BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

Dallas Cowboys Pro Shops, LP

Phone: (877) 632-2697

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues9
Problems with Product / Service21
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints37

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (37)BBB Closure Definitions
03/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised product not available

Complaint: Company sent exclusive True Blue Club member "pre-sale" deals via e-mail. Items ordered upon receipt of e-mail subsequently not available.
On 2/13/13 at approximately 11 a.m. MST I received an e-mail from the Dallas Cowboys Pro Shop inviting me, as a True Blue Club member, to pre-shop their clearance sales before the public. I was sitting at my PC at the time the e-mail came in and immediately began shopping with my final order submitted at approximately 11:20 via my VISA debit card. My total came to $300.69 with a savings of over $800 off the original price. I received a confirmation e-mail at 11:29 that my order had been processed, Order Number: IOXXXXXXX. "Thank you for your order, ******! Your order has been processed. An email with your tracking information will be sent to you when your order ships.
Order Summary:
Name Sku Qty Discount Price
Dallas Cowboys PINK 1st Round Pick Long Sleeve T-Shirt Navy XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $29.62 $39.50
Dallas Cowboys PINK 60 3/4 Sleeve Sleep Shirt Grey/Navy XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXX_083 1 $24.38 $32.50
Dallas Cowboys PINK Fur Lined Full Zip Hoody XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $73.49 $97.99
Dallas Cowboys Screen Pass Satin Jacket Size XL XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $120.00 $160.00
Dallas Cowboys Lady Love Tank White S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $18.74 $24.99
Dallas Cowboys Off The Edge T-Shirt S Navy XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $14.99 $19.99
Dallas Cowboys Mary Jane Jacket M Navy XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $37.49 $49.99
Dallas Cowboys Womens Quilt Jacket White S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $67.49 $89.99
Dallas Cowboys Toddler Jigsaw Football Uniform 3T Navy XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $22.49 $29.99
Dallas Cowboys Nike NFL Pro Bra Navy XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $26.24 $34.99
Dallas Cowboys Nike Womens Endzone Tank Navy XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $22.49 $29.99
Dallas Cowboys Nike Football Style Top White XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXX_083 1 $33.74 $44.99
Dallas Cowboys Womens Monarch Long Sleeve Jersey Tee Navy/Grey S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 2 $29.99 $39.99
Dallas Cowboys Womens Gameday Thermal Navy M XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $28.49 $37.99
Dallas Cowboys Go Joe Halter Top Grey S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $23.99 $31.99
Dallas Cowboys Ladies New Castle Thermal Navy S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $29.99 $39.99
Dallas Cowboys Nike Womens Fan Culture Racer Tank Navy M XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $26.24 $34.99
Dallas Cowboys Womens Love It Slub Tee Navy S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $22.49 $29.99
Dallas Cowboys Nike Womens Tri Team Dedication T-Shirt Navy XS XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $26.24 $34.99
Dallas Cowboys New Era Coaster Clash 39Thirty White S/M XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXX_083 3 $18.74 $24.99
Dallas Cowboys Tessie Yoga Pant Grey S XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $29.99 $39.99
DALLAS COWBOYS TODDLER REPLICA JERSEY- ROMO 2T NAVY XXXXXXXXX_XXXXXXXX_082 1 $29.99 $39.99

Subtotal $275.00
Shipping $5.99
Tax $19.70
Discount $0.00

Total $300.69

Purchase Summary

Order Date February 13, 2013
Ship To ****** ****** Bill To ****** ******
**********************************************
On 2/20/13 at 9:31 and 9:34 a.m. I received two e-mails notifying me that seven of the items I ordered were sold out, $580.29, worth of items, that had supposedly already been processed.

The explanation: ***********, Retail Customer Service Representative, Dallas Cowboys Merchandising:

"We do apologize for any inconvenience and are currently in the process of implementing a new system to account for items on an individual basis to prevent these cancellations in the future."

