BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/2009

Firehouse Movers Inc

Phone: (972) 412-6033Fax: (214) 705-18106136 Frisco Square Blvd, Ste 400, FriscoTX 75034 Send email to Firehouse Movers Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/2009

BBB has determined that Firehouse Movers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Firehouse Movers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Firehouse Movers Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
These guys made multiple mistakes during the move, one of which cost us almost $500 in collections from Time Warner (equipment box) - then blamed us.
They made 3-4 mistakes in the order of boxes / rooms as well as sloppy load in of misc. items, they overcharged us and their movers actually bowed up to me (acting aggressive / intimidating) at the end of the move when I said that I was unhappy.

We set aside boxes that we asked they DID NOT put into the storage space, but their movers failed to listen and relay these instructions to the other team members - and their staff loaded them deep into one of the most dense storage units we had. To move everything out just to find this box of equipment could cause damage to our property, and take up a ton of time we do not have.

After my wife contacted them to find resolution to the additional expenses they caused us, the owner accused me of physically threatening their movers - 3 men much larger than me.

This is after I told the owner they bowed up to me (acted aggressive / physically threatening) the day of the move, so I am sure they just made up a story to cover their tail when he brought it up. This bunch didn't look like they had a lot of integrity, real class acts let me tell you.

In the conversation with **** - my wife, he said many libelous claims she was a witness to. She asked that he put everything he said about me in writing, but he failed to send a follow up email with these claims.

None of the things he or his staff said happened at all and I am deeply upset that a service provider would treat a customer in this way. Causing me additional expenses and overcharging me are one thing, but making up stuff and attacking my character is a whole other ball game.

I am furious this type of accusatory, conniving and defamatory behavior is how they operate. I will be sure to let everyone far a wide know exactly how they operate.

Desired Settlement
We would like for Firehouse movers to pay the $422 we are being charged for the Time Warner equipment as we were unable to locate the boxes with said equipment to return to Time Warner as a result of Firehouse Movers staff's inability to listen to us - their customer.

We were also overcharged almost $220 (our bill was suppose to be $960 and we were charged $1180+) for the move - but was never issued a refund for the overage.

