

And then I had to hire another mover to finish the move on the 3rd day for $1620.00 and move the conference table as well. The conference table move cost an additional $900.00

I paid Wrightway $4497.00 and $350.00 held back for repairs,(that never got done or addressed) that equals $4847.00 and $1620.00 plus $900.00 that comes to $7367.00. That seems like it's a far cry from the original bid of $2260.00
That's $5107.00 over the bid, really !!

Plus 4 days of my time and another person to watch the move.

Here's what it comes down to....If you're in business and you don't know how to EVEN COME CLOSE on your bids you should probably think about re-learning how to quote or changing careers.

The business ethics do not exists as far as I am concerned with Wrightway Moving.

I feel like it was a **** bate and switch on the companies part. What would they have done had I not been able to pay them...Hold my items ???

It seems to me like **** ****** thinks that he has proposals with many loop holes for him to charge what ever he feels and that Nobody is going to do a thing about it

I was deceived...that is why I am making this known. It takes a lot of my time to mess with this but I am not going to let it go. Someone needs to be held accountable !!!

**** ******

Final Business Response
As reiterated before, yes we agree ******** original quote was under estimated. We are not denying this fact and have reprimanded our sales representative and have changed our policy and procedures going forward on commercial moves and clearly explaining hourly rate proposals.

However, the fact remains that the official proposal/contract executed for services rendered was not a binding or flat rate, this was an hourly rate proposal. Let me reiterate for the record, this was an hourly rate proposal/contract with a not-to-exceed amount listed per contract. The hourly rate was provided on Mr. ****** original estimate/quote form, (attached) and is on ever contract signed by Mr. ******. (Attached) In addition, if Mr. ****** was concerned with the quote/estimate versus the services rendered on day one; then why did Mr. ****** not voice his concerns after completion of day one to our sales representative (which was on site for part of the move on day one), operations/management? Instead, Mr. ****** signed all contracts for services, paid for day one services totaling $1997, and asked for Wrightway to return the following day knowing that at least another 3 to 4 more trucks would be needed to complete the job. At this point and time, Mr. ****** knowingly knew that the full completion of the job would well exceed the original quote. Mr. ****** could have voiced his concerns or terminated the services after paying for the 1st day, but he did not!

Mr. ****** is also correct, our moving crew did not follow proper protocol for having two contracts initialed before each crew began the job on day one. However, our crew did in fact did try to present the proposal/contract for review and signatures but Mr. ****** was pre-occupied on the phone and asked our crew to go ahead and begin. Out of courtesy our crew began the job and has since been reprimanded for doing so. When our third crew arrived at 1:00, Mr. ****** was not present but left his son, ***** ****** in charge to supervise but refused to sign our proposal/contract for the third crew to begin. At this point, our third crew notified management that he was unable to get his contract signed, this is when management found out that the crew went against procedures and began work without the first two contract being initialed. Management demanded the crews to stop working until all contracts were signed, ***** ****** agreed and initialed off on all contracts and work resumed.

Now let's discuss day two. Mr. ****** brings up the following items below. These topics were discussed in our first response and nothing changes, everything was listed in detail as follows:
4th Truck and Time for crew waiting on someone to arrive at destination
o Mr. ****** was not charged for the 4th truck nor the time spent waiting on someone to arrive at the destination
Damages
o $350 credit was provided until damages were repaired, yes our crew that was on site said he would make sure himself to repair the damages for Mr. ****** and made several attempts to repair with no response from Mr. ******. Wrighway moving is still to this day welcome to repair as stated before and a claim form has been sent.
Missing Items
o Wrighway was not contacted regarding the missing items until March 25th, 6 days after completion. If, Mr. ****** knows for a fact that these items went missing on day one then why again was nothing mentioned on day one and why did Mr. ****** sign off on the contract stating that the truck was empty? Wrightway will reiterate again that Mr. ****** to date has not provided proof that they were loaded or unloaded by our crew on day one. Mr. ****** was present during unloading of day one and he again signed off of the contracts stating the trucks were empty. Until Wrighway receives proof that it was Wrightway moving that should be held accountable for the missing items and not the other moving company that was involved his alleged comments are considered hearsay.

