BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2011

Element Moving and Storage, LLC

Phone: (888) 972-2001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
03/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Element not honoring warranty payment for damaged goods
We contracted Element for a move from Texas to Colorado. We decided to insure our goods with the .60/lb replacement policy provided by Element. We were told that any item that was damaged during the move would be covered at .60/lb. At the completion of the move we submitted a claim on several items that were damaged including a piano, pool table and air hockey table - along with several other items including a freezer, furniture, glassware, vases, etc... There was a lot of damage. We submitted the claim in good faith that Element would honor their original commitment to pay out our claim based on the weight of the damaged items. They came back with an offer to pay out only a 1/3 of our claim based on criteria that was never discussed including cosmetic damage instead of 'regular' damage and reducing the amount of the claim based on type of material. They even lowered the amount paid out on the pool table based on their assessment of a ...and I quote... 'very low depreciated value and condition of item'! How does Element know this?! The pool table is an antique AMF ball return billiards table that was recently refinished and restored! They arbitrarily tell me that my pool table is not worth anything and base their insurance pay out on their opinion!!! I certainly do not remember being told at the beginning of our move that any insurance claims would be subject to Element's 'opinion' of the value of our goods. They clearly stated that insurance claims would be based on WEIGHT...not opinion. Damage is damage no matter what kind of material it is made of or what the perceived value is of the item. We were not told that that the type of material was going to determine the amount of money paid out, nor were we told that the value of our goods was subject to opinion. Had we known this we would have gotten different insurance. Element should be willing to honor what they told us at the beginning of the move. They cannot change the rules of the game after the game has been played - that is being dishonest.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is simple - pay out the original amount claimed - which is based on Element's original criteria. The amount claimed is $1099.20. Element offered $324.20 - there is a difference of $775.00. That amount is way below that actual value of the damage but is what we agreed to at the beginning of the move.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* M. *************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@elementmoving.com
Element Moving and Storage will continue to operate following the strictest and most efficient means of claims handling.
The moving services contract and our limited liability agreement was signed and acknowledged by this shipper. Those documents outline the carrier's contractual obligation concerning any damage as a result of a move.
In an effort to exemplify the business practices of honesty, transparency and integrity, we will honor the customer's request for the original claimed amount of $1099.20. He may contact the business at ******@elementmoving.com or call XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ****
We will honor the verbal representation that the customer stated we made regarding the sixty cents per pound per article Valuation.

05/03/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Element Moving did not deliver all our boxes. Upon arrival items were broken and eight boxes were missing.
In June 2015 Element Moving picked up our boxes and equipment, loaded their truck, and gave us a receipt with all items marked numerically. It was then taken directly to their storage facility to be delivered at a later date.

In July, 2015 we called and requested delivery to our new home in Florida. Upon arrival, the two men who removed the items from the truck noticed the box labeled china to be open and with items broken. The drive told me he had no idea that the box was open as he and his assistant did not load the truck. He told me that Element Moving had the truck waiting for them and that Element personnel loaded the truck.

After everything was taken off the truck, I told the driver that eight boxed were missing. He told me he had taken everything off the truck so we compared the documents we had and the number of boxes and went over each item twice more (once with assistant calling out numbers and him marking off, the other time me calling out numbers). It was obvious that those boxed were not on the truck. The drive immediately called Element and told me that they would contact me.

When I contacted Element Moving (******* ******) she told me that they would put a tracer on the missing boxes. I inquired as how missing boxed could occur when they had control of the loading of the truck at our former house, to their storage facility, and then the loading of the truck, by their personnel, at their storage facility and nobody noticing eight missing boxes. She had no answer.

Broken items include, but not limited to, approximately 8 pieces of fine bone china, 5 pieces of fiestaware, a 300 CD multi changer, a crosscut paper shredder, and a Chinese artifact (actually the artifact was decapitated and we were able to glue the head back on). Missing boxes included, but not limited to some electronics, dinnerware, linens, clothing items and keepsakes (such as children artwork, report cards and diplomas), etc.

As the belongings were always under the supervision of Element Moving staff I am concerned about the possibility of theft as Ms. ******* ****** never said any boxes were found (in spite of them having both an order number and item number on each sticker).