I believe this advertising to be fraudulent and misleading. My understanding was that being a True Blue Fan Club member I was afforded exclusive specials which I attempted to utilize for the first time since enrolling in the Club. Receiving the notice that my order could not be filled a week later is suspicious and unethical.

Business' Initial Response
We do apologize that 3 hats 4 tee shirts and a jacket were cancelled off the order due to out of stock. Our system does work on a first come first serve basis and we try to make sure our inventory is updated when these sales go on but unfortunately the volume of orders being processed was higher than what our system could handle at the time. Customer purchased items at 75% discount on clearance items and unfortunately we are not able to offer that same discount on regular priced items. Our policy does state: The Official Shop of the Dallas Cowboys reserves the right to cancel either portions of your order or your order in its entirety based on item availability. And also, In the event your order is cancelled, we will send you a cancellation notice regarding your order via email. You will not be charged for any cancelled products on your order.
IF the customer would like i can offer the same discount on items currently on clearance but would have be done within 14 days (3/8/13)of this offer if not it will be voided. If she owuld call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: I ordered a hat from dallascowboys.com and I call and asked if it was going to be delivered before a certin date and the guy on the phone told me yes
I still havent recieved the product and the only reason I even ordered from the is because they assured me I was going to recieve it before the game . I called on 1/4/13 11 days later and talked with the customer service department . I told the guy I wasnt satisfied and I would never use them to order products again and he replyed "OK".

Business' Initial Response
I would like to apologize for teh delay in recieveing your product as well as the delayed response. The orderis XXXXXXX and it does show that tracking # 1Z513R0VYNXXXXXXXX was delivered to the address on 1/04/2013. I have called the customer concerning this matter and offered a replacement or a credit. Customer will be letting me know what item he would like to replace this lost item with. Call ended with a satified customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I ordered 15 products and only 10 arrived. Their website clearly said they were in stock when they were not.
I ordered 15 products and only 10 arrived. Their website clearly said they were in stock when they were not. I even received a tracking email that listed all my items as shipped. When they showed up 5 items were missing. I was not charged for them. No explanation was ever given as to where my items were. The items were falsely advertised as in stock and had they not been in stock I would have ordered other items. Now they say they do not have these products and will not offer me a discount on replacement products. Their introductory voicemail claims they offer excellent customer service. Selling things that they don't have an offering no solution is anything but excellent.

Business' Initial Response
The customer ordered XXXXXXX during our 50% off entire website sale. I apologize the customer was not given an explanation prior to the items shipping that the items were not being shipped or out of stock. We did however let customers know in our verbiage that it was while supplies last. I am not able to honor 50% coupon but can offer a 20% discount and free expedite shipping on his next order. I will not the order mentioned in this response so whomever he talks to is able to process his order accordingly. Also would like to apologies to the customer for the level of service they recieved concerning this order.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: every **** year I have to complain to get something done about my membership..I cant loginto the true blue club
I have had to file a cplaint for the last four years to get someone to do anything about my membership..I am once again doing it. I can not loginto the tru blue club and I can not renew my membership. I get all the emails and special promotions from the true blue club, but I can not login and buy anything online. I have to jump through hoops to this and I am sick and tired of it.

