BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2010

Delta Locksmith Inc

Phone: (800) 519-2400Fax: (972) 788-913414140 Midway Rd Ste106, DallasTX 75244-3672 Send email to Delta Locksmith IncView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Delta locksmith is a local locksmith business in Dallas and Houston. We gladly serve the community and are pleased to answer your call for help anytime you need it. Our offices are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2010

BBB has determined that Delta Locksmith Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Delta Locksmith Inc's rating include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Delta Locksmith Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Delta Locksmith Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
09/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharged
I called on 8/1/2015 in the afternoon after being locked out of the house, in the heat, with two small children. What they said over the phone was that I am going to be charged 39 for a service check and minimum charge of 25 for the work. I understand that when they say 25 is minimum it means that it could be more depending on the job. The tech came to my house about 45 minutes later and it took him literally 3 seconds to use his master key to open my house, and I am charged $228. Now if this is not minimum work I don't know constitutes minimum work. I contacted Delta on 8/3 about being overcharged and the rep said that the tech who did the service would contact me and explain the charge. I haven't been contacted in 24 hours.

Desired Settlement
I think it's fair to charge me the minimum for the service and refund me $164.

Business Response
We sent out one of our most experienced technician.
The reason it looked easy was his years of experience.
An un experienced locksmith would have made you wait
Outside the door and in most cases he would have drill you lock and change it.
The price is subject to a type of mechanism and the equipment the locksmith
Need to use in order to open the lock without harming it in any way.
We are sorry you feel this way.
Please bear in mind there are many types of locks and many types of locking mechanism
It is impossible to give a flat price over the phone without actually seeing the lock itself.
The price estimate we gave you was : $39 for a service call and $35 and up to open the lock.
Due to the fact we would like to keep our customers happy and out of good will , we are willing to
refund $50 .

Please contact our accounting department to provide us with your information at :
**********@dlocksmith.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because of the fact that the technician or the subcontractor only used some WD-40 lubricant and a master key to open the house, I don't see any sophisticated techniques or equipment involved here. If there are, please explain. Since Delta lock smith is willing to make concession, I can make a concession here too: I am willing to pay $128, and I consider that a price not very excessive. If you will you can refund me $100. I also started a credit card dispute. If you agree on this, I'll rescind that too.

Final Business Response
We will accept the terms and refund $100.
Please contact us at: **********@dlocksmith.com
so we can set up the refund.

Thank You

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business agreed to my terms.

02/17/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was charged more for the service.
I used the towing company service and asked to bring the gas when called the driver.But the driver did not bring the gas and charged me very high.
The company did not provide me the recording of the call with the driver.
I want refund of $90 which I was charged more.

I asked the company to provide the recording of the driver call and they could not provide it to me.

The driver was late by 1 hour.
I was having kids in the car and they fell sick and have cold due to the driver coming late to show.
Please compensate for everything.
Even the charges are very high.
Is there any way to see what should be the charges.

Desired Settlement
Refudn $90 to me which was charged more to me.

Business Response
Mr. ***** **** contacted our company asking for a towing service, We dispatched one of our tow truck and 35 minutes later our guy arrived on site. the customer at that point brought to the attention of our tech that he suspect the only problem with his vehicle is the fact it is out of gas and someone is on the way with gas, asking our tech to stay around make sure once putting the gas his car is good to go ( keeping the option of having it towed in case that wouldn't work ). After the customer wife arrived with Gas the car didn't start and our tech had to provide a jump start for the car to start.
our tech spend close to 50 minute on site waiting and jump starting the vehicle and the total charges were $55 for the service call + $45 for ( 45 minutes wait ( our company charge $45 for every 30 minutes of waiting, Mr. **** was actually charged less ) + $45 for the jump start service, all together it came up to $145 total charge for the complete service.
As for the recording Mr. **** requested, unfortunately that phone call is not on file and we couldn't provide it ( We do have the original call Mr. **** booking our service asking for a towing service and not Gas delivery ).


Consumer Response
Driver arrived late at the location.
When wowing company charged me for staying late fee,why don't I charge them for coming late.
I am asking them to refund the money.
Driver did not come in 30 mins as promised.
So refund money to me.

