BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AFN Mortgage

(214) 403-60045999 Summerside Dr STE 100, DallasTX 75252-5296http://www.myhomeloanhelper.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

AFN Mortgage is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AFN Mortgage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my home loan helper instructed me to do business with build my scores and assured me they would work with me even though my score was low. FALSE!
******* ****** refused to respond to countless emails, phone calls, and texts even though he would make promises to meet, email documents, etc. He never followed through on one thing he said he would do. I would not have done business with this company if I had known they would treat me this way. I was up front from the beginining about my credit status and ******* assured me that it would not be an issue. I asked to speak with a manager and he refused. I emailed the manager and he never responded instead william called to tell me they just wanted to declined me and that I was a burden to him and the build my scores team as well (which was news to me). ******* lied from the beggining and rather than owning up to that he continued to lie and in the process I took another hit to my credit score. I sent my application in January he told me he had reviewed it at that time then I found out in April that he had actually never reveiewed it. He promised me a contingent pre-approval letter and then never gave it to me. He promised an in person meeting then never followed up with that. I asked ot speak with a manager and he never allowed me to speak with the manager and also never emailed me the contact information. This is by far one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever received. My family made choiced based on misinformation from ******* and it will have an effect on me, my family, and my unborn child. No manager ever called to discuss this issue with me even though I found jeff weems information online and emailed me. They sent a generic email asking how they were doing and i responded honestly but never received a response. Do not do business with this company. They are dishonest.

Desired Settlement
I would like the hit to my credit removed since they refused ot help me and knew my credit situation to begin with.

Business Response
The claimant replied to y'all on May 4, 2015. She stated "I would like to follow up on this complaint. The day after I filed this complaint the owner of the company reached out to me(on a Saturday) and has since been working diligently to fix the issues I was having with the company. He has been in contact with me and provided status updates as we move through the process. At this time I would like to withdraw my complaint".
This is exactly what was written to the BBB
Thank you, ***** ******
Customer Relations Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX

04/22/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Brokers, Real Estate Services, Mortgage Bankers, Mortgage Lender, Real Estate Loans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/24/2014Business started: 01/01/2002Business started locally: 03/01/2014
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
2601 North Lamar, Suite 201
Austin, TX 78705
(877) 276-5550
http://www.sml.texas.gov/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Freeman Sawyer (Managing Partner)Mr. John Hawkins (Managing Partner)
Business Category

Mortgage Brokers, Real Estate Services, Mortgage Bankers, Mortgage Lender, Real Estate Loans

Industry Tips
Mortgage Broker
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5999 Summerside Dr STE 100 

    Dallas, TX 75252-5296(214) 403-6004

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AFN Mortgage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Mortgage Brokers

Mortgage Broker
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.