BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1952

Liberty National Life Insurance Company

Phone: (972) 529-5085

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service21
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints32

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (32)BBB Closure Definitions
02/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have 8 policies with liberty national life insurance. we surrendered the accounts , however we weren't reimbursed for all of the accounts
we surrender all of our accounts but are being advised that we only have seven. the account in question has been paid from 1993 to or around 2006. we are being advised that this account does not exist. when speaking to agents with **************** the agents were hostile and unprofessional. then without notice a loan was placed on one policy for non payment although payment had been received, somewhere money is being taken out but is not being reported to liberty national. the policy agent was notified and he advise that the issue would be investigated, however no contact was ever made to initiate the investigation by the agent.

Desired Settlement
we are requesting the refund for the loan on the one policy and the full premium amount for the lost account from march, 1993 to the current date plus interest.

Business Response
View Attachment

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was paying for a cancer policy. What they call
"Cash Cancer Policy", since 2011. I was diagnosed with cancer in 2014.They cancel my policy.
December 15, 2014

Since 2006 I have had life insurance and hospitalization policies with Liberty National Company. These included covers for me, ******* ******** and my wife ***** premiums were deducted from my salary with the Company where I was employed, **** ***** Company.
Included in my policies was one named Liberty National First Diagnosis Cash Cancer Policy #AXXXXXXXXX with a minimum benefit of $ 10,000.00.
I became sick and had to stop working in July 2014 but my boss Alan McCormick continued to pay for my policies until September 30.
When I went to the office Liberty National to submit the claim of cancer, in mid-August 2014, I explained that I was not receiving or salary employee, nor yet, benefits social security disability, which would begin in November 2014. I told them that when I get pay from my claim, I could pay them any amount that was not payed. They offered me two months "waived" in other words two months free. They also asked me to turned a pathological report of the hospital where I attended and a voided check on what I understood it was to deposit money into my account for my insurance benefit.

On August 26th I went for a follow up visit at Shands at UF hospital, where I ordered the Pathological report Liberty National Agent asked me and the next day turn the report to the office of Liberty National, sending Ms. ***** ****** along with the voided check as they had asked.

After waiting weeks back and was told that the papers did not appear and turned to submit. Nothing happened, called Ms. Wilson and did not return my calls.

I returned several weeks later and another agent, Mr. ******* ****** offered to help. This time they asked me for a report: Form 1500 and UB / 04 billing from the hospital where I was treated.
In my next appointment to Shands, on November 6, 2014, I ordered the said report and the next day took it to the office to turn it to Mr. ******* He told me that in 10 days should receive the money profit. Nothing happened. This agent left a message on my phone stating that Ms. ***** had "messed up" and that I was not going to get any benefits.
I returned to the agency and another agent, ********* Rivers, offered to help me and he confirmed me that I do have cancer policy and confirmed the number AXXXXXXXXX. This agent now asked me a Pathology Report with the name of the doctor who diagnosed the cancer and also wants the date of diagnosis and the type of cancer, which is in the pathology report specified .

 Why someone wants to pay any insurance if they will not pay any benefit when they supposed to. I feel indignant and want to let people know the kind of people you are.

PS
I wrote this letter on December 7, 2014
On December 12, 2014 I received a check for $63.01 for Premium Refund for policy # AXXXXXXXXX
I am not accepting this check, I want my money!

CC: 
**** ***** Company

Desired Settlement
I was paying for a cancer policy as well as life insurance, and others for me and my wife. I don't want to continue holding any product from this company which I don't trust. I jut want for them to pay me for what they offer. They have a brochure on line for this product:Liberty National's First Diagnosis Cancer Policy". I turned all the reports requested. The last time they requested date of diagnosis and by whom, which I got from the doctor at UF at Shands.

Business Response
View Attachment

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have few questions for the company: Why the agents request so many hospital records regarding my cancer?
Why no one told me : "You don't have a cancer policy; this is an Intensive Care policy"?
Why the company returned money for cancellation of that specific policy and not the others, when I never cancelled any of them? Why the agents, suddenly, stops their communication with me, specially Mrs. ***** ******* the person who sold me the insurance? Why customer service and the agents confirmed that the policy number AXXXXXXXXX was a cancer policy? Obviously someone make changes to my coverage and there is nothing I can do about it. It is very sad when people trust companies and put their financial future in their hands to end like I am ending now. So many years giving my money to this company for when the bad days arrive and now there is nothing, no benefits from any of the policies.

