BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2012

Action Powersports

Phone: (972) 875-6595Fax: (972) 875-9944

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
12/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Dealer has failed to provide documentation needed. Has not corrected issues. will not return calls or emails.
Purchased boat on 10/22/2013 from ****** ******* The boat was delivered without a bimini top, hardware, nav light, and storage compartment keys, and rear latch was broken. The wrong prop and setup was on boat. I have emailed them 5 times about the issues and have called 8 times. They will not return email or phone calls. I have not received a certificate of origin for the trailer.

Initial Business Response
First of all the delay in getting items to Mr. **** were due to the manufacture's delivery times but all have been resolved.
Please understand the customer took delivery knowing we needed to get certain issues resolved but as any new customer with his new toy , he wanted them instantly. And the prop worked well he just wanted to turn fewer RPMs so we met his wishes.
Anyway , it was not fast but was all corrected
If Mr. **** has any other concerns we will be happy to address them.
Please tell him we appreciate his business and sorry he was stressed over his purchase
It should have been smoother than he experience

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. **** ******* (business owner) called me to discuss the situation on the evening of January 6th. He was unable to discuss the issues for more than a few minutes due to a meeting. He said he would call me to correct the issues either later in the evening, or the next day on January 7th. He has failed to do either. He stated the delay in receiving the parts was due to his manager failing to file the correct paperwork with the manufacturer. The paperwork has been filed and the manufacturer is in the process of shipping the parts to a different dealer to install. As for the prop, it was not the correct prop according to the manufacturer of the engine and the manufacturer the boat. I spoke to technical representatives from both. I was told by the customer service of Carolina Skiff to send the prop back to Action Power sports with an email as to which prop was required. I did this and copied in the representative. Action power sports received the stainless steel prop and sent me an aluminum prop that was not acceptable. Mr. ***** stated his manager had not read the email prior to ordering or shipping the prop. Mr. ***** states the prop requested and recommended by both Yamaha (engine manufacturer) and Carolina Skiff (boat manufacturer) was "too expensive" in ~$300 more than a Solas prop. He was to call me to confirm which prop would work. I have not heard back from him.

To be clear - I have received NONE of the parts. I am to work with a different dealer to have them installed. This should happen within the next two weeks. I am satisfied with that arrangement that Carolina Skiff worked out. I still do not have a prop as I have shipped the aluminum prop that was sent in error back to Action Power sports. Mr. Well's has NOT contacted me to discuss details of the new prop. The recommended prop was a Yamaha Reliance 14.25 X 17 pitch stainless steel. This prop would require new hardware as it is different than the Solas prop supplied by Action Power Sports. In lieu of, I would accept a Solas HR Titan 4 stainless steel prop in the size of 14.25 X 17 part number XXXX-XXX-XX. This is a 4 bladed prop that would also work. It is the same price as the prop initially supplied as verified on several web sites.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motorcycles - Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Four Wheel Drive Vehicles - Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Boat Dealers, Lawn Mowers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.