Mr. ****** is more than welcome to contact the TX DMV, as we have an outstanding relationship with them and have already discussed the matter at hand. It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** feels he was deceived. If...Wrightway was deceiving anyone, why would Wrightway make numerous attempts to satisfy Mr. ****** buy not only offering him the ability to beat any other written estimate by 10% and provide a discount of $1082 as a sign off good faith to offer the best service possible. We agree it is unfortunate that our sales representative was off on her original quote but again regardless it was an hourly rate proposal, hourly rate meaning the amount of money that is charged, paid, or earned for every hour for service rendered.


Final Consumer Response

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/25/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company damaged two items during a move, and proceeded to suggest that customers were lying/deceiving about the damage. Movers didn't mention damage.
We paid a 4-man crew $1100 for 6 hours to move us from a 3-bedroom home to a 3-bedroom + study home - this was way longer than other companies had suggested it would take, but we were hoping the quality of the move would justify the huge expense. After unpacking, the washing machine (which was in perfect working condition the morning OF the move) was spewing water everywhere, and my sewing machine had been damaged (knob literally rolled off when i pulled the hard-shell carrying case off) and incorrectly put back together without anyone saying a single word. Since then, we've had to deal with condescending and negligent customer service as we try to get the replacement cost back. We have been told that washing machines over 3 years in age often break (which was not something told to us before the move), and that they can't prove whether the sewing machine was broken before the move. Further more, this business only insures their moves at $0.60/lb without instructing their customers of the option of increasing that liability insurance. We are asking for $400 back, as we've already had to purchase a used washing machine for $170 to serve our family, and the repairs on the sewing machine (which was a gift).

Desired Settlement
$400 to cover repairs/replacements for the washing machine + sewing machine.

Business Response
Wrightway Moving Response:

Our response at this time is short, as we have requested the completed claim form multiple times from the consumer. Instead of completing the required forms as requested, the consumers took it upon themselves to make un-substantiated harsh and unnecessary remarks all over the internet. Wrightway Moving just received their completed claim form yesterday October 23, 2015 at 12:10 pm; we will be sending out an acknowledgement and begin our review of this matter and respond as stated in the claim procedures. Attached claim form for review.


Consumer Response
This complaint was closed when it is no remotely resolved as yet. The company assured me that they would compensate for the broken sewing machine, but haven't yet. They are sticking to their minimal liability insurance claim, which doesn't begin to cover for the damages they accrued.

Final Business Response
Dear Mr *****,

There in an inherit risk when moving; we are not an insurance company so we are not able to provide replacement value insurance. Our contract states industry state wide standard regulation in regards to carriers liability. We apologize for the damages but per our contract we are available to cover loss or damage to any shipment at $0.60 per pound per article. Using this calculation for your settlement amount based on the weight of the 180 lbs. washer and 20 lbs. sewing machine your total weight is 200 lbs. 200 lbs. multiplied by $0.60 totals $120.00.

We will issue this refund as soon as the attached settlement offer is signed and returned.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are not asking for 'replacement value insurance'; that is a business decision that I can understand. This is, however, about a customer who paid for your company's services, which were violated and not appropriate for what we paid for. This entire matter can be remedied by refunding one of the two $250 charges your company received from us for services rendered during our move. We have expressed complete dissatisfaction with not only the moving team, but with the subsequent interactions we have had with multiple members of your staff regarding the damages your team incurred and admitted to your office, and your office admitted to us after multiple requests to investigate further. The insurance coverage is not the only means by which to remedy this situation; as consumers, I would like a $250 refund in addition to the $120 insurance adjustment. This matter will not be resolved until the refunds have been processed.

