BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Careington Benefit Solutions

(888) 585-89797400 Gaylord Pkwy, FriscoTX 75034-9463http://www.careingtonbenefitsolutions.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Careington Benefit Solutions is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Careington Benefit Solutions' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Careington Benefit Solutions

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid in Advance for Discounts Never Received
On 8/6/2014, Careington International debited my bank account for $69.95. On 9/4/2014, I had an appointment with an In-Network Provider, listed on the Careington website. When I arrived for my appointment, the receptionist called Careington to verify the program discounts. The agent informed her that they had no record of me. I had to call on my own cell phone and was told the same thing. After arguing with the agent about my membership for several minutes, reminding her several times that Careington had debited my bank account less than a month ago, she "found" my account. She then proceeded to tell me that the provider I had chosen was not "in-network," when, in fact, it was. And despite the receptionist agreed they took Careington, the agent on the phone continued to deny my coverage. I then told her, "Fine, if you will not provide my discount, cancel my membership and refund the charges from my bank account."
Apparently, my request was not honored because when I called the following week to verify cancellation, I was told that I was "past the 30-day refund policy." This is wrong because when I had initially requested cancellation, my request was ignored.
I am currently disabled and cannot afford to have money taken from my account for nothing. I find Careington's actions (or inaction, whatever the case), to be breach of contract, hence, there is no contract to be upheld and my money should be refunded. I have repeatedly requested cancellation due to their non-performance, yet I am continually told I had 30 days in which to cancel, which I did, but they are ignoring the facts. I have not been allowed to take advantage of my discount benefits because of their on-going excuses & lies and should therefore be refunded the membership amount. They did not perform their end of the contract, hence, any contract between us is null and void and my money should be returned, otherwise, they have acted fraudulently.

Apparently, my health care plan covered my expenses last year as well, so I am seeking recovery of two (2) years payments. In August of 2013, they charged my bank account for the same services. I was unaware that I received NO discount from them until the day of this fiasco.

Desired Settlement
Refund of monies paid but no delivery of promised discounts.

Business Response
October 24, 2014

BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc
**** *** Street, Ste ****
Dallas, TX XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
Mr. ***** *******


Mr. **********

We received written correspondence from the Better Business Bureau regarding a complaint filed by Mr. *******.

Careington operates discount health care programs. Mr. ******* purchased a discount dental and vision plan on date. The plan provides members access to discounts at participating providers.

After reviewing the call we received from the office of a participating vision provider, there was initially some confusion by the vision office regarding the information needed to verify that Mr. ******* had an active discount plan. The Careington member service representative addressed that issue and confirmed Mr. *******'s membership in the discount plan.

We attempted to reach Mr. ******* by phone several times but were unable to do so. Nevertheless, in an effort to respond to Mr. *******'s concerns, we refunded Mr. ******* one year of membership charges. The refund of $69.95 was returned to his original form of payment on October 10, 2014.

Careington appreciates the opportunity to bring this matter to resolution. If you have any questions or need additional information please feel free to contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Sincerely,


**** ** ******
AVP of Compliance and Fulfillment
Careington International Corporation



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received a call from them, only correspondence via E-mail requiring me to create an online account to receive their message. I feel this to be unnecessary and extreme.

They make it sound as if there was no real problem when there actually was. "Some confusion" is an understatement. I also requested FULL refund but they chose to only give 1/2 of what I paid. Carrington never provided me with the discounts they supposedly provide. Apparently previous benefits were completely covered by my Insurance provider

I am NOT satisfied because I paid for two years, two payments equaling $139.90 and received nothing but a headache. I would like this to go on record as such. They did, however, refund $69.95 but that was only for this year and 1/2 of what I had paid.

Final Business Response
November 23, 2014

BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc
**** *** Street, Ste ****
Dallas, TX XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
Mr. ***** *******


Mr. **********

It is regrettable that Mr. ******* was dissatisfied with his purchase of the discount plan operated by Careington. He has rebuffed all efforts by Careington to communicate with him directly in this matter, even after we refunded him a year's membership fees of $69.95. Mr. ******* had access to discounts throughout his membership and benefitted from his purchase of the plan, as evidenced by his recent utilization on September 4, 2014.

Careington prides itself on providing a valuable product and excellent customer service. In an effort to bring this matter to an amicable resolution, we have decided to refund Mr. ******* an additional $69.95. The refund check will be mailed out today, November 13, 2014.

Careington has now refunded Mr. ******* two years of fees in the full amount of $139.90. We hope this is satisfactory to Mr. *******. We also welcome any additional inquiries in this matter.