Final Business Response
Attached is the second response from Liberty National Life Insurance Company concerning the above complaint.

02/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got this insurance on last month. I inform the rep that i wanted to cancel the insurance because i did not have the funds to pay for it.
Inform the rep that i would not be able to get this insurance but the rep still place the order on the account. i have tryed to call many time and let them know i did not want the insurance order was placed and my account over draft because of the unauth tran that was taken out

Desired Settlement
I would like a refunded in the amount of 89.80 54.30 for the insurance and 35.00 for my overdraft on the account

Business Response
RE: Case ID: XXXXXXXX
Complainant: ****** J. ****** II
Dear Mr. ****:
This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau inquiry that Liberty National
Life Insurance Company ("Liberty National") received on January 5, 2015 concerning a
complaint filed by ****** ****** regarding his request for a cancellation of life insurance
policies and a refund due to him.
Liberty National has fully investigated this matter and confirmed that a refund was due to
Mr. ******. Two refund checks payable to ****** J. ****** II and totaling $54.08
($27 .04 each for life insurance for his wife and for himself) were requested on
January 12, 2015. The checks will be mailed to Mr. ****** to his address of record.
Please contact me if Mr. ****** has not received his refund within 7 to 10 business days,
and I **** investigate *******. Both life insurance policies were cancelled at his request.
Mr. ****** has also requested a reimbursement for a $35.00 overdraft fee which he stated
was incurred when the insurance fees were drafted from his bank account. We have
advised Mr. ****** that we will reimburse him for this amount if he can furnish proof of
the overdraft from his bank and also proof that it was the Liberty National deductions
which were responsible for the charge. Once the proof has been received, we will process
the refund.
Our investigation also discovered applications for an Accidental Death Policy (ADP) and
a No-Cost Liberty National Discount Card. At Mr. ******'s request, these applications
have been cancelled. No refund has been issued on these policies because no premiums
have been deducted.
P.O. Box 8080, McKinney, Texas XXXXX-XXXX
Page 1 of2
Liberty National~#
Life Insurance Company I
We trust that we have fully responded to Ms. ******'s complaint. Should you have any
additional questions, please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,
******* ******
Paralegal
P.O. Box 8080, McKinney, Texas XXXXX-XXXX
Page 2

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. ****:

Our response to complaint XXXXXXXX / ****** J. ****** II, which was emailed to you yesterday, contained an error. The amount of the second check was $27.76 and not $27.04. Total amount of the checks was $54.80. I have updated this response with the correct amounts.

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

******* M. ******

01/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a heart attack in Aprl 2014 I have a emergency policy. That has not been honored.
I have emergency policy that is to pay out 10,000 for a life threatening event. I had a heart attack back in april I intially went to Rhea medical and was lifeforced to Erlanger Medical. I was treated for 2 days by Dr. Hemphill. I notifed the insrance company of being in the hospital. I have worked on endlessly to call and get them everything they have asked for. After 8 months I am unsure what to do next. They **** not return my calls or let me know of anything else I can do. The policy number is XXXXXXXX. I have talked to ****** and ****** at XXXXXXXXXXX. Please help me resolve this I need this money to help pay my hospital bills. Thank you

Desired Settlement
payment of my policy

Business Response
RE: Case ID:
Consumer:
Dear Mr. Fife:
XXXXXXXX
***** ********
This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed by *****
******** regarding his claim for benefits under a Liberty National Life Insurance
("Liberty National") policy for Critical Illness Excluding Cancer. Mr. ******** stated
that he has not received the benefit that was due him according to the terms of his policy.
Liberty National has reviewed Mr. ********'s claim and approved payment of the
benefit. The Company has sent him a benefit check, number XXXXXXXXXX in the amount
of $10,000.00, to his address of record. Payment is being sent via Fed Ex with a
scheduled delivery by 4:30p.m. on Tuesday, January 20. If Mr. ******** does not
receive his check by noon on Wednesday, January 21, please contact me, and I ****
investigate further.
We trust that this matter is now satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any additional
questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely, _-
\ Cw.v~.~ \ ~~
******* ******
Paralegal
P.O. Box 8080, McKinney, Texas XXXXX-XXXX
Page 1