05/04/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
did not get remove all items from apt. to storage unit.
I contracted moving company to pack and remove items from apartment to storage. I was in tight situation and time limit. ***** ****** of company was very helpful. I had to be out of apt. by 10:30a on 11/4/14 Apt. under new management did not accept my late rent with fees. Dallas county constable was to be there next day with his moving crew to set my items outside. Found another apt but it was not ready for move-in until 11/15/15. Tanya sent packers to old apt on 11/03/14. wrapped and packed items to be delivered in big and small boxes. Movers came next morning to move at approx. 9:30A. eI had to leave for work (caregiver)and my son came to apt so I could leave and not lose my job. WHen things got settled and moved into new apt., found out movers had left washer&dryer, two big boxes in kitchen, glass shelves to two etiguetts. I talked with **** ******, owner of company who informed me that my son should have made sure items were not left behind. That may be true but I hired them to move my items and I had a small apt. less than 900sq.ft. There was time window of two hours to move. Apt manager and constable came to apt and gave them an extra two hours to get everything.From time they arrived and extra two hours manager gave them they should have gotten more than they did. Movers were aware I wasn't there only my son. I spoke with manager of complex and Dallas County Constable, who informed me that the movers did have enough time to get everything. The deputy constable advised me, he heard the manager giver the movers a two extra hours. I don't know if I will get anything out of this but Mr. ****** started blaming everything on my son but ***** told me they would be willing to help or pay to resolve the issue. When I told Mr. ****** what Tonya said, he stated that in that case I'll take it out of her paycheck. I signed contract in good faith that I would be taken care of but instead I got a very bad experience and would never, ever recommend this company to anybody else. Consumers should be aware of **** ****** of Wrightway Moving company. There was nothing ****** about the way my business was handled. Funds were not the issue.
I'm will also inform other consumers site of this man. He was paid well.

Desired Settlement
My washer and dryer set was 3 years old, amt paid $900. kitchen items priceless been in family for over 30 years, i.e. cast-iron skillets, crytals glassware, glass shelves, kitchen utensils, plates, cups etc. Basically I have replaced some items and typically they all can be replaced. I wanted consumers to be aware to be more attentive with Wrightway Moving Company. Mr. ****** stated that they couldn't transport glass shelves even though they were bubble wrapped due to breakage. I asked him, why is it that my glass es to my coffee table and end tables were moved and delivered to my new address unbroken and set up by second set of movers. Of course, he didn't have an answer for this important question. Thank you for your consideration to hear me out. I'm a widow and sometimes I inadvertently neglect to seek assistance, my husband helped with everything so I feel alone in this world. I can only pick myself up dust off the DIRT and keep moving. I believe in Karma.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ****,

Thank you for your email and claim received on February 21, 2015, alerting us to the problems you experienced with your move on November 14, 2014. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this feedback which allows us to continually improve our services.

I certainly understand your frustration regarding the left behind items and I we can assure you that we perform a thorough investigation on every complaint. During our questioning process I understand you were under duress and required an immediate need to move items from an apartment to storage. On the day of the move you were unavailable for the entire move and elected someone else to oversee your move. Later that evening, Wrightway Moving was contacted regarding left behind items; we were willing to go back and assist in moving those items but we were informed it was too late the locks had already been changed and there was no way to access the property.

This is an unfortunate circumstance, however, it is the customer's responsibility to direct the movers of what boxes and furniture must be moved and complete a walk through before paying and authorizing completion. Wrightway Moving denies this claim as there was no fault found for items left behind.

Thank you again for using our company and for the feedback provided. Please see attached settlement claim response. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

**** ******
President, Wrightway Moving

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First is that they charge me three times what they quoted me over the phone the max price would be
Then they did not send enough staff to pack stuff
They didn't send enough people out in the moving crew broke most of my stuff and then they Stowelde my TVs they broke into my house installed my TVs and then charge me to give them back to me the following day

Desired Settlement
I want half of the money I paid them since they broke a lot of my stuff, braking into my house stealing my stuff and hold me accountable for a contract I never signed

