BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2009

Wilson Landscape Design

Phone: (972) 355-5440Fax: (972) 353-4128

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After discharging this vendor for well-documented performance reasons, he has not addressed the refund of unused time from a block of 16 man-hours
This is a synopsis of a business relationship that I should have ended the 2nd time that a time or schedule commitment was missed. However, good business relationships are hard to come by and I probably tolerated too much. The truth of the matter is that NOT ONCE in our almost two-year stint of doing business did "****** Landscaping" ever meet a scheduled commitment.
The company states in one of the final emails to me that I was NEVER satisfied with the work they did. This is not accurate, and I can supply emails where I complimented the work done several times.

The room here will not let me include the email-chain and timeline. Up until this time, the average time passage from request to completion was over 33.6 DAYS. I have this documented in email.

I'm including the last couple of emails regarding work needed.
=======================

From: Wilson Landscape Design mailto:*******@aol.com
Sent: Wednesday, July 23, XXXX X:XX PM

I sent that to you on July 18th and it is now the 23rd the 29th is no longer available. Now we are not available until August 4th. There is nothing we can do before then unless we have a cancellation. Let me know asap if you want me to lock in the 4th

Sent: Wednesday, July 23, XXXX X:XX PM
To: 'Wilson Landscape Design'
Subject: RE: Landscape list New 06/30/14

Forgive my incredulity, but "lock it in?" Seriously? With all due respect, since when do I have to "lock it in"? I had an appointment on the 15th of this month, and there was no mention of "locking it in". I respond to an email sent on the 18th today when I was told I would be called last week. Your email stated that "the next available day is the 29th". To me, that means "we'll be there on the 29th. I've never had to "lock" anything in before. If that's requirement now, then h*** yes, let's "lock it in" for August 4th.


From: Wilson Landscape Design mailto:*******@aol.com
From: Wilson Landscape Design mailto:*******@aol.com
Sent: Thursday, July 24, 2014 7:45 AM

With all due respect I think you should find another company to help you with your property. Since our initial visit you have not been satisfied with any of the services provided. We have had to make many return trips on multiple occasions to fix things you were unhappy with. Things should not be this difficult. We wish you the best of luck Have a good day
=====================
That was the last email I received. I attempted to contact **** twice by phone and this last email:
=====================
From: ***** ******** mailto:********@charter.net
Sent: Friday, July 25, 2014 7:59 AM
Subject: RE: Landscape list New 06/30/14

Hi ****. I tried to call you twice. This is a prime example of the fact that email is never the best way to communicate when you're attempting to be emphatic. I probably came off as a raving lunatic, and for that you have my sincerest apologies. It is what it is.
I went back through email for over 2 years and reviewed our business relationship. (I've attached it to this email as a small text
file). After a quick read, you gotta admit that even though you and your guys do good work, there ARE some issues with scheduling and effective communication with me.
There are many out there who would have blown you off the first couple times things weren't on time, yet time after time, I still stuck with you and your company.
I can tend to be an a** and very demanding, but that's why I keep my business relationships, through good and bad. I always want the best price but I WILL pay for high-quality work (though b******* all the way).
And finally, I don't want to ruin a business relationship because of p***-poor communication. Let's talk about this. You have probably reluctantly remembered my phone number, but if you still don't have it, it's 817-xxx-xxxx
============================
I then bring up the subject of a refund on unused man-hours. I've not heard anything.

Desired Settlement
In September of 2013, I purchased:
Quantity = 1
Item = 16 Man-Hours Landscaping
Price = $559.00
With this work not being done, there should be about 9 hours left for which I have been expecting a refund.

