BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2013

CountryPlace Mortgage

Phone: (800) 228-1828Fax: (800) 228-8280View Additional Phone Numbers15301 Spectrum Dr Ste 550, AddisonTX 75001-4622 Send email to CountryPlace Mortgage

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Full service mortgage origination and servicing company providing mortgage solutions to a wide range of needs and products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2013

BBB has determined that CountryPlace Mortgage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on CountryPlace Mortgage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
10/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Providing false information.
I refinanced my home with *** ******** with CountryPlace Mortgage at the very end of August 2016. During the 3 month refinance process, I was guaranteed on multiple occasions that this would be a $0 out of pocket closing. This is why I proceeded with the refinance with CountryPlace. A short time into the process I was asked for a $750 deposit. I was informed, and then confirmed on *many* occasions, that this deposit was requested for the instance that a cost may occur and then I decide against proceeding with the loan, or I were found to be ineligible to proceed. I was guaranteed that this $750 deposit would be returned in full as long as I closed on the loan. With this guarantee, I chose to proceed as I was looking only for a $0 out of pocket closing at the time. Up until the night before signing the closing documents, I received multiple email confirmations of this still being the case. The email from Mr. ******** the evening before closing notified me that he had corrected closing documents to reflect the $0 closing and again confirmed that I would receive $750 back and stated that I would receive it by the end of the week that we closed. Closing documents were signed 8/26/16, meaning I should have received this $750 back by 9/2/16. On 9/19/16 I emailed Mr. ******** requesting an update as I had not received my refund. He responded stating he was having a check cut immediately but that his processor had found a mistake and I would only be receiving $205 back. He stated the title company didn't include the appraisal fee in the loan and they now had to take it from my deposit. He acknowledged that this was a mistake as this amount should have been added to the loan. I asked multiple times for a way to be found to correct this as I only proceeded with refinancing because it was confirmed that this would be a $0 closing. The response to this was that there were no funds to return outside of the $205. I then contacted the CountryPlace Regional Manager, **** ***** I offered to provide the *numerous* emails that confirmed that this would be a $0 out of pocket closing. I requested that the acknowledged mistake be corrected and I receive my deposit back as guaranteed. Mr. ******* response was that had the money not been taken from my deposit, I would have owed this amount at closing. Did he not take the time to read my email? This was guaranteed to be a $0 closing and the mistake had already been acknowledged to be between CountryPlace and the title company. After he didn't respond to my reply to this, I emailed again to check the status, simply for him to say that I had signed the closing disclosure and there were no funds to return. So, I spent 3 months confirming that all costs would be included in my loan, as I could not lose the out of pocket sum at the time, simply for all of their written confirmations to be falsified when there was a mistake made there. I was assured that the documents were made to reflect the $0 closing and that I would receive the full $750 back just 24 hours before I signed. But because I signed, I accepted their mistake and am now the one left at the disadvantage. For some this is a better deal as the loan is $545 less than expected. For those that can't afford to lose that out of pocket sum, it leaves you unable to provide in other needed areas. Had I known that I was receiving false information on so many occasions throughout this process, I never would have proceeded with a refinance with this company.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting CountryPlace honor their guarantee of a $0 out of pocket cost for myself with a full refund of my deposit as they have acknowledged that this amount not being included in my loan was a mistake.

Business Response
The client was provided with and signed/agreed to a Closing Disclosure indicating the initial appraisal deposit was being credited towards the cost of the appraisal and was not being refunded at closing. However, we do understand that there was a miscommunication and misunderstanding in regards to the appraisal money paid to CountryPlace Mortgage. CountryPlace Mortgage and the client have worked out an agreement to satisfy the client's request.

Consumer Response
Response to info provided by business:

At no point in the refinance process or in the closing disclosure did it state the refundable deposit was being used for the appraisal. The company made a mistake that all involved overlooked stating the appraisal was paid outside of closing. It did not state, nor did I agree to the deposit that was guaranteed to be refunded was being used for this purpose. Despite this, an agreement was made and the amount was added back into the mortgage account and the cash money was returned.

