BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/24/2004

American Irrigation & Landscape Company

Phone: (972) 463-5999Fax: (972) 463-5999View Additional Phone Numbers9009 Shipman St, RowlettTX 75088-4495 Send email to American Irrigation & Landscape Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/24/2004

BBB has determined that American Irrigation & Landscape Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Irrigation & Landscape Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Irrigation & Landscape Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company was hired to cut down a oak tree, grind the stump. Only half of the service was performed. They cashed my check and never showed back up
I needed a 60' tree cut down due to learning towards my house. I got 3 bids including american irrigation on 11/30/14. **** handled the quote and gave be a $850.00 price to cut down tree (safely), grind stump snd thin live oak tree. I gave him a verbal ok over the phone. On Wednesday 12/3 **** and another guy showed up and went over in detail on how they would cut down the tree safely so it doesn't hit my house. I agreed and went Inside. Only about 20 minutes later I noticed they had only cut a few limbs and were about to install a rope to the tree trunk. I stopped them and ask what they were doing. He said they were going to cut the base of the tree and pull it over. I was not good with that based on the fact that a 60' tall full tree 15' from the house. I ask them to cut more limbs before they cut the trunk just to be safe. **** got irritated and told me that he is a professional and has 1 million dollars in insurance and that he would fix anything that broke. REALLY?? I don't want anything broke so it would be wise to cut more limbs first. He said he did not bid the job for that. The other 2 companies I got bids from bid it to safely remove a tree ranging from $500-$1500 dollars. At $850.00 this sounded reasonable. I offered to pay him for the 30 minutes he was there and hire someone else to finish if he refused to cut it safely. He said no he would do it my way. I went ahead and paid him and went to work. He said he would not cash my check until he finished the entire job. ( cut tree, grind stump and thin oak tree). Around 5:30 that evening **** called me to say they cut down the tree but did not get to the live oak. And that they would be back by Saturday 12/6 to finish. And oh by the way, we broke 5 light bulbs on the house and broke a stone on your wall. I was not happy but he said no worries, he would fix both when they came back and they would not cash my check until then. **** was very positive by saying he is a stand up guy and his company will always make good on mistakes. I believed him and agreed to them coming back by Saturday. Today is 12/10 and not only has he cashed my check, he has not showed up or called. On Sunday I went ahead and ground the stump myself by renting a grinder at home depot for $130.00 because the time line he gave me had come and gone. I didn't feel like he was going to show but I was atleast expecting a call. We have a 8 year old daughter with leukemia and spending $850.00 on cutting down a tree was certainly not in our budget but it had to be done. I hired **** at American irrigation because he seemed prompt and trustworthy. Now because he lied and didn't perform his agreed job, I am out the money I paid him to grind the stump and finish trimming the other tree plus my wasted Sunday doing the work myself.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund or a donation to the st Jude's cancer research hospital made out in my name of atleast half of the $850.00 I paid him due to failure to complete work. I have already completed the work myself. I am just seeking to hold businesses like American irrigation and **** ******** accountable for their bad business practices. If this is met then I will consider this issue resolved. I do not wish to speak with **** ******** or anyone at American irrigation.

Thanks

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Systems & Equipment, Tree Service - Pruning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/24/2004Business started: 10/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
PO Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087
(512) 239-1000
http://www.tceq.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1999, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Cantrell (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Pam Riggins Ms. D'Lorah Cantrell (Vice President)
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Irrigation Systems & Equipment, Tree Service - Pruning

Products & Services

This company offers customized and installation of sprinkler systems, assess and perform sprinkler system repairs; sprinkler system reroutes and add-ons; the design and install landscaping; fence installation or repair; tree trimming and/or removal; seasonal color changes for both commercial and residential properties.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Irrigation & Landscape Company

9009 Shipman St

Rowlett, TX 75088-4495

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9009 Shipman St 

    Rowlett, TX 75088-4495(972) 463-5999
    (214) 502-1378

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Irrigation & Landscape Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 502-1378
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.