Business Response
Wrightway Moving Company Feedback to Consumer's Original Complaint:
1. Consumer stated Wrightway Moving charged three times the original quote
Original Quote Details:
o Quote was based on the consumers information provided below
Moving from a 2000sqft 2 story home to a ground floor storage
Requested furniture to me moved consisted of: 2 Bedrooms, office, living room, formal dining, washer and dryer, treadmill, back stretcher, massage chair, lawn equipment, bicycles, patio furniture, grill and 25 to 35 boxes
Requested Wrightway Moving packing services for those 25-35 boxes
o Wrightway Moving Quote verbally provided to the consumer an hourly rate quote based on her request above
Packing Services Quote
$15 fuel charge per trip
Hourly labor rate is $50 cash for one packer or $55 credit card rate
On average one packer packs on average 5-10 boxes per hour depending on breakables
Estimate 4-6 hours to pack 25-35 boxes
Materials (boxes, tape and packing paper) are an additional charge
Moving Services Quote
$15 fuel charge per trip
$3 per paper pad (estimate 40 pads)
$5 per item requiring shrink wrap or $40 per roll (estimate 1 roll)
$100 an hour labor rate for 3 men and 1 truck, cash is the only form of payment allowed when moving into a storage facility
o 2 hour minimum, then the hourly rate will be prorated every fifteen minutes after the minimum
o On average it takes approximately 3-5 hours to load and unload with minimal disassemble and reassemble and no long walks in excesses of 50 feet
Estimated this move to take 6 to 8 hours for approximately 1 1/2 loads from the house to the ground floor storage
Packing Cost Details:
o 9/7- Packer arrived as requested at 8:45am with materials to pack the consumers original request for the packing of 25-35 boxes. After reviewing the packing needs of the consumer on site, our packer contacted operations to make them aware that the consumer actually needed at least 3 times as much packed as originally requested. At that time, consumer requested an additional packer but we were unfortunately booked on 9/7 but we were happy to send over one packer the morning of 9/8. Consumer agreed and stated she would try to get as much packed as possible herself
o 9/8-Packer arrived as requested at 9:30am with materials to pack, consumer walked the packer around the house and requested packer to finish packing the kitchen (pantry, liquor and kitchen supplies) then the packer could continue packing the remainder of the house including all electronics but asked the packer to exclude the 1 bathroom downstairs and 2 upstairs (master and guest)
o Packer finished at 7:30pm (10 hours), consumer completed a walk thru for the required sign off completion section on the contract and stated she needed a curtain packed and decided to pack 1 of the guest bathrooms upstairs she originally wanted excluded. Packer did as consumer requested at no cost to the consumer. Consumer signed the contract and paid for the packing services listed below (see attachment A Packing Contract)
Supplies- 91 Boxes, 11 rolls of tape, paper (see contract for breakdown) $339.64
Labor- 14 hours at $50 an hour- $700
Fuel- 2 trips at $15 each- $30
Total $1069.64

Moving Cost Details:
o 9/8- Movers arrived (3 man crew as originally requested) at 2:30pm. After reviewing the moving needs of the consumer on site, our movers contacted operations to make them aware that the house was larger than the originally quote of 2000 sq. ft., it was actually 3156 sq. ft. and every room had furniture to be moved, 15 to 20 totes plus the 91 boxes. This will incur more time, an additional trip and also that it was not going to fit into one storage unit
o Consumer was contacted that the move was going to take longer, an additional trip was needed and everything would not fit into one storage unit. Consumer stated she understood and she had already rented an additional storage unit. Note: (One unit was on 2nd and the other was on 4th) units where not located on the ground floor as originally stated. Thus requiring additional time for elevator usage and the excessive long walk over 100 feet one way that were not disclosed. See charges for the total move after completion below (see attachment B Moving Contracts)
Labor 9 hours at $100 an hour- $900
Fuel- 2 trips at $15 each- $30
Shrink Wrap 1.5 rolls used- $60
Paper Pads 20 used- $65
Day 2 Labor 1 hour- $100
Day 2 Fuel- $15
Total $1170

2. Consumer stated Wrightway "did not send enough staff to pack stuff"
Original quote and request was for one packer only, packing 25-35 boxes. As mentioned above, once our packer arrived on 9/7 and reviewed with the consumer her packing needs on site, the consumer was contacted about her additional packing needs. Since we did not have another packer available at that time she agreed for Wrightway to send someone the morning of 9/8



