BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2013

Southwest Landscape Design

(214) 800-20346060 N Central Expy STE 560, DallasTX 75206-5268 Send email to Southwest Landscape Design

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2013

BBB has determined that Southwest Landscape Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southwest Landscape Design's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Southwest Landscape Design

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/14/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted for grass, sprinkler system, flower beds, flagstone patio, repairs, painting, trees and more. Much work wasn't performed/poorly done.
CONTRACT REQUIREMENTS/WORK ACTUALLY PERFORMED:

Landscape to include everything shown in plan in front and back/they took the plan and have not responded to request for simple plant list. Many plants died due to irrigation problems, were removed by contractor and have not been replaced.

4 shutters/got 3

Oklahoma flagstone with dwarf mondo/flagstone in loose rock with huge gaps that won't support chair legs(dwarf mondo was installed then removed and left in flowerbed to die)

Natural street screen/Screen was planted but removed because it died due to watering problems. Replacement plants were installed but are less than contracted for.

**** *** *********** installed without approval & then we were asked to pay difference. Many squares of the turf were dead and were supposed to be replaced. This was never done.

Automatic Irrigation system city plan,permit,review, spray heads/Drip system was installed under turf and without city permit. Plants, including many shrubs, were removed and not replaced. Contractor said it was needless to replace until watering problems were resolved. A new zone was added in Jan 2014 but replacement plants have not been installed. We still have only 4 zones for entire yard. Near our front sidewalk and in the middle of our new lawn, we have 8 water valve covers (like manhole covers). These are unsightly and a safety concern as they are approximately 6 inches deep.

Stone borders were installed but were below the level of the turf and were useless as far as for looks and for containing mulch. They were so low, they were not even useful as an edging guide. Contractor did, eventually, get all the stones raised. Many stones are still not seated and require fill dirt behind them. Plants were left with exposed roots and have since died.

We have large plants planted very close to the house (under overhang of roof) and have been advised to move. One flowerbed has dirt level above the foundation.

Trim (was actually a board on our house that was weeping sap) was not replaced. Wording in the contract was not adequate but in many emails and texts, contractor states that this was included.

The job included landscaping our entire yard, painting the house, a new fence, replacing bad boards on the house. Some of the work has been completed to our satisfaction but only one flower bed was originally done well. Schedules were missed, appointments were missed, written agreements were broken, verbal/email/text promises were broken.

The original contract was dated 5/8/13 and we are still being promised things that are not being delivered.

The paint job on the house was bad and we had pealing paint within a month. Some of that was corrected but not all.

The wood stain for the fence, shutters, back patio posts faded to bare wood within a month. We paid for the best but got a product that was not good at all. They did come re-stain the fence but not the other wood.

We were promised a final offer via certified mail. It was not rec'd.

We have many, many emails and saved/printed text messages (that we will be happy to provide) where contractor promises to come complete the job. Those messages are filled with the unprofessional comments about our character because we were asking for the work to be completed. There have also been and threats to NOT complete work if we give any bad reviews. We took down reviews, that were truthful but not positive, and replaced them with ones that contractor agreed were acceptable and problems have not been addressed.

We have a contract for signed by ******* ****** on 5/8/13 for $38,500 which was paid in full by check after work was done but before problems were discovered, plants removed, etc.

Desired Settlement
We will agree to settle for $5000.

Labor and materials to:

Re-install flagstone patio to reduce gaps which are too wide and prevent chairs from sitting level (legs sink up to 6 inches into rocks between stones).

Prepare beds for planting (remove original landcape plants - nandina and lilies that were supposed to be done as a part of this job and add dirt and mulch).


Replace trees, shrubs and plants.

Reposition shrubs and trees so they will not damage our house.

Install adequate watering system that is properly permitted by the city

Replace board on house and repaint.

Repair sidewalk that was broken by contractor and was to be fixed.

Business Response
Hi ***,
I would like to send this to arbitration. I have had nothing but trouble with this customer. We installed everything she wanted, some of the services were changed in the field and were verbally agreed upon and now shes coming back a year later saying she doesn't like them. I am confident I have enough emails/txt conversations from the Spanns to back up everything against them. It will take up some time to put all of this together so please let me know what kind of time frame we are working with.

Regards, *******
******* *******
President
**** ***** ******* Expressway
5th Floor
Dallas, TX XXXXX
************ (Cell)
************ (Office)
******************@gmail.com
www.swtlandscapedesign.com



Consumer Response
We are shocked and disappointed to see that the BBB has closed this case and stated that Southwest resolved the problems. They have done nothing except request arbitration. We did agree to that but only as an option to small claims court. This company provided poor work and call us names for asking that they make it right. It was a $38K job!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Stone Setting, Fence Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Drainage Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/06/2009Business started: 06/18/2008
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Brian Collins (Manager)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Stone Setting, Fence Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Drainage Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southwest Landscape Design

6060 N Central Expy STE 560

Dallas, TX 75206-5268

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6060 N Central Expy STE 560 

    Dallas, TX 75206-5268(214) 800-2034

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southwest Landscape Design is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.