Business Response
On 9/24/13 Mr ******** purchased a Deal we were running on Angie's List. The deal was for 16 Man hours of Labor (1 man for 16hr / 2 men for 8hrs / 3 men 5.5hrs / etc etc. Mr ******** had purchased various deals prior so he was familiar with the process
On 10/30/13 We sent 2 men for 6 hours (12 man hours). As in the past Mr ******** complained on the quality of the work completed. On 11/5/13 I sent 2 men for 3hrs (6 man hours) to complete the time and fix the issues that he had after the first visit. That totals out at 18 man hours of work completed. I did not charge him for the overage in hours because of the issues after the first visit.
Mr ******** asked for us to return and do similar work recently. This was not part of any deal purchased. It was to be done and billed directly. I admitted to have forgotten to send the crew on the date that we agreed upon. I apologized and told him the next dates that I had available. He then became rather unfriendly. So this on top of him never being happy with the work completed on any of our previous visits on top of the fact the we do not regularly service his area due to distance - I told Mr ******** we wished him the best & maybe it was time he found someone new to service his property. Since then like a scorned lover he has tried to start problems. Emailed constantly, called non stop, filed complaint with Angie's list (end result - stalemate) and now with the BBB. It is obvious that we do not owe Mr ******** anything (money, hours of labor, etc). We advised him to move on & find someone new, not sure why it is such an issue for him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The vendor's response is in error. Here's a simplified timeline, all documented in email.

===============================================================

Angie's List purchase - August 11th, 2012 - $249 for 6 Man Hours of Landscaping Service

Requested work on August 15, 2012

Worked performed on Mon, Sep 17, 2012
===============================================================

Hired directly and requested work on Wed, Nov 7, 2012

Work performed on Wednesday, November 28, 2012 and I was billed directly for $375.00

December 07, 2012 - I thought the bill was too high, and DJ "credited" me $100.00

===============================================================

Angie's List purchase - May 2nd, 2013 - 3 Men for 1 Hour of Spring Landscape Clean-up Only $119 - a total of $219.00 available (included $100 credit)

Worked performed on Saturday, June 15, 2013, but missed part of the work that was paid for.

Correction of incomplete work was performed on Wednesday, July 24, 2013.

===============================================================

Angie's List purchase - Sep 24, 2013 - $559 for 16 Man-Hours of Landscaping Services

Quote from ******

From: ****** Landscape Design mailto:*******@aol.com
Sent: Wednesday, September 25, 2013 5:08 PM
To: ********@charter.net
Subject: Re: Landscape list

DJ will schedule for you. You will have time left over for sure. Do you have a time preference?

Worked finally performed on Thursday, October 30, 2013

===============================================================

Requested work on June 30th, 2014 (Balance left over from 16 man-hour purchase of Sept 2013

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - Vendor requests that I go to another company.

Balance of left-over man-hours is the refund being requested.



Final Business Response
On 10/30/13 We sent 2 men for 6 hours (12 man hours). As in the past Mr ******** complained on the quality of the work completed. On 11/5/13 I sent 2 men for 3hrs (6 man hours) to complete the time and fix the issues that he had after the first visit. That totals out at 18 man hours of work completed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
From email chain:

"From: ****** Landscape Design mailto:*******@aol.com
Sent: Thursday, October 31, 2013 1:16 PM

You purchased 16 man hours (8 - 2man crew hours). Like I said earlier I am not sure why they hauled off in the past. They are never to do so. All of our deals clearly state haul off is not included. "

=========================================================================================
They graciously came back by and picked up the bags. Quite a long time passed before I sent the most recent request
=========================================================================================

After the pickup of these bags, there was no more contact between the vendor and me, nor was there any additional work done by the vendor until my request of Monday, June 30, 2014 7:10 AM asking for additional work I was owed, based on leftover time from the time block purchase in 2013.

Now this could descend into a "he-said, he-said" argument. However, I've kept meticulous records of our dialogs over the 2-year business-relationship (except as noted from an entirely different time period), and have no documentation or verification of any work completed on November 5th, 2013. The tired rhetoric of "Mr. ******** was never satisfied" is not only in error, but is clumsily attempting to mask an attempt to report additional work that was never done.

In the email chain that I can provide on request, work done at the house throughout the time period was either acknowledged in email somewhere by either ****** or "****", or allowed discussions of additional work to proceed. Here, it's odd that there is no documentation addressed to me telling me that "Mr. ********, we've completed our re-work per your request on November 5th."