Desired Settlement
Ms. ******* on behalf of Element Storage offered $264.60 for settlement. We paid just over $2000.00 for their services, including initial payment of $1537.98, $160 for extra month of storage, and over $300 upon deliver (which had to be in cash as Element told us they would not taker credit cards on deliveries).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@elementmoving.com
Element Moving and Storage provided a complete inventory listing of all items in our care, custody and control. A second type of inventory record was completed when there was a transfer of custody ( when HHG items were actually-physically loaded into the 18 wheeler). This is called a BINGO. The driver checks off all items listed from inventory record that is numbered and tagged to ensure he receives each item listed on original inventory record. This is very important because the driver, then becomes responsible for delivering all items given.
The driver signed off on all items received.
A lengthy investigation was completed. We determined that the inventory record was mis-numbered by the foreman but the actual physical count of items (piece count) as compared to the BINGO and inventory record were accounted for, loaded and delivered. There were no boxes left, lost or removed (theft) from the shipment. Element Moving and Storage relayed these findings to Mr. *****. Months later, a claim form was submitted. As a measure of Good Faith, we processed the claim and still settled the claim based on our contractual obligation, as per the valuation the customer selected. The amounts claimed for the "missing" boxes were $500 each. All "missing" boxes were PBO- Packed By Owner, the contents undisclosed, values undocumented. The claim was processed efficiently and expeditiously. The settlement was fair and reasonable based on the signed contract, claim investigation and legal obligation of the carrier.

Consumer Response
The story keeps changing from Ms. ****** of element storage. We had received a sheet with ALL of the boxes originally picked up and loaded out to the Element storage truck to be taken to THEIR facility for storage until such time we could accept our belongings at our new address. Now she says that this list was incorrect? did they not unload the items at THEIR storage facility and check the list to see if what was taken off the truck matched what was put on? This would seem to be good practice.

Now she says that when the truck was loaded for delivery by their people that ALL the boxes in storage were packed. Perhaps they should have looked at the original list and compared it to what was being delivered. Another oversight by Element Storage or fiction by Ms. *******

She also says that the driver for the delivery truck checked the items. This is in direct conflict with what the driver told my wife and I. He stated, "That normally he and his crew pack the truck but for some reason Element Storage had already packed the truck and told him to deliver the items. Since he had several deliveries packed on the ruck there was no way to inspect the contents with removing everything and repacking the truck". He said this was highly unusual.

Here is what I want. I want a list of names of all personnel who had any contact with our items and their contact numbers (addresses and phone), including the drivers of all trucks and delivery personnel. I do not believe the story that Ms. Taylor has spun and may want to start criminal action for theft.

Or, Element Storage can refund ALL fees paid to them for packing, storage, and delivery.

Final Business Response
The story has not changed. The fact is that Mr. ***** claimed he was "missing" items. Element Moving and Storage accepted his claim and processed the claim based on the level of liability that he chose. If Mr. ***** is alleging theft, I am more than happy to cooperate with local authorities, as I told him in previous conversations. I will not provide personal information to him for his personal use regarding Element representatives that were in contact with his belongings. If during the official investigation, I am asked for names and telephone numbers, I will gladly comply. His shipment delivered, he stated he was missing items and we have complied and processed the claim according to our contractual obligation. The boxes claimed as missing were Packed by Him (PBO), we have no proof of the contents of the boxes nor the value of said contents. ***** ***** has claimed $500 for each missing box! This amount claimed per box seems excessive and possibly fraudulent. He is not being reasonable, where Element is being fair, reasonable and processing the claim as a measure Good Faith. The delivery receipt was signed CLEAR. We honored his claim and have followed through with the extended monetary settlement offer. He wants a refund of $1653.00 which is what he paid for his move. He wants a cross country move for FREE! SIgned contract, delivery receipt, inventory record and Valuation addendum are submitted with this response for BBB review. The moving industry also offers an Arbitration program for unsettled shipper and carrier disputes. Mr. ***** can also contact AMSA (American Moving and Storage Association) for advice and additional information. We are members in good standing with AMSA and will also participate in an Arbitration conducted by them.

