BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2000

Collin County Sprinkler, Inc.

Phone: (972) 529-5167Fax: (214) 726-9478

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Installed drip irrigation without proper pressure regulator(s) so emitters expanded and release too much water resulting in uneven water distribution
CCS installed a drip system in my flower bed and around my foundation in July 2015. I noticed uneven water distribution (dry in some areas and very wet in others) and called CCS out 3 or 4 times over the course of the 12 month warranty period to address. Their warranty *** ***** (who is very nice and responsive) came out each time and tried to make adjustments but it did not diagnose or resolve the problem. In November of 2015 I finally paid another irrigation company to diagnose the problem and learned that the system was not installed with proper pressure regulation. Rather than installing a pressure regulator valve that will regulate the entire system, CCS used a single (and I may have incorrect terminology) "retro head" pressure regulator that is installed where a pop up head used to be but requires multiple retro heads for a system the size of mine. I asked the CCS warranty person how many retro head valves it would take to properly regulate my system and he said 3-4. Again, mine only has one. So I paid the other irrigation company to install a pressure regulator valve. However, because CCS did not use the correct pressure regulator to begin with, the emitters in the drip line have expanded, resulting in further uneven water distribution. The only solution to resolve this is to lay all new drip line. I left a message for the owner, ***** ********, on 11/30/15, 12/7/15 and again today (12/8/15) and have not received a call. I did receive a call today (12/8/15) from ******* the CCS salesperson who sold the system, and was told they would do no further work on the system because we are now past the 12 month warranty. I explained that I understand that I'm passed *** warranty period however because this issue is the result of them installing a system with improper pressure regulation and that I have been trying to resolve it from the beginning and over the warranty period, that the 12 months should not be relevant. This isn't the result of something wearing out...their product was defective from the beginning. I've already spent over $300 diagnosing the problem and having the proper pressure regulator installed. Now I'm going to have to pay another irrigation company to remove all the drip line and re-install so the $1,600 paid the CCS was a complete waste.

Desired Settlement
Based upon what I've experience from CCS I am requesting a refund of the $1,600 so I can pay another irrigation company install the new drip system properly.

Business Response
Collin County Sprinkler on 7/10/14 performed a drip retrofit on the customers existing irrigation system. We offer a one-year warranty on this type of work. After installation our company received no correspondence from the customer until 7/23/15, which is past the warranty period. We still went and provided a warranty call and rectified his concerns. On 10/30/15, the customer contacts Collin County Sprinkler after hiring another irrigation contractor with a complaint that there was no pressure regulation on his drip system. Again, we sent our warranty tech out to the home to show the customer in fact there were multiple pressure regulators on his drip system. The other irrigation contractor told the customer that the drip system was not installed properly. The lack of knowledge not being able to identify more than one method of pressure regulation and claiming the emitters "expand and contract" is not possible ( they can NOT contract due to the way in which they are manufactured) calls into question the qualification of the other irrigation contractor. Collin County Sprinkler has sent our warranty tech to the customer's home on multiple occasions outside of the warranty period trying to rectify this issues. However, Mr ***, chooses to listen to another person who claims to be an irrigator. We have not been provided with his name or license # and question that he is licensed. If you consult with any of the drip line manufacturers, they will confirm that drip emitters cannot expand and contract.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Collin County Sprinkler (CCS) is not accurate:
1. The system was installed 7/25/14, not 7/10/14.
2. I contacted CCS at least three times prior to the expiration of the warranty regarding the issue of uneven water distribution from the drip system. The CCS warranty tech came out each time and attempted to remedy the problem by adding additional drip line in some places and removing drip line in other places.
3. I hired a licensed professional (****'s Sprinkler License XXXXXXX) to inspect the system and diagnose the issue and learned that the system did not have the proper pressure regulation which is what led the emitters failing. ****'s is not saying the emitters "contracted"...rather that they are "blown" due to the lack of proper pressure regulation.
4. ****'s is not saying that there is only one method of pressure regulation, rather that CCS did not use their method of choice properly as their method requires more than one regulator to be installed for the length of drip irrigation used. CCS' own warranty technician indicated that the Western portion of my drip system had no regulator.
5. Once I understood form ****'s Sprinkler that the CCS install did not have the correct number of regulators I called the CCS representative who sold the job to come out so they could locate and show me where the additional regulators are installed. After leaving several messages for him as well as the owner I finally received a call back from the CCS salesman informing me that since my system was out of warranty they would not come back out to look at the system. I asked him how that could be right since the issue stems from the way the system was installed and that I am asking them to show me where they installed the pressure regulators. He indicated that he was just doing what he was told (I presume by the owner who would not return my phone calls).
Bottom line...I am not an expert in sprinkler systems/drip irrigation so I hired a licensed professional company (CCS) to install drip irrigation. The system did not evenly distribute water from the beginning. Not being the professional I did not know WHY it wasn't working...just that it wasn't working. I asked CCS several times during my warranty period to diagnose and remedy the problem and they failed to do so. Then I hired another licensed professional company (at my expense) to diagnose the issue which they did very easily...improper pressure regulation. Once I finally had the diagnosis I asked CCS to come show me where the pressure regulators are and they refuse to do so. At the end of the day, even though I've already paid CCS for a drip system, my only solution if I want a drip system that works as it should is to pay another licensed professional to completely re-do the system.

Final Consumer Response
Per customer's email:

******* thank you for your help and answering my questions. I appreciate the service provided by the BBB and as a matter of principle would like to pursue arbitration if for no other reason to protect other consumers from the poor product I received from Collin County Sprinkler. However, I have decided to decline arbitration as I do not wish to invest the time necessary to prepare for and attend the hearing.

Regards, *****

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

In April 2013, CC Sprinkler installed a sprinkler system for me at a rental property - **** ******** **** McKinney, Tx. XXXXX. I have a 3 year warranty. In April, 2014, they repaired a leak and readjusted the sprinkler heads to be sure everything was working. More recently, I called them on 4/28 because control box was skipping a zone. Sherry called me and said she would have the tech call me. Upon checking the drip lines in front flower beds and parkway, I discovered a single drip approx. every 12 inches. I left a messages for Sherry on May 1 and May 6, 2014 that I wanted the drip lines replaced with sprinkler heads because the shrubs are dying. To date, the tech has not called me. Sherry has not returned my calls from May 1 and 6 respectively.
Product_Or_Service: Sprinkler System
Order_Number: n/a
Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement
Someone from CC Sprinkler needs to return my calls. I have 8 zones. Control box skips from zone 7 to zone 9. This must be repaired. I want drip lines replaced with sprinkler heads. As shrubs continue to die, I hold CC sprinkler responsible; they will need to replace shrubs. I am told that City of McKinney requires drip lines in pkwy. I am also told that I can decline that if I want.

Business Response
We installed the sprinkler system per city codes with drip irrigation. Mrs. **** was unhappy with the drip lines. Collin County Sprinkler had concerns about replacing the drip lines with popup spray heads due to city requirements. However, her request/waiver was granted by the city of McKinney. Collin County went back, at no charge to the homeowner, and replaced the drip lines with pop up heads.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Consultants, Landscape Architects, Landscape Lighting

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.