Sincerely,


**** K. ******
AVP of Compliance and Fulfillment
Careington International Corporation



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Contrary to what the rep stated, I did not benefit from membership. I have not received any discounts from Careington. The date in question was the date I encountered the problems prompting me to request cancellation and refund. They sure have a strange point of view of the circumstances. My attempts to utilize these benefits failed, which is why I opened this claim in the first place.

Concerning their "attempts to contact me," this has been through cryptic emails directing me to set up an account in order to read their communication. I do not have time for games. That said, the company has refunded my purchase price, but it should not have been such an undertaking.

I appreciate the BBB's intervention on this issue and consider the matter closed.

12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have not refunded my $75.
I enrolled in Careington Dental 500 Plan with the understand that if I was not satisfied there would be a refund if I withdrew within 30 days. I cancelled this service but they will not send my refund my money.

Desired Settlement
A refund of $75.

Business Response
December 1, 2014

BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX XXXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
Ms. ***** ****


Mr. Stallings,

We received written correspondence from the BBB regarding a complaint filed by Ms. ***** ****.

Careington operates discount health care programs. We also contract to provide discount health care services to third-party groups that in turn offer the discount health care programs to consumers.

Ms. ***** **** purchased a discount dental plan through a third party, Qualbe, with an annual billing of membership charges. The discount plan remained in effect until November 12, 2014 when the member requested the plan cancelled. Our terms and conditions allow members to cancel at anytime and request in writing a refund within 30 days of being charged on renewals.

We reviewed the communication with Ms. **** and we have no record of informing the member she was not due a refund. Ms. **** was refunded $75.00 on November 20, 2014.

Careington appreciates the opportunity to bring this matter to resolution. If you have any questions or need additional information please feel free to contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Sincerely,

**** K. ******
AVP of Compliance and Fulfillment
Careington International Corporation

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I called VSP to obtain information regarding the VSP Vision Plan, I specifically asked about Lasik being part of the program and was told that it was at a discount. I asked if there was a local Lasik Dr in the DFW area and was told that there was. I did sign up for the plan and once I received the literature with the welcome email etc. I looked up Lasik care on the plan and the only Lasik center available to me would be in Austin, Texas which is 200 miles away. I called VSP and was put on hold and finally disconnected the call realizing that it may be awhile to get in touch with anyone via telephone. I emailed VSP Vision Care explaining the situation and later contact VSP again by phone. The last person I spoke with was unable to help me as I was told there was no supervisor available for him to speak with. After getting this information I went to my credit card and disputed the charges for the VSP Vision Care plan however later received an email that I would be unable to cancel. I disagree completely with this as if a customer is given inadequate or incorrect information then the customer should be able to cancel due to incorrect or outright false information but regardless I want the plan cancelled and my monthly payment since 6/1/2014 refunded I full. If the plan is not what I was told or has the services I need then it is not correct for me to be forced to keep a plan that does not help me in anyway. The monthly amount that has been debited from my credit card is $23.75 and I want it all credited back to me immediately. Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: Vision Plan

Desired Settlement
I want the plan cancelled back to the inception date and all my payments be credited to my credit card. I feel I was provided incorrect information thus causing me to make a decision I would not have made otherwise. They have billed me $23.75 for 4 months that all needs to be returned with the policy cancelled effective back to inception date.

Business Response
October 8, 2014



BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201

Re: Case # ********

Mr. **** ****,

Careington Benefit Solutions (CBS) is responding to written correspondence from your office regarding an inquiry from Ms. ****** *****.

CBS provides administrative services for insured plans. Ms. ***** purchased a vision insurance plan from Vision Service Plan (VSP).

On September 10, 2014, Ms. ***** called and requested to cancel her account because there were not LASIK providers in the Dallas area. She was advised to submit her request in writing per the terms and conditions of the plan. Ms. ***** submitted a request to cancel her account, and requested a refund for her plan.

After reviewing the member's concern about the lack of LASIK providers in her area, her that her refund request was approved. On October 3, 2014, a refund check of $118.75 was mailed to Ms. *****.

CBS appreciates the opportunity to provide information regarding the concern. If you have any questions or need more detail feel free to contact me at 800-441-0380 ********* or ******careington.com.



Sincerely,


Mr. **************
AVP of Compliance
Careington International Corporation


09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Applied for this card for my son, July 2013 was charged on my credit card $59.00 They charged my card $59.00 in July 2014, I did not notice until August 2014 when I received my bill. I did not ask to renew, therefore I called to request a refund. They will not refund me, as they say they automatically charge and renew unless I call to cancel. I believe this is a trap to charge consumers for renewals they plan not to refund. This is a scam company. Who know how many $59.00 they collected from consumers that are not aware of there scam. I was never told that they would charge my account yearly automatically.
Product_Or_Service: dental discount card
Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement
All I want is a credit on my account that they charged without my approval. I opened account for ************.