3. Consumer stated that Wrightway "didn't send enough people out in the moving crew broke most of my stuff and then they Stowelde my TVs they broke into my house installed my TVs and then charge me to give them back to me the following day"
Wightway Moving original hourly rate quote to the consumer was for 3 men to move the consumers 2000 sq. ft. home with 2 Bedrooms, office, living room, formal dining, washer and dryer, treadmill, back stretcher, massage chair, lawn equipment, bicycles, patio furniture, grill and 25 to 35 boxes.
o If accurate information would have been provided at the time of the quote, Wrightway would have suggested an option to add an additional crew for an additional cost
Per the pictures received from the consumer, the TV was not broken, it was in fact still in its original state. However the consumer did send a picture of the wall mount the TV was attached to. It is our assumption that the consumer assumed the TV was broken due to the attached wall mount not removed. Wrightway will take down the TV, but will not remove anything mounted/attached into the walls
o Wrightway Moving requested additional information from the consumer regarding the TV claim. To date, Wrightway has not received any additional information from the consumer
Wrightway did not charge the consumer to give back her TVs
o After the crew finished the 1st load and unload at storage, they notified the consumer at 9:52 they were heading back to pick up the second load. When they arrived at the consumer's home she was not there, our staff was notified in writing (text) that she was exhausted and decided to leave. She asked that the crew leave the storage unit key in the house and to lock the door to her home when they left and she would meet them back at the house at 9am the following morning. Since this is outside of the norm, the crew tried to contact the consumer multiple times with no response
o Crew continued to load the second load that was requested to go into climate control and finished loading at 12:30am. Since the consumer left and was unable to be reached the crew was not able to finalize and have the consumer complete walk through, the move would need to be finalized the following morning as directed by the consumer
o The following morning the consumer begin texting that our crew stole her stuff and called the police. Wrightway responded by calling the consumer and going over her request in writing she sent the night before requesting our crew to meet her back at her residence by 9am to finalize the move and our crew and operations manager was on their way. In mid conversation the consumer hung up on us. A few moments later we received text from the consumer that she fired us, made threats and called us names cursing and using profane language
Upon our arrival the consumer wanted us to unload the remaining items there at her residence instead of taking them to storage. We agreed to remove once she agreed to pay us for services rendered per the contractual agreement. She refused and called the police, once the police arrived the consumer agreed to sign the contract and pay for the services by throwing the money on the ground. At that time the crew unloaded the truck as consumer requested (see attachment C Police Report)
Wrightway Moving Resolution
At this time, the consumers claim for a broken TV and mirror dresser is in pending status. Wrightway has requested the missing documentation required to substantiate the claim. However, the claim for the sofa has been reviewed and determine that the movers could have by accident, gotten the consumers sofa dirty while unloading it into the storage. Therefore, Wrightway agrees to pay for the cleaning of the couch by a cleaner of our choice.

Wrightway did not steal anything belonging to the consumer. As proof, Wrightway has video, pictures, multiple text from the consumer and a police report to support. In addition, there was no complaint to the police regarding damages or stolen items. Exec

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My couch was wrapped before they came and they aren't wrapped my white count and then moved it and then laid it on the dirty cement ground that's one issue I don't agree with then the packing they packed my pantry after I asked them not to pack my pantry and so therefore I had to pay for boxes that they should've never been paid for then I had to pay for somebody to go to my storage unit to find the food and then unpack it they would only put one or two things and these big boxes. Which I sent them pictures of along with the broken items ,and I never signed a full contract I have sent them a copy of the contract that they charge me for and then the contract that I should've paid for they are trying to charge me for something that I didn't get permission to be charged for

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again they forage the the first document that I sign , no one was at who was there the night it happened was presnt when they returned with my stolen items ( that they took) I have witness's that will stand up in court to say that they were only moving my things until a little past nine. They broke a tv . They lied in the first conversation about how they operate . The company is very misleading and people like myself should not be take advantage of

12/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was quoted a price of $225.00 to move from a one bedroom apartment to another one bedroom apartment and the final price was $430.00.
I was moving from Dallas to Plano, TX. I have used Wrightway Moving before and had no previous issues. Last time I was quoted a price of $180.00 and with tip my total came out to $250.00. This time I was quoted a price of $225 without tip. I had the movers come to my apartment and there were 4 men instead of 3 and I was told not to tell management that I had more than 3 men there. The men moved my things from my apartment downtown very quickly, however on the drive to Plano the commute was extremely long (longer than usual, this is a trip that normally takes 20mins). When the movers arrived, they unloaded the items very quickly. The commute from Downtown Dallas to Plano took over an hour! I have spoken with people from the company and I have had nothing but problems. I was told that I should have called (on a Sunday, not during business hours) if the commute was taking a long time. I have moved with this company before and I do not feel as a customer that it is my duty to call my movers or the company as I wait on them to arrive. And I especially do not expect to have to call them not during office hours. I was told by ********* that he has all the calls forwarded to him after business hours (something that was not told to me before or even at the time of my move). I called first thing in the morning to dispute the move and I was told that because I didn't call on Sunday I will not be refunded the money. I personally think that if you are quoted a price, it should be somewhere in the range of the quote, however with this company that is not the case. I was quoted $225 and my move came out to a total of $430. That is ridiculous! I have waited over a week to hear from everyone at the company calling and leaving messages all through the week. It is unbelieveable how much trouble I have had with this company. I under no circumstance will move with this company again. The management team does not respond to calls and are not helpful when they answer, however you are expected to call after business hours if you are having a problem with your move. The policies are terrible with this company. Save your money and move with another company that can quote you accurate prices and provide better customer service. Moving is stressful enough, you shouldn't have a stressful time dealing with your movers and moving company. I think it is completely unrealistic to expect someone to call on a Sunday not during business hours to express your concerns, I think that the typical response would be to report the issues that you are having on the following business day, during business hours. On top of all the other nonsense that I have had to deal with, my headboard was scratched (a woodend headboard), which I have complained about with no response or regard for this inconvenience. I had no idea I would run into these problems while trying to move, they have not only lost a customer but their reputation as well.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for the services provided by this moving company.

