BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2013

Thomson Data, LLC

Phone: (800) 385-8221

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
06/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scammed us out of $2000.
DO NOT USE THOMSON DATA. Thomson Data scammed us out of $2000 and then disappeared. We are a travel nurse staffing agency and place nurses at facilities nationwide. I placed an order for a list of registered nurse contact information so we can call them and place these nurses at facilities who need the nurses. Thomson Data then provided me with a list of the facility's contact information where we would place the nurses instead of providing a list of registered nurse contact information like we ordered. The facility contact information has no value and can easily be obtained out of a phone book or online. Any given hospital/facility that uses nurses has their contact information published on their websites, in the phone book, etc., so there is zero value to this data. I called Thomson Data immediately and said that they gave us the wrong list, and that they gave us a list of client facility information instead of giving us a list of nurse contact information. They said they'd look into it and get back to me. I never heard back from them since. I sent an email asking for a refund, and they never got back to me. They completely disappeared, and all I want is a refund of our $2000.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of our $2000.

Business Response
Team,

Not sure why this has been posted on BBB when the exact database was provided. As per our contracted agreement with the client, we've supplied exact data corresponding to the Purchase Order. Furthermore, to add more value, we also gave additional records which no other vendor does. This itself proves we work on customer relationship and not just plain business. We have adhered to the duly signed Purchase Order.

If you want to discuss regarding the PO, please get back to me at 702 623 0499.

Regards,
Customer Service


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can easily prove that Thomson Data's response is simply a lie. When many of the records have the exact same phone number, that proves their response is a lie. I can easily print every email communication I had with Thomson Data showing exactly what I ordered, print the list that Thomson Data provided me, and any court of law would agree I was scammed. If I do not get a refund of the $2000, I will be filing a legal claim and will be allowing a court of law to decide.

Final Consumer Response
Thomson Data has refunded our $2000 and have made everything better. Apparently there was a misunderstanding about our order, and they have sent our $2000 back. They explained the reasons for the delay in responding to my complaint, and if they were able to contact me sooner, this complaint likely would have never been posted on the BBB website. They ultimately made me happy.

04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THOMSON DATA LLC shared/sold inaccurate and fraudulent information about me resulting in several (potentially hundreds) SPAM messages being sent.
THOMSON DATA LLC shared / sold inaccurate and fraudulent information about me resulting in several (potentially hundreds) SPAM messages being sent. As best I can tell, these messages are in violation of the CAN-SPAM Act and several other California and Texas Civil Codes. In addition, THOMSON DATA LLC has violated their own Privacy Policy:

"Privacy Policy
Thomson Data is committed to respecting the privacy of its customers and the privacy of their subscribers. To this end, the following policy has been established:
Use Of Customer Information

* Thomson Data will not share, sell, rent or otherwise disclose the personal information (name, postal address, e-mail address) of the customers without their advance permission, unless otherwise ordered by a court of law.
* All personal information collected is used solely to contact the customers in regard to their use of this service."


I found this from your web-site inaccurate, untrue, and fraudulent also:

"Some of our key features include,

* Each record is verified and updated every 90 business days.
* Each list is verified at the time of delivery and is confirmed opt-in.

We guarantee the accuracy of the data and will replace any record that may contain inaccurate or obsolete information."

Please provide me with a copy of all information you have about me to include WHEN, WHERE, and HOW I "Opted-In" and granted you permission to share this (albeit incorrect) information.

Kindly REMOVE all information about me and DO NOT SHARE ANYTHING ABOUT ME to anyone again.
As a California resident; please provide all information you have and/or have shared about me, and with whom, per California Civil Code 1798.83. Furthermore, please advise what our "established business relationship" is.

Your messages and those messages sent by companies you shared / sold my information to are interfering with my regular business. I am missing critical & legitimate messages because of them.

I did not sign up for, nor do I want to receive, anything from you or any of your partners.

In fact, the information about me that you are using is incorrect; I have NOTHING to do with IT / Storage Solutions/ Networks/ App Development / Information Services /Cloud-Based Solutions, etc.

Will you please tell me when and where I "subscribed" for you to use my information to constantly fill my in-box with unsolicited spam about WEBINARS, EMPLOYEE EDUCATION, APP DEVELOPMENT, DISASTER RECOVERY, CLOUD-BASED STORAGE, OFF-SITE ARCHIVING, BLAH, BLAH, BLAH?

