BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Automatic Rain

Fax: (972) 767-35002701 W 15th St STE 623, PlanoTX 75075-7523 Send email to Automatic Rainhttp://www.sprinklerrepairdallastx.net ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Automatic Rain is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Automatic Rain installed a sprinkler system not up to code according to the City of Carrollton. AR rep WC Aldridge said it was correct.
On approximately 12/5/11 I received a flyer on my front door about Lawn Sprinklers. I called & talked with Miracle. I asked questions about the company. Mr. Willis Aldridge of AR came out to take a look at our property. He gave us a quote & documentation for the lawn sprinkler & foundation sprinkler system. We agreed to go ahead & have AR install both. It was set to install & did on 12-21-11. All had been fine & a few adjustments had been made in the first year. In the second year when they were out I notice one of my sprinkler heads were on my neighbors property. The removed & replaced it on my land.(Before the installation I provided them with a survey of my land).

In the summer of 2013 The City of Carrollton offered a Free Irrigation Inspection. It was to save Money & Water. I called & set up an appointment with the City. I wanted to make sure I was watering correctly & not wasting water. A representative of the City of Carrollton came out on 5-29-13. He said that all was good but ask me where my Backflow assembly was? I said I didn't know what he was talking about. He then said after inspecting my whole landscape & sprinkler system said quote "THAT IS BECAUSE YOU DON'T HAVE ONE". He went on to tell me the dangers(Toxic chemicals could pollute my house & others). So I called Automatic Rain & spoke with Mr.Aldride. He said that the Backflow wasn't needed. On 6-17-13 the C.of Carrollton's representatives came by. They issued me a citation for not have the Backflow assembly. They were very nice & explained why it was necessary. After many phone conversations with Mr. Aldrige he came out. He presented a paper that he said excluded my address from having a Backflow. On 7-23-13 the C.of Carrollton issued me another citation saying that NO PERMIT HAD BEEN ISSUED FOR
THE IRRIGATION SYSTEM.
Again I made numerous phone calls to AR & the city of carrollton. I was trying to get this solved. AR stould by with still saying their installation was legal. I kept the C.of Carrollton reps informed to all I was doing. They were very understanding.
I finally called my Pre Paid Legal attorney. Sent them all the necessary supporting paperwork. On July 31, 2013 they sent AR a certified letter requesting the problem be fixed. They let me know that we had to legally give him 60 days to respond. There was not response to me from AR. I called PPL back and the attorney said to first file complaints with the governing entities. I am currently filling a complaint with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. This was advice from the C.of Carrollton & PPL attorney.

I have all the supporting documentation*(AR invoice, citations, & much more). It is my hope that Automatic Rain optain the proper permit from the city of Carrollton & fix my sprinkler system to code. Up till now AR has done nothing and I don't want any other homeowners duped by this company's practices. I was informed by several of the cities reprsentatives giving me citations that they had heard of this company as well as Mr.Willis Aldrige. I hope this letter helps others and hopefully me.
Thanks,
****** ********

Desired Settlement
I would like Automatic Rain to get the necessary City of Carrollton permit for my lawn sprinkler system. Then I would like them to install the Backflow assembly to fix my system so it complies with the City of Carrollton. I then would request a letter & in person apology for their negligence & for wasting my time. If they do not wish to fix this themselves then I would require $700.00 us dollars to have it done myself with another reputable company.

