BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/02/2011

Bova Diamonds

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 744-7668Fax: (214) 744-76362050 N Stemmons Fwy Ste 7729, DallasTX 75207-3101 Send email to Bova Diamonds

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bova Diamonds offers a vast selection of GIA & EGL loose diamonds.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/02/2011

BBB has determined that Bova Diamonds meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bova Diamonds' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bova Diamonds

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased what I thought was an F colored diamond. I had it appraised after the purchase by a gemologist and it is actually a K colored diamond.
After several visits to Bova Diamonds, I picked out a loose diamond and designed an engagement ring. After the ring was complete on October 23,2013, I asked that ******** ***** submit pictures to me while I was at the office so I could see how the final product looked. After seeing the pictures I immediately called ******** and expressed my concern that the diamond looked too yellow in the picture. He assured me that it was just the camera and the stone looked beautiful in person. Once I arrived in person to see it for myself, I still noticed a yellow tint to the center stone and again addressed concern. ***** then told me "go ahead and take it home, think about it, and look at it in natural light". Being new to diamonds, I followed his advice and took the diamond home. I immediately emailed ***** that same night and told him that the stone was still too yellow and I wasn't happy. I went back in the store the following day to see if I could find a replacement for the center stone. I found one that was a little less yellow that he told me to take home and think about so I did. That stone was still too yellow and so I returned to the store and he gave me back the stone I originally purchased. I then visited the store several more times and made every effort to find something that was the right color/quality. I told ***** that I needed a whiter diamond and that I planned on proposing the weekend of November 9th so we had about 10 days left to find the right stone. I kept calling and found out from the owner that the earliest the shipment would come in was November 14th which was too late and something that ***** never communicated. So after empty promises, poor quality selection, excuses, and disappointing customer service, I emailed ***** on November 6, 2013 and told him I wanted a refund and I plan on exploring my other options. He didn't reply to my email, but I didn't think much of it and kept looking. I finally found a beautiful stone and purchased it from a separate store on November 9, 2013.

When I tried to return the diamond that I purchased from Bova Diamonds, they informed that they don't offer refunds and refused to give me my money back. Not once did I see a sign in the store and not once did *****, ******, or Nir (the owner) tell me that they didn't offer any refunds (and I had been to the store close to 10 times). In fact, ***** was the one that told me to take it home and think about it and their return policy never even came up and I just trusted his word. The stone was much more yellow than I wanted and he just assured me that it was the lighting so that I would sign the form that says no refunds at the very bottom. Had ***** or anyone mentioned anything about no refunds I would never in a million years have walked out of that store that day with the stone.

Not only was a lied to and misled throughout the entire experience, the stone I purchased wasn't even close to the quality that they told me I was getting. The paper certification said that the stone was a F color diamond, but I had the stone appraised by an independent certified gemologist and he informed me that it was in fact a K colored diamond (a copy of his appraisal report can be provided). That is a 5 color difference which is an extreme misrepresentation and fraudulent. They knew exactly what they were selling me and took advantage of me. I can provide any documentation or support that you need to substantiate my complaint. I need your help to get this resolved. I am not attempting to make any money from this and would just like to get my money back and for people to know to never do Business with Bova Diamonds.

Thank you,

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of $8,600 plus any credit card interest that may be charged to my account while this is being resolved. I purchased what I believed to be an F colored diamond and actually received a K colored diamond. I was completely misled and they took advantage of the fact that I was new to purchasing diamonds. I have the stone in my possession and will gladly return it for the full refund. I am not trying to profit from this in anyway and would just like my money back.

Business Response
February 26, 2014
RE: Case # ********* **** ******
Company Answer:
BOVA DIAMONDS PAGE 01/132
Please be advised; On October 3, 2013 **** ****** purchased a 1.5ct Round diamond F
color VS2 Clarity with an EGL Certificate # XXXXXXXXXX. He at the time of purchase
signed the invoice which indicates "No Refunds", Bova Diamonds is not a retail store. It
is a "Cash & Carry" diamond Wholesaler which does not offer refunds, only Trade-Ins
(upgrades); this too is indicated on the invoice, which Mr.****** signed. In addition, we
have our store policy posted in two locations on the display showcases.
When he left the store, he was happy with his purchase. He claims that an independent
certified gemologist informed him. that the diamond was a K color, which according to
GIA certification, that may be but this diamond came with an EGL certification and they
grade on a lower scale. He knew at the time of purchase that this diamond is graded as an
EGL, not GIA certified stone. The description of the certified diamond.is correct and we
stand by this. The EGL Certification DOES match the diamond purchased.
Nir Sova, Store Owner
Bova Diamonds


see attachment

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I visited Bova Diamonds at least 5 or 6 times and spoke to them through email or on the phone countless times before my purchase. Not once did they ever mention they are a "cash & carry" company with no refunds or did I see anything displayed in their store.

