BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Paradise Landscapes

Phone: (214) 328-9955Fax: (214) 764-69401920 Abrams Pkwy Ste 192, DallasTX 75214-6218 Send email to Paradise Landscapeshttp://www.paradiselandscapes.net ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Paradise Landscapes is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Paradise Landscapes' rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner was my neighbor and gave me the impression he would give me a fair price on work at a 250% markup. I also thought he was a BBB member.
I have been the victim of a con artist. This guy was my neighbor and while he maintained that he didn't do deals, he gave the impression that he would be fair and respect my financial goals. The initial talk about the work involved questions about what I could get for what amount of money. I had the impression that a simple porch and patio would cost me ******* He convinced me to do a bigger job, each time saying it wouldn't be too much more. He started work with nothing in writing. He never told me how much it would cost and he never made an effort to agree on what would be done in writing. He produced drawings, complained that his printer was broken, that he didn't know how use excel. The drawings never reflected what we discussed in previous talks and he acted confused about what I wanted. I was patient with this because I trusted that he would give me a fair price. While this was going on, the work was being done. When we agreed to do something he was confused about doing in the first place, he did finally produce an invoice and wanted another ******* then another ******* to complete the job. This dance went on until the final tally was astronomical. The subcontractor he used charged ****** for the work and he paid his guys, I imagine, another ***** and then the concrete removal must have been another ****** He could have profited ********** after that, but he charged me ******** I essentially paid his salary for a year because I trusted him. He is a crook and I want people to know. Adding further insult to injury, the work on the stone paving he did was cheaply done. He didn't embed the rock enough and the whole patio and area around my home is flooding like a little pond. I came to him and asked him to fix it and he refused to do it without more money, of course.

Desired Settlement
$25,000

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Stone Setting, Landscape Lighting, Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies, Fountains - Garden, Display, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Patio & Deck Builders, Mason Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Tree Service, Landscape Designers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/22/1998Business started: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Hall (Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Stone Setting, Landscape Lighting, Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies, Fountains - Garden, Display, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Patio & Deck Builders, Mason Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Outdoor Kitchens, Tree Service, Landscape Designers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Paradise Landscapes

1920 Abrams Pkwy Ste 192

Dallas, TX 75214-6218

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1920 Abrams Pkwy Ste 192 

    Dallas, TX 75214-6218

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Paradise Landscapes is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB accreditation. The BBB unsuccessfully attempted to contact this company to request that it refrain from using the BBB logo. This matter has been referred to the Council of Better Business Bureaus for further action.

This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB accreditation or referenced the BBB name or logo in an unauthorized manner, despite BBB's efforts to get the business to cease using the BBB trademark. This use of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.