BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2012

National Income Life

Find a Location

(972) 529-50853700 S Stonebridge Dr, McKinneyTX 75070-5934 Send email to National Income Life

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2012

BBB has determined that National Income Life meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

All Locations are BBB Accredited
Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised National Income Life's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Refund for money paid into policy.
After having my policy since 2008 and paying into it over all these years I decided to cash out, upon speaking to the representative she proceeded to tell me that I paid over 1,100 dollars and was only getting $75 dollars back from the money I paid in. This is robbery and this insurance company is taking advantage of consumers, I don't understand how I paid all that money and not even receiving 50% of that money this is ridiculous, I will never recommend this company to nobody else.

Initial Business Response
According to our records the complainant **** ******** is the owner of policy NYXXXXXXX. This is an individual Whole Life policy issued to ****** ******** with an effective date of December 17, 2008.
This is a life insurance policy. It is not a savings account.
The policy was delivered with a 30 day examination period during which the owner of the policy could review the terms of the contract without obligation. Had the policy not been acceptable it could have been returned within the examination period for a full refund of premiums.
The policy contains the Non-forfeiture Options available. This policy begins to accrue cash value as of the 5th anniversary date of the policy.
The policy services department will mail a letter to Ms. ******** advising the values of the non-forfeiture options available to her.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: sales person did not disclose all conditions at time of presentation. Billing practices are very poor. Sales persons will not return our calls
sales reps misrepresented the facts. did not attempt to call us back when we had a billing problems. They have left us in the lurch and now we are in arrears because of very poor billing practices, due solely to the fact that we are not able to collect unemployment benefits from the policy as a result of layoff. We were told that the benefit year has to be one year from the last time I was laid off. We have paid thousands for our policies only to have MY Insurance lapse due to their poor business practices. I spoke with Carolynn at ( 254 )XXX-XXXX twice..yesterday, March 11, 2013 and today, March, 12, 2013.....TWO different answers to the same question. Now we have found out that I owe over $310 on my policy.different outcome from w hat I was told yesterday, that being that I do not owe that amount, instead $200. This company has so many different stories that it is hard to keep up with them. One person says one thing and someone says something else.

They are guilty of false statements in order to sell a policy to my wife and I.

I would not recommend this insurance to anyone. They are unscrupulous

Business' Initial Response
According to our records the insured's purchased the following policies:
NYXXXXXXX Maryann ****** Whole Life with an effective date of October 20, 2012 and a paid to date of February 20, 2013. Monthly premium 56.00.
Waiver of Premium is availabel on this policy after it has been in froce for 60 days. The insured was laid off on November 8, 2012, less than 30 days from the effective date of the policy. In error our office processed a 2 monthly waiver of premium, paying the policy forward. The insured was advised on March 12, 2013 that we would not request reimbursement of the premiums paid, however, there would be no additional premiums paid thru Waiver because the policy was not in force 60 days prior to layff. In order to put the policy back in force, the insured will need to pay $60.48 x2 month = $120.96.

Policy NYXXXXXXX Whole Life and NYXXXXXXX Accident policy issued to ****** ******, both effective date July 19, 2011. Paid to date January 19, 2013. Our office waived the January 2012 and February 2012 premiums. The layoff waiver of this policy states that in order to be eligible for waiver of premium, you must work 12 consecutive months. The insured was eligible for a one month waiver on each policy - however, in error, our office paid a 2 month waiver of premium on the policy(s). Again we advised the insured we would not request a reimbursement, however, he was not eligible for additional waiver or premium at this time. Premiums due are $87.64 x 2 ($175.28) and $15.787 x2 (31.54)respectively.
This information was explained to the insureds on March 21, 2013 by phone.
Letters were mailed to the insureds on March 4, 2013 advising the policies had been placed back on direct billing.
At the time of issue the policies were mailed directly to the insured.Each policy is issued with an examination period during which the policy may be cancelled and all premiums refunded if the insured is not satisfied with the benefits provided. These policies are outside the examination period.
the policies did not lapse due to poor billing policies. The policies lapsed because the insured's are not eligible for the waiver of premium at this time, and they have not paid their premiums.
As a courtesy, our office can accept past due premiums and place the policies back in force without evidence of insurability.
this offer will be good for the next 30 days.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Agent came to my home and "Upgraded" my insurance I was then billed double for 2 months
I have had insurance through NILCO for approximately 3 years. This year their agent ***** came to my house and reviewed my policy and added my newborn son to the policy when everything was agreed to my monthly premium was to increase from 104 a month to 118 a month. A few days after he left we started receiving phone calls asking all kinds of info so they could complete the application. I thought this was strange since my wife and I already had been insured with nilco and were just adding a few things to the policy. Then they called requesting that my wife have a physical with their doctor. None of these phone calls or the physical appointment were discussed as possibilities where ***** was in out home.
I was then looking at my bank statement and realized that for the month of April and May I had received both a $104 bank withdrawal (My prior monthly premium) and $118 (my "new" premium) I immediately called the local office in Syracuse only to discover they close at 3pm on Fridays. I then called the national number and spoke with a christian who looked at my account and realized that the agent ***** and not just updated my current policy but instead started a whole new one whose rates were much worse. I requested a immediate refund only to be told that they would refund April right away but would have to hold may for 30 days. f I was willing to fax them my bank statement with nothing redacted form it they would consider sending the money faster