On October 23, 2013 ***** sent me a photograph of the ring and after examining the pictures further I called him to express concern that the stone looked yellow. He assured me that it was just the camera and that the stone looked much better in person. Once I arrived at the store I had the same concern that the stone looked yellow and that it wasn't what their EGL report described (F color). He then told me to take it home and think about it and look at it in natural light. They are obviously more informed about diamonds since they have been in the business for 20+ years, so I trusted their judgment because I am a complete novice when it comes to diamonds. Even though I wasn't happy with the purchase and ***** was well aware of that, I took the diamond home based on *****'s advice. After all, they are diamond experts and not me. After he tells me to take it home and think about it, he has me sign the final receipt (that states "no refunds" which I was completely unaware of even as I was leaving store). ***** never mentioned their "no refund" policy (nor did anyone else at **** Diamonds at any point in all of my visits/conversations), or that since I am not happy with the stone I shouldn't take it home because refunds are not permitted. They let me sign the receipt fully knowing that if I wanted to bring the stone back the next day (which I did), that I wouldn't be allowed a refund.

I took the ring home on October 23rd and found out the stone looked even more yellow outside of the store (they have perfect LED lighting in the store) so I immediately emailed ***** that same night to tell him that the stone is too yellow and I would look at it one more time in the morning to catch natural light, but I wanted to exchange it at a minimum. I then went back to **** several times to try and find a suitable replacement, but each stone they provided carried nearly the same level of yellow.

I then asked to get a refund on November 6th in an email to ***** because they weren't able to provide me with a suitable diamond before the date I wanted to propose (November 10th which was communicated to *****). ***** never responded to this email, so I assumed that it wouldn't be a problem and that I could bring it in for a full refund. When I attempted to return the stone the following week, they offered me 80% of what I paid, which was completely unacceptable. I turned this down because why should I lose $1,720 when they never communicated any of policies and mislead me through the entire transaction. After I turned it down and told them I wanted a full refund they said all I could have now is store credit.

I decided to get a certified independent gemologist to evaluate the diamond as I didn't feel as though they sold me the F colored diamond that they claimed. I found out that they actually sold me a K colored diamond, a 5 color difference from what I thought I was getting. I paid and signed for an F colored diamond and walked away with a K colored diamond. I knew that I purchased an EGL diamond because that's what the certification said, but I had no idea that I was actually purchasing a K colored stone and not the F colored stone that was stated on the certification. If the stone was in fact what I thought I was buying (F color), then I wouldn't have had the need to return it. Without being a gemologist or being in the diamond business, there is no way for me to fully know what I am purchasing without having an expert evaluate the stone. Bova Diamonds on the other hand, has the expertise and knew exactly what they were selling me and was well aware it wasn't even close to the F colored stone that I thought I was getting. They took advantage of my inexperience and I relied on their expertise which was to my detriment. They knew the quality of the diamond they were selling me and completely misrepresented the stone. I can provide the certified appraisal and the EGL certification showing the large discrepancy in the stone color if needed.

Thank you for your help with this matter.

**** *******


03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** provided a defective ring, lied to me during subsequent negotiations, and gave me a "lemon" of a diamond.
Allegation 1: Bova provided a defective ring

I purchased my ring from Bova Diamonds in September/October of 2011 for $3,000. The ring I purchased had 64 side diamonds. Bova representatives warned me that side diamonds would pop out for the first few months of wear as the ring adjusted to the wearer's finger, and they promised to replace the side diamonds for as long as they popped out. The problem is that the diamonds continued to pop out for a period of 22 months, which is far more than "a few" months. I don't dispute that Bova Diamonds was dutiful in replacing the diamonds - they did this when requested. But the burden of having to bring my ring to them almost every month (and after we moved away, having to ship it across the country to them for repair) became significant. Other jewelers inspected the ring, and assured me that the problem was the result of the Bova metallurgist's choice to use shared prongs instead of the far sturdier 4-prong system. Critically, this prong system would allow the diamonds to keep popping out for an indefinite amount of time, making the ring far less attractive to me as a consumer and belying Bova's repeated claims that the problem would soon cease to exist.

