BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Duff's Gallery of Jewelry

Find a Location

(972) 899-43672550 Cross Timbers Rd Ste 104, Flower MoundTX 75028-2740 Send email to Duff's Gallery of Jewelryhttp://www.duffsjewelry.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Duff's Gallery of Jewelry is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Duff's Gallery of Jewelry's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Duff's Gallery of Jewelry

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Seller refuse to provide a receipt or invoice indicating exact description of purchased Rolex watch.
I purchased item# XXXXXXXXXXXX XXkt WG Rolex watch from Duffs Jewelry through eBay. Before the listing ended I asked return policy, and to include the serial# and model# of the Rolex. When I received the Roles, there was no invoice or receipt sent with the watch. I requested through eBay email several times, and informed them that I needed these information to send off to a Rolex Service Center. It is standard to provide Serial# and Model# as identification to confirm that the sender is sending the actual item. Seller initially brushed off the request, then said that information is not available. When I opened a case/complain through eBay, then the Seller provided the information on the email a month later, after several request. But the nature of my request was a standard receipt/ proof of purchase to show that this watch was actually purchased from a legitimate business. Duffs Jewelry failed to provide my simple request. As a consumer, i believe it is standard to provide a receipt when a legitimate business transaction takes place... more importantly, whether the customers request it or not. whether an item cost .05cents or $3,639. A business transaction should have a proper accountability of sales. Not to mention the integrity of the the item being sold. Because the seller refused to provide a legitimate identification of the Rolex, now there is a question if Duffs Jewelry is in the business of selling counterfeit items. As a consumer, I suspected this because of the lack of effort that **** Jewelry put into providing Customer service. It was a simple request that I believe is standard to just provide an invoice or receipt with proper identification of the goods that was sold. I made it clear that I did not want to return the item until it was properly authenticated by the Rolex Service Center. I make it clear when I initially requested the Serial# and Model# that I needed those information because I was going to send it off for service. That is why I strongly believe that from the beginning, the were stalling. All my email request for over a month is documented through the eBay email traffic. That is also the reason why Duffs Jeweler attempted to settle over the phone when Duffs requested me to call. I did not call for at least two reason. I am deployed military, and do not have the luxury of personal phone calls. My TMobile doesnt work at my location, and most importantly, I want communication documented through the email traffic. My deployment ends in the end of October. My objective is to be able to send this watch to a Rolex Service Center, provided Duffs Jewelry will provide me with a legitimate receipt with the proper Serial and Model#s of the watch I purchased through eBay. If the service Center declares that this watch is not what Duffs claim it to be (authentic), then I would like to be refunded the full price. If it is Authentic as I purchased it to be, then I will keep it with the proper documentation. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a proper receipt or invoice with documentation of the Serial # and Model# of the Rolex with the original purchased date of March 4, 2015, stating the original listing of waranty. Then I will send this off to Rolex Service Center, as originally stated to the seller. If this item is deemed NOT Authentic by the Rolex Service Center, then I would like to receive a refund of the full price, and have eBay reinstate the negative feedback left for this Seller. This seller should be on probation for inappropriate business practice of not providing proof of sale. If the Rolex is Authentic, then there should be no problem. Paying customers should not have to go through this. Again, I cannot stress enough, Proof of sale should be a standard practice whether the sale is .25cents or $3639.98. eBay should also be held accountable. I was informed by eBay that they cannot force sellers to provide proof of sale? eBay condones this type of dishonest practice, therefore not a safe place for consumers.

Business Response
We live by the same policies ebay does. Just like they told the customer, Its not policy to have to have an invoice attached to the watch. She should not have bought the watch online unless she felt comfortable with the info we provided on the description on ebay. I told her to send it back if she was not happy. It was her decision to keep the watch. I would love for her to send it back. I accepted the return on ebay for her to send the watch back. She had 30 days to do it or ebay closed the case in my favor. May 9th was the 30th day, so ebay closed the case in my favor. It was completely her decision to keep the watch.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
See complaint in detail.
In January 2012 I dropped off a Mikomoto pearl necklace and 14 K gold charm bracelet with 4 14K gold charms at ****'s Fine Jewelry Store in Flower Mound Texas. The Pearl necklace needed a new clasp, and I wanted the four charms soldered onto the bracelet. I was quoted a price @75.00 to fix both pieces.