01/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Liberty national is automatically debiting my checking account without authorization. I've cancelled the policy with this company 3 months ago.
On September 09,2014 I notice I had a debt from my account from liberty national. I called the customer service number and spoke with a representative she advise me the 47.73 will be returned. The rep advised me to fax in my policy information and a copy of my bank statement (in which I did twice). She took my name and number down and stated a manager will call me back with more info regarding my refund.I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A CALL BACK NOR A REFUND!on oct 31,2014 I received another debt for 21.96 I called to speak with a manger because I cancelled the policy in September when the debted my account .No manger was in office so I left a message and called the local office. Yesterday Dec 11,2014 I received another debt from my checking account for liberty national life insurance. I called customer service and the representative ****** stated the policy was never cancelled. ****** stated she see in the notes where I've called I to cancel but she doesn't see where the cancellation has taken place. I asked to speak to her manager because I need a refund IMMEDIATELY she stated the manager was other line he will call back . I told her I would wait until he finish his call,after 36 minutes of talking to ****** and 20 minutes of waiting to talk to her manager/supervisor she transferred my call and hung up on me. I'm very upset with this company and I need my refund back ASAP. They've been debiting my account for 3 months without my authorization. The policy was cancelled when they made the first mistake. The customer service is poor and management sucks. I will like a FULL refund and a call back from a manger or supervisor . Because of liberty national I could not pay my son's daycare because It would cause me to over draft my account.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for all the charges that was debited with out my permission. $139.38 is requested to be refunded to me . I want ALL of my money back .It's not fair I have to suffer for their mistake. I want the funds deposited back into my account asap.

Business Response
RE: Case ID:
Consumer:
Mr. *****
January 6, 2015
XXXXXXXX
********* ******
This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed by ********* ******
regarding a refund for the premiums that were drafted out of her bank account by Liberty
National Life Insurance.
After a review of our records, it appears that a refund check was issued to Ms. ****** in the
amount of $169.38, representing two premium payments, plus the overdraft charge incurred.
We trust that we have fully responded to Mr. ******'s inquiry. Should you have questions or
need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.
******* *******

Page 1 of 5
12/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I only authorized a $10,000 policy for both of my children. Somehow, their policy was upped without my knowledge and I have been overcharged for years
I have had a policy for years with this company. I had only authorized a $10,000 policy for my oldest son and a $10,000 policy for my youngest son, along with policies for myself and my husband. Somewhere along the line, they increased my two boy's policy (which increased my premium) without my knowledge and have been taking quite a bit more out of my check. When I realized this, over two years later, I called the corporate office and asked for them to send me something showing where I authorized this and was told that someone would contact me by the end of the day. They never did. Months later when our salesperson came to service our account, I explained to her what was going on and was told that she would follow up. She asked why it took me so long to notice and contact them, I had to explain to her that at the exact same time that they upped this policy, I was going through testing with my youngest son for autism and staying on top of them doing their job was not on the top of my list of priorities. I was then told to please write a letter explaining what happened, they would send it on to corporate and let me know what they found..."we want to fix this for you" is what I was told. That was over two months ago and no follow up call from my agent. I called their office today and was told that my agent and the owner were out of the office, so I spoke with the person who supposedly sent this to corporate. I was told again that the policy was not actually with their office when this was done and that the office that handled it at the time was no longer in business and they do not have access to my files. I work hard for my money and I have a special needs child that needs MY MONEY for therapies and all I keep getting told is that they don't have access, they **** check into it and call me back.

On a separate note, two of my coworkers were sent each other's information multiple times, within the same week that they received the company's privacy policy. When that was pointed out, it was just laughed off and we were told "don't worry, nobody else received that"

There are red flags being flown all over this office. How is it not a concern that they have shared someone's information with someone else? And why is it that I have to keep contacting them to get MY money back that they took without my authorization? It is wrong and my child is doing without services that he needs until I can get MY money back.

Desired Settlement
I just want the money back that I was overcharged, that is all and I expect it ASAP since I've been doing this for months.