Allegation 2: Bova lied to me during subsequent negotiations

When it became clear to my wife and I that the side diamonds would continue to pop out, we decided we wanted a new ring that would not require constant repair. We decided to "cash out" with Bova, under which Bova would buy back the ring for a given percentage of the purchase price. In October 2013, after numerous calls back and forth, the Bova representative from whom I had bought the ring promised to pay me 67% of what I had paid. This promise was memorialized in an email. Relying on this promise, I sent my ring to Bova. Eight days passed, and I still had not received a check, despite knowledge that the ring had arrived at Bova's Dallas office. I called repeatedly, and eventually got a hold of the same person, who apologized for the delay and promised while on the phone with me that he was putting the check in the mail. Five days later, after many more calls, I talked to a new manager, *****, who assured me that the other representative was not authorized to make the promise that he did, and that she would not abide by it. When I threatened litigation, she assured me that Bova was well-lawyered and that my email did not constitute a contract (as required by the statute of frauds). She eventually gave me 50% of what I originally paid ($1,500). She explained that her position was difficult because my ring was "not worth what ***** had promised," or 67% of the purchase price.

Allegation 3: Bova sold me a "lemon" diamond

This is the most serious claim against Bova, but it is listed last because it is the least evidenced. Prior to cashing out with Bova, I took the ring to several retailers in New York to see what they would offer me. They each assured me in turn that the center stone of the ring did not match the lab-provided certification that accompanied it. In short, the diamond had been switched at some point - and Bova employees were the only ones to ever handle the ring. Admittedly, these retailers have an incentive to undervalue any ring in hopes of buying it at a bargain, so I took these opinions warily. However, ***** all but confirmed their assessment when she bluntly admitted that my ring was not worth 67% of what I paid for it. That Bova had switched my diamond is consistent with the entire narrative of my interaction, specifically the redaction of their 67%-promise upon receiving my ring from me and remembering that they had already extracted the ring's value by executing a switch at a prior date.

Desired Settlement
Bova has already refunded me $1,500 of the $3,000 purchase price. I seek the refund of the other half of the purchase price as recompense for my wife never having received a ring of the quality that was repeatedly promised, my significant trouble in repeatedly bringing the ring back to Bova's offices (while I still lived in Dallas) and later repeatedly having to ship the ring back to them (after I moved to New York), and the large amount of time lost a) negotiating the cash-out with Bova, including numerous unreturned phone calls, and b) going through the entire purchasing process with Bova, which required numerous phone calls and visits to their offices.

A complete refund is equitable because, I can say honestly, I wish that I had never been a customer of Bova. I believe that putting me back in the position that I was in prior to dealing with them is the appropriate solution, and I believe that forcing Bova to pay recompense will act as a significant deterrent to such shoddy dealing with future customers. Jewelers engage customers from a bargaining position of extreme strength, gaining advantage from information asymmetries and being a repeat player in these types of transactions (whereas the consumer typically only buys 1-2 engagement rings in their life). This extreme dichotomy of bargaining strength is similarly present within the used car industry, which is why additional legal protection has been brought to bear on those dealers. In the absence of legal protection, jewel customers are left to rely on the trustworthiness of their seller. But where this entity has repeatedly shown itself to be untrustworthy, extra-legal enforcement in the form of the BBB is the only mechanism that can prevent the normalization of unethical business practices. Therefore, though "lemon laws" are notably absent from the diamond industry, I hope that the BBB will hold its members to a higher standard than that merely required by the bare minimum of the law.

