BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/30/2007

D & J Garcia Landscape Services, Inc.

Phone: (972) 530-0758Fax: (972) 495-4249

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Communicated to the manager that I would be taking time off to have this done. Was told the team would tell me the price due to possible overgrowth.
Communicated to the manager that I would be taking time off to have this done. I requested that they ring my doorbell/call me upon arrival as that the manager lady said that due to the fact I was not sure about overgrowth, the team would have to quote me the price. I took off work in the morning to have this done, which I communicated to the manager. She in turn promised above services, the team likely did not even show up. Then I called the woman, she said they had already come by and may be able to come by after lunch, but she would call me and let me know. I accepted this and then she called me and said they're on way, and they'll be there in about five minutes. I rushed home from work to find them leaving yet again, wasting more of my money, time and gas. She explained it was my fault and that I'd have to wait until the next day. This company has no responsibility for their actions and does not follow through on their services or word. Do not leave money on your doorstep for this business! Big mistake!

Desired Settlement
I seek to obtain the money I lost from taking off work. The "manager" lady was dishonest and wasted my time, money, and gas.

Business' Initial Response
RE: BBB case # XXXXXXXX
May 30th, 2013 Service Call with Mr. **** ****
@ **** ******* ****** ******** ** XXXXX / Mapsco: ***
Property Address/owner: ****, ***** ****, **** ****** *** ********* ***** XXXXX-XXXX


Mr. **** called in for new service on May 30th, 2013. He desired same day service, however the call was received late day and we require a minimum of one-day advance notice if serving that area the following day. Thus, we offered the following day, May 31, Friday service route. Mr. **** accepted the scheduling.

As we do all new customers, we asked him to put his check (payment) under the doormat for the minimum amount specified, $37.89, and made payable to our company name. We discussed over-growth fees, which is typical for rainy warm days and we have been having warmer temperatures and weekly rainfall; Mr. **** said it had been at least two weeks since last serviced. Thus, if overgrown lawn, we would leave the invoice noting his applied credit of $37.89 and the remaining balance was to be mailed to our PO Box. Mr. **** agreed.

The following day, we stopped by for service and no check was available. Our policy is no check, no service. Mr. **** called back in the afternoon that we missed him. We explained that there was no check for services. He said he would go immediately and put the check under the matt. We stop by again and no check for the second trip. Again, no check, no service.

Mr. **** called back again upset and we explained that we could not return a third time in one day and we had regular routine customers to provide service that day. He asked for a manager and I explained that I was the manager and the people that went to his property twice were the operation's manager, ****** ******. Mr. **** was too upset to talk rationally for a resolution thus, I explained to him that I was ending the phone conversation until he settle down to talk. Thus I did what I explained and said, "We cannot continue this call; I am going to hang up now, good-bye."

There was no further communication for rescheduling.

We are sorry that we could not provide service that day but we have a schedule to maintain and we felt that we meet our obligations of providing service by returning to the property twice in one day. We are similar to most service organizations that payment is due on arrival.

Regards,

** ******, President
****** ******, Vice President
D&J ****** Services, Inc.

08/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not perform work initially requested. Company agreed to fix then charged me for additional services without warning.
I moved out of my rental house on in May and needed someone to perform landscaping on my rental property as I had the lease unti end of June. I requested front and back yard to be mowed, as well as, the hedges to be trimmed. I requested especially for the side hedges to be cut back up to 6 feet so that people could use the sidewalk. I even have this proof in text. For this I paid $108.25, a large sum. For this I could only trust that the work was completed properly.

I later used the company again to mow the front and back yard in June and paid $35.00 for the front and back to be mowed.

On the 21st I went to the property for the final walkthrough of the property where I noticed that the side hedges had never been trimmed nor cut, and these hedges do not grow quickly. I called the company and explained that the work was not completed properly and the woman said that they would take care of it and was not informed that there would be any additional charges. I was later billed for additional $30.00 for this work that was not completed initially.

Previously with this company, before any work was completed I was sent a quote or provided one over the phone. Not in this case, nor was I expecting any charges as this was a mistake on the part of the company.

I responded to the emailed invoice with a response similar this and I have yet to come to a conclusion with this company. They are adamant about these charges and are not taking any responsibility for their lack of work.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to take responsibility for their lack of work initially as requested. I would like them to remove the additional charge of $30.00 due to the fact that this work was requested and not completed initially.

Business Response
RE: BBB case #******** / July 4, 2014
@ ********************************** / Mapsco: ***
Property Address/owner: ****** *****, *****************************************


We received a call from Ms. ******* for an estimate on May 27 for Mowing and Trimming Front and Back services @ ************************** . Ms. ******* agreed to the pricing and the work schedule and completed on May 29. We provided invoicing promptly and mentioned pictures were available for her viewing, Attachment #1. We have to agree to disagree that she mentioned city violations on her initial service request and her main concern was how to pay us while she was on the road.

Ms. ******* called in for another service for mowing only and again it was scheduled and completed on June 18, invoice #6213. Payment process same as the first.

Lastly, on June 23, she called in for a cut back on her side shrubs to meet city requirements. We discussed that she did not mention this a month ago when she requested a trim of all shrubs on property. Neither of us discussed pricing, only when the work could be completed to avoid the city performing the work. We accommodate Ms. ******* request to meet the city's request and to avoid city's expensive billing.

Our services are different from trimming and cutting back. Trimming is shaping the shrub. To cut back a shrub is a more labor intensive to cut through bark and try to shape the plant to be aesthetically pleasing as possible. Thus, the additional $30.00 plus tax did apply for this service and trip fee.

Ms. ******* has refused to pay for services. Thus, we closed her account immediately.

We regret the confusion for Ms. ******* and we felt that we meet our obligations of providing service by returning to the property a month later to perform additional work, which was not explained in full. City obligations are very serious and need to completion within five to seven days or the city will assign one of their contractors to complete the job. As most service providers, we charge for additional trip fees and work performed.

Regards,

*********, President
*************, Vice President
D&J Garcia Services, Inc.

*****************





Attachment #1:

From: D & J Garcia Services, Inc.
Sent: Wednesday, May 28, 2014 10:55 AM
To: ***************************
Cc: **********************
Subject: ******* / May / Invoice #**** from D & J Garcia Services, Inc.
Dear Latisha,

Please process prepayment for your vacated property on **************************. We will provide pictures upon request. For payment convenience via electronic funds transfer/debit, please visit:

*** Save yourself time by paying this invoice online with Intuit PaymentNetwork. This FREE online payment service is fast and easy to use. ***

Pay Now > https://ipn.intuit.com/wwf9gf62
Learn more > https://ipn.intuit.com/s/LearnMore

Sincerely,


**************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did request for the work to be completed in my very first request. The only thing I did not say was "city requirements." I asked to make sure the shuts were trimmed to 6 feet where the side walk is and to make sure people can walk on the side walk without the shrubs in the way. I have a text to prove that I tried to make sure this work was completed to which no one from the company responded.

One the 28th I texted, "I want to make sure that the side yard gets done where the hedges are hanging low like we discussed as well."

This proves that I did in fact discuss the work that was not completed.

I do not accept this repines because it it not true. I am not sure how to send proof of this text but I would be glad to if possible.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Topsoil, Mulches, Lawn Mowers, Organic Soil Fertilizer, Lawn Maintenance

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.