Sent from my iPhone

08/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

they didnt pay for my homeownes ins.
I have a mortgage with Countryplace Mortgage and I have an Escrow account for taxes and homeowners ins. and it is their responsibility to pay for all of that out of my Escrow account My homeowners ins. was due on the 15th on June 2016 & Countryplace said they mailed the payment late on the 28th of June 2016 and my homeowners ins. was cancelled at midnight on July 1st 2016 & it has left me without homeowners ins. for 2 weeks and I have been calling them for a week to get this fixed and they tell me they are trying to track down the check and their account department isn't getting back in contact with them so they don't have any answers for me & now they are not answering my calls and when I leave a message they are not returning any of my calls.

Desired Settlement
I want my homeowners ins. paid and paid on time every year so I know this will not be a problem in the future

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Shemica Rasco, Escrow Sup
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
CountryPlace Mortgage (CPM) contracts with an outside vendor to pay insurance covered by customer escrow balances. CPM contacted this vendor after the call from the customer and did not receive a prompt response. As the situation became more urgent, CPM contacted the insurance agent and paid the insurance premium directly on 7/15/16 and the borrower's insurance was reinstated. Our insurance vendor typically pays policies two weeks before they are due, in this situation they erroneously paid the wrong insurance company which caused the problem. Non payment of the borrower's insurance will not happen in the future. We regret the inconvenience and stress this placed on this borrower.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/02/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

harassment - via as many as 4 emails a day - and phone calls
my acct #XX-XXXXXXX
I get pd twice a month.
I can not afford to pay both lot rent and mortgage beginning of month.
lot rent is late - fees can be up to $100.
my mortgage late fee is $5.
so I fax an ach over telling them to deduct the pymt including fee when my pay hits.
I have not gone beyond 30 days - since 2012 when husband was laid off.
this month they claim they did not get my ach fax so I sent it again and I then emailed them the fax confirmation that they rec'd it. They will not acknowledge they rec'd it. instead they sent me a form they want me to complete about being in default. How can I be in default when I do not go beyond 30 days?
I have asked them if they got ACH I resent this morning - but they have yet to respond.
I cant afford to have them take this out double so I don't want to send it again.
Besides - they are difficult to talk to - they will not allow you to answer any questions - they talk over you - and want to tell me how I should manage my money. They use hard core collections - talking about repossession and now this default ****.
I need them to stop - this borders on harassment.

Desired Settlement
going forward I told the account rep - ******* **** that I would email the ACH to him to ensure he has it. But I can not due to my financial circumstances change my payment dates.
I was told if they have the ACH - further collection attempts would not be made. Yet they continue to do so - just to lecture me on how to manage my money.
I want them to acknowledge they got my payment and the date they will process my payment. And to stop threatening me with default and foreclourse.

Business Response
We did not receive your fax the first time you sent it this month. The ACH came through via fax the second time you sent it on 7/26/2016. After review of your account, it appears you were contacted by our collector once this month on 7/13/16. We will inquire with the owners of your contract to see if they would like to change your due date to prevent monthly collection calls and emails. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
changing the due date would help. Why did not offer this as a solution when I explained the problem over and over for 4 years? Why did I have to go to you to get this solution?

But they are lying about the # of times they contacted me - that may have been the only phone call but I have 4 emails one day and 2 another.

and to send me a letter telling me I am in danger of default - when I am never over 30 days past due. that is insulting and I demand an apology from them.

So - yes - I accept the proposal to change my due date - but I do not accept that rest of their story - I have proof they are lying - to I want a written apology for the way they talked to me and the harassment and the fact they sent that default letter.

to ensure they get my ACH each month - I want an email contact(s) to send my ACH to each month.