08/31/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told it would cost about 150.00 and they charge me 360.00.
I called Delta Locksmith of Dallas to have my locks re-keyed. They told me it would cost 39.95 for the visit and 20.00 for each lock. About 150.00. The guy showed up and changed the locks and gave me a bill for 360.00. I explained the information and he said this is the cost and left. I then called the company back and they said 39.95 for the visit and 20 per lock - 150.00. I said I was overcharged and they said sorry, take it up with the guy that installed. They then hung up on me. I then called the guy that installed and he said he would call me back and never did. I see several other complaints for the exact same thing. They are a scam.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back over the 150.00 that is was supposed to cost.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Accounting
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@dlocksmith.com
The locksmith that was sent to the location was new and did not use our price list correctly . After reviewing the job and the pricing the correct bill should have been : $39 for service call + 35x4 per rekey +Labor $39 remove & reinstall all 4 locks +tax = $236
we will issue a refund of $124 once we will get customer approval.
Please have the customer send us an e-mail with full details so we can submit a refund.

WE are truly sorry for the inconvenience situation.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3-9-15: Failure to notify incapability of locksmith to perform service before sending him and charging me.
3-9-15, I called Delta Locksmith. When the locksmith came to my house he said he can't work on "Smart Locks". If I had been told that before you sent him I would not have had to pay $237.00.
He said I could buy a new lock from him and install it for an extra $200+, or he could break the lock. I thought he might drill it but he just took a hammer and screwdriver and in 30 seconds of tapping removed the locking mechanism. I could have done that! The minimum charge quoted for service was $65, and he charged me $85 for 30 seconds of work plus the $125 trip charge.
I believe I should be refunded my payment since (1.) You did not tell me that the locksmith could not break into a "Smart Lock", nor did you ask if I had a "Smart Lock" before you sent him to my house.
(2) The locksmith you called overcharged me.
He must have thought because I have gray hair that I'm stupid.
.

Desired Settlement
Credit my Vis Account.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Clara ***** - Accounting
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@dlocksmith.com
Miss ****** called us from a city that is outside of our coverage area, we explained to her that the service call will be $125 if she wants us to come out there and she accepted. The starting price for the lockout was $65 - we cannot give a firm price due to the fact that there are many types of Locks and we needed to face the situation to better understand what is the required action. Unfortunately in some rare cases , Breaking the lock is the only option and still you need to be able to know how to do it without harming anything else that is why you call a professional and not do it by yourself. We are truly sorry to hear that Miss ****** was unhappy with the service. We will keep investigate the case on our side with the locksmith.
We will refund $44 to Miss ****** bringing down the invoice to $125+$65 the starting price we gave her over the phone. Please have Miss ****** contact us to provide her mailing address. **********@dlocksmith.com.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since I filed the complaint, I was told by another locksmith that they could indeed unlock a "smart lock", which is the opposite of what I was told by the locksmith that came to my house. So I do believe that if a locksmith cannot open a smart lock, I should have been asked on the phone before you sent someone if that person has a smart lock. If they had, I would have called someone else to do the work, and wouldn't have had to buy a new lock.
The person at your company that answered my call was friendly and professional. I have more of a problem with Pro Lockmith (in the Houston area). Why couldn't he unlock a smart lock? Why did he try to charge over the minimum for 30 seconds of work? If I were you I would not refer anyone to that company anymore. I noticed they have many complaints against them and responded to none.
I appreciate your offer, but you didn't answer my question about his inability to open a smart lock. Please respond so that I can understand. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
Hello,

I filed a complaint in March (#XXXXXXXX) against Delta Locksmith, Inc. in Dallas, who sent ProLocksmith in Rosenberg, TX to my house. I agreed (reluctantly) to accept a partial credit. I have not seen a credit issued to my credit card statement. Can you help with this?

Thanks.

***** ******


Final Business Response
We are sorry for the inconvenience .
We issued a new check For Miss ****** .
Check # *** was mailed to **** ********* *** , ********* ** XXXXX

04/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was mislead about the price and dispatcher was rude when I called to ask about it.
I called to ask about price to come and unlock my car since keys were accidentally locked in. I was told it would be $55 and told it would be from 20-60 but I thought this included the $55 already. The dispatcher **** spoke very fast and had an accent which didn't make it easy to understand. I was under the impression it would only be $55 and not $115 like the driver was charging me for. I called back and spoke to the same dispatcher and said I didn't understand and was very rude and said unless there was anything else I needed he would hang up and he did. Very poor customer service and misleading fees. The cost should be given CLEARLY upfront and say it will be $75 to $115 total. The cost is misleading and its like they have hidden costs. At least those stating the price should speak slowly and clearly and not take advantage that motorist are stranded and need help. The dispatcher was also rude and didn't try to resolve anything regarding the service fee, he instead blames the customer and coldly hangs up. Unacceptable manner to treat your customers.

