BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Small World Moving

Phone: (972) 294-8083Fax: (866) 820-8246

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Moved from **** ********** ******* Texas to park ridge il on march 19,2013.Paid $1000.72 plus $150 extra
destroyed $3000 sofa and offers me $48
Reference XXXXXXX move, they destroyed a velvet purple sofa and lots of other items. They have been terrible to deal with and kept blowing me off . They agreed it was their fault and it took four months for them to send me my money. Instead of what the contract says which is replacement cost up, they sent me a check and release for $48 dollars and said they will pay me for the weight of the sofa they destroyed with some chemical. The moving company kept ignoring me and said its handled by their subcontractor. The subcontractor would not answer my calls and I then completed a long form with pictures of damage. You can't email the form or complaint you have to mail it. The name of their subcontractor is anthem claim management at 40937 n courage trail, anthem az 85086.
Their number is 877 476-5983.
They kept bouncing me back and forth anthem and small world moving who I signed contract with. First they said it was my fault (which is a total lie) and then they agreed it was their fault and after four months sent me the CHEck for $48 which I did not cash. I called and complained and they said nothing I can do about it. Also they broke all my antique perfume bottles I collected from when I was a child (I'm now 54).
The damage was well over the $600 limit and I was willing to take the $600 but they sent me $48.
Also, when they delivered my furniture, I was sick about the damage and the movers agreed it was their fault and took pictures. They were suppose to send me the $600 payment and instead I spent four months with small moving co and their subcontractor anthem claim management llc calling and writing and following up. They are rip off fraud company.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of $1000 or the amount in the agreement of $600

Business' Initial Response
Please see complaint response below and attached document.

Thank you,
Felicia ******
Small World Moving
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

There is a lot of misinformation within ***** *****'s complaint that we would like to address. Firstly, she is claiming that Small World Moving damaged her sofa and other items. This is incorrect. According to our records and in reviewing the claim form she submitted to our third party vendor, Anthem Claim Management, the only item she notated as being damaged was the sofa. She stated that we kept blowing her off and that we agreed to being at fault for the damaged sofa. This is untrue. It is apparent to Small World Moving and to Anthem Claim Management that the damage was caused by a substance such as bleach that leaked out of one of Ms. *****'s boxes. Potentially harmful, chemical liquids such as bleach should not be moved due to situations like this happening. We did not pack her belongings; therefore we were not in control of the contents being packed. Had we known, we would have informed her that we cannot transport these types of items. Although our movers were not at fault for this damage, she is still entitled to receive the basic valuation coverage for damage.

In 2012 the Surface Transportation Board passed * federal law requiring all household goods carriers to clearly state in their written estimates the liability options from which a customer can choose. When ***** ***** was provided a quote for her moving service, she was informed of those three options in writing. She signed the quote confirming that she understood the terms. The verbiage included in her quote was as follows:

WARNING: If a moving company loses or damages your goods, there are 2 different standards for the company's liability based on the types of rates you pay. BY FEDERAL LAW, THIS FORM MUST CONTAIN A FILLED-IN ESTIMATE OF THE COST OF A MOVE FOR WHICH THE MOVING COMPANY IS LIABLE FOR THE FULL (REPLACEMENT) VALUE OF YOUR GOODS in the event of loss of, or damage to, the goods. This form may also contain an estimate of the cost of a move in which the moving company is liable for FAR LESS than the replacement value of your goods, typically at a lower cost to you. You will select the liability level later, on the bill of lading (contract) for your move. Before selecting a liability level, please read "Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move," provided by the moving company, and seek further information at the government website www.protectyourmove.gov.

Basic Valuation Coverage: This lower level of protection is provided at no additional cost. Under this option, a claim for any article that is lost, destroyed, or damaged while in your mover's custody will be settled based on 60 cents per pound per article.
Full Replacement Value Protection: The cost of full replacement value protection is ten percent of the declared value with a minimum declaration of $6000. If any article is lost, destroyed, or damaged while in your mover's custody, your mover will, at its option, either: 1) repair the article, or pay you for the cost of such repairs or 2) replace the article with an article of like kind and quality, or pay you for the cost of such a replacement. The estimated cost of your move plus full replacement value protection based on a declared value of $6,000 is $1,600.72.
Third Party Insurance: Please contact www.movinginsurance.com for more information or for a free quote.

