BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sunshine Lawn Care

Phone: (817) 891-8555Fax: (972) 692-83261936 Hidden Trail Dr, LewisvilleTX 75067-5539 Send email to Sunshine Lawn Carehttp://www.sunshinelawncare.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sunshine Lawn Care is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sunshine Lawn Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged more than double what was quoted, and they said they would call before finalized.
On October 8, 2013 I called Sunshine Lawn Care to get lawn mowing services. When I spoke to the customer service agent she said they may or may not be able to come that day but she would call me back. I gave her my credit card number, and she quoted 30-40 for a mow. She did ask if it was over grown. I stated it had been mowed two weeks prior. But our conversation needed with her saying she would call me back before they did anything. I never received a call and they showed up that day. I was sleeping and did not know they were here until too late! They had mowed a part of my yard that I do not mow for safety reasons. The two sections are completely sectioned off from the rest of the yard. I got a phone call after saying it was over grown and now are changing me $80.00, because the portion I did not want mowed got mowed. I now feel less safe in my own home for their actions that were taken without the call back that was promised and feel like I should not have to pay the extra $40.00.

Desired Settlement
They should refund $40.00 of the $80.00 . I want to be fair. This all happened because I did not receive the phone call I was promised, and was not consulted by the yard workers before hand.

Business Response
We never charged the customer's card a double mow price. We told the customer that her price would be double price because the lawn was severely overgrown in several areas. The customer was home while the service was being provided. She was outside in the backyard moving some furniture out of the way. She never told any of the 3 crew members to not mow certain areas.

We do not like arguing with our customers about our services or about pricing. After speaking with the customer(after she filed bbb complaint), I asked her what she thought was a fair price for mowing the overgrown lawn and she said $40 (plus tax). Which is a normal (non-overgrown) rate. I requested that we should at least Charge $10 or $15 extra but she declined. I did not ask again and told her very politely that her card would be charged only the $40 plus tax that she felt wa fair. the customer was treated with respect and courtesy all along the way. I reiterate, we did not charge her card until after we spoke to her about her concerns. Thank you.

I reiterate, we

09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn Installation Service, Landscape Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/20/2010Business started: 04/01/2009Business started locally: 04/01/2006
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Valdez (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Dailyn Valdez (Complaints)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn Installation Service, Landscape Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunshine Lawn Care

1936 Hidden Trail Dr

Lewisville, TX 75067-5539

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1936 Hidden Trail Dr 

    Lewisville, TX 75067-5539(817) 891-8555

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunshine Lawn Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.