06/03/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Me and my husband went to apply for a home. We had just applied at another place and took our credit report and scores to this place and asked them if they could do anything based upon what we brought in without running our credit again and made it ABUNDANTLY clear we did NOT want our credit ran by them and that if they couldn't work with what we brought in that we were not interested. We were told yes they could use that. We also made it clear we wanted to do zero down. The manager came in all giddy and excited stating that he had a bank he just talked to who was eager to do business with us. They had us sign all kinds of paperwork and got to a page that was permission to run our credit. I expressed how we didnt want that but we were told by the sales associate that we HAD to sign it but he GUARANTEED us that it was for his paperwork only and that they would NOT use this to run our credit but that he had to have it on file. Well guess what? PH ran our credit anyways and then came back with "Oh but you signed the paper". We expressed how we didnt want any more hard inquiries we were told that PH would NOT run our credit but the bank only. Not only did PH run our credit but 2 other banks as well NEITHER bank was the one that was supposedly so eager to do business with us. Not only that they could see for themselves our credit score but yet still submitted it to a loan company who required a higher score than what we had. SO when we told them forget it we didnt want to do business with them they said ok we will start the refund process of your earnest money. I called the next day to check the progress to find out that we had to submit a bank statement showing the money had cleared and they gave us the run around trying to get that completed. I will NEVER do business with these crooks!

Desired Settlement
I want the removal of our (mine and husbands) hard inquiry from PALM HARBOR because the sales associate looked us straight in the eyes and stated several times that PALM HARBOR personally would not run our credit and that only the bank would run our credit. EVEN as we signed that stupid paper he PROMISED us it was because he needed it or his paper work wouldnt be complete and he needed it on file. what liars and schemers.

Business Response
CountryPlace Mortgage receives applications from Palm Harbor Homes for customer home purchases. This application was never received from them and therefore a credit report wasn't pulled by CountryPlace Mortgage. CountryPlace Mortgage has no control over what credit bureau's Palm Harbor Homes may pull. If the customer wants the inquiry removed they will need to contact Palm Harbor Homes to see if it can be done.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Reporting to credit bureau
I have a XXXXX dolar loan for my home,when they took over the loan in march, was told that they would be reporting the loan in june for it would take 90 days. Called in june, they said it takes 30 days to show up. Now in july they say not sure when it will be. I make payments on time and over pay monthly. With a loan this size it should be reported every month. If i was behind or in foreclosure, it would probably be there just my opinion.

Desired Settlement
Would like my loan reported to the credit bureau. Being good or bad

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Vittorio *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********
CountryPlace Mortgage is not required by law to report your loan to the major credit reporting agencies. Per the guidelines governing servicing transfers, we are prohibited from credit bureau reporting on any loan within the first 60 days of the servicing transfer. While it is not a requirement, CountryPlace Mortgage plans to start reporting to the major credit bureau agencies regarding your loan account at the beginning of August 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They began a mortgage loan with me in April and for the last two weeks have ignored my calls and failed to provide a closing date.
They were chosen by a loan broker and we began the process on April 28, 2016 for obtaining a small mortgage. I have given $3000 earnest money, and provided all the documentation necessary and was promised a close date of no later than the end of May. After no word from them for approximately 15 business days I attempted to find out what was going on. They revised the close date to June 21st. As of today I have yet to get an answer from them and they have stopped returning my calls. They still have my earnest money. They assured me I would be in my new home by the end of June and I have given notice to vacate at my current residence.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a settled close date or the return of my earnest money since they are unable to hold up their end of the deal.

Business Response
Ms. *****'s loan is approved and we are moving forward with her loan. As of yesterday, we received the final condition of approval for her loan and it was signed off by the lender late yesterday afternoon. The doc request is being submitted to the lender today for a tentative close date on June 28th.