03/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It is 4 months since claim has been filed and I've yet to be paid
Severely damaged my items. I sent a claim in November. I've yet to be paid anything and it was suppose to be 45 days. It's nearly 4 months later

Desired Settlement
I am seeking what is owed to me

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Cynthia Taylor Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@elementmoving.com
Element Moving and Storage has successfully provided resolution to the customer with the settlement check issued and mailed. The settlement letter was sent on 2/9/16 and was received back on 2/24/16. The check is dated 2/29/16 and placed in the mail. I did send a PDF check copy to the customer today, check# XXXXXX, in the amount of $159.40 as agreed.

I spoke with customer, he seemed satisfied.

09/30/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unprofessional movers with broken & lost items and no resolution on lost items.
Move Date 7/2014

This company performed a move from Dallas, Tx to Arlington, VA. There are a number of items that were lost in the move although the company had no process to track down the items nor had an inventory sheet to even know items were lost. This is a complete breakdown in the moving process where all items were tagged but they didn't keep inventory of it when the items were delivered. They never performed an inventory close out when items were delivered as they never knew items were missing till we brought it up. In addition to the lost items, the movers required additional payment while keeping our belongings in their possession. Without the extra payment, they would not deliver the items. Also, many of the items came back damaged, due to the poor packing job, which we paid extra for, and the poor assembly of items due to rushed job. Once we identified lost items, the company never reimbursed us the fixed amount on the contract.

Desired Settlement
No specific resolution, just want the company to be aware of the unsatisfactory job being performed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Cynthia Taylor
Contact Phone: 972-805-0988
Contact Email: cynthia@elementmoving.com
Mr. *****,

We apologize that you had a less than satisfactory moving experience with our company.

Please contact our Customer Service Department so we can discuss the specifics of our shortcomings as it relates to your dissatisfaction.

We can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Friday 9am to 5pm.

Element Moving and Storage

08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Packing service=poor
Packers=unprofessional
Storage provided=poor
Items broken, missing, and sustained water damage due to storage.
1. Packing a 1 bedroom apartment was quoted to take 3-4 hours. Actual time it took for 3 movers was from 8am-3pm, as written on our inventory sheet. We asked them around 1pm what time they will be done, and he said another hour, which clearly wasn't the case. I'm not sure why they decided to take 30mins to enjoy the view and take pictures from the balcony, but obviously they had plenty of time on their hands. We didn't, as we had other appointments lined up to finalize our move out of the apartment.
2. Head mover was witnessed taking personal phone calls for 30-40 mins at the moving truck instead of overseeing the others as they packed our items.
3. Missing cologne bottle worth over $200 was not in the original packing that it was in.
4. Mirror tray was broken because it was not carefully wrapped, instead just placed in the box with other heavy items.
5. Small picture frame also not wrapped but placed in box with small ceramic statues.
6. Delicate Reidel Wine glasses were placed on the bottom of all chinaware so all 5 glasses broke, as well as a water picture, and glass mugs.
7. Large heavy wall mirror was broken because it was placed directly into a cardboard box with no protective blanket or covering.
8. Large black picture frames have scuffed/chipped edges as they were also not protectively covered in the boxes
9. Toasters and other small appliances and cases, as well as ceramic paraphernalia were dented and/or broken as they were thrown in boxes with other heavy items
10. Contract included reassembly of items that they disassembled. But 5 of the 6 items were not reassembled. For example, dining table, entertainment unit, etc. The only item assembled was the bed.
11. Water damage was visibly noticed on 2 of the boxes. Inside contents were cookbooks and catalogs that were damaged. Mold growth was noticed inside 1 of the boxes. We paid extra for 1 month storage. I guess we needed to specify that this storage area be dry?

I have moved 5 times, all with movers, and have never witnessed such unprofessional packing service. The boxes that they packed last, you can tell they were rushing as they sustained the most damage as pictures prove items were haphazardly thrown in there, with the mirrored items! I have never seen movers take this much time packing and moving a 1 bedroom apartment. You would think that by using 6+ hours, at least our items would not be damaged or broken.

Movers that came to pack had all the time in the world. Movers that came to deliver repeatedly told me that he had a busy day with many other deliveries, which is probably why they didn't bother to reassemble the items.

$400 shuttle fee was charged because they stated that due to our overhead clearance for our loading dock, they had to reload the larger truck into a smaller truck. If that's the case, shouldn't the only items in the truck be ours and not other people's? I am not sure why there's a fee when they were already using for other deliveries.

