BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2011

Lone Star Mattress Outlet

Phone: (214) 488-8958Fax: (214) 488-8958291 E Round Grove Rd Ste 100, LewisvilleTX 75067-3842 Send email to Lone Star Mattress Outlet

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2011

BBB has determined that Lone Star Mattress Outlet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Lone Star Mattress Outlet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Lone Star Mattress Outlet's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tried to exchange product but longer available. replacement item was not same as orig purchase. Deceptively traded cheaper and different grade prod.
I am writing this in regards to a transaction that began with my initial purchase on 7/14/2013 of a firm Stearns and Foster king size mattress for the total sum of $1408.74, which included the mattress, box spring, taxes, delivery fees and one full-size bunky board for another bed. When we came to purchase the bed, we were assured that if the mattress did not work, we could trade it in for one that would be more suitable.

Several weeks later, I did return to the store, stating that the bed was too firm and requested to try something with a softer top but still had to be a firm mattress, and chose a new mattress. After being called by your delivery team and being asked to be home 2 hours early, they began swapping out the new box spring and mattress. They did call and ask me if it mattered whether the box spring was the same make as the mattress and I said no, but I was not prepared for them to deliver box springs that were torn on the bottom and the corner protectors broken off. They also delivered a mattress that had more than 7 dark brown stains in multiple locations across the entire mattress, which were not there when we viewed the mattress in the store only a few days later. At that point I refused acceptance of the mattress and box springs and they replaced the original set and left.

I called and spoke with, Mr. Panning, several times, but it became clear that began dodging my phone calls and it was more than two weeks before I could finally find out that did not receive any more of the exact mattress that I chose. delivery team showed up with three mattresses for me to try and laid them in the street. I specifically asked if they were all firm mattresses and was assured that they were, and that the one I chose was the only non-pillow top the store had. After trying to other two pillow-tops that were sent, I settled on the firm non-pillow top and the exchange was made.

After two nights of sleeping on the new mattress I began to have severe back pains and the issues began to compound. I stripped off the linens and called the Beautyrest company to find out that the mattress I had been sold was not a firm mattress but rather in the plush category, which explained much. The mattress I retired was a plush and that was the reason it was retired-it was too soft for my back. With the new mattress, which I had been told was my "final sale", I missed four days of work, had to go onto three prescription medications, attend physical therapy and experienced many other issues.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund, minus the $50 paid for the bulky board that I have kept. I have given the owner the opportunity to come and pick up the goods and provide a complete refund as he is in breach of contract. The item he sold me was not only of inferior quality but a different grade than that I required and demanded at time of purchase.

Owner has not readily returned phone calls nor responded to letter sent requesting refund. The mattress sold to me was a plush grade and not a firm, and I was told at the time of the last delivery I had to take one of these three mattresses and the sale was final. I was unaware at the time that they misrepresented the item in question and have caused me not only sleepless nights but lost time at work due to pain and doctor's appointments as well as extra costs of medical care, testing and medications.
If he does not provide full refund, I will seek refund price plus damages, including all medical bills, lost wages and legal fees.
I am willing to accept a full refund at this time but will pursue other avenues should the owner choose not to provide refund.

Business Response
First and most important is a refund was issued to Ms. ****** on 10/10/13. This was issued before we were even aware of this complaint.
We went above and beyond what any retailer would do to accommodate a customer. Bringing 3 mattresses for her to pick from to her house is not something any store would do. She also failed to mention her original purchase was final sale with no returns stated on the receipt she got at time of purchase. We still attempted to fit her into the right mattress.
The mattress she claims was plush was explained to her as the firmest soft feel we had in stock at the time. We are an outlet store and don't have consistent inventory. It changes daily. She was never forced to accept any mattress. She CHOSE that mattress herself.
With regard to the Owner failing to take her calls, she would only speak with him and he does not have regular hours there. There is a store manager empowered to handle such matters but she insisted on speaking with him. As the owner of multiple businesses his time is divided at different locations.
She was even refunded delivery fees which are contract and should not have been given back. She made the original selection and wants the business to pay for her choice.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Bedding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/23/2011Business started: 03/01/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Panning (Owner)
Business Category

Mattresses, Bedding

Alternate Business Names
Club Renovations, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lone Star Mattress Outlet

291 E Round Grove Rd Ste 100

Lewisville, TX 75067-3842

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 291 E Round Grove Rd Ste 100 

    Lewisville, TX 75067-3842(214) 488-8958

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lone Star Mattress Outlet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.