BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1954

Vent-A-Hood Company

Phone: (972) 235-5201Fax: (972) 231-0663View Additional Phone Numbers1000 N Greenville Ave, RichardsonTX 75081-2729 Send email to Vent-A-Hood Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1954

BBB has determined that Vent-A-Hood Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Vent-A-Hood Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vent-A-Hood forces distributor stores to not allow returns. I was never told there is a no return policy during the sales process.
I purchased a Vent-A-Hood range without any advise from anybody on the range specifics, the transaction was initiated in the store while talking to a Salesman (Steve) in the Airport Appliance Store on Bascom Av in San Jose, CA, but being not sure if he can get the item for me, payment was done later over the phone by credit card. A receipt was emailed to me later. After my contractor looked at the hood, weeks later when we started the remodeling project, he figured out that it could not be installed, it was too tall for the kitchen, so I decided to return the hood for an exchange. This is when I heard for the first time that there was no return policy for ventilations and that Vent-A-Hood was the driver for this policy. Of course I was immediately pointed out that it is written at the bottom of the contract (which I received by email and never read). At no point during the sales process the "no return" policy was ever mentioned. The sales person has been "trying" for weeks to get an exchange approved by either the distributor or the manufacturer, and told me at several occasions that, yes probably, it will be taken back, even if the Vent-A-Hood is notorious for refusing returns but after several weeks I have been told today that they will not. The item was never installed, the box was just opened, we looked at it and put it back in the box, so it is in perfect state. I have a hood that I cannot install and that costs me $2000. I have been trying to do an exchange and that was denied. I need to resolve this matter soon as my kitchen is without a hood and since I have a powerful gas range, it is becoming a hazard for me to cook given the gas range needs to be ventilated.

Desired Settlement
I'm asking the business to either exchange the hood for me for one that fits my kitchen or to let me return the hood for a refund (re-stoking fee is ok).

Consumer's Final Response
This has been resolved

Industry Comparison| Chart

Manufacturers & Producers, Range Hoods & Canopies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1957Business started: 01/01/1938
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Skip Woodall (President)Mr. Blake Woodall (Marketing Manager)
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers, Range Hoods & Canopies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vent-A-Hood Company

1000 N Greenville Ave

Richardson, TX 75081-2729

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1000 N Greenville Ave 

    Richardson, TX 75081-2729

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vent-A-Hood Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 331-2492
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Manufacturers & Producers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.