Business Response
I, Willis Aldridge as owner of Automatic Rain during the year of question. Did give Mrs. ********* a quote for a lawn sprinkler system. I made it very clear to her how it would be installed and because of a loop hole I have found in Tecq rules and regulations, I would not have to draw a plan, take a permit out, nor install a double check. As a master plumber I could tie it in to her outside faucet because of this way of installation we were able to give her a least expensive price. I have a letter from Tecq (which is the one she states she saw) that says I am allowed to tie the sprinkler systems into the outside faucet being I am a master plumber as it is considered a temporary system because it can be connected and disconnected from the faucet whenever wanted. I had already spoken to a representative from the city of Carrollton named Lorie and had her approval. Once all of this issue occurred of course Lorie is denying ever having that conversation with me. Regardless, I being a master plumber I am able to tie into a outside faucet which an irrigator may not.
In Mrs. *********s complaint she states she does not have a backflow device. This is not true. She does not have a double check but she does have a vacuum breaker on that outside faucet serving as a back flowdevice. I did have repeated conversations with Mrs. ********* and the city of Carrollton on her behalf. I have offered Mrs. ********* to draw a plan, install a double check, and take out a permit if she pays for it. The reason being is she did not pay for these items, she was told why she paying a less expensive price. On her contract, where it states double check installed per city code it is noted N/A not applicable and she signed it. I last week also spoke to Tceq about her complaint. Tceq has already dismissed one claim made for the same reason.
All of this being said, as of April 15,2013 I am no longer the owner of Automatic Rain. I have sold it to ******** ********* (*******). She has worked for Automatic rain for over 16 years and she agreed when buying this company to honor all warranties. Her as a licensed irrigator could not and would not install a system off of a outside faucet. So any issues that I come up on systems installed in this manner she will warranty malfunctioning parts but will not redesign this system as it was done before she became the owner. Any unresolved issues to this matter are being brought to my attention as this has been.

Thank you,
Willis Aldridge



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reading Mr ********'s response, I found many inaccuracies. First of all, the loophole that he is referring to in his letter only came after the City of Carrollton inspected the irrigation system and issuing me the initial citation. I had contacted Mr. ******** numerous times after having talked to the City of Carrollton about their citations asserting that this system that he installed was not up to City code/ordinance. In fact, when the city official first inspected as reported in my original complaint, they questioned me as to where the backflow was. Again, as previously stated, I had no knowledge of what they were speaking of. Mr ********'s second inaccuracy is that this was discussed prior to installation-not so, both my husband and I were present. The third inaccuracy is that he makes reference to offering to draw a plan which was never done. From the beginning of my first notice from the City Mr ******** said my irrigation system was a legal system. He refused to recognize that the City of Carrollton's position on his improper installation was legitimate and he defended his position by giving me a letter from the City of Plano (which we do not reside in), saying that this supported his position and was valid in Carrollton as well. His fourth inaccuracy is that he said he offered to draw a plan to rectify this problem on the sprinkler system and take out a permit. Neither of these were done. In fact, this was never offered prior to him installing our system. The only thing he offered was for us to pay between $6XX-XXX for a permit and backflow to bring the system into compliance with the City of Carrollton's requirements. This was on his last visit to our residence which occurred after he was notified of the City issuing a citation to us for not being in compliance. The fifth inaccuracy is he stated that I signed a contract knowingly aware of there not being a need for a permit or a backflow device. Not so, I was only made aware of this need by the City of Carrollton's first inspection visit on these issues in the numerous citations they issued me for lack of permit and a backflow device. I'm not in possession of a contract signed by both parties. I reiterate that the only contract I have does not in any way inform or in print of the lack of backflow/permit requirement. Rather, my contract is only signed by Mr ******** and there is nothing on it that I allegedly initialed noting that I was aware of the fact that he believed I didn't need a backflow system or permit. All of these inaccuracies are supported by what has been previously submitted by me to the BBB. Automatic Rain's representative, Willis ********, improperly installed our irrigation system and also did not pull a permit as he should have.

08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Systems & Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/13/2003Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
PO Box 13087
Austin, TX78711-3087
(512) 239-1000
http://www.tceq.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. W.C. Aldridge (Owner)Ms. Milagros Rodriguez (Owner)
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Systems & Equipment

Products & Services

The company installs sprinkler and automatic foundation watering systems.

Alternate Business Names
A. Automatic Services, Inc.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2701 W 15th St STE 623 

    Plano, TX 75075-7523

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Automatic Rain is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.