On move day (3/19/13), ***** ***** was again provided with the options available for damage liability. She decided to go with the no-cost option (Basic Valuation Coverage). She did not pay extra for Full Replacement Value Protection nor did she purchase an insurance policy through a third party vendor. Therefore, any damage that occurred from this move would be based on the 60 cents per pound per article valuation. That is why she was provided with a settlement offer of $48 (the sofa weighed less than 80lbs). In her complaint, Ms. ***** stated that we agreed to settle for $600 which is untrue. We have no idea where she got this information from, perhaps she confused it with the cost of purchasing the Full Replacement Value Protection option. She also stated that we mailed her a $48 check which is untrue. We have not sent any checks to Ms. ***** because she has yet to sign the release form.

We understand that Ms. ***** is unhappy with the settlement offer; however, we have made several attempts to reach her to discuss and resolve the situation. At times she was in a rage; she has even made both verbal and written threats to our company. She did not want to speak to anyone but the owner and the owner did call her. Unfortunately, she has decided to ignore our attempts to resolve and file a complaint. Attached to this response is a copy of the signed contract by ***** *****.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Subject: Small Moving Company

Complaint Response

Isn't the better business bureau suppose to sort through ridiculous responses from companies that hide behind lies?

Below please find my response concerning the Small World Moving and their subcontractor Antheim Moving Company:

1. The dishonesty, unethical and bait and switch operations that I have experienced with Small World Moving Company should be known by consumers and the better business bureau.
2. Small world moving claims that I did not claim anything else was damaged besides my purple velvet sofa that they destroyed. First of all, the movers themselves when delivering the furniture agreed the sofa had been destroyed by them. They took a picture of the damage they caused. I also gave them a $150 tip for the move in cash because they were hard working. I also paid extra for the stairs. Since the maximum liability on the policy was $600 and the sofa was over $3000 to replace, I did not list out everything they broke. I had no idea that they would eventually, many months later, offer me $48 for a sofa purchased from Neiman Marcus. In my letter dated May 20, 2013, clearly is states that there was other damage.
3. Here is an exact quote from my May 20, 2013 letter "Also, many other things were damaged like my antique perfume bottle collection from 50 years ago. The damage from the couch is over the $600 limit so let me know if you want to pay more."
4. Further, in another correspondence too Small World Moving on May 12, 2013, to Brandon " We had damage to our sofa and several other items and we were suppose to be contacted with payment for our damage and no one has contacted me. Please elevate our complaint to whoever needs it and let me know how we can get our damage processed. The movers took pictures of some of the damage and said that your company would contact me and no one has and I have also called."

I have called Small World Moving over ten times to resolve the damage in my move.
On July 2, 2013 I sent a note to Felicia from Small World Moving who lied and said my phone did not ring. Here was my response and I never heard back from her: "That is absolutely just a lie my phone was busy. You were the only one that can't get my phone to ring. It's always one excuse or lie with your company. I got a $48 release in the mail for approximately $5000 in damage." I filed a claim two months ago for my move damage and the company you use has totally ignored me with no contact. Who can I contact to get this resolved or do I need to file a lawsuit? Let's check her phone line to see when she called my cell phone and how many times. I bet we find not one call to my cell phone from her. My cell phone record has not the call she lied about.
On June 28, 2013: "I filed a claim two months ago for my move damage and the company you use has totally ignored me with no contact. Who can I contact to get this resolved or do I need to file a lawsuit?
On May 14, 2013, at 5:13 PM, *******@smallworldmoving.com wrote

"I apologize for the delay in my response. I spoke to my dispatcher who said he will look into it and get in contact with you as soon as he has more information on the matter."