Business Response
RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: **** ***** Company Answer /Response Letter
*** **********
In September of 2011 **** ***** purchased from **** Diamonds a loose diamond, custom designed setting and wedding band.
On October 3, 2013 Mr. ***** sent an email (which we have on file) requesting to upgrade the ring. No complaints were made in this email.
It was then decided that he would just sell the ring back to **** Diamonds instead and hold off on the upgrade.
It is true that the small diamonds in the setting would periodically pop out. This is common depending on how much the wearer of the ring bangs it (normal "wear" of the ring). This setting is a very common way to do the design. Designers all around the world set diamonds this way, it's called "shared prongs". A 4-prong system is more commonly used when setting the center stone in an engagement ring - not commonly used when setting side stones.
On October 10, 2013 Mr. ***** accepted the buyback amount offered to him... a check for $1,500 + $500 store credit to put towards his future upgrade. That in total equals $2,000 which is 67% of the purchase price. He accepted this dollar amount when he cashed the check.
Now Mr. ***** is accusing Bova Diamonds of switching the diamond. The retailers that he took the ring to in New York all assured him the stone was not the same as the certificate indicated... this is because the retailers want to offer Mr. ***** a lesser dollar amount to buy the stone from him than what it is actually worth. Did Mr. ***** get in writing that the stone did not match the certificate? This is just here-say then.
We have been in business for over 15 years and have never received a complaint that stones have ever been switched. WE DO NOT SWITCH STONES. Measure the stone. You cannot find two stones cut exactly, precisely the same. No two diamonds are alike. The measurements of the stone are listed on the appraisal.
How does someone wear a ring for three years than expect a full refund? His email on October 3, 2013 was a request for an upgrade. He wanted to buy his wife a bigger diamond. Perhaps he found something he liked better somewhere else and now he is making an invalid complaint against Bova Diamonds so that he can get a full refund. He never voiced any complaints to Bova Diamonds, in fact, he just simply wanted an upgrade.
He did not buy a "lemmon". He bought a ring which Mr. ***** wrote in his own words... "Bova representatives warned me that side diamonds would pop out..."
*** ****, Owner Bova Diamonds

Consumer Response
First, I'd like to formally request that this complaint be reopened despite the fact that the deadline to respond lapsed 5 days ago. With the intervening holidays and the craziness of organizing time with two families, I failed to submit a timely response, but this should not be taken as an indication of apathy on my part. I strongly disagree with Bova's characterization of this dispute in their response to my complaint. In light of this, and in the interest of forgiving accidental delay that is all too common around the holidays, the BBB should reopen the matter and consider the following to be a valid response to Bova.

Allegation 3: Bova switched the diamond

I'm starting with the allegation that Bova switched the center stone of my ring because I think clarifying this issue will help to keep the other arguments clearly distinct. ***, writing for Bova, attacks the credibility of the NYC wholesalers who appraised the ring - I admitted to their conflict of interest in my original complaint. However, it is relevant that one of these wholesalers maintained that a switch had occurred even after I assured him I would not be selling the ring. He further invited me to visit an independent appraiser across the street to validate the claim. I did not go to that appraiser, as my wife was nearly crying at this point, but the wholesaler's attempted referral is still relevant: either he was bluffing by sending us to the appraiser, hoping we wouldn't actually go, or he legitimately believed that my diamond had been switched.

Nir claims that Bova, in its years in business, has "never received a complaint that stones have ever been switched." Given his response to my allegation, it seems obvious why this would be the case. No layperson is capable of appraising a ring, and all other appraisers can be dismissed by their presumed conflict of interest. At least in this case, the wholesaler who claimed the cert. did not match had some added credibility for his willingness to defer us to an independent appraiser. Moreover, even on Bova's Yelp page, a previous commenter ("Jaime H.") claims that he had received similar concerns from his own diamond expert, who had pointed out that his cert. was "loose." This certainly belies Bova's claim that this allegation is unprecedented.

Nir brings up an important point in resorting to the measurements contained in my diamond's appraisal. It is interesting that on my appraisal, which was provided by ****, the measurements for the center stone DO NOT even match the measurements contained on the stone's cert. While the appraisal lists the stone as a SI-1 with "good" cut, the certification lists the stone as a SI-2 with "excellent" cut. At best, this is evidence of a careless business that supplied its customer with a useless appraisal. At worst, it is clear support for the argument that **** switched my diamond, or perhaps that it has no idea what diamond it provided me. I have copies of both the appraisal and the certification.