Desired Settlement
I would like the additional $60 that I paid for to be refunded for the false misrepresentation this dispatcher gave me of the price. He did not even ask how they could make things right but just ended the conversation by hanging up the phone on me. I paid a total of $115. The $55 I was aware of but not the extra $60 the driver charged me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Clara
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@dlocksmith.com
We have listened to the recorded conversation and we will be more than happy to play this recording to MISS ********. We are training our dispatchers to be very time efficient so they can send a technician as fast as possible to the location - we don't want to let our customers wait outside their cars or houses and wait for us for hours. The Dispatcher gave the prices very clearly. We are sorry if us not hiring only people with no accent made MISS ******** not understand our prices. She did understand every other detail on both conversations. If the prices were not clear MISS ******** could ask what will be het total price.
We are giving a break down to our prices so the customer will know what he is paying for.
MISS ******** called us back to say she want the service and was asked to provide a credit card to secure the $55 service call. So the $55 were mentioned twice.
We are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused to MISS ********.

02/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called to have locksmith open my home. Was told the company did not accept checks, only credit cards. Worker told me they only accept cash Sundays.
After work was completed, I pulled out a credit card to pay as I was instructed when I called their main line. The tech stated that they only take cash Sundays and he would follow me to an ATM to get cash. I agreed since he was already there and had completed the work. I explained first that I was told I could pay with credit card and he went to his truck and came back and said no the machine wasn't working today. I also asked if I could call the company's line and pay by phone and he went into an explanation about how he works for a different company (S.A. Locksmith and Security) and that his machine is broken and he hasn't reported to have it fixed yet. I did end up giving him cash after he followed me to the ATM. At that point again I expressed frustration about the communication and he offered to call a friend of his that works with the company for me to give credit card info to pay. Both having him follow me to an ATM and offering for me to give credit card information to a friend over the phone made me very uncomfortable as a single female. There was nothing wrong with the service, but the collection practice was undesirable and left a bad impression of the business and their practices. My invoice number is XXXXXX$185 for air bag, $39 service call, $18.48 taxes and $242.48 total.

Desired Settlement
I would like to split the charges with the company. I understand the tech did come out and give me access back to my house but feel I should be compensated for the inconvenience and internal miscommunications.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@dlocksmith.com
Our company is accepting all major credit cards.
On that Sunday we had a few issues with the wireless connection we could ran credit cards on and off during the whole day. We are truly sorry for this inconvenience situation - that should not be Miss ****** Problem to handle. We also spoke with the technician.
We are happy to read that Miss ****** was satisfied with our service.
We will issue a refund of $50 out of good faith.
We are hoping to serve Miss ****** better in the future.

Please have Miss ****** e-mail us her information so we can issue a check to : **********@dlocksmith.com
Thank you !


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response though I don't think the compensation is fair. I did email as recommended and I did not get a response as of yet (36 hours later).

If the credit card processing was a known issue, it should have been communicated so that the customer has the opportunity to use a different company. I find it highly unacceptable that when I called for the locksmith in the first place it was clearly stated that we accept "credit cards no checks". Make sure your call center team is informed on the issues as well.

Plus, you all are saying it was a wireless connection issue but the technician said it was a broken machine. Sounds like two separate issues to me.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Locks & Locksmiths, Locksmiths Equipment & Supplies, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/17/2010Business started: 03/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd.
Austin, TX 78752
(512) 424-2000
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us

BBB records show a license number of B19388 for this company, issued by Texas Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.txdps.state.tx.us. The expiration date of this license is 07/17/2016.

Type: STATE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nimrod "Zach" Zackay (Owner / Manager)
Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths, Locksmiths Equipment & Supplies, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Products & Services

Our main services here at Delta Locksmith are commercial, residential and car locksmith services. This includes any kind of lock and key need you may have, from emergency situations to every day needs.

Alternate Business Names
Delta Locksmith

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Delta Locksmith Inc

14140 Midway Rd Ste106

Dallas, TX 75244-3672

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14140 Midway Rd Ste106 

    Dallas, TX 75244-3672

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Delta Locksmith Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Locks & Locksmiths

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.