09/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Country Place sent a field rep to my home to collect on a charge they placed on my account
Country Place sent a field rep to my home to collect on charges incurred from an homeowners insurance policy they took out on my home after they said my home owners policy had lapsed. My policy has never lapsed. The paperwork they provided was for a 3 story brick home-I have a single level double wide mobile home purchased in 2003. The field rep knew as soon as he saw my home he was in the wrong place and that someone somewhere had made a mistake-and he said so. That should be the end of the story. A few months later I see a charge on my monthly mortgage statement for $85.00- it was noted as bankruptcy charge-I did not file any bankruptcy. I let it slide a couple months-thinking Country Place Mortgage made yet another mistake with my account-I even noted on my payment stub "I DID NOT FILE BANKRUPTCY" "THIS IS A MISTAKE"-well the next payment statement I get the 85.00 charge is still on there but they removed the bankruptcy charge note. I called and and spoke to Miguel and then his supervisor- on August 24, 2015. Now the story is that this is the charge incurred when the field rep came to my house regarding the supposed lapse of homeowners insurance. I told the supervisor I was not and will not pay for a mistake Country Place Mortgage. The supervisor said I will pay it either now or later.

Desired Settlement
I want Country Place Mortgage to remove the $85.00 charge from my account balance immediately. I do not have time not the inclination to lay on the phone arguing over this-Country Place made the mistake and I will not pay for it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Vittorio *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********
CountryPlace Mortgage did not receive insurance coverage renewal for your home and therefore purchased a forced placed insurance policy after sending you notices via mail to rectify the situation. After a failure to provide us with renewal information, failure to make the monthly payment for the forced placed insurance policy, and failure to return our collections phone calls, CountryPlace sent a field representative to make contact in order to resolve the issue. Thereafter making contact, we received insurance renewal information from you, updated our records and received a refund on the forced placed insurance policy that we paid for out of pocket. However, the terms of your contract specify that if CountryPlace Mortgage incurs out of pocket expenses to service your loan, then CountryPlace can bill these expenses to your loan account. The $85 charge is simply the cost that CountryPlace incurred through our third party agency to come out to your home and make a contact attempt. No fees or interest will be charged to this amount and CountryPlace has not issued a demand for this to be paid immediately. We simply ask that this amount be repaid at a later date before the title to your property is released. The $85.00 charge will remain categorized as a Bankruptcy Expense so it does not incur interest or fees.

07/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

took over 9 months processing a loan that our home builders would no longer honor the price. Increase allot and we lost our chance to build our home.
In september 2014 we signed a purchase agreement and was pre approved by Countryplace Mortgage to build our home. We paid $450 for an appraisal. My loan got bounced from James P****, to Lori v***, then to Nicole g****. James P**** miss handled our loan and the manager who contacted me said he was let go. Then I was dealing with Lori v***. After no response ony loan in a while I tried to email her, and received and email in return stating that my email was no longer being monitored. I had no idea what that meant so I tried to call. After a few days I finally got someone to pick up the phone and they said I had a new loan officer which was Nicole G**** .I continually had to dig for informationation on my loan. Nobody ever called me, I always had to beg for information. Then OVER 9 MONTHS LATER!!!! I get an email from my builders trading post homes, who also emailed countryplace mortgage, saying that it has been so long and their prices have gone up significantly aND they can no longer build for the price discussed 9 mon the ago. We can no longer afford our home now. On top of all that our original contract said they would give us a 4.25% interest rate, and by the end of it all they had it jacked up to 5.25 and said that's the best they could do. Because of them we lost our family home, and $450.
they said the appraiser did his job so they will not refund it. But I told them it was their lack of timely processing that caused the builders to no longer be able to keep their price. I made my check payable to country place mortgage, no one else. They owe me my $450.

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Countryplace Mortgage received the appraisal fee of $450 on 1/14/15 from the customers and placed the order with the appraiser. The appraiser completed the report on 1-30-15 and it was provided to the investor (USDA) whom the customer wanted their loan to go through. The investor would not accept the report because the appraiser was unable to find comparable sales that were similar to the structure the customers were purchasing (a modular home). The appraiser did what he was asked to do and was paid for his service. We are unable to reimburse them the fee.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not want a reimbursement due to the incomplete on of the appraisal. I am seeking a refund because countryplace mortgage took over 9 months to gather information and get their crap together, that the home builders said it had been too long and had to increase the price significantly to where we were unable to afford the home anymore. They made us loose our home. The email that the builders sent to me stating the significant price increase was also forwarded to countryplace mortgage by the builders themselves so countryplace mortgage knows exactly the same thing. I can provide the email as proof.