Regards,

Brandon Mendosa
Relocation Consultant
Small World Moving
To: *******@smallworldmoving.com
Subject: Re: Small World Moving Relocation Quote

Thanks please have the dispatcher looked into it
Because the men took pictures . Whoever is
In charge of claim should email me so we can
Get this resolved
Thanks

On May 13, 2013, at 8:46 AM, *******@smallworldmoving.com wrote

"Apologies for any confusion. I'm not sure if any of the pictures have been reported but I will speak to my dispatcher to discern.

In the mean time, here is the claims information.


Anthem Claim Mgmt: XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Or, if you'd prefer, you can download the forms and instructions from their website on "www.MyMoveClaim.com.



Best regards,

Brandon Mendosa
Relocation Consultant
Small World Moving
(XXX) XXX-XXXX - Dallas
(XXX) XXX-XXXX - Houston
(XXX) XXX-XXXX - Fax

May 12:
Subject: Re: Small World Moving Relocation Quote

"We had damage to our sofa and several other items and we were suppose to be contacted with payment for our damage and no one has contacted me. Please elevate our complaint to whoever needs it and let me know how we can get our damage processed. if there is a claim form, no one has told me.
The movers took pictures of some of the damage and said that your company would contact me and no one has and I have also called."


May 13, 2013

"Hi x,

I received your email below and I apologize but this is the first time
hearing about damages from your move. We can certainly get this resolved -
please contact our claims company, Anthem Claim Management at XXX-XXX-XXXX
or you can go to www.mymoveclaim.com to obtain the claims form and
instructions."

Thank you,

Lisa Dougherty
Small World Moving
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

----- Original Message -----
From: "Form Builder Processing" <***********@eznettools.com>
To: <****@smallworldmoving.com>
Sent: Sunday, May 12, XXXX XX:XX AM
Subject: Contact us - Small World Moving



------------------------------------------------


5. Small World Moving is now saying that somehow bleach leaked out of one of my boxes and somehow landed on my purple velvet sofa in their moving truck and stained it all white. First of all, all of my boxes were see through that were moved and I only had 6 tote boxes all see through. Nothing in my boxes or totes was not visible. I did not have bleach in any of my boxes. Second of all, how could anything from a tote see through box or any box somehow get on top of the velvet couch and stain it? How the heck did they store and move my velvet couch which had packing and plastic surrounding the entire piece of furniture? That is what I paid for in the move. Anything in any of my boxes was inspected by Small World moving prior to them putting on the truck. I was not moving food or chemicals. It was collectibles, an oriental rug, a velvet sofa and chair and a couple of tables.
6. The contract and explanation states full replacement value up to a maximum of $600. How can they offer me $48. Somehow they are now saying I get $48 to replace a sofa that cost in excess of $3000. They also broke my vacume cleaner which was thrown away, five of my antique perfume bottles, and many other collectibles that I have had for over 30 years of marriage.
This company is a bunch of liars, bait and switch, dishonest people.
I never talked to the owner. Yes I demanded to talk to the owner because of month after month round around. The owner never called me back. A dispatcher called me back once and said talk to their subcontractor they don't deal with this stuff.
Felicia is a total liar and Brandon was the only nice person. Brandon was stuck in the middle of the lies and subcontractor.
I would like a copy of the recorded conversations since they are now accusing me of verbal and written threats. Let's listen to every pohone call. Stating I would sue them is correct in my email. Companies like this should be permitted to cheat consumers and try to wear them down with ignoring us or lieing.

Business' Final Response
Hi Jeannette,
I spoke to the customer yesterday and we are willing to settle with what she is requesting ($500). What is the official process to let you know that the complaint has been resolved? Also, will that change our rating back to an "A" once resolved?

Thank you,
Felicia Zafrir

07/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Loss and damaged items from a move.
After filing an insurance claim with my home owners insurance and having a deductible of 2400.00 and damages to furniture of 948.25, Small World Moving has refused to pay for the lost items and the damages. I have sent them details and pictures of the damaged items. They have said they were not going to pay.

Desired Settlement
I want payment of the $3348.25 due me.

