BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2009

Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 368-4030Fax: (214) 368-5953View Additional Phone Numbers12700 Park Central Dr Ste 600, DallasTX 75251-1537 Send email to Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2009

BBB has determined that Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues10
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THIS COMPANY SENDS THREAT LETTERS TO MY HOME TO FIX MILDEW ELSE THEY WILL PROCEED ON WITH LEGAL ACTION.
Our house subdivision is managed by principal management group and has sent letters to fix mildew in the "front of the house" I have called and emailed many times to no avail to get clarification because I do not see the mildew. All goes unanswered. I have all of the contacts saved. I just received another notice without further clarification but now threats to use legal action against me. Worst part is that they use the same description, somewhere on the front of my house with NO PHOTOS or any acknowledgment of my past contacts. They do not care about service and the threat of legal action without providing any assistance as to what they are trying to get me to fix is POOR.

Her contact is ******** ****** ******@pmghouston.com, XXXXXXXXXX - Has NEVER responded to my repeated contact...

Desired Settlement
I need this company to give up the claim because I do not see the mildew OR provide adequate location of the mildew since the WHOLE FRONT OF THE HOUSE is NOT A PROPER LOCATION.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: David ** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@pmghouston.com
I spoek to ***** yesterday afternoon and he explained to me his concern about the letter indicating that there was mildew on his home. He said that he was not seeing where it was on his home. He tried to call Courtnei W and had not heard back from her. I went and spoke to Courtnei about this and she had sent him an email that ***** had not yet seen explaining that he could disregard the letter about the mildew on his home and that this has been closed out on his account with no further action needed on his part. I let ***** know that if there is anything he needs to please contact me if he cannot reach his Manager or Assistant.

11/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Billing Issue with HOA.
I have been trying to resolve a billing issue with the HOA Principal Managment for over a 1year. They have had over 10 account representative this year. It is unexceptable. You speak with someone and everyone gives you the run around. I have called and left message, sent email etc. I still have an outstanding balance that I should not be responsible due to the lack of communciation, and lack of ability to retain there staff. Just today, I call customer service and got Ashley, she transferred me to Richard ******, which I got voicemail I left a Message for a Teresa 2-3 times in the last 3 months and still have not gotten a return call. I did speak with a girl that credit my accout 200.00 and 2 days later she was gone. The turn over is just shocking. I am at the point were I am getting my attorney involved, as they have a lien on my property, have affected my credit and charged me all kind of fees due their inability to resolve an issues in a timely matter. I should not have to hunt people down. I appreciate your assistance with this matter, I am sick of this issue and want it to go away.

Desired Settlement
I want my account evaluated and reviewed by someone that cares. I want the true balance that I owe determined. I want a clear, final, fair balance. I should not have to pay for fees aquired as a result of lack of follow up and staff resignation. I want my credit report corrected, the lien removed from my property. I want my accout completley resolved before 2016 year end.

Business Response
Ms. ********** is an owner and member in the Liberty Creek Homeowners Association. Principal Management Group provides management and accounting services to the Liberty Creek Homeowners Association, and takes direction from the association Board of Directors which is comprised of homeowners in the community. Liberty Creek Homeowners Association assessments are billed annually and are due on January 1st of each year. Ms. ********** paid her 2007 assessment on 2/7/07, her 2008 assessment on 1/31/08, her 2009 assessment on 5/11/09, her 2010 assessment on 3/26/10, her 2011 assessment on 3/1/11, her 2012 assessment on 3/18/12, her 2013 assessment on 6/21/13, her 2014 assessment on 3/3/14, and her 2015 assessment on 2/17/15. Due to her history of delinquent payments Ms. ********** has been assessed various late, handling, credit bureau, title search, and lien filing fees, some of which have been written off over the years. Ms. **********'s current balance owed to the Liberty Creek Homeowners Association is $219.08. Liberty Creek Homeowners Association has not had over 10 account representatives this year as Ms. ********** claims, and Ms. ********** has the ability to look up her account information at any time. Both the credit report information and lien filing can be cleared up once Ms. ********** brings her account current with the Liberty Creek Homeowners Association.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On October 28, 2015, I spoke with Edward ******* the SVP for Principal Management. He advised me to make a payment for the charges that I felt I truly owed, and I made a payment of $250,00, he advised me that he would seek to have the remaining credited. The late fees would have never accumulated, if the account representatives would have followed up. My concern is that you speak with them and they agree to call you back and never do. When you follow up it is a new account representative. This community has had over 8-10 account representatives. I have attached Mr. ******* email. As of today, I have not heard anything else from the company. Once again, I am waiting for someone to get back with me. I did send him an email to request that no more fees be applied until resolution has been made on this account. I ask when the next board meeting was, but did not get a response, so I am waiting to hear back soon. I appreciate your help with this matter.