11/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Lender used our money to order an appraisal before all paperwork was received. Will not give refund after application denial.
My wife and I started our mortgage loan application on 9-1-2014 with ***** ********** out of the Mesa, AZ branch (MMLS ******). We jumped through many hoops during underwriting to try to be approved for this loan, such as paying off AND closing 4 credit accounts, amounting to about $7,000. During this time we sent CountryPlace a $550 cashiers check to pay for an appraisal, which we were told was going to be the last step in this long process. On 10-1-2014, ***** sent an email informing us that the appraisal was ordered however she was still in need of a couple items! One email she even stated, "We are getting closer!" on 9-25-2014. The day that the appraisal was done (10-15-2014), ***** called us to let us know that we were not approved for the loan because neither she nor the underwriter had the IRS Transcripts until earlier that same day. But the appraisal was paid for and ordered over two weeks before that. The paperwork should have been completed before this happened especially since the process all started on 9-1-2014. We provided all of the paperwork they asked for including the first two pages of our 2013 Tax Returns. They did not inform us that they were missing a page from those returns, and did not wait for the IRS Transcripts to arrive before ordering the appraisal. The last phone call ended with a very unprofessional ***** informing us that it was our fault that we didn't provide that specific page a month a half ago, and that we could not get the appraisal money refunded. We feel that after all the hoops we jumped through, the $7000 we spent paying off debt AND sending her proof that the accounts were paid off and closed, that we should not have been treated as if we were at fault and a complete waste of *****'s time. We still have not received any proof that the appraisal was even completed, so as far as we know, we paid CountryPlace $550 for a service we did not receive.

Desired Settlement
All we seek is a refund for the $550 sent to CountryPlace for the appraisal. Over a week after ***** informed us that we were denied, we still have no proof that the appraisal was completed. For all we know, the appraisal was not actually done.

In the month and a half timeframe that CountryPlace had all of our paperwork, neither ***** nor the underwriter NOTICED that they needed one extra form from our 2013 Tax Returns. We were instructed over the phone to send in the first two pages of the return, so we did. On the second page of the return, there was a line for itemized deductions with a large dollar amount. Somehow that amount did not seem like a big concern at first. After receiving the IRS Transcript of the items (which we could have sent them if they asked for it) they realized that a large amount of the items deducted were for tools for my career. When ***** broke the news that we were denied, I explained to her that it was a one time purchase and does not happen often, and asked her why they thought the large amount of deductions was no concern over a month ago?!?! ***** had the guts to say that, "she is not an accountant and it's not her job" to know what those dollar amounts on the returns are for and to notice if vital paperwork like that is missing. I have never met a Loan Officer who says its not her job to know numbers and dollar amounts! That's like saying it's not an auto-mechanics job to know electricity!

Business Response
It appears, at the heart of the matter, that Mr. ********* is looking to have his appraisal fee reimbursed due to improper actions by CountryPlace Mortgage. The customer indicates that we should not have ordered his appraisal without having a particular IRS document (4506T) received prior to ordering his appraisal. The document from the IRS is an anti-fraud related document as it pertains to tax returns. The "Needs List" that our Loan Officer sent to Mr. ********* prior to approval and appraisal ordering, indicates we did in fact ask for his complete tax returns, of which, he provided the first two pages. The customer states that we "Verbally" asked for the first two pages. That is not accurate statement. In a telephone conversation that I had with Mr. ********* after his loan was declined, I advised him that after comparing what he sent versus what the IRS had, we were not provided his complete return as requested. Mr. ********* said he did send the whole tax return. When I told him I reviewed the email he sent to our Loan Officer and it only contained the first two pages, he said we should have known that was not the complete return. I explained that if we ask for the complete tax return and we get page 1 and 2, and it does not include anything else, we believe that is the full return as it is the signed page of the return and no further schedules exist. There is nothing in what Mr. ********* sent to our Loan Officer, to believe there were additional schedules.

