BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

Firefighter's Landscape & Design, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 592-0009Fax: (972) 239-501214115 Inwood Rd, DallasTX 75244-3918 Send email to Firefighter's Landscape & Design, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2009

BBB has determined that Firefighter's Landscape & Design, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Firefighter's Landscape & Design, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty not honored. Trees planted part of large project. 3 of 4 buroaks did not survive. Several attempts to contact, not so much as 1 return call.
Renovation of old Coppell Fire Station in Old Town Coppell. As part of large effort, this company planted 4 buroaks at front of building. 3 have not survived. We notified Firefighters Landscapers within the stated warranty period and were told once to wait until the next spring and if the trees did not recover they would replace them. The warranty states that they would send someone to investigate. No one has showed up yet. After several additional phone messages were left with answering service, none were returned. Emails sent not replied to, letter sent, still no reply. It is apparent that Firefighters Landscapers have no intention of honoring the warranty on these trees.
Do not use this company unless you are prepared to bear the expense to repair/replace failed landscape work that is not done properly.
Not only will I not recommend this company I will disuade anyone who asks for a reference.

Desired Settlement
Simply want this company to honor the warranty as it promised. As stated in the Warranty provided we requested that the defective trees be replaced. We only want the warranty honored and the three trees replaced. No other special compensation is requested.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Travis Davenport/Presiden
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@firefighterslandscape.com
The Following email response was submitted to Mr. ****** last year.

From: Travis Davenport
Sent: Monday, December 09, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '*******@amcatusa.com'
Subject: Tree Warranty

Mr. ******
Thank you for sending the letter voicing your concern for the trees. While we do warranty our product, we do not warranty the trees or plants that are damaged due to neglect or vandalism. Shortly after we finished the landscape, we had two instances that damaged the plants. The first time we were called out, the GC told us that the plants were looking bad and that the system was not working. Upon checking the system we noticed that the controller was on, but there was no water. After trouble shooting, we found out that the double check had been turned off without our knowledge by the subcontractor that was doing the cement, and or asphalt work, and they failed to notify us, or turn it back on. We told T and G that we can't warranty the plants if things like this are going on without us being notified. Never the less, we went ahead and replaced some of the dead plants at the time in good faith, and to provide your company with a completed landscape. We were called back out a second time a few weeks later by the general contractor to address a broken pipe. Upon our arrival, we noticed that the ground was cracking and the plants and trees were severely stressed. We pointed this out to Santiago with T and G at the time. We examined the damaged pipe, and discovered that another subcontractor, (we think it was the electrician) had hit the main line while digging or trenching, damaged the wiring, and the controller had been turned off. It appeared that the controller had been off for a significant amount of time based upon the dry ground conditions. We performed the repairs, and we let T and G know at that point that we cannot warranty product that has been damaged due to neglect or vandalism, as is stated in our warranty.

We would be willing to replace the dead trees at cost to help you out, but this is really an issue that needs to be taken up with the GC and the subcontractors that did the damage.
Regards,

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Irrigation Systems & Equipment, Irrigation Consultants, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Landscape Designers, Landscape Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/08/2001Business started: 12/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
PO Box 13087
Austin, TX78711-3087
(512) 239-1000
http://www.tceq.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Travis Davenport (President Co-Owner)Mr. Mark Clampitt
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Irrigation Systems & Equipment, Irrigation Consultants, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Landscape Designers, Landscape Maintenance

Products & Services

Irrigation and Landscaping Installation and Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Firefighter's Landscape & Design, LLC

14115 Inwood Rd

Dallas, TX 75244-3918

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 14115 Inwood Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75244-3918(214) 592-0009

  • 851 Stoddard Rd 

    Fairview, TX 75069-9332

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Firefighter's Landscape & Design, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.