Naturally, I already know I didn't subscribe, fill out some survey, click-through marketing material, request more information, or ask for any of this.

Tell me again how your information is "confirmed opt-in" and "verified every 90 days"?

When did I grant you deliberate, explicit, and still-revocable permission to include me in mass e-mail marketing campaigns?

I am really tired of "unsubscribing" only to be constantly & continually inundated with several unsolicited spam messages a day from you and your partners. I have politely asked for it to stop, via 'unsubscribe here' links, yet it continues...every single day.

Again, please DELETE ALL of my information from your databases and DO NOT SHARE ANY information about me again.

Please provide me with a response that this has been taken care of and answers to the above questions.

Desired Settlement
Immediate removal of all information and possibly civil remedies pending satisfaction this has occurred.

Business Response
Hi Sergeant ****,

I tried reaching you at XXX XXX-XXXX, however was only able to leave a VM. As per your request we have removed your information from all our databases and also have instructed all our data partners to remove your information from their databases and your information will not be shared with anyone in the future.

Regards,
****** *********
Project Head - Data
***************@thomsondata.co
www.thomsondata.com

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* Data has provided the full and accurate services that we purchased on August 22, 2014.
******* Data FAILED to provide:

1) The full number of PeopleSoft marketing contacts that our business contracted with them to purchase on August 22, 2014.

******* Data claims they will provide the list full list within 7 days after the purchase. Today is November 19, 2014 and we still have not received the total number of PeopleSoft marketing contacts as detailed in our purchase agreement.

2) Direct contact phone numbers for the PeopleSoft marketing contacts that we purchased.

******* Data sales representative had indicated that direct contact phone numbers would be included within the information we were purchasing. Furthermore the ******* Data website specifically stated that "cell phone" numbers would be included in the list. Upon receipt of the list we did not receive any direct contact phone numbers or "cell phone" numbers from ******* Data. This was a key value add our business was seeking and it was not delivered. ******* Data has since removed this inclusion of "cell phone numbers" in there deliverable description on the website and verbally stated to us they do not provide direct contact phone numbers.

3) ANY response to bounced (invalid) PeopleSoft marketing contacts that were provided.

Replacement contacts or corrected contacts were promised as part of our purchase agreement. Of the 7,478 contacts that ******* Data has provided 1,277 are (invalid) bounced contacts which cannot be emailed. This was reported to ******* Data on 11/06/14 via email to the ******* Data representative that created the list as well as the ******* Data manager and we have not received any response. Further follow up calls to ******* Data were made with no response.

4) Customer Service responsiveness to issues and calls, the lack of responsiveness to attend to issues and/or complaints appears to be purposeful.

Many calls and emails have not been responded to including our calls seeking to speak with executive management.

Desired Settlement
We would prefer a full refund since Thomson Data has not delivered on the promised of quality and service stated presented during the sales process.

Since partial service was rendered we would like at minimum a refund of $.25 per contact for all bounced contacts and contacts there were never received from Thomson Data.

1,277 Bounced Contact * $.26 cents per contact
2,256 Undelivered/ Missing contacts * $.26 cents

Refund of $883.50.

In addition we would like the bounced contacts replaced or corrected and redelivered to us in a timely manner (7 business days or less).

Business Response
*****,

As per our contracted agreement with Madhumitha, we've supplied exact data corresponding to the Purchase Order. Furthermore, to add more value, we also gave additional records which no other vendor does. This itself proves we work on customer relationship and not just plain business. If there has been a disconnect in what was asked and signed, you probably need to be talking to Madhumitha on the same. We have adhered to the duly signed Purchase Order.

Coming to the hard bounces - We have never received the hard bounces from you to validate and replace them as per the proposal sent.

Kindly get back to us with the hard bounces and we'll consider them for replacement.

Thanks,
Customer Service

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thomson Data,

We notified your Thomson Data employees ******** and Justin via email on 11/06/14 regarding the poor quality of the data provided as well as the very high percentage of bounced contacts. We additionally called Thomson Data requesting to speak on these matters and were told each time that we called that the person(s) involved in our transaction were not available and we would need to leave a message. We left messages and never got a response from anyone at Thomson Data until the BBB was notified of your poor performance.

Thomson Data has yet to assign a named contact person from your organization to accept ownership of this issue and see it through to resolution.

