BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2003

Diamond Doctor

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 490-9320Fax: (972) 490-9771View Additional Phone Numbers8127 Preston Rd, DallasTX 75225-6306 Send email to Diamond Doctor

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2003

BBB has determined that Diamond Doctor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Diamond Doctor's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Diamond Doctor

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I bought a diamond at a supposed great DEAL. I went on the salespersons word.
I bought a diamond for XXXXX plus the setting. The store appraised it for XXXXX.00 dollars . They say they sell diamonds at wholesale to the public and I was happy. Then i went and had it appraised at 5 diamond dealers and they all said its worth 7000.00 only. CAN you cay cost plus 400%.
I asked for my money back and was told i could trade it in for something of the same value. HOW DOES THAT HELP ME?

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of XXXXX.00 I am fair they can re sell the ring for XXXXX t osomeone else.


Business' Initial Response
As you know by our near perfect record with the BBB we take all customer issue seriously and address complaints when they occur and mostly before they reach the BBB. We have been BBB accredited with a perfect rating for the past 10 years and in that period of time we have had only 2 complaints and in both cases we very quick to respond and remedy the situation in the fairest possible manner. It is always our intention to abide by and go above and beyond the BBB standards of fair and ethical business practices.
It is with these practices that we forged our company policies. They are amongst the most judicious and fairest in the jewelry industry to date. I have attached a copy of the policies for you.
We really went out of our way for this client. He place the order 06/11/2011, we allowed him to pay on installments since he knew an employee of the company. The item was eventually picked up by the Client on 06/12/2012, 12 months later. Our 25 day policy allows a client more than enough time to have a diamond independenly appraised. The client is not trying to return the ring 9 months after that in March 2013. We are sorry his proposed engagement didn't work out but he is past our money back guarantee period.
For clients who find themselves in a situation that is past our return policy, they have the option to trade in any time in the future for equal or greater value (we are the only company I know of that does this). Sometimes we will have the client consign the ring to us and we will try selling it for them, this can take some time. DIAMOND DOCTPR HAS NO CONTRACTUAL OBLIGATION TO REPURCHASE THE RING.
Our appraisal is an estimated RETAIL value for their insurance purposes; this is indicated on the appraisal. I have attached a copy of the appraisal for you.
The client alleges that he had it appraised at 5 diamond dealers who said it was worth only $7000.We requested to see these in writing but they have not been produced.
Diamond Doctor has also asked that the client attempt to purchase a diamond of the same quality from these same "dealers" , he would find that indeed he did pay a very fair price on his diamond from the Diamond Doctor.
Dealers attempt to as little as possible because that is how they make their money. This is a cash price they were willing to pay on a DISTRESSED ASSET sale which is vastly different to a wholesale price. I have attached a list of similar diamonds from an international recognized diamond wholesale site that show similar wholesale priced diamonds that any of these dealers would need to pay in the wholesale market for the same diamond. You will see they are similar to what this client paid Diamond Doctor, only they don't offer layaway plans.
Their business model is to buy distressed product at the lowest possible price.
We have also recommended 2 reputable diamond dealers to the client who believe would offer him fair value and would like to see those in writing also.
Diamond Doctor can no longer do business with this client. He has threatened me and my staff and my business himself and through his associates. He has defamed and harassed us. This that is why this matter has been turned over to our attorneys and the Dallas Police department.
I do recommend that he try the reputable dealers that we had suggested.

****** ******.

Business' Final Response
see attachment

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/15/2003Business started: 08/01/2003
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Blank (President)Ms. Nicole Becker (COO)
Related Businesses
Diamond Consortium, Inc - 8127 Preston Rd, Dallas, TX
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Diamond Doctor

8127 Preston Rd

Dallas, TX 75225-6306

To | From


2 Locations

  • 13355 Noel Rd Ste 375 

    Dallas, TX 75240-6889(972) 490-9320

  • 8127 Preston Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75225-6306

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Diamond Doctor is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 387-9902

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.