Business Response
We would like to address the issues with facts directly with dates & times, time stamps by gps tracking records for time on the move, signed contracts, authorization numbers from transactions. We will not post entire email on the site due to character restriction by BBB. WE WILL START WITH THE FIRST ACUSATION
FIRST- customer stated Time Warner was charging them almost $500 in collection. This below is a copy statement in the email we received, it is not $500 and it is refundable"Now Time Warner cable has our account in collections, we CANNOT afford $422 for equipment." In the same email they received from time warner "Time Warner said once we return this gear they would refund the amount we paid." that is a direct copy from the email we still have on file. We first received information on this was June 15th. If the customer would have giving us the chance to assist them in getting the cable box out of the storage. That would have possibly been an option. We would have only looks in the storage our company filled not the storage that the customer hired his friends to fill. When talking to the customer on 6-23 at 12:45p.m. About the friends he hired packing the storage with the boxes and the concerns on how our crew was treated and being talked to on the move the phone call lasted less than 2 minutes with him screaming (unable to put quotes due to BBB policy (F YOU, F YOU, F YOU)) and hanging up on us. At this point I saw exactly what our guys felt when on the move. Then we receive an email here is a copy of a part that is in it If you are calling me a lair, please say it to me directly (as you can clearly see the aggressive comments) and threading our company with social sites hear is another copy of quote in the same emailBe prepared for a honest review from myself personally about my unsettling experience everywhere this company appears on the web as well as official complaints with the BBB, Dept of Transportation, TX DMV, etc.
I am extremely upset about how this situation has been handled.
I work for the several Dallas and North Dallas publications. Be on the look out for a great write up about how professional Firehouse Movers Inc truly is when it comes to organizing a move and customer service.As you can see we are not talking about damage to furniture, movers not showing up, movers sitting around taking there time, has not been any of the complaints, he became upset after we would not cover the $422 that time warner said they would reimburse once they received the cable box.
SECOND ACUSATION: made 3 or 4 mistakes on boxes / rooms as well as sloppy load in misc. itemsresponseAny move can have mistakes. Mistakes are eliminated by customer organization, (including proper labeling, separating items with color markers, stickers, or fully moving the items to one side of the room) one person in charge of the move, the customers you are moving agree with each other on what the movers are to take and what they are not to take. Customers being fully packed and having items in boxes that go, not having loose items everywhere.RESPOSEcopy of the a email we still currently have follows ***" so we hired some friends to rent an additional truck to help us make it in one trip" "During the move we had several boxes we sat aside and asked were not packed into our storage unit, since we would need these boxes for our infant, ourselves and cable company. You see we would be living with a relative for a few months and needed several things to accommodate our child, our responsibilities with the cable company and ourselves." As you can see they hired friends with a rental truck that definitely starts to complicate things in who took what, and if you told our moves something didn't go, it is not the movers company responsibility to be in charge of the customers friends that were hired. There were several different times where the spouse would say these items go and her husband would be very upset with her and the movers when the directions were followed." The customer would tell the crew everything over here is going. The crew called the owners after this incident. Right after he said everything here is going the crew pickup an item from there and this statement was made "ARE YOU JUST THAT (fing saying the word Bbb will not allow us to put profanity) STUPID CAN YOU NOT TELL THATS A BAG THAT DOES NOT GO" talking very slow to the crew and down to them like a 2yr old. This was only 30 minutes after the crew started the move. The customer left to get the truck during the move, the spouse stayed with the moves, again when one person is telling you one thing and another person is telling you something totally different our company is caught in the middle and one or the other is not going to like the results. Our company did not unload any part of the rental truck at the storage location. They had two separate storages our company only unloaded the company trailer, the rental truck had the majority of the boxes and misc. items as he referred to earlier.
THIRD ACCUSATION: company over charged us We were also overcharged almost $220 (our bill was suppose to be $960 and we were charged $1180+) for the move - but was never issued a refund for the overage" response our company runs all moves off of iPads which time stamps each gps and has a start & stop time on the contracts. We have all documented and signed contracts with agreement on the hourly rate and trip charge. Hourly rate $115 hrs and one time trip charge of $115. Computer time stamp at 7:20 a.m. To start the clock, the move went from Dallas to Mckinney prior to leaving Dallas the crew stated they would like to pick something up to eat and they would only take 15 minutes at a fast food location, they stopped with the customer the crew got there food and was waiting in the truck to leave. The customer sat down at the fast food location with his friends he hired and family and did not return for 45 minutes while the company was waiting outside ready togo. The first transaction made for payment was at 5:08 p.m for $1150. We can forward the time stamps to BBB on request. The total time was 10 hr + trip charge of 1hr which is $115. The total for that time and trip charge would come to $1265. First authorization code & charge was: $1150.00 charged auth-XXXXXA at 5:08p.m. so we charged 9hrs of moving taking 1 hour off for lunch and + 1 hrs trip charge total was 1150. As you can clearly see he was never charged 1180+ as he stated nor was he overcharged $220. Customer stated at this time after the bill was stI'll not happy with this that he wanted more time taken off the bill, so that leads us to the 4th accusations.
FOUTH ACUSATION: customer stated he was due a refund and never received. As the owner we evaluated the circumstances and even though the customer signed the contract knowing what the hourly rate was, we tried to work with him and we refunded the customer $115 which is 1hr. The customer was happy with that. The refund was giving Refunded $115.00 auth-XXXXXX at 5:14p.m .... 6 minutes after the initial charge. There was never an overcharge to the bill, we have the contract that was signed, time stamps not only on the moving program we use but GPS, and credit card authorizations codes and times. The customer was now only charge for 8hrs of moving and 1 hour trip charge, which comes to $1000, compared to the signed contract amount of $1265.
FITH ACCUSATIONS: After the conversation with his spouse we failed to put it in writing and send an email. Below is a copy of the email that was sent to her I will take out the name and addresses per BBB POLICY BUT HAVE ALL EMAILS IF BBB WOULD LIKE ORIGINALSFrom: "COMPANY"
Subject: Re: Our April 5th Move with 'customer"
Date: June 15, 2016 at 3:23:39 PM CDT
To: "spouse"
Hi "spouse"
After communication with all three crew members (that are in 3 different locations today) all stated and was very adamant that they did not unload the boxes from the rental truck; the two gentlemen that were hired by your husband unloaded all the boxes. The guys expressed concerned and disappointment in the manner they were talked to, treated, and belittled throughout the duration of the move.
We appreciate your time and apologize for any inconvenience.
Warmest Regards, As it is clear we did respond and we did put our concerns in writing.

