BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2013

Consumer Shield, Inc.

(214) 414-2857View Additional Phone Numbers6401 Eldorado Pkwy STE 300, McKinneyTX 75070-6199 Send email to Consumer Shield, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2013

BBB has determined that Consumer Shield, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Consumer Shield, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Consumer Shield, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was solicited by email. I called to inquire about the product first asking how they got my contact information. The call was not handled professionally and has made me question its legiyimacy in its entirety as the business seemingly does not exist according to the BBB database.

Desired Settlement
Is this a legitimate business and if so, do they have the right to solicit? How large is the corporation? How can I complain about the individual with whom I spoke, Kim Goldman. If yhis individual has a superior, the supervisor should be informed of her demeanor. How do I prevent any future problems/solicitations from that individual? The conversation was not only questionable by essence, but seemingly escalated negatively as I asked what I consider to be legitimate questions.

Business' Initial Response
I received a message on my voicemail from her on January 16, 2013 asking me to call her back. I returned the phone call, and as I introduced myself she asked how I had gotten her email address. I explained that maybe at one time she had filled out information online in regards to health insurance- she said she had indeed done so about a year ago. I told her that the information is sent to agents like me and that periodically I send an email to see if you are still in need of health insurance. All our emails have an unsubscribe link in them, and we honor all verbal unsubscribe requests.

I can't answer her other question about why we are not listed in the BBB database. My guess is that there are a lot of small companies not listed, and we are indeed small, only 2 agents.

She wanted to know about what I was
offering, and I started doing my Agent due diligence. I asked her if she currently had health insurance in place, she said she did but it was too expensive. I asked about her health, and she disclosed certain pre-existing conditions. I explained that she needed to keep her current coverage, because most plans I offer are not full major medical but a limited health plan. Full plans still underwrite for health conditions, at least for the rest of 2013. A limited plan would not give her the adequate coverage that she needed, and she could be at risk of losing her major medical. I was giving her advice that I would give my own mother, but she thought that meant I didn't want to help her. Nothing could be further from the truth: If someone has a more comprehensive plan and has health issues, I ALWAYS advise them to keep it. I am required to do so, but a lot of unscrupulous agents will not tell the truth, just to get a sale. Again, that is NOT what I do.

She was very upset, and said that was not my decision to make. I explained to her that as an agent with expertise in this field it is my obligation to explain if they should keep what they have or go with something else; she kept arguing and started raising her voice.

I disagree with her that the conversation turned negative when she started asking "legitimate" questions: She was angry right from the start, seemingly just because we emailed her, and the conversation seemed to spiral downward the whole time. I still need to get her email address so we can remove it from our list: She wouldn't give it to me.

We are not a large corporation, I am an independent agent and we have one other agent, that is all. I have been in this business for many years, and have a lot of very happy customers. There is no one else to complain to in our organization. I always try to help and be courteous to everyone I talk to, and I would hope the party on the other line would extend me the same courtesy.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This woman is a liar. If she in fact solicited me an email, she would have had access to my email address, correct? I inquired about health insurance much longer back than a year ago and deeply resent being contacted now rather than then. THERE WAS NO DISCUSSION OF ANY PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS AS I HAVE NONE. I did share I was insured HOWEVER I HAD A $10,000 DEDUCTABLE, HOWEVER POLICY, It was at that point she simply stated that I keep the coverage I have. No explanation; no other options period. SHE SOLICITED ME because of a dated inquiry and yet offered no viable options to insure me upon contact. Why would a professional be doing busines using only a cell phone? That in itself is ludicrous and should in fact serve as direct evidence of questionable "professionalis". The only acuracy in her reply is that I stated I deeply resented eer email solicitaion in the first place and I did share that with her. Resentful and annoyed, you bet. Making an offer for a rediculously low premium policy and than not provding details should serve as evidence in itself that this business person may not be legitimate. I doubt the policy she offered even exists at all.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/17/2013Business started: 03/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 252-3439
http://www.tdi.texas.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2009, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Rothrock (CEO)
Business Category

Insurance Services

Industry Tips
Automobile Insurance
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Tips on Purchasing Identity Theft Insurance
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Consumer Shield, Inc.

6401 Eldorado Pkwy STE 300

McKinney, TX 75070-6199

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6401 Eldorado Pkwy STE 300 

    McKinney, TX 75070-6199

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Consumer Shield, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 816-5282
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.