When asked for 100% all inclusive estimate, we were twice quoted for extra costs and fees during pick up and delivery. We paid everything in advance, before the delivery, so it felt distrustful to say we owed more money. These fees were removed but we had to call the office directly and complain, twice.

Based on the other complaints I have read, we will probably receive compensation based on what Element's insurance policy covers, which is pennies. On the other hand, we might not get anything as the packers are now stating they did not pack the bathroom items with the broken items even though it's marked on the inventory sheets as Company Packed. Why would we pack when we just paid over $4000 for full service packing and storage?

The intention of this review: so that people understand this is one experience they need to take into consideration that it will take 90 days for any compensation, a lot of paperwork, pictures, storage of broken or even moldy items, and lots of accusatory emails.

Desired Settlement
-Better understanding of how they calculated $100 credit for not reassembling our furniture.
-How they can charge someone $400 shuttle fee when it's also being used for other deliveries the same day?
-Understanding of how they can email us and say the movers didn't pack the bathroom items, which included the missing cologne, when the inventory sheets state Company Packed
-We want $1500 reimbursed which included the unfair shuttle fee, replacement of the missing item and coverage for broken and damaged goods mentioned
-We did not appreciate that the only apology received was to say that they "sincerely apologize that you have reported damage and loss from your delivery today". So they are sorry that we have to take our time and energy to report this? They are not sorry that they provided packers who were unprofessional and not vested in the care of our valuables?
-We have not heard one apology when we had to complain twice for the additional elevator fees the movers kept quoting us due to a miscommunication on their part or the fact that even though we had already paid our entire balance in advance, they had to call me back because it wasn't reflected in their system, or be contacted last minute by the deliverers that the delivery time has to be earlier because they had a full schedule (it's not easy reserving the elevator in a large apartment and then changing it last minute).

I need to review what makes a company A+ on BBB. With this many complaints about product and service, does it still qualify as A+?

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Cynthia ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@elementmoving.com
Ms. ********,
We would like the opportunity to address and provide resolution. We sent you a claim form and received it on 7/14/15. Your claim for damage/loss will be efficiently processed based on the carrier's contractual obligation and the level of liability that you selected when you released your goods to the carrier. I do want to also address each of your issues presented in this BBB complaint:
-Better understanding of how they calculated $100 credit for not reassembling our furniture.
We gave you a Good Faith Customer Service Credit for any inconvenience in regard to unassembled furniture. We did find out from the driver that he assembled everything before he left. There is no "unassembled" furniture listed on you claim form.

-How they can charge someone $400 shuttle fee when it's also being used for other deliveries the same day?
Shuttle fee was listed in your Order for Service, as explained there may be destination service charges for shuttle, elevator, long carry, stairs etc. all of these "possible" charges are clearly listed and defined in your contract. We also discussed that a 53 foot trailer could not fit there at your apartment and that a shuttle (smaller) truck would be necessary.
-Understanding of how they can email us and say the movers didn't pack the bathroom items, which included the missing cologne, when the inventory sheets state Company Packed
Inventory record shows 11 PBO (packed by owner) boxes in various sizes, the crew members also stated that there was a maid there packing also and they opened and taped empty boxes for her to pack in the bathroom. We will still investigate this as a part of our full claim investigation and resolution.
-We want $1500 reimbursed which included the unfair shuttle fee, replacement of the missing item and coverage for broken and damaged goods mentioned
the reimbursement request is unfounded. The shuttle charge was explained and necessary for delivery and the broken and damaged goods will be addressed in the claim settlement which is determined by the carrier's contractual obligation and Valuation selected by the shipper.
-We did not appreciate that the only apology received was to say that they "sincerely apologize that you have reported damage and loss from your delivery today". So they are sorry that we have to take our time and energy to report this? They are not sorry that they provided packers who were unprofessional and not vested in the care of our valuables?
We are sorry that your move experience was less than satisfactory. We are sorry that you claimed damage and loss as a result of your move.
-We have not heard one apology when we had to complain twice for the additional elevator fees the movers kept quoting us due to a miscommunication on their part or the fact that even though we had already paid our entire balance in advance, they had to call me back because it wasn't reflected in their system, or be contacted last minute by the deliverers that the delivery time has to be earlier because they had a full schedule (it's not easy reserving the elevator in a large apartment and then changing it last minute).
Miscommunication may happen from time to time, we are not perfect and sometimes make unintentional mistakes. You were charged only once for the elevator charge that you were informed of in the same Order for Service that disclosed the shuttle and cost.
Please allow us the time to give your claim the attention it deserves. We endeavor to expedite processing efficient and fair processing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If the driver assembled everything before he left, besides the bed that was the only thing assembled, would he be able to describe what the dining table, entertainment unit, coffee/side table, and vanity table looked like after he assembled it and what it took to put it together?

