BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2001

Progressive Moving Company

Find a Location

(972) 484-6035View Additional Phone Numbers711 W Main St # 110, OvillaTX 75154-1621 Send email to Progressive Moving Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2001

BBB has determined that Progressive Moving Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Progressive Moving Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attn. Better Business Bureau ,


I ***** ****** , had Big State Locators , hired Progressive Moving Company, to move us on 07/31/14 to our new apartment at the
********** ***** **** *** apt.# **** ******* TX. XXXXX
The mover had damage my 33 inch Magnavox inch's 110 pounds and notice it 8/2/2014 I had called and talked with ***** ****** ,
Progressive Moving Company and in which I had email him pictures of the TV and he stated it may take 30 day before they could send
payment . ***** stated there company doesn't have insurance and may have to get with his claim department is seeing about cutting an check so get back with him in few days . So I had talk with ***** , the an few day and told him I would like something in writing
so he email me that the check was in mail but didn't put the amount and so I called him and told me it was going to be $60 . In which it
sold be for $66 but I asking for $100 for never getting payment and being over mouth of this matter .

However never received an check and ***** has been giving the run around and stated that he mailed to check to Main office of the
********** *********** I checked with staff and there was no checked be mailed and I checked with them an few days over it . So I called ***** , and I had informed could he stop payment on the check and send me another check to my home address . ***** , said and he wasn't going to cut me an check and to follow up with him around the end of August and he said he really has sixty days .

It seems Progressive Moving Company is not and honest company I have talked with Secretary of State of TX. and they stated that they had cancelled Progressive Moving Company in 2006 for not paying there taxes . I would like to state they only take payment is cash and I paid them $500 in which the job was $400 and tipped there movers $100 so to all consumers be aware !!
You can't find there any business information on the Dallas Country Clerk Office , They seem to have several different addressees and there web site Progressive Moving .Com state there Corporate Address XXXXX Stemmons Frwy Suite 172 Dallas , TX. XXXXX
Mailing P.O. Box XXXXX Dallas ,TX.XXXXX The corporate address is not valid I spoke with ****** her number is XXX-XXX-XXXX from the DMV and they have there
address ********** **** **** ****** **** XXXXX So hope this information is helpful !

Business Response
our company sent out claim check for the damages on 08-8-2014. We sent the check to the address that we had on file. The customer email us with another address after we had already sent out the check. This is all about the customer did not want to believe that we sent the check. The check came back two week later (wrong address). We sent another check on 09-08-2014). Their's a lot of false statements made in this claimant: Their's a reason why we have a good standing with the BBB...

06/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Progressive failed to show up at the agreed time and instead took another job while keeping me waiting for them to show up.
Progressive was supposed to show up at 9AM. After waiting until 10:30AM, they told us that they would finally show up at noon because the movers 'had a terrible emergency.' After waiting until 12:30PM for them to show up, I finally called them for the 15th time and found out that management had told our movers to take another job this morning and to drive to our location whenever they were finished. Progressive never told us that this was the situation and that they obviously would not make it to our location in the near future, so we were waiting at the storage facility for four hours before we finally cancelled the service ... if that is what you can actually call it!

Desired Settlement
Mailed and signed letter of apology from the CSR (*****) that handled this case. He should apologize and be reprimanded for his ongoing lies and stories that he tried to tell us. When it was clear that I was cancelling the service, he proceeded to become more and more rude and eventually hung up on me. He should apologize in writing for this.

Additionally, I should receive some sort of compensation from Progressive for taking a vacation day from my job in order to be at the storage unit when they told me to be. Since I currently make nearly $50 per hour, this would amount to $400 in reparation for the shoddy service and lying that went on.

Business Response
We gave our customer an estimated time of arrive at the storage for Saturday morning. We ask her not to go to the storage until the movers called her to let her know they was on the way. Her husband went to the storage before the movers called. Our movers was running behind. We apologize for not making the estimated time. But we could have completed the job..

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, the moving date was set for a Friday, not a Saturday. I know this because I HAD TO TAKE A VACATION DAY IN ORDER TO BE AT THE STORAGE UNIT ALL DAY.