Business' Initial Response
After reseraching customers account it shows that he does have a membership and for what ever reason not able to renew. I looked for his order history and it seem that he has come through as a guest suer reason for not being able to access his account history. I have talked to the customer explained and apologized for the issue he has been having. I will be renewing his membership at no cost to him and also setting him up in our Fan CLub members only website. This inforamtion was also explained to him. CUstomer did offer to pay for the membership but due to the issue he has been having we will process at no cost to him. We do apologize for all the issues he has had in the past. I did ask the cusotmer if he didnt get a membership card in the mail within 10 nbusiness days to please call me and gave him my direct number.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 6
10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Order listed as "not found" on website, I'm being charged despite attempts to cancel
I placed an order for a custom jersey for my dad's birthday on the evening of July 31st, 2013 (according to the email I received re: the order and the phone call with the Shop, it went through at almost 1am on August 1st). The site stated no changes could be made to the order once it had been processed, and that I would receive confirmation and be able to view my order on the website. When I received an email confirmation of my order I went back to the site to confirm it had gone through and ensure I'd be able to track the order progress. I entered the order number and received a message that the order "was not found." I tried entering the number every way I could: with the "IO" and without, with a space between the "IO" and the order number, while logged in to my account and while logged out, and every time it said the order was not found. I attempted to call the site and the office was closed. I attempted to do a Live Chat and no agents were online. I sent several email messages, all indicating that I could not confirm my order or even see that it had gone through, and needed verification. I finally checked my financial institution, which listed the sale transaction as "Pending" (which to me meant the order had not yet been processed and my funds were not yet charged). This morning (August 5, a full 4 days after the order was placed) I received a call from the Cowboys Shop indicating the order *had* gone through and had been started "as soon as it went through" (which, according to the representative I spoke to, would have been around 6am on August 1st). I explained what had happened and, after first having it suggested that I must have entered the number wrong, was told there was nothing they could do, since they had "started creating the jersey" I could not cancel and would be charged. I explained that I had no way of knowing they had started the order because, according to their site, there *was* no order. After complaining to two people (a customer service rep, and her manager) I was told that not only could I not cancel the order (that apparently hasn't even been finished yet) but even if it was refused at delivery I could not receive a refund.

I understand that the customer service rep and supervisor/manager could only tell me what they had been told; however, this to me is just bad business and a poor handling of a situation that was totally out of my hands. With no way to confirm the order, contact their business, or otherwise have any way of even knowing the order had gone through, I'm not stuck with a purchase that I expressed dissatisfaction with. While I have *no* complaint against the two women I dealt with (I want to emphasize that *their* handling of the situation was professional and as courteous as possible for having to deliver such bad news), I *do* have a major complaint against the business practice of the Dallas Cowboys Shop. If I as a consumer make every good faith effort to contact them, confirm my order, etc., I should expect the same in return. That I was unable to contact anyone for four days, and only *after* my order was beyond the point of no return did someone contact me, is unacceptable. Further, while the website indicates it can take "10 days for the order to process" I was told that apparently the order had not only been processed but had started to be manufactured bright and early the same day, according to the company's timeline, I had placed the order? I find this hard to believe, and, further, consider it deceptive service that only they can confirm anything about this order. I should have had the opportunity to speak with someone or have my multiple messages heard before the order was processed. I'm now going to be charged +$150 for an order I had no way of confirming before hand (and despite the fact that the order hasn't shipped or been finished, and my account hasn't been charged, they're going to finish it anyway and charge me anyway).

Business' Initial Response
The order placed was XXXXXXX. We did recieve an email on 8/5 and an agent did call the customer to let her know that the order was placed but due to her coming in as a guest user our system does not allow access back into the order history for privacy purposes. When customer checked out that was the option that was chosen. As for the item ordered we have authorized the order but do not cahrge until the order has shipped. The item ordered was for a customized/personlized jersey. We do have a disclaimer when ordering this item written in red lettering:Please make sure that the NAME - NUMBER - SIZE - COLOR is correct before the order is submitted. ABSOLUTELY NO changes can be made to the order after it is submitted.

Note: Production time for a custom jersey can take up to 10 days to produce not including holidays or weekends. Any rush or overnight shipping requests will be assigned to the order once your jersey is produced.

The agent who was assigned the email called and spoke to the customer that no changes could be made and that the order was being processed. The customer wanted the order cancelled and the agent let the customer know that we are not able to stop the request as the order was placed on 8/1 and the item was already assigned to a job with our printing company. Customer asked to speak to a supervisor and which at the time was told the same thing customer did tell them that she would file a grieveance but appreciated her trying to assist.

We do apologize but the order is not able to be cancelled but can offer the customer a 15% discount on the item. Also the order is scheduled to be shipped out of our facility by/before the end of the week.