Final Business Response
The Board of Directors for Liberty Creek Homeowners Association has already waived a significant amount of late and collection related fees on Ms. **********'s account, and have indicated that they are not willing to waive any additional amounts. Principal Management Group does not have the authority to waive amounts owed by Ms. ********** to her homeowners association. As indicated earlier, when Ms. ********** brings her homeowners association account current then we can release the lien on her property and update her credit report to show paid.

11/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We sold lot, but HOA management company will not correct the records. The HOA delayed in billing for mowing charges but added penalty and interest.
At the end of 2014, we decided to sell a lot on Hideawy Court in High Point Lake Estates, Rockwall County Texas. I checked the HOA property management account on the Associa website and paid the annual dues that would come due on Jan 1, 2015. I wanted to make certian that there would be a zero balance to eliminate any issues when we found a buyer. Associa's own website shows the zero balance as of Jan. 1. At the end of January, we did sell the lot and the Title Company did not find any balance due.

In May 2015, we received a bill for mowing charges on the lot we no longer owned. I contacted Associa on May 21,2015 to inform them that we sold the lot and provided the contact information for the buyer, and asked that they contact the new owner of the lot.
Also, this bill included late fees and interest, however, Associa admitted that this was the first bill when we asked why late fees and interest were included.

The Associa HOA manager (****** ******** claimed that the mowing charges were for September and October of 2014, but that they did not receive the bill from the mowing company (Mr Tate) until March 2015. I contacted Mr. Tate directly, and he stated that he had sent a bill to Associa in the fall of 2014, but was not paid until spring 2015. I don't believe that a hard working man would wait 6 months to bill for services rendered (mowing). We asked Ms. Alverez for a copy of the invoice from Mr. Tate, but she refused. Associa continues to add late charges and interest each month for this lot we do not own.

The other issue is that Associa HOA management company still has our name associated with this lot. We have provided them with conact information for the new owner, county records showing the date of sale, and have had several phone contacts/emails regarding this issue. The new owner said he has provided them with written documentation and has called them several times. We still continue to receive invoices and letters telling us we need to have the lot mowed.

I have called Associa numerous times within the last few weeks. Associa has not returned my calls. Last week, the phone was picked up, then hung up several times. I also went thru their website and left a message stating my need to be contacted. No response. Today upon calling again, there is a message saying that the mailbox is full, so I am still unable to contact anyone.

I'm not covering prior issues with Associa regarding incorrect invoices, late invoices, and an inability to apply payments properly. I basically have no positive comments about this management company.

Desired Settlement
We need our name to no longer have any association with this lot on Hideaway Court, and for the charges to be cleared.

Business Response
Ms. ***** is a member and owner in High Point Lake Estates Homeowners Association. The Association records indicate that she is the owner of the lot located at 540 Hideaway Court. Ms. ***** claims to have sold the lot, but has never provided the Association a copy of the Warranty Deed transferring ownership, nor was a Resale Certificate ordered by either the title company, seller, or buyer of the lot. The Association has been provided nothing to verify a transfer of ownership. The two mowing charges on Ms. *****'s acccount are from lot mowings in September and October, 2014, a time period which Ms. ***** admits to owning the lot. If she sold the lot in January, 2015 as she claims then she would still be responsible for the charges stemming from those two mowings. We will consider waiving late charges if Ms. ***** will pay the lot mowing charges, and we'll gladly update ownership information in the Association's records if Ms. ***** will provide a copy of the Warranty Deed indicating the transfer of ownership.

10/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Principal Management failed to fulfill the contract obligation they provided and then failed to reimburse our funds.
We signed up with Principal Management Group in May of 2014. Our association paid dues timely and regularly including the Principal Management fee. Principal Management failed to abide by their own contract to manage our finances, respond to our requests, pay our vendors, made unauthorized and non-disclosed charges to our account, did not provide regular budget updates, nor manage any association problems. In early 2015 we lost our landscaping service due to late payments, had our fire alarm not functional due to non-payment of vendors and we could not receive a response from anyone at Principal Management. We continued to complain vociferously to Principal Management through June of 2015, with no improvement. Principal Management decided to end our contract with a termination date of July 1st due to our complaints. They then continued to charge our account for the month of July and August. ED Coreless at Principal agreed that Principal had not management our account correctly and stated we should be reimbursed 50% of the fees. We disagreed with their contract obligations were never fulfilled and our association was significantly affected by their mismanagement. Principal has yet to refund our own bank account to the sum of $1731.05 despite numerous requests, in addition to holding all of our documentation