In response to the appraisal being ordered before the 4506T was back. Unfortunately, there is no set time when you order the appraisal on each loan. Each loan is like putting a puzzle together and different pieces are needed at different times along the way. The appraisal is an integral portion of the puzzle and must be ordered toward the beginning of the transaction to meet established close of escrow dates set by the purchase contract. Our Loan Officer tried to head off the issue that Mr. ********* ran into when we received the IRS 4506T. That IRS document revealed a fact that no longer qualified Mr. ********* for the loan. The information found in the 4506T would have shown up in the complete tax returns, had they been provided by the customer as requested by our Loan Officer. The fact is, there are many reports, services, and functions that need to be done in concert with one another and to wait until all possible obstacles are removed prior to ordering an appraisal would delay a loan from meeting the established close dates provided by the buyer and seller.

Regarding Mr. ********* having a copy of his appraisal, we are happy to provide him with a copy and it will be sent immediately to him via email. Everyone in this transaction was extremely disappointed the loan did not close. It is regrettable that funds were spent and the loan did not close, but this was not a result of CountryPlace Mortgage's improper handling of Mr. *********'s loan.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yet again I am being told it's "my fault" when the companies "professional loan officer and underwriter" both ignore key information that was given to them. There were several emails with attached files I had to resend because the lender "did not" recieve them the first time. This did not happen just one time but maybe 2-3 times. I am not a tax professional and had my taxes done last year by a tax preparation company but for some reason the "professional loan officer and underwriter" are telling me it's not their job to know what the numbers on the pages of the tax return are. Isn't that what your job is supposed to include? why else would you ask for them? I was told that the "X" number of dollars for my deductions was ok and was not a problem until they got the IRS form back which showed the page they were missing. They continue to blame me for not including these page when I did not know it was there, but after looking further into the stack of papers I had I finally found the page they were missing. It still is not an excuse that the loan officer and underwriter "did not" know there were any other pages. When I looked back at the return I have the standard deduction is $11,500 if I am not mistaken. However the actual deduction listed was much higher than that and for some reason no questions were asked to where the deductions came from and this is where they say it's not "their" job to know what those numbers mean because they are not tax professionals. I feel like I am being told a BS when I am being told that.

Regarding the time in which to IRS form was received and the appraisal being ordered, it would not have taken more than an extra couple days for it to be received and avoid this whole problem but the problem still not would have been an issue if the loan officer had actually looked into what tax forms they had received and asked why my deductions were so high. The number it self was no problem according to the officer but was behind that number apparently was.

I really did not care if I got the appraisal but the only indication I got it was done was over the phone at the same time I was told I was no longer approved. A bit concerning to me being told at the same time.

Not only did I not receive the appraisal at first but when I called to try and get a refund I was told I could not and it was my fault yet again that this happened. A few days later I filed a complaint with the BBB and it was not until after the complaint I received an email with all the communication the appraisal company had with the lender which also indicated Countryplace charged me $550 for the appraisal and it showed in the emails that the appraisal was only $450. At that point I emailed countryplace back saying I had not requested the emails but asked why I was charged $550 for a service that was only $450. It was not until after this that I was informed that I will be getting a refund for the $100 but not the other $450 that never should have been spent. I also received the appraisal shortly after.

It is sad that I have to file a BBB report to get anywhere with this company and continue to get blamed for my situation from the "professionals" of the office I have been dealing with.

05/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Countryplace Mortgage reported me late and refuses to correct this.
My mortgage was paid off to Countryplace Mortgage on April 1, 2013. They reported me to the credit bureaus as late in April 2013 and May 2013. It is impossible to be late paying on a note that is already paid off. I brought this to the attention of Mr ******** *********, in the collections, who admitted the loan was paid off on April 1, 2013, but refused to correct the report to credit bureaus. This false report affects my credit, and I want it corrected.