Business Response
September 9, 2014


BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201


RE: Case # ********: ****** ****


Mr. Stallings,

Careington International Corporation, Inc. (Careington) received written correspondence from the BBB regarding a complaint filed by Ms. ****** ****.

Ms. **** purchased a discount dental plan from National Association of Counties (NACo) and Dutchess County that included network benefits supplied by Careington. This purchase occurred in July of 2013.

The discount plan purchased by Ms. **** for her son ******* **** included the billing and cancellation conditions on the application and subsequently the membership kit they received that included the ID cards. It clearly states that the plan will remain in effect and the member will continue to be billed until the member requests the plan to be cancelled.

In an effort to bring this matter to a close, we have issued a refund of $59.00 and have cancelled the membership of ******* ****.

Careington appreciates the opportunity to respond to your inquiry. If you have any questions or need additional information, feel free to contact me at 800 441-0380 ext **** or by email at *****@careington.com.


Sincerely,

**** K. ******
AVP of Compliance
Careington International Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I RECEIVED A LETTER DATED AUGUST 29 2014 FROM CAREINGTON THAT MY REQUEST FOR A REFUND OF $59. WAS DENIED. HAVE THEY RECONSIDERED SINCE THAT LETTER? AND WHEN SHOULD I EXPECT THE REFUND. I HAVE NOT YET RECEIVED ANYTHING FROM CAREINGTON THAT A REFUND IS GRANTED. MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY HAS THIS CHARGE PENDING AS A DISPUTE. PLEASE HAVE CAREINGTON CONFIRM THIS REFUND. THANKS SO MUCH
****** ****

Final Business Response
Ms. ****,

The Refund Committee only reviews requests for refunds from members and does not evaluate consumer's inquiries from agencies such as the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Once you filed with the BBB your written request for refund directly to our company should have been removed from consideration. Please disregard the letter dated August 29, 2014.

A check in the amount of $59.00 was issued and mailed on September 9, 2014. If you have not received the check by Tuesday September 16, 2014 please contact me directly at (800)441-0380 ext. ****.

**** K. ******
AVP of Compliance
Careington International Company

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up with VSP in May,2014. I called to cancel my service with them on 08/26/2014. I was told I had to stay.
I signed up with VSP in May,2014. I called to cancel my service with them on 08/26/2014. I was told I could cancel, but would still have to pay for the service for a whole year. So as I understand it, I have to keep a service that I don't want, and pay for it for a whole year, even though I don't want it.

Desired Settlement
I would like my service cancelled immediately.

Business Response

September 11, 2014



BBB of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201

Re: Case # ********

Mr. *** ******,

Careington Benefit Solutions (CBS) is responding to written correspondence from your office regarding an inquiry from Ms. ******** *****.

CBS provides administrative services for insured plans. Ms. ***** purchased a vision insurance plan from Vision Service Plan (VSP) on May 7, 2014 for a period of one year that required a monthly premium of $32.41.

Ms. ***** used the insured benefits on May 15, 2014.

On August 26, 2014 Ms. *****'s payment was declined for insufficient funds, and her account was cancelled. CBS informed Ms. ***** of the declined payment on that day. On August 26, 2014, Ms. ***** called to cancel the plan and was advised that the insured plan would remain in effect for one year if the benefits have already been exhausted. Ms. ***** provided alternate payment information. However, the payment information was returned invalid on September 2, 2014. CBS notified Ms. ***** that day of the invalid payment method, and her account was cancelled.

To date the account is canceled for nonpayment, no further action is needed, and no additional billing activity will occur. The charges were part of an agreement made by Ms. ***** and processed in accordance with the terms of the insured plan.

CBS appreciates the opportunity to provide information regarding the concern. If you have any questions or need more detail feel free to contact me at ********************* or ********************.



Sincerely,


Mr. **************
AVP of Compliance
Careington International Corporation


Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Consultants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/29/2013Business started: 03/01/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1992, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Barbara Williams (CEO)
Business Category

Insurance Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Core V Solutions, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Careington Benefit Solutions

7400 Gaylord Pkwy

Frisco, TX 75034-9463

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7400 Gaylord Pkwy 

    Frisco, TX 75034-9463(888) 585-8979

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Careington Benefit Solutions is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Consultants

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.