Business Response
Please find attached Liberty National's response to the BBB complaint filed by ******** ******. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

******* D. *******


Consumer Response
Liberty National has never provided me with anything showing that I authorized this increase. I have been asking for proof for almost 1 year now. The answer I kept getting is that nobody has access to my file because that was done in the Chattanooga office, not Cleveland. What Liberty National does not know, is that my coworker's husband is a director in that office and according to him, they also do not have it. I have spoken to my family attorney and **** proceed with this in another manner if they choose to not do what is right. I am canceling anything that I have with them and all but one in my office **** be doing the same.

Final Business Response
December 18, 2014
XXXXXXXX
******** ******
XXXXX
This is a follow-up letter in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed by ********
****** regarding a refund of the premiums paid on her sons' Liberty National life insurance
policies.
After a subsequent review of the Company's records, Liberty National must maintain its
position, denying Ms. ******' request for a refund of premiums. Liberty National stands by its
records, provided in the initial response, which indicate that Ms. ****** applied for four term life
policies, two on each of her sons, each with a face value of $25,000.
If Ms. ****** has any additional information regarding this matter that she would like considered,
please have her forward it to Liberty National for immediate review. Should you have any
questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.
******* *******
P.O. Box 8080, McKinney, Texas XXXXX-XXXX
Page 1

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept this response. If I approved this coverage increase, why can they not show me any paperwork where I approved that?

Case #XXXXXXXX

09/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Debit card was charged 50.00 for a job that I declined as a result of this I was told no refund would be issued at 15 Southlake Lane B'ham, Al XXXXX.
On July 18, 2014, I attended an orientation for the position of sale agent. After I completed the orientation, I decided that the job was not for me. I submitted a resignation letter and was charged a $50.00 Temporary License Fee. I contacted Mr. ***** ****** who is located at 15 Southlake Lane Suite 310 Birmingham, AL 35244. He forwarded my email to the attention of ***** ****** Agent Licensing Coordinator who emailed back stating that I could not be refunded the monies collect. According to Mr. ******* This amount was collected through corporate and it is also via state. So therefore no refund would be issued. Mr. ****** suggested that I come back to work in an effort to resolve the issue. I explained to Mr. ****** that I would not be able to work the long 12 hour shifts due to the fact that I play for a church and have two small children.

Desired Settlement
FIFTY DOLLARS!!!! ($50.00) sent via mail or refunded to my card. My home address is **** ********** ***** North Birmingham, AL XXXXX Please make refund check payable to ****** ******* *******. Your cooperation will be greatly appreciated!

Business Response
September 2, 2014
**** ****
Director of Dispute Resolution Department
Better Business Bureau
1601 Elm Street, Suite 3838
Dallas, TX 75201
RE: Case ID:
Consumer:
XXXXXXXX
****** *******
Mr. *****
This letter IS In response to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed by ****** *******
regarding the temporary licensing fee for her application to become an independently
contracted agent with Liberty National Life Insurance. After reviewing the details of her
complaint, Liberty National must deny Ms. *******'s request for the refund of her temporary
licensing fee.
When an agent applies for a temporary license, Liberty National files the prospective agent's
paperwork and licensing fee to the respective state. Here, Ms. *******'s paperwork and licensing
fee were submitted to the state of Alabama for the issuance of her temporary license, which
was issued on July 21, 2014. As such, Liberty National will be unable to refund the temporary
licensing fee to Ms. *******.
We trust that we have fully responded to Ms. *******'s inquiry. Should you have questions or
need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,
******* *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I NEVER BEGAN WORKING THERE NO HAVE I RECEIVED THE LICENSE. I DECLINED THE JOB AND THEY CHARGED MY CARD THE NEXT DAY. THEIR SOLOTION WAS FOR ME TO ACCEPT THE JOB. NO I WANT FULL REFUND. I FEEL SWINDLED!!!

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harassing Phone Calls Meant for Someone Else, Refusal to Stop Calling
I told this woman that, for the FIFTH time, no Gloria Williams lives here, and please stop calling. She says that she has not called before, and I said, "Your company has, and I have said over and over that there is no one here by that name, and please make a note of it." I also told her that I have reported these calls to the FCC. She escalated, raised her voice to me, and I asked if she wanted to argue, or did she want to remove my number? She said that she would make a note and keep the case open. (I don't even know what she's talking about.) I replied, "No, you will close it, and you will remove this number." She said, "No, I will leave it open, and see what happens." I don't even know what she means. I asked her for the name of her company, and she hung up on me. I don't have any idea who Gloria Williams is, but she doesn't live here, and I don't appreciate the calls. More than that, I don't appreciate harassing employees raising voices and arguing.