The unassembled items was not listed on the Loss/Damage Goods form because the form specified to list only missing and damaged items. The unassembled items were included separately, in the email that included the form, to bring to Element's attention, a service that was stated in the contract that wasn't followed through.

To clarify, I am not disputing the fact that the shuttle fee was not disclosed. I just want to bring to attention that it seems strange to charge a customer a fee for something specifically needed for our move, but in fact was also used in conjunction with another customer. Therefore charging both customers $400 each for a service that was already being used.

The 11 PBO (pack by owner) boxes were 5 small boxes and 4 totes which were left open to indicate they were expensive shoes still in the original shoe boxes, packed by myself to prevent further damage. These items are noted earlier on Page 1 since they were already boxed. The bathroom items are marked later on page 2, which are 3 boxes marked CP (Company Pack), since the bathroom was packed after the bedroom and kitchen.

The "maid", who our phone record and Visitor Log of our apartment indicated came at 1:37pm, was assigned to clean the apartment and have it ready for inspection by the apartment supervisor, not pack. She was assigned to come after the 12pm which was estimated completion time for a one bedroom apartment with 3 movers (movers started at 8am). If she was assigned to pack, then wouldn't she come earlier than 1:37pm which is when the packers should have been loaded and completed? Lastly why did I just pay over $4000 for full service packing when I supposedly had someone pack a quarter of the apartment. If this is the case, then I should be reimbursed for that amount of the packing service in addition to the loss/damage items.





Final Business Response
Element Moving and Storage received a claim form from the customer, we will send over the resolution/settlement document per our contractual obligation.
1) If there are any items that require assembly, we are happy to coordinate and pay for those local services.
2) Again the truck that delivered your shipment was not a dedicated truck just for your shipment alone. I am unsure as to why the "shuttle" continues to be an issue, it is a cost associated with the transportation of your shipment. Which you have already acknowledged that we disclosed, and that you were fully aware of.
3) Unsure what point you are making with the section on the 11 pbo boxes etc. Please clarify.
4) The "maid" is a non-issue. Since you have claimed the missing bottle of cologne as "stolen", we will go above and beyond- as I told you on the telephone- to replace the full bottle, asking no questions of purchase price, date purchased, etc.
We did interview the foreman and all crew members and have an affidavit stating that none of them took the bottle of cologne. We have never had an allegation of theft involving any of these crew members. We do not believe that any member of the crew is responsible for the missing bottle of cologne, but as a measure of good faith- we will replace the bottle with a brand new one, shipped directly to your home.
We would like to resolve these issues as quickly as possible and again apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1) The reassembly has already been accomplished by a local handyman that we hired. We just want to point out that it was not fulfilled as part of contract.
2) "Again the truck that delivered your shipment was not a dedicated truck just for your shipment alone."
-Considering that we are paying $400 extra for this shuttle truck, as a consumer, I would like to think that this will be a dedicated truck used specifically for us alone, not loaded with other people's belongings so that there is no confusion as to what belongs to us and what belongs to someone else without us pointing it out.
3) Unsure what point you are making with the section on the 11 pbo boxes etc. Please clarify.
-The 11 pbo boxes were originally brought up by Element to claim that we packed the items in the bathroom. I am making a point that these 11 pbo boxes did NOT include any bathroom supplies that were broken and missing.
4) The "maid" is a non-issue.
The "maid" is definitely an issue since it was brought up by Element to claim that she packed the bathroom supplies, thus eluding to any responsibility of the damaged and missing items from the bathroom.