Business' Initial Response
****** ******* contracted Small World Moving to provide a long distance moving service from Spring, TX to Eugene, OR back in April 2012. Shortly after his items were delivered on 5/8/12, we received an email from him stating that he had some damages and missing items as a result of the move. Per his email, the items included: broken legs on 2 Ethan Allen end tables, a broken base on a lawyers bookcase, a broken leg on a 5' tall nut cracker, a missing weed eater, a 6' green fiberglass ladder and 2 crystal bowls. There was no mention of any boxes being missing. As part of our moving procedures for a long distance move, we are required to complete a Descriptive Inventory Form which details every single item loaded whether it be a furniture item or a box. In this way we can confirm that that all items are accounted for at the delivery. If any items are missing or damaged it must be notated on the form. There are no notations on ****** *******'s Descriptive Inventory Form indicating any damages or missing items; we also have his signature confirming that all items were received. Nevertheless, we provided him with the contact information for our claims provider, Anthem Claims Management to file a claim.
******* ******* filed his claim with Anthem Claims Management 3 months later on 8/17/12. On the claim form in addition to the items mentioned above, he also claimed to be missing 31 boxes. We found this to be very peculiar that he did not disclose the missing 31 boxes to Small World Moving back on 5/8/13. Thirty one boxes is a lot of boxes to be missing, why didn't he contact Small World Moving directly so that we can at least make an effort to inquire about the issue and possibly locate them? We advised Anthem Claims Management to deny the claim for the missing items because there is no record of any boxes from this move being missing. We did however allow for the claim to go through for the damaged items because we understand that the damage could've been noticed only after the items were delivered and inspected.

Anthem Claims Management provided ****** ******* with a settlement offer in the amount of $126 as reimbursement for the damaged items. The settlement offer was based on the basic valuation of $0.60 per pound per article. ****** ******* has since declined the offer as he feels we should pay more towards his home owner's insurance deductible. Although we are confident that we do not have ****** *******'s 31 missing boxes (we have spoken with the movers who delivered the items and also called the other customers whose belongings were on the truck at the same time just to be certain), we will agree to allow ****** ******* to claim for the 31 missing boxes at the standard $0.60 per pound per article valuation.

Consumer's Final Response
Response to closing of BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX

Proof of the loss, destruction and damage of our personal goods was provided to Small World Movers and Anthem Claims on July 27, 2012. Included in this documentation were box numbers, photographs of damaged items, a list of missing items and a list of missing box numbers as well as values and weights. All of this documentation can be sent to BBB if that is a requirement for showing that Small World Movers was and is in breach of their agreement and a refund is warranted.

**** *******

Consumer Response
Response to closing of BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX

Proof of the loss, destruction and damage of our personal goods was provided to Small World Movers and Anthem Claims on July 27, 2012. Included in this documentation were box numbers, photographs of damaged items, a list of missing items and a list of missing box numbers as well as values and weights. All of this documentation can be sent to BBB if that is a requirement for showing that Small World Movers was and is in breach of their agreement and a refund is warranted.

**** *******


Business Response
Upon further review, Small World Moving would like to make a second offer to resolve this case with ********* ****** *******. We received notification from Anthem Claim Management (our claims vendor) that back in October 2012 ********* ****** ******* sent a letter stating that he is willing to settle for $903.60 ($345.60 for the damaged items and $558 for the missing items). We have attached a copy of this letter for your review. At this point, Small World Moving is willing to take complete responsibility for the damaged items in the amount of $345.60 even though some items did not appear to be damaged as part of the move and there are no confirmed notations on the inventory sheets signed at delivery stating that anything was damaged, and 75% of his request for missing items in the amount of $418.50. The majority of items ********* ****** ******* is claiming to missing were in boxes and since Small World Moving did not pack any of his boxes we cannot confirm the contents inside. He is claiming to be missing items that range anywhere from toothpaste to a Lionel train set. Although we still do not believe these items are missing as part of our neglect, we are willing to honor 75% of his request. The total we are offering to settle is $764.10.