Business' Final Response
I do apologize I didn't include we have reserached or email history and the 1st time we recieved an email from the customer was on 8/5/13 at 4:07AM. We also checked our voicemail history and there was not message left in our voicemail box. The other last thing we checked was with our 3rd party provider that takes our calls during the hours of 5:30PM to 8AM the next day and they have no history of calls being made to them. Our live chat is only vailable during the hours of 8AM -5:30PM CST when we have our core team available.

Consumer Response
I would like someone from the Dallas Cowboys Shop to get in touch with me; the resolution for this issue was that they offered me a 15% discount on the item. While the item has been received by the gift recipient, I have heard nothing about this discount having been applied, and when I check the balance on the account used to make the purchase it still shows $155.98, which was the full purchase price for the item; therefore, no discount has yet been applied.

Also in response to the information on the research done regarding my complaint: there was no option to leave a voice mail--when the automated system answered, it indicated that the office was closed, prompted me to call back during business hours, then disconnected my call. Regarding the research for the "other calls" the DC representative mentioned, in my initial complaint I indicated one call and several emails: I sent an email message via the Live Chat prompt when it told me nobody was available, an email via the Better Business Bureau, and an email from my personal email address.

Again, I would like someone from the Dallas Cowboys Pro Shop to contact me regarding the 15% discount promised as resolution for this issue.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

01/29/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: Promised 3-5 days shipping, It's been 14 days still no product
I call customer service twice,I was giving two different ship dates. The second customer service personnel was rude, very arrogant, and very unprofessional. He also stated the website explained the shipment will be delayed up to 14 days due to holidays. This information was not available when I purchase the product online. The receipt also had the tracking link attached to it which didn't work as if they knew my product will ship to me very late. Very disappointed with the service I received.

Business' Initial Response
I do apologize for the level of service given. OUr website does not promise that product will deliver in certain amount of days. The order was placed on 12/23 we did have it posted on our website that UPS and our facility will be closed 12/24 & 12/25. The order did ship out of our facility via UPS on 12/27 and was delivered via USPS and the product shows being delivered on 01/04/2013. The delay was due to the holidays and UPS and USPS delivery/holiday schedule. If the customer has not recieved the item that shows delivered on 1/4/2013 please let me know right away so that I can place a tracer/claim with UPS/USPS.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The item was received on January fourth, but your website did state 3 to 5 days. No where on the webpage it stated you would be closed on the 12/24. The delivery is not promise but your estimated time of 3- 5 days should have been honor as it's stated below.

"Shipping occurs Monday through Friday, excluding nationally recognized holidays. No shipping occurs on Saturday or Sunday. The Dallas Cowboys do not offer Saturday or Sunday delivery. Orders are shipped via UPS (excluding APO's and FPO's, which are shipped via the USPS - United States Postal Service). All orders being shipped to APO's, FPO's, or Rural Routes cannot be shipped with any service other than 4 to 5 day or ground delivery. All orders shipped with UPS will be assigned a tracking number and can be easily tracked online UPS. The Dallas Cowboys shall not be liable for loss, damage or delay caused by Acts of God, perils of the air, authority of law, riots, strikes, civil commotions, or hazards or dangers incident to a state of war. Please allow 24-48 hours for processing and an estimated 3-5 business days for shipments to arrive."

Your customer service is another issue, I was not treated as customer even though I gave your employee the utmost respect, asking only when should I expect delivery of my package.

The two complaints together should be enough to honor a full refund to an unsatisfied customer due to your logistics and customer services departments.

Business' Final Response
I apologize but we will not be able to process a full refund to the customer. He did quote our website" Please allow 24-48 hours for processing and an estimated 3-5 business days for shipments to arrive" The information does state its estimated not guaranteed. As stated we do apologize but we will not be able to process a full refund for the order as the customer as requested.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
04/13/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
04/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping, Clothing - Retail

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.