Allegation 1: Bova provided a defective ring

Regarding the problem that the side diamonds continued popping out of the ring with great frequency, Nir seeks to hide behind a claimed industry practice of using a shared-prong system. There's no reason to lend this response any deference whatsoever. While I cannot dispute his claim that shared prongs are a normal arrangement, it is obvious that what IS NOT industry practice is to provide rings that require constant repair. Whether Bova ought to have used a different prong arrangement, or if its shared prongs were simply improperly made, the issue here is obvious from the result: side diamonds continued to pop out at a rate far exceeding what any customer would deem acceptable. If other wholesalers regularly employ the shared-prong arrangement, they must be capable of doing so in a way that prevents diamonds from popping out - something that Bova did not do in this case.

I was told by Bova's employees when I purchased the ring that side diamonds would continue to pop out for a few months after it was first worn, but this is far less that the two-year timeframe in question. Nir claims that continued problems with diamonds popping out can be explained by normal wear and tear from the wearer banging the ring. It bears mentioning that my wife is a teacher, not a rock-climber. The stress she placed on the ring, given her lifestyle, is clearly below average, and so side diamonds should not have continued to pop out after the first few months. Though many of my requests for repair were conducted over the phone, I do have email documentation covering some of these instances, along with a formal complaint to Bova submitted last year requesting that the ring be completely remade by a different metallurgist.

Allegation 2: Bova lied during subsequent buyback negotiations

This is the most clear-cut of all of my complaints, and there is ample email evidence to support it. I have an email from ***** *****, a Bova employee, dated October 7, 2013, with the following explicit language: "Per our conversation, minutes ago, we have agreed to buy back the items bout sic from Bova. The Diamond set in a custom eng ring and a band. We will buy it all back for 2000.00." This was the original agreement, and it says nothing about a deal for $1,500 cash and $500 credit, which Nir references in his response. This is because I was forced to accept this subsequent deal under duress when, after I had already sent my ring to Bova and they had had it for almost two weeks, I was contacted by another of their employees (*****) who refused to honor the previous agreement. This style of negotiation, which is steeped in bad faith practice and gross disingenuousness, is completely unprofessional and unbecoming of a BBB-certified company.

While I did cash the check for $1,500, this does not evince my choice to "accept" that as a negotiated outcome, anymore than anyone can accept negotiated terms with a gun to their head. Bova repeatedly promised me that the $2,000 check was on its way to me, and gave me no indication that it was unsatisfied with the deal until I received the call from *****. I had no idea what to expect from these people at this point, and legitimately feared that if I did not accept the deal imposed on my by her, I might open myself up to having my diamond switched again. BBB-certified companies should value honesty, timeliness, and good-faith dealing. Bova violated all of these values in this instance.


Business Response
Bova Diamonds stands by our original response to Mr. *****'s complaint. He contacted us via an email on October 3, 2013 requesting to upgrade the ring. These complaints were never made known to us until BBB contacted Bova Diamonds. We are appalled that Mr. ***** has gone to such great lengths to slander Bova Diamonds because he did not receive a full refund. It is Bova Diamonds' store policy that we do not give full refunds. Mr. *****'s reference to Jaime H. is not valid because ***** H. was another customer wanting a full refund and then wrote a bad review on Yelp.com because his complaint to BBB was dismissed. Anyone can write a bad review on Yelp and a business cannot dispute it in the manner that they can dispute a complaint with the BBB. Bova Diamonds has been in business for over 15 years and we realize that we will from time to time have a disgruntled customer who does not agree with our refund policy.

07/08/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vendor is over two months late from promised delivery date of Diamond Engagement Ring so I cancelled the order.
I ordered a Diamond engagment ring in person from **** Diamonds on 4/19/13 and made a full payment of $6500 on this date. The salesmans name was ******** ***** and he told me the ring would be shipped to me on 4/24/13 yet after a series of emails the Engagement ring didn't ship until 5/16/13. I sent an email to ******** ***** on 5/15/13 notifying him of my desire to concel my order. Due to the late arrival of the ring I could no longer determine whether or not the ring was real or whether it was the actual ring we agreed upon. I revoked payment through my Credit Card company and on 5/18/13 refused delivary of the ring because I could no longer trust the correct ring was being delivered. On 5/16/13 I received a telephone call from Alexandra an employee at **** diamonds threatenting to pursue legal action if I did not take the ring that still had not been delivered to me. Our conversation ended with me agreeing to receive delivery of the ring and Alexandra agreed to send the ring again on 5/27/13. On 6/14/13 a charge of $6500 appeared on my credit card and when I contacted my credit card company they said the vendor had responded saying they tried to send me the ring and I had refused it, but to this date I still have not received the Engagement ring.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of $6500, however the vendor is unwilling to honor my request even though I was verbally told I had 90 days to receive a full refund, from the date of purchase. Additionally, I would accept shipment of my diamond engagement ring, however I do not trust this vendor will deliver the ring I purchased or the $6500 I gave them. If the vendor does send me the ring I would recommend the Better Business Bureau revoke ****'s certification as this company is not trustworthy and does not deliver their products on an agreed upon timeline.