The moving company indicated that they would be at the storage unit between 9 and 10AM and that they would call when they were almost there. When 10AM came, I went to the storage unit because they were supposed to have arrived by now and I didn't want to make the movers wait at the entrance for long. 10:30AM came along without a single word from the moving company, so we called them multiple times to see what was going on. After multiple unanswered phone calls, they finally picked up and told us they would call the truck to see where it is. After never receiving a call back, we called back 15 minutes later and they told us that the truck was on their way and would be there before noon. By this time, it was already almost 11AM, so there was no point in me leaving the storage unit because the truck could theoretically get there at any point.

Noon came and went and no one had called us from the moving company .... imagine that! After trying to call them again multiple times, the moving company finally answered and told us they would call the truck to see where they were at. After a few minutes, the men from the truck called us to let us know that they were on a job over an hour away across the entire city and that they didn't know when they would get to our storage unit, but it would be much longer than an hour. By this time, it was already 12:30PM and by the truck's estimate, the movers would not have arrived any sooner than 2PM. On top of the ridiculous tardiness, the phone call we had received from the men in the truck indicated that we had been lied to the entire time ... the moving company had sent our truck to another location across the city to take another job and had been hanging us out to dry on an hour-by-hour basis, trying to keep us in the dark about their true possible arrival time when they knew it would never happen when they were saying it would.

After the movers told us that it would be much longer than an hour until they could get to our location, I called the office of the moving company a final time to discuss the lies that we had been told all day. When I confronted them about how we were told lies all morning long, they began to make excuses for their lies, saying that 'it was supposed to be a small job and the movers ended up moving much more than they should have.' When I asked why we were told lies about their possible arrival time when they knew that they would never arrive at that time, the moving company had no response. Since we were looking at no earlier than a 2PM starting time, I asked them how they were going to get all of my two full storage units moved today. I indicated that I had 10'x40' of storage units to unload and that two men with a 24' truck would need at least two trips in order to clear them out, and that every estimate showed it to be at least 8 hours of labor. They indicated that they would work all of the rest of the day on Friday and then come back on Saturday to finish up. Being realistic at this point and knowing that I was completely unavailable on Saturday with previous engagements, I asked them how I was supposed to trust them considering I had been lied to for 4 straight hours and they couldn't be trusted to show up when they were telling me. The moving company had no response to this. I asked if they could bring two trucks and another two bodies in order to speed up the moving out of the storage units, considering that they had completely fumbled this transaction to this point. The moving company said they would not. One final time, I asked when this truck would show up. The moving company said that they should be there by 2 PM, but it depends on when they get done with their current job.

Obviously, none of these answers showed any bit of allegiance to the customer that they had left high-and-dry to this point. At this point, I asked to speak with the manager of the person on the phone. The employee indicated that he didn't have one. I asked the employee for confirmation of this point - that they did not have a direct manager. The employee confirmed. I asked the employee whether or not they owned the company, because unless they owned the company, then they would have to have a manager. I was also inquiring if they were the owner because I didn't want to believe that the owner of a company would have such disregard and disdain toward a paying customer of which they had ruined a move. The employee indicated that they were indeed the owner, and then proceeded into an angry and offensive tirade that I couldn't believe that they owned the company.

After the employee began ranting about this and with the obvious lack of intent to complete this move today like they had told us they would, I indicated to the employee that I would be hiring another moving company to complete the move. The employee proceeded with his angry tirade as he hung up without condolences or a simple goodbye.

This moving company caused me to take a needless vacation day and continually lied to me while following it all up with verbal abuse. My request will stand - I want a handwritten apology from the employee mailed to me and I want monetary reparation for the time I had to take away from work. This company needs to understand that they cannot continually lie to customers regarding their service and then verbally abuse the customer whenever their lies are discovered. They cannot shift all of the risk and damage to the customer that they knowingly deceived, and they need to pay for their deception and abuse in some manner.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/30/2001Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
Dewitt C. Greer Bldg. 125 E. 11th St.
Austin, TX78701
(512) 463-8588
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

U.S. Department of Transportation (Vehicles)
1200 New Jersey S.W.
Washington, DC20590
(202) 366-4000
http://www.dot.gov

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Wright (President)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Progressive Moving Company

711 W Main St # 110

Ovilla, TX 75154-1621

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1141 Stemmons Freeway Ste 231 

    Dallas, TX 75229

  • 711 W Main St # 110 

    Ovilla, TX 75154-1621(972) 484-6035

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Progressive Moving Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 535-4240
  • (713) 776-8600
  • (866) 353-9192
  • (210) 927-0655
  • (512) 821-9044
  • (972) 484-6017
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.