Desired Settlement
We are seeking $8000 in reimbursement which covers our 16 months of payments to Principal Management at $325 per month, our current amount in the bank account of $1731.05, unauthorized fees Principal made on our account, late fees from vendors, reconnect fees from vendors, extra payments made to our landscaping service made well after the landscaping service ended the contract. We are unable to get an exact figure on the fees as Principal refuses to provide the documentation and invoices they received while handling our account

Business Response
Principal Management and Village on Teel Owners Association entered into a contract for management services in May, 2014. To the best of our ability we provided management services to the owners of the property. However, the internal fighting between the Village on Teel Board of Directors and inconsistent payments from members prohibited a smooth operation for Principal Management Group and other service providers. Our relationship with Village on Teel ended in July, 2015. In August we returned the corporate files and the balance of the bank account held on their behalf to the President of the Board of Directors, and received a signed receipt from Dr. Troy Lindsey.
We are disappointed that the relationship with Village on Teel did not work out and have made a good faith offer to resolve our differences. On September 11, 2015, we sent another offer to settle the dispute and hope to be able to resolve the matter between the parties without intervention.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will be willing to accept the response once Principal has upheld it's obligations and provided the agreed upon reimbursement. Principal has made promises of resolutions multiple times while not providing any action or substance to those promises previously. Principal states there were "inconsistent payments" from Village on Teel members that prohibited smooth operation. I request documentation to prove as this is not factual. Principal only returned the balance on the account after submitting this complaint and having to threaten litigation.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
impossible to get a hold of, doesn't return phone calls or email in a timely manner. Incompetent staff.
I have been requesting a Storm door to be added to the back door of my property for 1.5years now and have yet to get a response. I have corresponded with two different representative at this company regarding my request. On both occasions I have faxed the form requested. In August of 2014, The second person I corresponded with asked me to send a picture of the screen I wanted to install. I went to the store took pictures and email it to the representative, never heard back from him. Recently I went ahead and had the storm door installed. Shortly after I got a notice from the HOA that I was in violation. I contacted me once again and spoke to a third rep, I explained the issue to her and even send her the email correspondence with the previous reps and myself, I advised her that the forms were faxed and got confirmation from the previous reps that the fax was received. Today I get an email stating they have no record of the forms that was faxed to their office on 2 different occasions. I pay my HOA dues every month on time and fail to understand why is it so hard for Principal Management Group to fulfill my request a year and a half later. At this point I am frustrated with this company and their business practices. I am refusing to resend another form to them because of the incompetency and lack of trust in their practices. Please assist in getting some for of resolution in getting my request for storm door approved. Thank you for your time

Desired Settlement
The resolution I am seeking is that my request to add a storm door to the back of my property approved by the HOA without having to re-fax the from that they have confirmed they received on two different occasions. Thank you.

Business Response
Ms. **** lives in Beacon Hill Townhome Association. The homeowners association is administered by a Board of Directors consisting of other homeowners elected by the membership. Principal Management Group provides management services to the homeowners association and takes direction from the elected Board of Directors. Principal Management Group does not have the authority to approve or deny architectural change requests submitted by homeowners. Principal Management Group has no record of Ms. **** ever submitting a completed architectural review application prior to September 24, 2015. Principal Management Group does have a copy of a prior email that Ms. **** had submitted that only had a picture of a storm door, but no completed application was attached. Ms. ****'s completed application which was received on September 24, 2015 was forwarded to the Board of Directors for their review and consideration. The Board of Directors has denied Ms. ****'s request.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Management Consultants, Property Management, Association Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/14/1993Business started: 07/01/1991
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mark Southall (President & CEO)Customer Contact: Mr Billy Rudolph (Director of Corporate Communications)
Related Businesses
Associa - 5401 N Central Expy Ste 300, Dallas, TX
Business Category

Management Consultants, Property Management, Association Management

Alternate Business Names
Principal Management Group, AAMC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas

12700 Park Central Dr Ste 600

Dallas, TX 75251-1537

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 12700 Park Central Dr Ste 600 

    Dallas, TX 75251-1537Fax: (214) 368-5953

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6707 Brentwood Stair Rd Ste 110 

    Fort Worth, TX 76112-3354

  • 3211 Internet Blvd Ste 370 

    Frisco, TX 75034-1948(214) 387-8515

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Principal Management Group of North Texas - Dallas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 265-6403
  • (817) 451-7300
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Management Consultants

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.