Business' Initial Response
To whom it May Concern;
In ***** ****'s complaint to BBB he states ... "Vendor is over two months late from
promised delivery date Diamond Engagement Ring so I have cancelled the order."
This is a false statement and **** Diamonds have emails to prove it.
The invoice date was X-XX-XX for a CUSTOM DESIGN ring. There are 28 days from date
of purchase to date of shipment. --- That is 20 BUSINESS DAYS for the completion of a
custom designed piece of jewelry.
On May 15th ***** **** wrote in an email ... "This ring is almost a month late from
original ship date we discussed when I was in Dallas."
It was never promised to be completed "almost a month" earlier. - That would not be
possible because the purchase date was 4-19-13. It took 20 business days from date of
purchase to complete design and shipped out the CUSTOM DESIGN ring on 5-15-13.
If he would have accepted this package, he could have taken the ring to any local jeweler
and they could have professionally determined that the ring we sent was indeed real and
was the ring described on the invoice. All diamonds are graded so that any person in the
diamond industry can identify the stone based on carat size, color of stone and the clarity.
***** **** did speak to our employee, ****** ... "conversation ended with me agreeing
to receive delivery of the ring." When we spoke to him on the phone he said he would
refuse the package yet again because he just wants a refund. We will gladly send the ring
again, however, he needs to accept the package.
There are no refunds or exchanges as printed on ***** ****'s invoice. He states ... "I was
verbally told I had 90 days to receive a full refund, from date of purchase."
This too is a false statement. Our employees would not make such a statement to a
customer. In fact, we have on display in our showroom the Return/ Refund Policy that is
posted so that there is no confusion as to what **** Diamonds policy is; as it is printed
on all invoices.
In ***** ****'s dispute to the credit card company, his statement of dispute claimed ... "I
had purchased a diamond engagement ring on X-XX-XXXX and was told it would ship the
following Wednesday, 4-24-13."
The credit card company decided in our favor after reviewing the emails between *****
**** and ***** *****.
We would like for all of this to come to an end. It is **** Diamonds intentions to send
the package back to ***** **** and be done with this confrontation.
*** ****, Owner of **** Diamonds

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Wholesale, Jewelry Designers, Jewelry Buyers, Diamond Buyers, Jewelry Repair, Jewelers - Retail, Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Diamonds, Jewelry Manufacturers, Diamond Setters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/17/2001Business started: 11/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2001, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nir Sova (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Mitch Rosen (Showroom Manager)
Business Category

Jewelers - Wholesale, Jewelry Designers, Jewelry Buyers, Diamond Buyers, Jewelry Repair, Jewelers - Retail, Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Diamonds, Jewelry Manufacturers, Diamond Setters

Products & Services

Specializing in Bridal & Engagement. Large selection of Certified Loose Diamonds,
fine jewelry, pendants, earrings,diamond bracelets,& Designer watches

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Every piece of jewelry purchased from BOVA is guaranteed for LIFE.(up to .10 carat on individual stones)

Every centerstone purchased from BOVA will keep its value for life towards any trade-in in our stores, any time.

100% cash back within 7 days.

Service Area

Dallas,Texas

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bova Diamonds

2050 N Stemmons Fwy Ste 7729

Dallas, TX 75207-3101

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2050 N Stemmons Fwy Ste 7729 

    Dallas, TX 75207-3101(214) 744-7668

  • 2050 Stemmons Fwy unit 203 

    Dallas, TX 75207

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bova Diamonds is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Wholesale

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.