Since you have claimed the missing bottle of cologne as "stolen", we will go above and beyond- as I told you on the telephone- to replace the full bottle, asking no questions of purchase price, date purchased, etc.
-This statement is not 100% factual since you have thus made comments stating not only did your crew members not pack the bathroom supplies, but that our "maid" packed our items.

We did interview the foreman and all crew members and have an affidavit stating that none of them took the bottle of cologne. We have never had an allegation of theft involving any of these crew members. We do not believe that any member of the crew is responsible for the missing bottle of cologne, but as a measure of good faith- we will replace the bottle with a brand new one, shipped directly to your home.
-I appreciate your good faith, but please bare in mind that after 30+ days since we filed our report, we have yet to see any attempts of replacement except statements claiming that we or our maid packed items that were broken and missing. We have yet to see any investigative follow ups regarding our damaged/loss good reports filed in July.

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple damaged items and broken valuable items during the move.Irresponsible delivery driver with terrible attitude and violent threatens.
damaged and lost items during the move received on 11/27/2013 are as follows:
1. antique curtain rods value $110, interesting story when we discovered this was broken in front of the delivery driver, he made a comment when we said it is 100 years old, stating - no wonder it is broken. We do not find that comment acceptable, nor the damage.
2. damaged book shelf: value $40
3. Antique European desk : value $2200. One of the legs found broken. The delivery driver tried to fix it by damaging it more,without asking us. he put two holes in the broken leg, so he can put screws in and attach the leg to the table.We found it unacceptable.
4. Speakers: value $150 each, two damaged.
5. lost item (of course no way to take picture of them): 5 feet carbon steel pipe 2 inch diameter value $20, tools fell out of a big tool box and missing: a number of wrenches and screw drivers: total value: $30

Beside all of the damage and lost items, we would like to make a statement with our very frightening experience with the delivery. That is beside the fact that no apology was given by your delivery staff about any of the damaged and lost items. Because I wanted to note in the inventory list about damaged and lost items before sign the form of receiving everything per your company policy. We got threatened by the driver with him saying" It is OK if you do not want to sign, I would leave without giving you a receipt of receiving your cash money." And in the mean time, he took all of the paperwork and started the truck. We had to climb on the truck, and we tried to tell him we would like to sign and get the receipt, we just wanted to note in the inventory list (which he refused to give to me) before we sign. Then he got hostile and I had to make a phone call to ***** (their manager) and my husband had to call the police officers. That is not how a business should ever do to get away from responsibilities. We do not know how many of your customers let him get away with the threaten.

I submitted this claim to the Element Moving company on December 10th 2013, and waited for three months for them to give me a response. However, I've never gotten one.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have our damaged and lost valuables paid for by this company, totaling $2680. We would like BBB to warn the business for violent customer service and irresponsible to claims.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* M. *************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@elementmoving.com
Element Moving and Storage Customer Service Representative called customer on 3/20/14 and spoke. Customer never received a claim form to submit for any damages. A claim form was sent out via email to the customer for her to complete and send back for expedited processing on 3//20/14. This customer's claim will be investigated and resolved according to the contractual obligation of the carrier and the customer. All Element Moving and Storage submitted claims are handled quickly and efficiently.

Consumer Response
Moving is very energy consuming. Customers don't always have time to deal with the **** moving company put them through after the move. This company took advantage of that and told me they would forward the complaint to the claim department. But they never did. That's when I filed a claim. Of course it wasn't submitted to the claim department by me in time, because I trusted their manager's word. They ended up paying me $200 dollars for our more than $1000 worth of damage and lost goods. Also it was still scary experience to think about when we had to call 911 to make sure their delivery man does not run away with our cash with no receipt, since they took the payment in the form of cash only.

Final Business Response
The customer submitted the claim for damaged items and resolution was reached by way of conversation and signed settlement letter dated 7/9/14. The settlement amount was paid to the customer via check dated 7/17/14. The check has been cashed by the claimant. The company followed exact TXDMV guidelines in processing the claim and entered into an agreed resolution with the customer. The business looks at the claim as paid and has closed the issue as resolved as we hope the BBB will do as well. The initial delivery was on 11/27/13 and we do not think it is fair to continue revisiting this in 2015.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Moving & Storage Company, Travel & Moving Services, Relocation Service, House & Building Movers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.