The fact is that there isn't any.

All of the email documentation I have is "discoverable" through message headers and email network routing information. Wilson Landscape cannot make the same claim, and his explanation involving non-existent work done on November 5th, 2013 would not stand up to scrutiny in any court.

I am loathe to accusing anyone of outright prevarication, but in this case, this vendor is......in error.

09/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales person said yard needs new fr drain. Described what's necessary... Sent brief descript w/ price. Did not actually provide service billed for.
Met w/ salesperson who told me drainage problem would be fixed by installing a New french drain on my property-the low part of yard. He said, "It Needs 4 more inlets - possibly 1 or 2 inlets @ high point MIGHT be able to be connected to existing drain" & "the Other 2 inlets would connect to a drain that would run approx 35 ft to the golf course - low spot". He described exactly what another landscaper proposed & wrote up. After the landscaper missed our 1st Appt. the sales person spent a GOOD hour of my time explaining in detail what was needed. He was very clear there would be a New Drain w/ 4more inlets requiring approx 35 ft of digging a trench w/ drain to empty H2O unto golf course. He'd figure the price for materials & labor & get back to me. The price was the Only question when he left our meeting. On May 15- a bid was sent w/ a price in same ballpark for same service as another bid. Obviously, the WLS&D - description was abbreviated d/t grammatical & typo error that says "Run the drain to gold course or connect to existing drain". I ignored the erroneous brief description. After such elaborate in person explanation we both had a firm understanding of what work needed 2 be done. I felt I was dealing with a person of Integrity, so ignoring the "gold course or"/Clause -I responded that Id like to move forward w/ proposal that was discussed. I expected to have the same service provided that he said they would do for this price. The price was based on hours of labor & materials needed to install a new french drain. (In Hindsight, the bid must have been deliberately written loosely to allow a loophole for billing & not really doing the work as quoted.) That is dishonest. One day after several "No Show" Appointments (days I that stayed home from work waiting for WLSD Landscape Appt) a crew showed up! I had already removed all the Pavers by myself & stacked them on patio. I should not be billed for work that I did myself! Within 10 minutes they dug a hole in the very soft wet soil directly adjacent to the spot where Only ONE new perforated inlet is attached to the already existing drain. There is about 6-10 inches away from the pre-existing drain that needed to be connected. The lead crew member explained my "builder did cheap work" & the old irrigation pipe needed to be glued. He said that is why it was wet. According to lead worker a pipe was going to be glued together. All that was actually done was one more inlet was added to the already existing drain & connected less than a foot apart. It probably took 45 minutes to an hour to complete - Tops! This is a HUGE difference in hours of labor compared to what it would take to dig a 35 foot long, 2-3 foot deep trench in hard dry soil like what was planned for, but never actually done. As well as how much the cost of materials for 35 foot of drain, intakes, attachments, back fill material - that was never used & never put together. If they told me ahead of time they were charging $1,000 to dig a whole, glue a pipe less than one foot away & all this would take less than an hour to complete. They would have never stepped foot in my yard!!! I paid in full for the installation of irrigation portion of the bill because that part was done correctly. I contacted DJ to request that the crew come back and finish the job the way it was supposed to be done. He said he'd call the crew. I never saw anyone after that. Just got a bill for something that did not get completed the way it was supposed to be done. Then I asked them to adjust bill for work done- not the estimated work to be done. We still have some standing water in places at times so I don't think the whole problem is completely resolved. We are watering less & when the temperature cools down it will be definite. Next time, I'll hire someone else!

Desired Settlement
I will settle with them for a reduced amount equivalent to actual work completed... I believe that amount to be $400-$450.