Initial Business Response
According to our records the agent take 3 new applications for coverage on the family of the complainant.
All 3 policies will be cancelled as of the date of issue and all premiums will be refunded.
Please allow 10 business days for this transaction to complete.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I wish to open this case again as to date I still have not received the refund mentioned

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: I have been inundated with phone calls under false pretenses that my signature was needed, which I learned was a lie to try and sell services.
I have been inundated with phone calls between 8 p.m. and 9 p.m. under the false pretense that my signature was required to be in compliance with new insurance regulations. I told the second person who called me that I was not interested in any services that would require me to alter my policy that would increase my premium or change my benefits. I was told that I had to sign paper work before October, so I scheduled an appointment for 09/07/13. The sales person never came or called, so I called the home office and I was told my signature was not required and the calls were nothing more than to try to sell more services. I was told that I have a maintenance free policy and that I should not be receiving calls. I was told they will put my number on a don-not-call list, but the issue was not addressed. I asked for the number to the local officer, so I could speak with a supervisor. I called the local office and left a message to speak with a supervisor, but no one has returned my call. I believe the tactics used by this company are deceptive and there is clearly a lack of customer service and employee accountability.

Initial Business Response
According to our records, **** and **** ****** purchased individual Whole Life and Accident policies, each with an effective date of October 6, 2013. Each policy has a paid to date of October 6, 2013.

The policies are guaranteed issued and make no provision for refund outside the examination period. The insured(s) has had the security of coverage while the policies were in force.

I have canelled both policies pursuant to the complaint. There is no basis for a refund of premiums.

Consumer Response
Insurance Policy was cancelled after filing a complaint.
After filing a complaint with the BBB, NILICO cancelled the insurance policy at the direction of their legal department and they refused to refund my premiums or reinstate the policy. I was told when we signed up that if I cancelled my policy that I would receive a refund.
I want to be refunded the money that is owed to me.


Business Response
Correction: In our initial response the effective date and the paid to date were the same. This is not correct.
The policies (NYXXXXXXX, NYXXXXXXX) were both issued with an effective date of March 6, 2012. The paid to date for each policy is October 6, 2013.
The policies are issued with an examination period during which the insured can review the policies without obligation. Policies cancelled within the examination period (30 days) receive a full refund of premiums. Because the policies are guaranteen renewable, there is no provision for refund outside the examination period.
The inusored's may put the policies back in force by bringing the premiums current.
NYXXXXXXX: Please pay a quarterly premium of $202.02 which will pay the policy up to Janaury 6, 2014.
NYXXXXXXX: Please pay a quarterly premium of $41.79 which will pay the policy up to January 6, 2014.

This offer is available without evidence of insurability up to December 6, 2013. After that date the insured would have to apply for reinstatement.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/17/2013Business started: 01/01/2000
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 252-3439
http://www.tdi.texas.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark McAndrew (Chairman & CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Kinser (Legal)
Business Category

Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
National Income Life Insurance Company, NILICO, National Income, NIL
Industry Tips
Automobile Insurance
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for National Income Life

3700 S Stonebridge Dr

McKinney, TX 75070-5934

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*National Income Life is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.