Desired Settlement
I work from home, so you are calling my office. I spent time (thus, money) taking your calls and filing this complaint. Your company is interrupting my business calls. If you persist, I will sue you for actual money to compensate for the time I've spent dealing with your employees, taking your calls, filing this complaint, and for the calls you've interrupted. I work for a Big 4 financial firm. When I tell you to stop calling, I expect you to stop calling. I do not expect you to act like children and argue, or tell me that you will "Leave the case open and see what happens." I don't even know what you're talking about. Have some professionalism. Train your employees. More people work from home these days, and they could be calling someone in their home office. Shame on you.

Business Response
Tina Berger
Paralegal
Liberty National Life Insurance Company
(214) 544-5359
(972) 569-3244

November 8, 2013
Via Online Complaint System


Lee Stallings
Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas
1601 Elm Street, Ste. 3838
Dallas, TX 75201


RE:Case No.:XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ***** *****


Dear Mr. Stallings:

We are in receipt of the complaint from ***** ***** regarding telephone calls received from Liberty National Life Insurance Company.

We apologize to Ms. ***** for any inconvenience that that matter may have caused. Her contact information has now been removed from our system and she should receive no further communication from our company.

If you have questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Sincerely,
Tina Berger


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their customer service representative was excessively rude. When I told her that no Gloria Williams lived here, and that I'd told the company this before, and to remove my number from their system, she said, "I'll leave the case open for now, and we'll see what happens." She used a tone that implied that I'd done something wrong, and I didn't have any idea what she meant by "case." I replied, "No, you'll do what I asked, and you'll remove my number from your system." She replied with a coy tone, "We'll see what happens."

She toyed with me. I do not just accept that they removed my number from their system and apologized for "any inconvenience." I want them to apologize for their representative's rude behavior, and I want them to tell me that they're doing something about it. That is an unacceptable way for someone in "customer service" to behave (or rather, misbehave). I didn't ask for your services, and you have the nerve to call me and behave like that? Unacceptable.

10/31/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased insurance and within short time called and canceled. Company has been withdrawing money from my checking account all this time.
I called and spoke with agent after my husband was denied insurance. I told her to cancel it all and I needed a refund for deposit on insurance.She said that she would cancel. They sent me a pro- rated amount back. I just recently found out that all this time they have been withdrawing money out of my checking account. I had to search for phone numbers. I called and spoke with the head office. They told me that I could not get my money back. They canceled the polices. I never received a policy in the mail. The agent only canceled the insurance on me not the other two on my children. I called her back about one month prior and she told me that the insurance had been canceled. I want my money back that they have been taking all of this time.I have called and left messages for agent or manager to call me concerning this issue. I have not received a call back.

Desired Settlement
$900.00

Business Response
Tina Berger
Paralegal
Liberty National Life Insurance Company
(XXX) XXX-XXXX phone
(XXX) XXX-XXXX fax

September 25, 2013
Via Online Complaint Feature

Lee Stallings
Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1601 Elm Street, Ste. 3838
Dallas, TX XXXXX

RE: Case No.: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ****** ******

Dear Mr. Stallings:

This letter is in response to the inquiry from ****** ****** requesting a refund for insurance coverage for herself and her children with Liberty National.

Ms. ****** applied for an accidental death policy (AXXXXXXXXX) for herself on 05/17/2011. This policy was issued 06/01/2011 for $3,000 in coverage. The annual premium of $10.00 was due at the end of the first policy year in June 2012. No premium was paid in response to the notice and the policy lapsed.

Ms. ****** also applied for life insurance for her children Sarah ****** and Mitchell ****** on 10/06/2011. The whole life policy for Sarah (AXXXXXXXXX) was issued 11/01/2011; the whole life policy for Mitchell (AXXXXXXXXX) was issued 12/01/2011. Both policies were for $25,000 of coverage. At the time of application, Ms. ****** completed the Authorization for Preauthorized Payments form and provided her banking account information to have the premiums drafted from her account. She also applied for a policy for her spouse, but the Company was not able to offer a policy to him. A refund of $33.39 was issued to Ms. ****** on 01/27/2012.

