BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Behunin Renovations, LLC

Phone: (214) 399-4815Fax: (214) 291-56555028 Falcon Hollow Rd, McKinneyTX 75070-5304http://www.behuninrenovations.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Behunin Renovations, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Behunin Renovations, LLC's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/28/2012Billing / Collection Issues
02/07/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor warranty and repair defects in shed that was custom built by ****** Renovations.
I contracted with ****** ******/****** Renovations on 11/30/2011 to have a custom 8 x 12 Shed built. The contract included a 10 year warranty. Payment in full was made to ****** on 12/2/11 via check # 2923 in the amount of $2,656.00. ****** cashed the check on 12/5/11. The Shed was completed on 1/15/2012. I had started to notice issues with the shed around the end of June 2012. The issues noticed at that time were 1) many areas on the shed where wood is separating from the surrounding wood which is causing the paint to also separate between those areas, and is causing a lot of very noticeable white lines in many different areas; especially on both doors. 2) the top hinge of the left door; the wood is splitting. 3) the wood is separating from the building in the left back corner. 4) the wood is separating from the building in the right back corner. 5) the wood is separating from the building in the right front corner. 6) the vertical strip of wood on the left door is splitting and the vertical and horizontal pieces of wood on that same door are separating from each other where you can see the white lines, and the left door has more white area showing where the vertical and horizontal pieces of wood are separating.7) more white lines showing where the wood is separating from the other wood on the left door. 8) the vertical wood in the middle of the left door is splitting. 9) the vertical wood in the middle of the right door is separating from the wood next to it. 10) the wood is separating from the building in the left front corner. I took detailed pictures of the issues and on July 9th 2012, I sent ****** an email including all the pictures and the issues described above. I received no response after 3 days, I texted ****** with no response after 6 days, I called ****** on 7/18/12 and talked to him about the issues. He said he would come to the house on 7/23/12 to look at the issues. I texted ****** on 7/25 to see if he had been to the house; no response. On July 30 I received an email response from ****** that read "I have been by and looked at the shed. There are a few thing that need to be done and I am scheduling them". He stated he was busy for the next 2 weeks. 3 weeks had passed with no communication from ******. I sent ****** an email on 8/17, no response. I contacted ****** again via email on 8/21, no response. I contacted ****** again via email on 9/26/12, no response. I contacted ****** via a phone call to his cell phone on 10/1/12. I got a message that his voicemail was full and I was unable to leave a message. On 10/27/12, I sent a certified letter to ****** at ******************, McKinney TX. I had also included in the letter that the shed was now showing more issues stating that the left door is now dragging on the floor when opening and closing, and the hinges are visibly shifting. I also took a detailed video of all the issues and included that video on a CD with the certified letter. the Post office left notice of the certified letter on 10/30/12. ****** never picked up the certified letter. I mailed another letter and CD with video of the issues to ****** via regular USPS mail on 12/21/12 with delivery confirmation. The letter and CD were delivered to 5028 Falcon Hallow on 12/22/12 at 8:27am. Despite all my efforts to contact ****** ******, I received no more communication from ****** up to this day 1/10/2013. His last communication with me was 7/30/2012. There is clearly a total lack of willingness for ****** to uphold his own warranty or even communicate with me regarding these issues.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking professional repair of the defects of workmanship that exist on the shed. If ****** is unwilling to uphold his own warranty and fix these issues, which appears to be the case, I am seeking to be reimbursed the amount it will cost to hire another company to fix it. I have received 3 written estimates from 3 separate professional shed building companies. All have noted workmanship defects as the cause of these issues. The average price of the three estimates is $438.00

01/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Kitchen Remodeling, Windows - Repairing, Fence Contractors, Countertops, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/2010Business started: 02/01/2003Business started locally: 10/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dustin Behunin (Owner)
Business Category

Kitchen Remodeling, Windows - Repairing, Fence Contractors, Countertops, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 08:00 PM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Entire DFW Area

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Behunin Renovations, LLC

5028 Falcon Hollow Rd

McKinney, TX 75070-5304

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5028 Falcon Hollow Rd 

    McKinney, TX 75070-5304(214) 399-4815

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Behunin Renovations, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.