BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2013

Bike Island

Phone: (972) 272-3627

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/21/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bike replace damaged bike seat.
Box was delivered with no damage. Opened box and found seat was loose and had caused damage to bike, minor scratches, and had sustained three tears in the seat cover. My problem is contrary to advertising they will not reply to my emails. I simply want to know if they will replace seat. I sent photos of seat to them. I just want an answer.

Desired Settlement
answer my emails.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****
Contact Email: ****************@aol.com
We have been having trouble with our email server but have now responded to Daniels issue and a new saddle was shipped out today.


Consumer Response
I received a new seat quickly and am 100% happy. ****

06/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a sevearly damaged bike that had a shock fork bent to point i could use it returned for a refund and haven't heard one thing from seller.
I ordered a bike online from bikeisland received the product Monday June XX XXXX witch in case had a bent fork witch was off over an inch contacted seller he tried to offer me another fork after I said I knew how to change it I lost contact.I filed dispute through Paypal to finally heard something requesting me to send the bike back for a refund I send it back do not here from him after numoris emails now I opened a full esqulated case with Paypaland possibly get a lawyer.I've tried to contact the seller buy phone getting only a machine telling me to email him.

Desired Settlement
my full refund of 379.00 due to I returned the bike

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******, Manager
Contact Email: ****************@aol.com
We shipped a brand new bike to ****, unfortunately the bike was damaged during shipping. We apologized on behalf of UPS and promptly agreed to send a prepaid shipping label to return the bike for a full refund or replace the damaged parts. At the end of the day he agreed to us shipping replacement parts. Before we returned to work he emailed and threatened to open a paypal case so I figured it was in our best interest to get the bike back, issue a full refund and start over if he wanted another bike form us. We notified **** to send the bike back with the prepaid shipping label we sent and to let us know when the bike was on the way back to us. **** notified us that the bike was dropped off but UPS tracking did not show any movement at that time. The next day he emailed and paypal notified us that **** opened a claim with paypal so paypal placed a hold on the funds. That night he escalated the claim to a case and when I came in he had emailed and said the bike has been moving for 2 days. Once I was able to confirm the bike was on the way back I agreed for paypal issue the refund. However since there was a case open, paypal held the funds to wait until we received the product back, which I was notified of today. It is scheduled to be here on Monday June 22, 2015 however I have already contacted paypal and told them that our product is back and to refund ****. So at this point **** has been refunded in full for the damaged bicycle and we should have our bike back Monday. I have attached the email thread and the transaction details showing that he has received a refund from us. This is a problem that happens from time to time since we have no control over how UPS or the Postal service handle our products but we always work it out with our customers but it does require a bit of patience because it takes a little time to communicate and solve the issue. We do not use our phone to handle our customers problems because we use our email to keep record of correspondence and send and receive pictures and links to help the customer. At this time everything has been resolved on my end.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
pay pal helped to receive my refund every thing is good on my end thanks ****

05/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product received was damaged and not in mint condition. tried contacting the company multiple times with no response.
Order #XXXXXX

I place my order 4 /27 /15, it was shipped the very next day and I received it on 5/5/15. So the shipping was fast, however when I opened up the box I notice my bike was not purely white it had what appeared to be blue splattered paint on it and some yellow paint as well. Also the white paint on the fork had been chipped and I could see the primer paint already. I immediately called the company and left a voicemail. When I got no response I called the next day twice and left a message. I then sent an email out as well. I have not received call back no reply from my email and am waiting the 3 to 5 business days until I file a report with my credit card company. they've had over 48 hours to reply, and with any reputable company would have done so already. I should have known a beach bike for so cheap was that way for a reason. I do not recommend this company in the world ever buy from them again. I just hope my credit card company refunds the money that I am owed for a damaged product.

Desired Settlement
I would either like a refund for the bike or at least a partial refund so I could have the damage repaired. upon talking to a local bike company they told me the repair cost to fix the paint and the chipped paint would cost $75.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@aol.com
This customer is confused. He did not purchase a bicycle from my company, Bike Island. In addition, we never received a phone call from anyone with this namke or phone number and we never received an email from this email address:**************@Gmail.com.
Let me be perfectly clear...Bike Island has never had a transaction with this individual.
I understand that mistakes happen but I'd like this false complaint completely erased from my BBB account and I hope he finds satisfaction from the company that sold him his bike.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping, Bicycle Racks & Security Systems, Bicycle - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.