I communicated with the agent, Sandy Mulkey, the agent who assisted Ms. ****** with the applications. She recalled delivering the policies for Sarah and Mitchell to Ms. ******'s workplace soon after issuance, as she worked near the branch office. Ms. Mulkey does not recall that Ms. ****** ever contacted her to request cancellation of the policies. Our records reflect that Ms. ****** made this request to the Home Office on 07/30/2013. We cancelled the policies on that day leaving them with a paid-to date of 08/01/2013.

Respectfully, the combined monthly premium the policies was $24.96 and drafted from her bank account for nearly two years before Ms. ****** requested cancellation (combined total paid for both policies $534.49). The 30-day right to examine period offered in the policies had long passed. In addition, the Company was on-risk during the time the policies were in force and would have paid an eligible claim under either. Therefore, we are unable to find basis for the requested refund.

We trust that we have fully responded to Ms. ******'s inquiry. Our letter is based on information that we have at this time. If Ms. ****** has any new or additional information that she would like us to consider, it may be forwarded to my attention. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions.

Sincerely,
Tina Berger



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not true. Sandra Mulkey never delivered any policies to me nor did I receive any in the mail. I do not work near her office and she has never been to my office. People that I work with can be witnesses to that due to working in a locked office that requires a security code upon entering. Sandra Mulkey never came to my job and delivered any policies to me because I told her to cancel all insurance after she told me that my husband could not be covered due to him having a pre- exisisting medical condition. He was the one that I wanted to get life insurance on. She talked me into getting it on myself and kids. She said that its not that much more to have coverage on the whole family.But when she called me and told me that they could not cover my husband I told her to cancel all insurance. She said are you sure? And I told her yes that I didn't want it because my main concern was getting insurance on my husband. The accident policy was something free that the company offered.I gave my bank information at the time she was getting all information for policies. They did not just give me a refund. I told Sandra that I wanted my money back because I canceled when she told me that my husband could not get coverage. So that is when I was sent a check for 1/2 of what I paid for a down payment. They kept the other 1/2 of the payment she told me that it was pro-rated. Sandra Mulkey is not telling the truth. She knows that I told her on the phone to cancel all insurance because I was not happy about my husband not getting covered. I wanted life insurance for my husband not my kids. I agreed because she said it was that much more to get coverage for the whole family. I called her a second time and asked her if insurance was canceled and she told me that it was. She is not telling the truth.

09/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated electronic contact via email despite my request that they stop contacting me.
Company is contacting me with a potential job, presumably because I have recently posted a resume with Monster.com. The job being presented is totally unrelated to my field, I have no interest, and despite my repeated attempts to have the company stop contacting me, they continue to do so.

Desired Settlement
Immediate cessation of contact after apology.

Business' Initial Response
Tina Berger
Paralegal
Liberty National Life Insurance Company
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

August 14, 2013


Lee Stallings
Director of Complaint Resolution Department
Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas
1601 Elm Street, Ste. 3838
Dallas, TX XXXXX

RE:Complaint Case No.:XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ******** ******
Case Opened: XXXX-XX-XX

Dear Mr. Stallings:

This letter is in response to the inquiry from ******** ****** regarding emails that he received regarding career opportunities.

We understand that the opportunity that we have may not be a field in which Mr. ****** has an interest. We receive resumes daily from interested persons from varied backgrounds. As he has done, it is always a good idea to research the company that contacted you to determine if the position is a good fit. In this case, Mr. **** decided that he was not interested in Liberty National Life Insurance. We have removed his contact information from our system and he should receive no further communication from our Company.

We wish Mr. **** continued success in his search for employment that is appropriate for him. We trust that we have satisfactorily responded to this inquiry. Should you have questions or need additional information, you may contact me.

Sincerely,
Tina Berger

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company did not apologize, as I had requested. The details of my job search were very specific, and the position(s) this company forwarded to me in emails had nothing at all to do with those details. Receiving a message with "job opportunity" in the subject line is very uplifting when one is seeking a job - to find out afterward that someone wasted my time and gave me a moment false hope is very discouraging. This company needs to realize that their practice is wrong. Before filing my complaint, I researched the matter a bit and learned that this company is well known for this "spamming practice." They need to stop this, and target their recruiting toward candidates that have expressed an interest in the type of job they have to offer. A satisfactory response to my complaint will include at minimum an apology - ideally a promise to improve their practice.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.