Several weeks went by and I had not received a phone call from ****'s. I finally contacted them and was told the repairs were finished and the cost was $200.00. I was having some financial difficulties and I was not able to justify the $200.00 repair fee. In the month of July I went to ****'s to pick up my jewelry and I was told that the store had a break in and all the merchandise that was stored in the vault/safe was stolen, including my two pieces of jewelry.

I was highly upset since the pearl necklace was a college graduation gift from my two deceased parents. The charm bracelet was started some 20 years ago and I had acquired about 35 charms from around the world. Both pieces were very sentimental to me and non replaceable.

I was told that an insurance claim was filed. I went into the store to discuss my claim and was told that I had to pick out jewelry from ****'s in the amount that was offered. I asked about a cash settlement and they said no. I had no other option at that time so I pick out a pearl necklace ( but not a MIKOMOTO) and some other trinkets for my daughters and husband.

I thought if I purchased a diamond I could sell it and get the much wanted cash.

I ended up purchasing a 1 carat diamond for $3,000.00. I also asked for an appraisal of this particular diamond as well. The appraisal came in at 4,000.00. I then took the diamond to other diamond dealers and was told my diamond was worth @900.00!!!

Also I soon learned that a co worker a had jewelry in the safe and she got a CASH settlement! I immediately went back to Duffs and tried to "sell back" the diamond. I was told it was a poor quality diamond and they don't sell or work with such. I then told them it was their diamond!!

I was told that they could sell the diamond for me and I would receive cash when the sale went through!

That was 11 months ago. No sale and promises!!!

My diamond sits in the vault.

I want the original price I paid for the diamond.

Desired Settlement
$3000. - value of diamond.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/ Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@yahoo.com
first of all, the ownership at duffs has change in feb of 2013. we are taking initiative to help the previous owners to resolve issues with robbery still at this point. needless to say we have cleared up all but one case still on file. I have called the previous owners on this case, and mr. ******* signed an insurance release form from the robbery. from what I was told, all customers had the option of cash or store credit. I was not part off the company at that time so I can't vouch for that. i believe the cash offer was lower than the store credit offer. The cash offers came straight from jewelers mutual issuance. we do still have the diamond, but with the supply and demand market of diamond sales, it has taken longer than expected to sale the diamond. I will use a car for example. If you buy a new car and use it for 4 months, then go try to trade it in, your offer will not be what you paid for it. the diamond market is very similar. Mr. ******* is more than happy to come pick up his diamond, and try to sell it again on his own. maybe he will have better luck on selling it sooner than I can. we no longer take consignment jewelry from customers, due to the liability. which is exactly what Mr. ******* diamond is. (a consignment piece, with no guarantee to sale.) we are truly sorry about the misunderstanding. please fell free to call any time
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Thanks, ******* ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Designers, Diamond Buyers, Appraisal - Jewelry, Watches - Service & Repair, Jewelry Repair, Watches - Dealers, Gold Buyers, Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Diamonds, Coin Dealers, Supplies, Diamond Setters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/04/2008Business started: 06/01/1996Business started locally: 05/01/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brandon Alford (Owner/President)
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Designers, Diamond Buyers, Appraisal - Jewelry, Watches - Service & Repair, Jewelry Repair, Watches - Dealers, Gold Buyers, Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Diamonds, Coin Dealers, Supplies, Diamond Setters

Products & Services

This company offers retail, custom design center, estate jewelry and gold exchange.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Duff's Gallery of Jewelry

2550 Cross Timbers Rd Ste 104

Flower Mound, TX 75028-2740

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2550 Cross Timbers Rd Ste 104 

    Flower Mound, TX 75028-2740(972) 899-4367

  • 800 Lake Heights Ct 

    Lewisville, TX 75077-1808(972) 899-9716

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Duff's Gallery of Jewelry is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.