Final::: As the facts are above with the authorizations of credit card transactions, GPS location time stamps, and quotes from all emailsthat we save, and copies of signed contract, and phone records through AT&T of contact with the customer. It is clear on 4 of the 5 accusations are PROVEN false or not true. It is very clear from the email the customer sent the company he was going todo everything in his power to attempt to harm their PROVEN REPUTATION OF CUSTOMER SERVICE,INCLUDING WHEN THERE HAVE BEEN PROBLEMS. MAY GOD BLESS ALL AND THE TRUTH IS N THE FACTS!

11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Firehouse movers damaged three new furnishings during a move. One was a leather torn in 4 places. The chair was only 3-4 months old. Other damages
The movers damaged three pieces of furniture during a move on August 7, 2015. I emailed photos of the garbage they left at both locations as well as the damages to the company. A representative "Kyle" came out and cleaned the red stain on the couch. The desk he climbed under and observed the damages. Later we discovered they had torn a leather chair less than 4 months old that we purchased new from Freeds Furnishings for $1,082.45 which was delivered new on May 22, 2015. We paid Firehouse $862.50 on August 7, 2015. Transaction I.D. XXXXXXXXXXXX for our move from one home to another and during the move they damaged the chair as well as the other two items. Once I sent photos via email I received a response back from them that they had refunded $135.00 for the .60 per pound in damages per TXDOT requirements. That does not cover the costs to replace the items (leather chair $1,082.45 and desk $750.00). We paid to have the items moved and to arrive in the same condition as they were before they were moved not to have them damaged beyond repair. Their workers left numerous empty water bottles at both locations, a roll of shrink wrap, pliers, a moving blanket and some sort of clothing bar that was left in the gutter outside the new residence along with drink cans and more water bottles. I was advised by "Kyle" that he had split up that crew because there was some sort of friction between the workers. That "friction" obviously caused a poor performance on the company's behalf and caused damages to our properties. All conversations and in person contacts were recorded as well as photos of the damages.

Desired Settlement
Replace or pay for the chair and desk totaling $1,832.45

Business Response
Move on August 7, 2015 with Mr. *******:
At no time does Firehouse Movers ever claim to be perfect, but what we will take pride in is if there is a problem, we take responsibility for it and we do our best to fix it for future customers. There is no way to make every single customer happy in any business, but we try. As you can see below we responded to every email we were proactive in attempting to make Mr. ******* happy unfortunately we were unable to do so. We did Abide to the contract and attempt to resolve the first situation with the trash, but if the customer will not answer his phone for us to make it right, so unfortunately there is nothing we could do at that time. We wish Mr. ******* the best along with all our future customers and may God Bless !! reimbursement was $115 & $135 = $215