Thomson Data has not provided the services promised in the purchased order or presented verbally during precontract conversations. We still have not received the total number of contacts promised, replacements for bad contacts, or replacements for the duplicate contacts you provided to us in your original lists.

Please provide a direct manager contact at Thomson Data that will accept responsibility and is empowered to make decision on behalf of the company. We will then resend the bounced contact list to that person for replacement. We can then move to the next issue to resolve.

If Thomson Data cannot manage this please issue the refund and lets be done. We do not have time to waste helping Thomson Data employ basic customer service standards and quality management.




Final Business Response
Kindly send all the bounced contact list to ***************@thomsondata.co

Contact Person: ******* Fox
Tel: 702 623 0499

We will have ******* get in touch with you and have the issues resolved at the earliest.

Thanks,
Customer Service

12/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Thomas Data exceeded the time contractually agreed upon and agreed to refund monies paid for this breach. They now are not issuing this refund.
On 10/13/14 Thomson Data committed to deliver 5000 email records of attorneys within 10 days of receiving my payment as specified in their written agreement. They were only able to come up with about half that number and asked if they could get the rest from a different city or county other than the one I asked for.
I responded with a no and a clear explanation why. I was providing a local service and was not in a position to go outside of my targeted market. They again persisted in wanting to get me additional leads from other areas I could not do business in as though they just wanted to complete the order so they could keep the payment that was already made to them.
Thomson Data ask if I would give them a few extra days to complete the order after having exceeded the contractual 10 days to which I again responded no to. I finally made it clear to them that I would simply have to request a refund and go else where for this email list.
Thomason agreed on giving me a refund at which time they were already in a breach of contract position. Mrs. ******** ***** said she would call me back on Monday to get my account information so they could wire me the refund. I was suspicious why she couldn't take my information at that time but went ahead and waited until Monday.
I didn't receive that call back so I called them back then she responded by calling me back. She instructed me to email her my bank account information to do the wire transfer and I immediately emailed her that information. Later that afternoon I checked my account and there was no deposit. I called her back on Tuesdays she said she would check with the finances department.
That Tuesday went by no call back from ******** ***** (supervisor). Wednesday, Thursday still no call back. It has been over a week with no deposit or response. I have since turned this over to my attorneys who will be in contact with them as of the written of this complaint. I'll update this information with the end results.
You should be just as suspicious about the way they do business as I was. They will only receive payment by check or wire transfer. That was a red flag for me but I went ahead and gave them the benefit of doubt, much to my disappointment. I even gave them several opportunities to resolve this peacefully and with out causing them any problems and still they have not responded.

Desired Settlement
$1,500.00 amount paid to them for their services plus any additional expenses incurred if I have to take legal action against them.

Business Response
Team,

Not sure why this has been posted on BBB when the amount was very well refunded. Attached is the payment confirmation and and acknowledgement from the client that the same was received at their end.
Hoping to get this case closed at the earliest. Kindly get back for any clarifications.

Thanks,
Customer Service

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services per contract not fulfilled. Refund requested and confirmed but not received.
Thomson Data was contracted by Roberts Communication to provide a data list for e-mail marketing campaign based on specified criteria and was to contain 10,864 records. Payment of $3700.00 was required to be paid in advance, in full, to receive the list.
Thomson Data PO number for this order XXXXXXX/Inv QDBXXXXXXX and was paid in full by ******** The date of list receipt was to be within one to two business days of wire transfer of payment. Payment was sent on 9/12. The list was received on 9/18- and did not meet the contracted criteria. After 5 subsequent attempts causing missed deadlines- the lists were still incorrect. The total records that appeared to be useful of the total requested was approximately 1093. ******* requested a refund of $1160 based on records not delivered- Thomson agreed to refund. Refund was requested on 9/30. After several attempts to follow up, the vendor responded that the latest the refund would be received was 11/3. On 11/11- ******* followed up to ask where the refund was, and it was promised for 11/12. It is now 11/14- and we have not received a refund, nor have we received any follow up on the progress. Not only was the data incorrect, deadlines missed and the customer service (6 different reps) unsatisfactory- but we are also complaining about their accounting practice. No management seems to be available- no one in accounting is available directly. Calls/e-mails not returned.

Desired Settlement
0

Business Response
Refund processed and confirmation given.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mailing Lists, Telemarketing Services, Marketing Programs & Services, Marketing Consultants, Mailing Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.