We feel this is a very fair offer. As stated in our previous response, we found it very peculiar that ********* ****** ******* did not notice these items were missing until several months after the delivery took place and furthermore, he never called Small World Moving directly about these missing items so that we could've addressed the situation immediately. The only correspondence we had from ********* Rodger ******* after the delivery took place was in an email dated 5/18/12 stating that he had just a few damages and 1 missing item (please see attached copy of the email for your review). Thereafter, we were only informed by Anthem Claim Management that he was claiming so many missing and damaged items. They too were surprised to hear about so many missing and damaged items considering our low track record of claims. Upon being notified, Small World Moving made every effort to locate the missing items. We contacted all the customers that were on the truck to see if they received any boxes that did not belong to them. Not one person said they received any extra boxes (not even the one with the toothpaste).

For your review, we have attached a copy of the inventory sheets ********* ****** ******* signed at delivery confirming that he received all items of the shipment. We were also told that ********* ****** ******* has received a settlement check from his home owners insurance for the missing items so we do feel that $764.10 is a fair offer to close this case and hope that it is accepted. If you have any further questions, concerns or require additional documentation, please let us know.

see pdf also


Business Response
Upon further review, Small World Moving would like to make a second offer to resolve this case with ********* Rodger *******. We received notification from Anthem Claim Management (our claims vendor) that back in October 2012 ********* ****** ******* sent a letter stating that he is willing to settle for $903.60 ($345.60 for the damaged items and $558 for the missing items). We have attached a copy of this letter for your review. At this point, Small World Moving is willing to take complete responsibility for the damaged items in the amount of $345.60 even though some items did not appear to be damaged as part of the move and there are no confirmed notations on the inventory sheets signed at delivery stating that anything was damaged, and 75% of his request for missing items in the amount of $418.50. The majority of items ********* ****** ******* is claiming to missing were in boxes and since Small World Moving did not pack any of his boxes we cannot confirm the contents inside. He is claiming to be missing items that range anywhere from toothpaste to a Lionel train set. Although we still do not believe these items are missing as part of our neglect, we are willing to honor 75% of his request. The total we are offering to settle is $764.10.

We feel this is a very fair offer. As stated in our previous response, we found it very peculiar that ********* ****** ******* did not notice these items were missing until several months after the delivery took place and furthermore, he never called Small World Moving directly about these missing items so that we could've addressed the situation immediately. The only correspondence we had from ********* ****** ******* after the delivery took place was in an email dated 5/18/12 stating that he had just a few damages and 1 missing item (please see attached copy of the email for your review). Thereafter, we were only informed by Anthem Claim Management that he was claiming so many missing and damaged items. They too were surprised to hear about so many missing and damaged items considering our low track record of claims. Upon being notified, Small World Moving made every effort to locate the missing items. We contacted all the customers that were on the truck to see if they received any boxes that did not belong to them. Not one person said they received any extra boxes (not even the one with the toothpaste).

For your review, we have attached a copy of the inventory sheets ********* ****** ******* signed at delivery confirming that he received all items of the shipment. We were also told that ********* ****** ******* has received a settlement check from his home owners insurance for the missing items so we do feel that $764.10 is a fair offer to close this case and hope that it is accepted. If you have any further questions, concerns or require additional documentation, please let us know.

see pdf also


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On the paper work that was signed off on it was noted that certain items were not received. The unloading consisting of temporary workers directed by the driver. Unloading the truck I was not able to inspect the items that had damages until later. I was at the time disabled while waiting for back surgery which I had in June. I again explained to the driver who was in charge that Multiple items were missing. The remark about the toothpaste was in a missing box of toiletries. Also nothing was said about a fiberglass ladder and an oriental rug not packed by us for example. The reason for the May letter from me was I was led to believe no additional insurance was available from the moving company.
Since then I learned that a policy of at least 5000.00 was required. I did provide a copy of a police report filed by me should serve as a statement of the missing items. So I believe the deductible on my insurance plus the items damaged not covered by my insurance should be the responsibility of the moving company. That amount is $3.348. Again I discussed the missing items not checked off on the receiving documents and he indicated we had to sign the paper work or he would not be able to leave anything he delivered.
I would say that the moving company would have evaluated the delivery paper work and see there were multiply items missing.

11/15/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company, Relocation Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.