Mr. ******* made A call to the office approximately 30 minutes after the completion of his move, he did complain about the trash being left behind by the movers. The office immediately notified the owner and the owner ***** made contact with Mr. ******* within 5 minutes of the first phone call. ***** did inform Mr. ******* that it was unacceptable for trash and items being left behind and that he was going immediately notifying the crew and the field manager to take care of this situation, and that we will be in touch in the next five minutes. My field manager attempted to call Mr. *******, and the crew leader attempted to call Mr. ******* to inform him we would return to the location to pick up any left behind items and also to pick up the water bottles and the wardrobe bar by the gutter. Mr. ******* did not answer his phone. After four attempts at contacting him we sent him an email telling him we were trying to contact him. At this point there was no word of any damage. Mr. ******* did contact the office about the three damaged items, When he did mention it to the office they informed him to send pictures along with an email to start the process of filing a claim, our field manager then returned his phone call and made an appointment to go to his house and repair the items. At this time there were only two items, a desk and a couch. We did get the stain off the couch, to the customers approval. We inspected the particleboard desk that had 4 locking mechanisms under it, Around one of the mechanisms the particleboard around the lock was damage. We informed him it was under the desk that we could repair it with glue and also cover any damage cosmetically. We informed him if it was repaired with glue it may be extremely hard to take apart if he ever wanted to move it and cause more damage to that area Mr. ******* did realize that and at the time agreed with Kyle that yes this was reasonable and this did not affect the structure of the desk nor the outward visible appearance,( unless you crawl under the desk). We took it upon ourselves to reimburse Mr. ******* $115 (transaction #XXXXXXXXXXXX) off the move for the inconvenience of the trash left behind,along with the damage on the desk that was less than 100lbs. A few days later Mr. ******* contacted the office and says he has a leather couch that is also damaged, he was advised to send pictures as he did, and we tried to schedule an appointment to go out and fix the couch he refused us scheduling the appointment to repair it and demanded full value of the couch. When we informed him that DMV requires us to give $.60 per pound per article he was unhappy with that. In response he wrote the following. "we will exhaust all other remedies with BBB,TXOAG ect. before we file in court but that amount is not only unacceptable but ridiculous. I'm confident we'll receive the full amount by the time we are done." He did sign the contract that states the $.60 and initial stating he refused additional insurance that was offered when booking the move, and now he is demanding full coverage for this couch. If he does indeed have the recording we would love to listen to the full recording with the owner on the phone and conversation while the field manager was at the location. Again we are sorry we could not make him happy, but all laws and DOT guidelines have been meet or exceeded.

Anyone moving please note $.60lbs per article is standard if you would like full coverage on our items!! You must purchase additianal insurance!! This is the regulation with Texas department of transportation.Please note You will probably still have a deductible just like car or house insurance that will have to be meet first.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Evidently Firehouse is confused. I am not or never have asked for full compensation for the couch. As I stated in the original complaint;the couch stain was removed successfully by "Kyle". The leather chair and the desk are the items that cannot be repaired. I did not buy a fine leather chair at great expense to have it look other than in a new condition as any consumer would expect when purchasing a new item from a store and I DID NOT pay Firehouse to move my belongings in any such manner other than to deliver them in the condition they departed in from the first location. To accept the concept that you can pay them to move items for which they charge a significant fee for and have them damage them beyond repair is absurd. As to the desk. Again I did not purchase a new item to have it destroyed by their incompetent employees and then have their management advise me they will glue it back together but I will probably not be able to move it again. That again is absolutely absurd. Any consumer who pays a business to perform any tasks involving the consumer's property does not give the business carte blanch to damage or destroy said property simply because they were paid to handle the property. As to insurance; we were never offered any type of insurance coverage for the move verbally but perhaps it is in the fine print of their contracts along with the mythical clause that gives them the right to destroy furnishings paid for with hard earned money by their customers and allow them to not pay for the damaged items. Perhaps they should see if the can purchase high end furnishings from a store and have the store deliver the items to their business damaged and see if they would accept the damaged items in that condition given the money they paid for the items? I doubt they would and nor should any consumer. We are not talking about furniture that was purchased at Wal Mart.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Relocation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/20/2003Business started: 01/01/1998Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
(512) 465-3000
http://www.txdmv.gov

U.S. Department of Transportation (Vehicles)
1200 New Jersey S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-4000
http://www.dot.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Purcell (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Nikki Purcell (Owner)
Business Category

Movers, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Relocation Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Firehouse Movers Inc

6136 Frisco Square Blvd

Frisco, TX 75034

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6136 Frisco Square Blvd
    Ste 400 

    Frisco, TX 75034

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Firehouse Movers Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.