Business Response
Ms. ******** was aware from the start, and signed a contract agreeing that she would be obligated to pay an hourly rate, and as quoted on the contract "does not require an estimated number of hours to complete the move". Ms. ******** never called during the move to express any concern that the movers were taking longer than she expected, stating that she was not aware that we were open on a Sunday, even though our crew was moving her. The customer also received a crew of 4 movers and was only charged a 3 man rate.

Ms. ******** stated that she felt it took the movers too long to drive between locations. She stated that she thought it took them 1.5 hours to make the drive between locations. The crew still had several pieces to load and secure when she left them to go sign her lease and get her keys for her new apartment. She stated that she arrived at the leasing office, signed her paperwork, and then proceeded to wait for the crew to arrive. After further investigation, we called the leasing office and spoke to the leasing agent, who said it took a maximum of 20-30 minutes for her to complete her paperwork and get her keys, and Ms. ******** stated that she waited around 10-15 minutes for the movers.

When reviewing the customer's complaint, because of the contradictions between her, the crew and the leasing office at her apartment, Wrightway came to the conclusion that no refund was due.

11/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The crew borrowed my tool set, and never returned it.
I entered into an agreement with Wrightway Movers. The 4 man crew performed the service, but the borrowed the following items:

1) An automatic knife
2) Tool set

They lost the knife, but pointed to the truck where they said it was lost. We did in fact find this knife when we unloaded the truck. However, the tool set was missing. I don't think they purposely stole the tool set, but it should've been returned. My wife has called Wrightway, with no response.

Desired Settlement
$60.00

Business Response
We have attempted to contact Mr. *********** regarding this matter with no success. The phone number we have on record for him now belongs to a car dealership. We have spoken to our crew regarding this matter, and they have no knowledge of the tool set in question, and also stated that several items were left behind at the garage at the old house. The customer thought that a knife was taken or lost by the crew as well, which was later found when unloading the rental truck.

Mr. *********** has also disputed the amount of $60 with his credit card company, which we are forced to validate with his signed credit authorization. Wrightway is willing to settle this matter with Mr. *********** in good faith, but we need a response from the customer in order to obtain an address to send a settlement letter. We cannot process any payment or settlement without first getting a settlement letter signed. Since the service we performed for Mr. *********** was loading a rental truck, we have no destination address in order to mail a settlement letter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, Wrightway does have my correct number, as I am the owner of said car dealership. Unfortunately, his movers came to the jobsite without tools, and used mine. The tools were gone, when the movers were gone. If he wants to send a settlement agreement, they are more than welcome to send it to PO BOX **** ***** TX XXXXX.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/13/2004Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
Dewitt C. Greer Bldg. 125 E. 11th St.
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-8588
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

U.S. Department of Transportation (Vehicles)
1200 New Jersey S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-4000
http://www.dot.gov

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Wright (President)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wrightway Moving Company

14241 Dallas Parkway, Suite 650

Dallas, TX 75254

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 14241 Dallas Parkway, Suite 650 

    Dallas, TX 75254

  • 3245 W. Main Street, Suite 235-174 

    Frisco, TX 75034(972) 861-2980

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wrightway Moving Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.