Desired Settlement
Restoration of my good credit rating

Business Response
We did not receive the original complaint from the BBB that was sent to us on 4/9/2014 or the second notice from the BBB sent to us on 4/25/2014. On 3/14/2013 ***** **** **** contacted our company, spoke with ****** ******, and advised her that he would be refinancing his home next week and the finance company told him not to make his March 2013 installment that was due on 3/1/14. She advised Mr. **** that there would be a late fee charged to the loan if the March payment or the full payoff was received after 3/16/2014; she further advised him that he would be reported to the credit bureaus as a 30 day delinquency, if the March payment or the full payoff was not received by 3/31/2014. On 3/22/2013, our collections agent **** ******, called and spoke with ****** ****, **** ****'s wife, who reiterated to **** that they were closing on the refinance on 3/23/2013 and refused to pay the March installment. **** advised ****** that the loan would be reported to the credit bureaus as a 30 day delinquency if the March payment or payoff was not received by 3/31/2014. She advised **** that she would call back to confirm that we received the payoff on 3/28/2013, and if not, then she would schedule an ACH payment for March to ensure no negative bureau reporting occurred. On 3/29/2013, our collections agent ******* ******, called and spoke with ****** ****, who told ******* that he was going to wait until later that afternoon to see if the payoff was received by us, and if not, then he would send us a payment through Western Union Quick Collect to avoid the negative bureau reporting. We called again on 3/30/2013 to try to collect the March payment as the payoff had not yet been received by that date, but there was no answer; we left a voicemail on both phone numbers we had on file at the time. On 4/1/2013, the full payoff was received, but the loan had already been reported as a 30 day delinquency to the credit bureaus for the prior month due to refusal of payment. The loan was then closed that day and no further credit bureau reporting has occurred since then. We have checked through our reporting program and confirmed that this loan has only been reported as a 30 day delinquency once over the life of the loan, due to refusal of payment on three different occasions, for the March 2013 installment. On 4/2/2014, a year after this incident occurred, Mr. **** sent an email through our customer service line and asked that the negative bureau reporting be removed from the record. Mr. ******** *********, the Collections Department Manager for our company, respectfully advised Mr. **** that he was advised on three different occasions, if the March 2013 installment was not received and posted to his loan account by the end of March 2013 business, then the loan would be reported to the credit bureaus as a 30 day delinquency. He advised Mr. **** that the bureau reporting would not be manipulated to show him as a current account when he was in-fact delinquent at that point in time. Mr. **** responded and said we could not produce one witness who advised him of this on any occasion; he further threatened the company that he would hire an attorney and sue us if we did not remove the negative bureau reporting from the record. Mr. ********* respectfully declined to alter the single negative bureau mark on his credit. The company respectfully declines to fictitiously alter the accurate credit bureau reporting to Mr. or Mrs. ****'s benefit.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Lender, Mortgage Processing, Mortgage Brokers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/26/2006Business started: 03/10/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
2601 North Lamar, Suite 201
Austin, TX 78705
(877) 276-5550

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lyle Zeller (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Vitto Cavaliere (Collections Manager)Mr. Casper Koble (Vice President)Mrs. Melissa Thompson (Compliance Manager)
Business Category

Mortgage Lender, Mortgage Processing, Mortgage Brokers

Products & Services

Provides real estate mortgages in 30 states nationwide as well as personal property loans for manufactured housing in select areas. Also, provides servicing for loans on behalf of other lenders.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

First three day right of rescission for existing real estate transactions that are not currently financed by CountryPlace Mortgage. No refunds on new construction mortgages, new manufactured housing loans, in-house refinancing, or any other type of transaction.

Service Area

Licensed in 30 states nationwide

Alternate Business Names
CountryPlace Mortgage, Ltd.
Industry Tips
Mortgage Broker

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CountryPlace Mortgage

15301 Spectrum Dr Ste 550

Addison, TX 75001-4622

To | From


1 Locations

  • 15301 Spectrum Dr Ste 550 

    Addison, TX 75001-4622(972) 763-5100
    (800) 228-1828

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CountryPlace Mortgage is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 763-5100

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Mortgage Lender

Mortgage Broker

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.