At first I wanted this landscape company to come back & do the right thing by actually installing a 35 foot drain with 4 more inlets as they were hired to do. And as DJ told me they would do....
I offered them the opportunity to come back & fix it.
Instead I got threatening emails stating they plan on taking legal action.
THEY DID NOT DO THE JOB THEY SAID THEY WERE GOING TO DO!!! Communication breakdown between Benito & DJ should not cost $1,020.63 to the homeowners.
I no longer want them to work in my yard because I don't trust them.
I feel they are preying on single women. And, my elderly neighbors who equally are contributing to the installation of a new French Drain wanted to see "Where is it???"
... Its like the EMPEROR's NEW CLOTHES- ITS NOT THERE!!!
Just one little drain that should by NO MEANS cost $1,000.00. Its still very wet!
Most likely we will have to re-do this sometime in the future. Costing more money... I definitely will not use this company!
I am willing to pay for only the service that they actually did the work on.... I have asked that they adjust the bill accordingly.
I feel it would be VERY GENEROUS to give them $450.00 & call it even. (They did much less work than what was billed for.)
Im not sure what their Reputation is worth to them- but if they think billing for a lot of work that was not done will get favorable praise from me or my neighbors... Think again!
And Remember- they were already paid $600.00 for the other job!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Dj Quitadamo Sales Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@aol.com
I have tried multiple times to reach the customer to discuss the problem. She has not returned any of my emails.
As I clearly stated in our meeting and in my written proposal that when the crew was there they would make the determination to which (running drain to the golf course or connecting to the existing drain) would be more beneficial. They determined it would be better to run the new drain to the existing. The reason for no inlets is because the drain line is perforated and covered with gravel. There is no need for inlets in this situation. I originally said we would install the inlets if the drain was to be covered by pavestone. The pavestone was shifted per the customers request.
That being said we have been in business for 20+ years and have never ever gone to a property and did not do the work that was asked for. We do not "dig holes" and pretend to install drains. You do not last 20+ years in business with these types of practices. We do not appreciate the accusation of it either.
In my attempts to reach the customer I was going to offer the crew to come up and dig up the same area and prove to her the new drain has been installed. If the drain is there she pays bill in full and we part ways. If the drain is not there as we promise it is I will do the work at no charge.
Once again we have never and will never deceive,lie,practice unethical business practices..let alone "prey upon single women" as this customer has stated in her slanderous comments. I take it as a personal insult that anyone would accuse me of such a thing.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was impossible respond within 5 days.
Last night I got home from work & JUST got this letter.
This morning I pulled up the drain area in the backyard.
(Last time Wilson Landscape worked here they broke 3 pavers-so I decided to not risk further damage & did it myself).
Its pretty SAD it took going to the Better Business Bureau to get DJ to FINALLY respond to my calls about the drain.
Although DJ says he tried to call me multiple times-that is NOT TRUE! I left many voice messages on his phone & made many calls. All unanswered.
I responded to his emails. He DID NOT call back to tell me what the crew did, where the drain was or send anyone over like he said he would when I spoke with him to tell him there was a problem.
Since they did not show up for many of our scheduled appointments & came to work at my house on a day that was unscheduled, I considered his lack of response typical & unreliable.
Now I know he did not call back because he really did not know what he was talking about. In his response he says, "There is no need for inlets in this situation." That is incorrect!
There is one exposed inlet that is clearly obvious. Upon digging up the Drain site- buried beneath 2 inches of gravel we found more inlets connected to the old drain. (That proves more inlets were necessary).
They were hard to find. They were not placed where DJ said they would be. Down line from them there is pooling water most of the day when we run the sprinklers.
I did not like digging up my yard. It took a lot of time, it was a lot of trouble, and it was hot outside.
If DJ had just bothered to get back with me in the first place by calling or sending someone over to show what they did - they could have been paid more promptly & saved a lot of time and trouble for myself, for him, and for the BBB.
In terms of customer service, I think this company is rather poor. All they needed to do was make a simple phone call or come over to show me what they did. Instead, I got no response.
I will pay them because the old drain has more inlets connected to it than was obvious at first.

Business' Final Response
This morning we received payment in full from this customer. I am assuming this closes this complaint case.
Please advise

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Stone Setting, Irrigation Consultants, Landscape Lighting, Hardscapes, Outdoor Kitchens, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Designers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.